Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 06:03 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post


^^^

Something's not right. Cases (a) Source Direct and (b) 1080p with 24p turned and all Picture Adjustments set to zero -- should look very similar.

Are you sure you don't have Darbee turned on and set very high?

As an experiment: put in a Blu-ray disc that shows the effect. Bring up the player's On Screen Display with the INFO button. Use PAGE DOWN to toggle the bottom line, which will then show what the player is transmitting. What exactly does it show for both Source Direct and 1080p?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 07:41 AM
Member
 
GreenMtnGringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaven2 View Post

Got the Oppo 105D for the ability to play DSD files through the USB-B input off my MBP. So, I gets all giddy, and download Beck, Pat Barber, and Nat King Cole in DSD from Acoustic Sounds, and add them to my Audirvana playlist....and, nothing.

All my other files play great.

In the Audirvana settings, DSD 64 and 128 are "greyed out" - seeming to indicate, that the OPPO is not capable of this.

So, the problem would seem to be either the OPPO doesnt do what it is supposed to do, or Audirvana might need to update something as the older 105 did NOT support DSD through the USB-b input

I checked again From OPPO, to be sure I recalled correctly on its specs, and it should support this. From their website: "The BDP-105D supports DSD audio in standard rate (DSD64) or double rate (DSD128 or DSD 2x) via its new USB DAC input. If your computer can play it, the BDP-105D can convert it to analog."

I tried to post to the Audirvana forum, but am waiting for my registration to be approved

Anyone have any thoughts??

Thanks

Hi, what version of Audirvana Plus are you using? I can play DSD files using A+ v1.5.12 on a mid-2012 nrMBP with OSX v10.9.1.

Make sure you select DSD over PCM as depicted here:

http://www.audiostream.com/content/how-play-dsd-file-using-audirvana-plus
GreenMtnGringo is offline  
post #183 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 07:47 AM
Member
 
GreenMtnGringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matlo View Post

Hi

I havethe same problem with foobar. Everything is read except DSD64 and 128 (no sound).

I downloaded DSD records provided on the oppo site (David Elias).

I did the firmware upgrade with last beta but still no sound.

It was ok on the oppo 103d with USB key.

I will ask oppo support what could it be the problem.

Mat

Foobar is much trickier than A+ when it comes to playing DSD files. It took some doing but I can confirm that it works. Make sure you download and install the OPPO Windows driver for the 105D. Also, you need to install the necessary Foobar plugins. See this link for a walk-through:

http://www.audiostream.com/content/how-play-dsd-file-using-foobar2000

Good luck!
GreenMtnGringo is offline  
post #184 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 07:50 AM
Newbie
 
matlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi

I may have the wrong driver for oppo ? Thanks for your answer I will test that

Mat
matlo is offline  
post #185 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 07:53 AM
Member
 
GreenMtnGringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matlo View Post

Hi

I may have the wrong driver for oppo ? Thanks for your answer I will test that

Mat

The one you want is here:

http://download.oppodigital.com/BDP105/OPPO-USB-AUDIO-2.0-DRIVER(WINDOWS)-v1.61.zip
GreenMtnGringo is offline  
post #186 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
matlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi

I finally succeeded in playing DSD with Audirvana. I have version 1.5.12 (lastest).

In preferences automatic detection doesn't work. DSD64 and 128 are greyed out.

I chose DSD over PCM 1.0 instead and it works. I don't know if it is native DSD but it works.

Mat
matlo is offline  
post #187 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
matlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMtnGringo View Post

The one you want is here:

http://download.oppodigital.com/BDP105/OPPO-USB-AUDIO-2.0-DRIVER(WINDOWS)-v1.61.zip

Thanks !!!

Mat
matlo is offline  
post #188 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 10:32 AM
Member
 
GreenMtnGringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by matlo View Post

Hi

I finally succeeded in playing DSD with Audirvana. I have version 1.5.12 (lastest).

In preferences automatic detection doesn't work. DSD64 and 128 are greyed out.

I chose DSD over PCM 1.0 instead and it works. I don't know if it is native DSD but it works.

Mat

Yes, DoP is true DSD and it is, according to this link, the only way to send DSD from the Apple OS:

http://www.positive-feedback.com/Issue60/dsd_usb.htm
GreenMtnGringo is offline  
post #189 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
matlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I applied same method in foobar and it works as well.

