Will I need a new blu ray player for atmos? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mpjmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Will I need a new blu ray player for atmos?

I currently have the Marantz UD5007 and am Currently waiting for the Marantz AV7702 to be released for the atmos technology. Going to be running a 7.2.2 setup. Now my question is...will the AV7702 handle all the upscaling for the audio or does the blu ray player play a role as we'll? Will I need a new player?

Last edited by mpjmeyer; 08-08-2014 at 08:45 AM.
mpjmeyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 81
No. The encoding will be in the bitstream output from any Blu-Ray player. Decoding will be the responsibility of the Atmos-capable receiver or processor.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mpjmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm in a situation where I can swap the UD5007 for an Oppo BDP-103D. Would this be a wise decision?
mpjmeyer is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Maybe. Do you need all the extra things an Oppo can do? The Blu-Ray picture quality will show little difference. Reasons to get an Oppo have to do with the features it has, the build quality and the customer support. If you just want to play Blu-Rays, you're probably better off saving your money. And I say this as an Oppo owner.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mpjmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Will there be a difference in audio or video? Or is it just features?
mpjmeyer is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-08-2014, 01:09 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 131
If we're leaving the topic of Dolby Atmos, let's take specific player questions to the player threads and leave this for Atmos.

Thanks.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-10-2014, 06:24 PM
Member
 
KJSteward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Just looking at Yamaha's site earlier today, and specifically at the new Aventage range. Seems the RX-A1040 has Atmos capability. Don't remember whether the capability is available further down the range.

Receiver: Yamaha RX-A730 
Fronts: (Main) Polk Audio Monitor 65t (Presence) SoundStage 3D20 
Center: Polk Audio Monitor 15c 
Surrounds: L/R: Polk Audio Monitor 45b Rear: JBL SC305 
Sub: SoundStage LF500 
KJSteward is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-11-2014, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 95
If someone has the actual answer to this (i.e. if it's hidden in the giant main Atmos thread), I, and many others, I'm sure, would appreciate seeing it here.
javanpohl is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-11-2014, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 81
The answer is in this document on pages 4 and 5: http://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolog...me-theater.pdf

Basically, any Blu-Ray player that conforms to the Blu-Ray spec (which is essentially any player) will work. The decoding is done in an ATMOS-capable AVR/processor, not in a player. Any Blu-Ray disc that is encoded for ATMOS will simply send the sound as a bitstream for the AVR or processor to decode.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old Yesterday, 12:25 PM
Member
 
mobileES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
The answer is in this document on pages 4 and 5: http://www.dolby.com/us/en/technolog...me-theater.pdf

Basically, any Blu-Ray player that conforms to the Blu-Ray spec (which is essentially any player) will work. The decoding is done in an ATMOS-capable AVR/processor, not in a player. Any Blu-Ray disc that is encoded for ATMOS will simply send the sound as a bitstream for the AVR or processor to decode.
Thanks for clearing this up, I have a PS3 Slim and I was wondering if I needed to upgrade that as well at the receiver for Atmos.

So much tech coming to our living rooms, I see the 4K BD discs are supposed to be out early next year, I can assume that the Atmos track will be mixed in as well.
mobileES is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off