Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 55 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 236Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1621 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I have a rca cable coming from the 105 rear SW output to my sub's right channel input which is what I utilize for my HT setup


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1622 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 08:59 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1517
^ Go back into Speaker Configuration and make sure the Sub is set to ON.

Confirm with the built in Test Tones that you have the Sub properly wired.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1623 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Attachment 1005849

Hey guys

I followed the above configuration to the tee and nothing. My sub is not being activated in stand by mode or when turned on. Any ideas?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
What input are you using on your Oppo player for audio playback? You don't have bass management or any audio processing when using the usb DAC input.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #1624 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Go back into Speaker Configuration and make sure the Sub is set to ON.

Confirm with the built in Test Tones that you have the Sub properly wired.
--Bob

Hey Bob

Yes sub is set to ON but the test tone button is greyed out. Nothing happens when I touch it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1625 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
What input are you using on your Oppo player for audio playback? You don't have bass management or any audio processing when using the usb DAC input.

I was playing a sacd Dan


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1626 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
I was playing a sacd Dan


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok, so are you sure "SACD Output" is set to PCM? Direct DSD to Analog output won't allow bass management, down mixing or any other audio processing.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #1627 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:45 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Ok, so are you sure "SACD Output" is set to PCM? Direct DSD to Analog output won't allow bass management, down mixing or any other audio processing.

Ahhhh that's probably it!!! I'll have to test it out tomorrow, too late now. Thanks brahhhh


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1628 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I wonder why Oppo did not mention that in their resource help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1629 of 2037 Old 10-19-2015, 11:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
I wonder why Oppo did not mention that in their resource help?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sometimes, we have to acquire the ins-n-outs of our players from real experts...the beta testers.....the ones that use their players everyday, and who continually read/post and help others on these threads to have a firm understanding of our machine's full capabilities. More times than not, I have received answers to questions from Oppo support that were incomplete or not as accurate/detailed of an answer than some of the experts on these threads provide me.

Last edited by DanF8500; 10-20-2015 at 12:06 AM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #1630 of 2037 Old 10-20-2015, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Thank God for forums i tell ya......in fact I did contact Oppo about this issue and their response was at best, broad.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1631 of 2037 Old 10-20-2015, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 5,000
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
In addition to what you said concerning 2.1 capability, there still is a choice to be made whether you want the bass frequencies to be played back "only" from the sub or thru both the sub and the main speakers, when you are utilizing the dedicated analog stereo outputs. The one statement I highlighted above in your post, will create what is called "double bass"....that is bass frequencies will be played back thru your sub "and" the dedicated stereo analog outputs. This may not be the desirable effect one is seeking. The alternative is to just let the sub do "all" bass, by setting Stereo Signal to "Front Left/Right" instead of "Downmixed Stereo" when using the dedicated stereo outputs.
Thx for the clarification Dan, I know some like double bass, but I do not.
Cain is offline  
post #1632 of 2037 Old 10-20-2015, 06:29 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1517
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Go back into Speaker Configuration and make sure the Sub is set to ON.

Confirm with the built in Test Tones that you have the Sub properly wired.
--Bob

Hey Bob

Yes sub is set to ON but the test tone button is greyed out. Nothing happens when I touch it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You need to make sure nothing is playing first. Remove any disc in the Tray and the Test Tones will be available.

If the Sub tests as working with the Test Tones, then the next step is to make sure you are playing content where the Crossover processing is available. That means not using the USB DAC Input, and setting SACD Output PCM for SACD disc or DSD file playback.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1633 of 2037 Old 10-20-2015, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
JohnnyRose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks!

Just wanted to thank everyone for all the great posts and information.

MY HT system is about 10 years old and I am very happy with the core components; Integra Research RDC 7.1 pre/pro, 7 Channel Gemstone Amp and Velodyne DD12 Sub. The RDC 7.1 has 7.1 analog inputs but no HDMI capabilities.

The 105D is a dream come true as it will output 7.1 analog not to mention acting as a pre/pro itself with HDMI inputs. Using the RS232 connection, I will be able to have the 105D handle all the new audio seamlessly.

I get to keep my beloved RDC 7.1 and keep up with the latest 7.1 audio!

Thanks once again.
RichB and markrubin like this.

______________________________
Seeking perfect solutions.
JohnnyRose is offline  
post #1634 of 2037 Old 10-20-2015, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread

I just ordered the marantz av8801 from Amazon to replace my current anthem mrx700 receiver which I've been using as a pre/pro.