Thanks GreenmtmGringo
GreenMtnGringo likes this.
matlo is offline  
post #190 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

^^^

Something's not right. Cases (a) Source Direct and (b) 1080p with 24p turned and all Picture Adjustments set to zero -- should look very similar.

Are you sure you don't have Darbee turned on and set very high?

As an experiment: put in a Blu-ray disc that shows the effect. Bring up the player's On Screen Display with the INFO button. Use PAGE DOWN to toggle the bottom line, which will then show what the player is transmitting. What exactly does it show for both Source Direct and 1080p?

-Bill
Call off the dogs- brightness at 0 was too high- backing it down to -4 did the trick

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #191 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 11:53 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post

Call off the dogs- brightness at 0 was too high- backing it down to -4 did the trick

That's still odd. There shouldn't be a brightness level difference between Source Direct and 1080p.

If you need to make picture adjustments, the standard advice is to do it in the display rather than in the player. If the player is "off" compared to everything else you are using, then that is a mystery.

Make sure the TV's HDMI input for the player is adjusted the same as all the others you use. I've made that mistake. After long disuse of certain inputs I forgot there were additional settings deep in the menus.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #192 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
petranta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

anybody succeeded with USB driver installation with Win 8.1? I just updated my laptop from scratch and not able to install USB driver? I have latest Oppo Beta FW with factory reset settings. Laptop won't recognize USB and in device manager I get error about unknown device?

petranta is offline  
post #193 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by petranta View Post

Hi,

anybody succeeded with USB driver installation with Win 8.1? I just updated my laptop from scratch and not able to install USB driver? I have latest Oppo Beta FW with factory reset settings. Laptop won't recognize USB and in device manager I get error about unknown device?
What's strange is that the Oppo manual for the 105D doesn't list Windows 8 as a compatible OS for their usb dac driver, yet on their website in the support section for the 105D, they state the driver is compatible with Windows XP, Vista, Win 7, and Win 8.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #194 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 05:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Windows 8 was originally not supported. It took XMOS several months to come up with a working USB driver. Most of the BDP-105D manual is cribbed from the BDP-105 manual, so some information may be out of date.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #195 of 1143 Old 02-16-2014, 09:19 PM
Member
 
blaven2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by matlo View Post

Hi

I finally succeeded in playing DSD with Audirvana. I have version 1.5.12 (lastest).

In preferences automatic detection doesn't work. DSD64 and 128 are greyed out.

I chose DSD over PCM 1.0 instead and it works. I don't know if it is native DSD but it works.

Mat

Thanks - Bingo, that did it
Thanks a million
blaven2 is offline  
post #196 of 1143 Old 02-17-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mikey mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 2,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Welcome to AVSForum.

From where are you getting your players? None of the OPPO Blu-ray players in the US have been region free.

-Bill

There are at least 3 sources for region free OPPOs the last time I looked. As mentioned already, Amazon is one of them. I have a modified 95 and a modified 103.. I love to shop for British TV series and movies on Amazon.UK. The prices on the modified units from the sources other than Amazon may surprise.

Do a search if interested. I have been in enough trouble with the Mods over past posts.

Mikey Mo
"Survived Charley, Frances & Ivan. But Jeanne got me."
Anxiously Awaiting 2014 Hurricane Season.
"OAR OR DIE"
They killed the SACD. Bring it back.

mikey mo is offline  
post #197 of 1143 Old 02-17-2014, 08:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey mo View Post

There are at least 3 sources for region free OPPO the last time I looked. As mentioned already, Amazon is one of them. I have a modified 95 and a modified 103.. I love to shop for British TV series and movies on Amazon.UK. The prices on the modified units may surprise from the sources other than Amazon may surprise.

Do a search. I have been in enough trouble with the Mods over past posts.

I meant "OPPO players as manufactured and sold by OPPO". They are not region free and there has been no change in policy in recent models, which is what the original poster was asking about.

Modified players on Amazon and Ebay are from third parties and won't have the original OPPO warranty.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #198 of 1143 Old 02-17-2014, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
etc6849's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Is there a hack for bluray iso support yet? I saw this one: http://bluraychip.dk/product.php?id_product=29 but it doesn't appear to be available yet.

Premise, a FREE home automation program. Open-source Z-Wave Premise Module found here.
etc6849 is offline  
post #199 of 1143 Old 02-17-2014, 05:40 PM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm expecting delivery of my 105D by end of this week. It's replacing my 105 as my Theater room unit.