Do you guys think the 8801 being in between the 105D and a emotiva XPR 5 amp would make a good match?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by romavictor; 10-21-2015 at 08:08 PM.
romavictor is offline  
post #1635 of 2037 Old 10-21-2015, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Hey guys

Finally got the sub working in a 2.1 configuration with the 105D. WoooooHoooo

Quick question: what's the best crossover frequency to set for the SW on the 105D? I have it at 80hz

Does that also mean the 105 takes control of the SW low frequencies like a HT processor would?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1636 of 2037 Old 10-21-2015, 08:31 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1469 Post(s)
Liked: 1517
80 Hz is the best Default setting for the Crossover unless and until you have some measurements of your room's bass response suggesting a change.

An 80Hz Crossover means the mains and sub will share the load of reproducing frequencies in the range from 80 Hz down to 40 Hz, with the mains handling the job above that and the sub handling the job below that.
--Bob
romavictor likes this.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1637 of 2037 Old 10-21-2015, 11:12 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Sweet!! I didn't know that...always thought the sub takes over all frequencies below 80hz or whatever you set it at.

Thanks Bob


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1638 of 2037 Old 10-21-2015, 11:20 PM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread

I'll be receiving the marantz pre/pro tomorrow and will be setting it up Friday/Saturday.

I'm thinking of letting the 105D do all the surround audio processing and sending it to the AV 8801 via analog outputs.

Is there an advantage to that method compared to allowing the marantz to do the work?

Will Audessey eqxt32 still engage if it's receiving analog signals from the Oppo?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by romavictor; 10-22-2015 at 02:09 AM.
romavictor is offline  
post #1639 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,797
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
I'll be receiving the marantz pre/pro tomorrow and will be setting it up Friday/Saturday.

I'm thinking of letting the 105D do all the surround audio processing and sending it to the AV 8801 via analog outputs.

Is there an advantage to that method compared to allowing the marantz to do the work?

Will Audessey eqxt32 still engage if it's receiving analog signals from the Oppo?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
My response to the sentence I highlighted above in your post is that I don't think that is a very good idea, unless you know for sure you won't be doing any digital audio processing (Audessey, etc) in your pre/pro. It's less than ideal to have your Oppo player convert the digital audio to analog, then have your pre/pro convert the analog signal back into a digital signal, then finally back into an analog signal (with its DACs)....if you know you will be doing any digital audio processing in your pre/pro, you're better off sending the digital audio signal from your Oppo player (via hdmi) to your pre/pro.
gsr and romavictor like this.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #1640 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 02:09 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
My response to the sentence I highlighted above in your post is that I don't think that is a very good idea, unless you know for sure you won't be doing any digital audio processing (Audessey, etc) in your pre/pro. It's less than ideal to have your Oppo player convert the digital audio to analog, then have your pre/pro convert the analog signal back into a digital signal, then finally back into an analog signal (with its DACs)....if you know you will be doing any digital audio processing in your pre/pro, you're better off sending the digital audio signal from your Oppo player (via hdmi) to your pre/pro.

That would definitely not be ideal. How do I set it up so the 5.1 analog signals going into the marantz will not be altered by the pre/pro and the audio signal is simply passed on to the amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1641 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 02:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dbphd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montecito, CA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
How do I set it up so the 5.1 analog signals going into the marantz will not be altered by the pre/pro and the audio signal is simply passed on to the amp?
Why not instead use HDMI-2 from the Oppo and let the Marantz do the processing, including acoustic room correction? Isn't the D/A conversion of the 8801 likely to be on par with that of the Oppo?

db
dbphd is offline  
post #1642 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 02:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I thought the 105D had a better dac and all..... But I think I'll just go with the hdmi and let audessey32 do its thing. I might even get audessey PRO if am not satisfied with 32.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
stanly.joseph is offline  
post #1643 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 05:23 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,920
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 928 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Sweet!! I didn't know that...always thought the sub takes over all frequencies below 80hz or whatever you set it at.
Crossovers aren't a steep cliff, they're a gradual transition both ways so that the subwoofer and other speakers will give a smooth transition. Some products give the user a bit of control over just how gradual the transition is, such as 12dB per octave or 24dB per octave, where 24dB would be a quicker transition.
romavictor likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #1644 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 05:36 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,920
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 928 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanly.joseph View Post
I thought the 105D had a better dac and all..... But I think I'll just go with the hdmi and let audessey32 do its thing. I might even get audessey PRO if am not satisfied with 32.
If you want to use Audyssey, then it's largely irrelevant if the 105D has the better DAC implementation or not because you would be negating that by converting the analog signal back to digital in the pre-pro, applying Audyssey processing, and then using the DAC in the pre-pro to convert the processed signal back to analog to pass along to the amps and speakers.

I'm pretty sure the Marantz AV8801 and AV8802 cannot apply Audyssey to their multichannel analog inputs anyway as they can only apply volume control to those inputs.

But if you want to use Audyssey, it makes far more sense to use HDMI from the Oppo to the pre-pro and let the pre-pro do all the processing. And if that's what you're going to do, it would make a lot of sense to exchange the 105D for a 103D and save yourself some money, unless you have other plans for using the 105D's analog outputs.

FWIW, Audyssey Pro is unlikely to make a huge difference over the standard Audyssey XT32. So if you aren't generally happy with XT32 it probably doesn't make sense to spend the money on the Pro kit and license. If you're mostly happy with XT32, the Pro kit should allow you to fine tune the results a bit more, but you may not find the cost of the kit and license (~$850) to be entirely justified. I'm not saying don't do it (I did and am happy I did), just make sure you aren't expecting the difference to be huge.
gsr is online now  
post #1645 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Does anyone know what the cost is to hire an Audessey PRO tech to do it for you instead of buying the kit and doing it yourself?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1646 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 06:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,920
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 928 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Does anyone know what the cost is to hire an Audessey PRO tech to do it for you instead of buying the kit and doing it yourself?
This is best pursued in a thread dedicated to discussing Audyssey. But keep in mind that if you hire someone to do it, you'd have to have them come back and do it over again if you change any of your equipment or move things around in your room and you would still need to purchase the Pro license for your pre-pro.
gsr is online now  
post #1647 of 2037 Old 10-22-2015, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
This is best pursued in a thread dedicated to discussing Audyssey. But keep in mind that if you hire someone to do it, you'd have to have them come back and do it over again if you change any of your equipment or move things around in your room and you would still need to purchase the Pro license for your pre-pro.


Damn!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
post #1648 of 2037 Old 10-24-2015, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
I just ordered the marantz av8801 from Amazon to replace my current anthem mrx700 receiver which I've been using as a pre/pro.

Do you guys think the 8801 being in between the 105D and a emotiva XPR 5 amp would make a good match?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If there was ever a time to pick up an XPA-5, this is it (nice 20% off sale). With that said, what speakers are you running? I've always found Emotiva's to sound a bit bright. I'd be curious to hear your thoughts with it hooked up to the Marantz which is said to have a warmer sound.
OmegaAudio is offline  
post #1649 of 2037 Old 10-24-2015, 09:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've recently installed an Oppo BDP 105D and am very, very pleased with both the picture quality and the audio quality. I guess my usage is about 50/50 between watching Blu Ray DVDs and listening to audio.

My question concerns the optimum speakers for my setup. The Oppo is paired with a newly acquired Rotel RA-1570 amp and my older Quad 11L speakers. The speakers were the only part of my system I didn't change and I'm wondering whether an upgrade would be beneficial to take advantage of my new setup. My room is not large, approx. 14 ft x 10 ft.

Any thoughts?
jazzjet is offline  
post #1650 of 2037 Old 10-24-2015, 11:32 AM
Member
 
kmramos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roku Streaming Issue

Hi all. I recently got the Oppo 105D and so far am liking it a lot. My setup is a Roku 3 into Oppo's front HDMI input and a Directv box into the rear input. These go out to a Panasonic ZT60 TV from HDMI 1. I use the Multichannel analog outputs into my Arcam AVR350. I also use the Oppo's dedicated stereo outputs to stream music from a Squeezebox Touch.

My issue is with streaming from the Roku 3. I find that stopping the playback either by pausing, FF or REW creates judder when playback is restarted. It looks like some kind of frame rate error. Motion becomes jerky. I can induce this error while outputting 1080P to my Panasonic TV, and oddly, also when the output is set to Source Direct. I can cure it by rebooting the Oppo.

If I connect the Roku directly to the TV, bypassing the Oppo, I do not see this error.

I've been in touch with Oppo about this, but they don't really have any solution, and are surprised that this is happening via Source Direct.

I suppose the workaround would be Roku straight into the TV, and HDMI ARC out to the Oppo.

Would be grateful for any ideas or feedback from anyone with the Roku/Panny/Oppo combo similar to mine!
kmramos is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off