Question for those of you who have made the same switch or simply knows the answer.....is it advisable to restore my 105 settings into the new 105D? I realize there will be other unique adjustments in the 105D but thought this might save some time.....

Thx. JR
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #200 of 1143 Old 02-17-2014, 06:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 189
The two are the same platform, so you can use your previous settings on the BDP-105D.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #201 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 06:13 AM
Member
 
JRDiAndrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

The two are the same platform, so you can use your previous settings on the BDP-105D.

Thanks. I figured but didn't want tostart off with problems I created myself!
JRDiAndrea is offline  
post #202 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Now that I am happy with the video capability of this player I am focusing on the audio now- I am breaking in the dacs and have removed my preamplifier out of the system and going straight into my amps- really sounds good and keeps getting better everyday- however I can't seem to remedy the delay I get from going optical digital out from tv and into oppo- the audio sync correction isn't quite enough as others have said- do you think they can fix this with firmware update? the sound is so so good using the oppo dacs for external sources. On a different note, the remote is interfering with my Aerial Acoustics Sub level settings and I've tried switching remote codes to no avail- kind of a pain given that all three subs levels get messed up every time I increase volume or change settings with the oppo remote do you think these issues can be resolved by Oppo? other than that this is a really good piece of equipment- very impressed with 105D.

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #203 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post

Now that I am happy with the video capability of this player I am focusing on the audio now- I am breaking in the dacs and have removed my preamplifier out of the system and going straight into my amps- really sounds good and keeps getting better everyday- however I can't seem to remedy the delay I get from going optical digital out from tv and into oppo- the audio sync correction isn't quite enough as others have said- do you think they can fix this with firmware update? the sound is so so good using the oppo dacs for external sources. On a different note, the remote is interfering with my Aerial Acoustics Sub level settings and I've tried switching remote codes to no avail- kind of a pain given that all three subs levels get messed up every time I increase volume or change settings with the oppo remote do you think these issues can be resolved by Oppo? other than that this is a really good piece of equipment- very impressed with 105D.
Wait a minute. The Oppo's A/V Sync setting only affects its digital and stereo outputs, not its inputs. If you want to adjust your tv's optical output delay, you need to do it from your tv.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #204 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm checking to see if my tv has this capability but I've never known of a tv to have such adjustments? It seems like when applying the oppo's audio sync adjustment I can see a difference in the delay but cannot get it to sync up going either direction

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #205 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 190
^Wow, this is the first time I have ever heard of the Oppo remote codes interfering with another product.
Very peculiar that all 3 codes still mess with the subs??
Did you make sure that the change was made inside the back cover AND inside the player menu?... then maybe power cycle the player too for good measure.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #206 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post

I'm checking to see if my tv has this capability but I've never known of a tv to have such adjustments? It seems like when applying the oppo's audio sync adjustment I can see a difference in the delay but cannot get it to sync up going either direction
I have a Samsung plasma tv, and it has a digital audio sync setting for its optical output.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #207 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 
justbenice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I am planning to put this 105D direct to my only pow rmb-1095 like this :
- 5 channels RCA out from 105D to 5 channels RCA input in my rmb-1095.
- 2 channel dedicate XLR to 2 channels XLR input in my rmb-1095.

Is that setup ok for lisinging music and play movie together ? And how about rom correction ? Do we have any option for it ? Any advice is greatly appreciated!
justbenice is offline  
post #208 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

^Wow, this is the first time I have ever heard of the Oppo remote codes interfering with another product.
Very peculiar that all 3 codes still mess with the subs??
Did you make sure that the change was made inside the back cover AND inside the player menu?... then maybe power cycle the player too for good measure.
I removed batteries, switched lever and then held down remote button in front of opened oppo disc tray- am I missing something else?

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #209 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parrish View Post

I removed batteries, switched lever and then held down remote button in front of opened oppo disc tray- am I missing something else?

As long as the player is being operated ok by the remote after you switch codes, then it should be right.
It just seems odd that all 3 different remote codes would interfere.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #210 of 1143 Old 02-18-2014, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

As long as the player is being operated ok by the remote after you switch codes, then it should be right.
It just seems odd that all 3 different remote codes would interfere.
Yeah I am surprised too- will call Ariel tomorrow- thx

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off