Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 140 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 22906Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4171 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 07:58 AM
Member
 
jasammeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
This sounds more like a TV problem...but I have an LG TV with similar settings and no issues. 2 things:
1) Try setting color on the player to "auto" (I have switched to "auto" from "4:4:4" and it's solved a lot of handshaking issues)
2) How long is your HDMI run? Which UHD title are you playing? There is a lot of inconsistency among early UHD titles (everything from brightness to handshaking)
I've tried the auto resolution but I will try again. The hdmi cord is rocketfish and it is four feet. I have a monster ultra hd platinum that is eight feet I have tried also. The uhd titles I have tried are Mad Max and The Martian. I forgot to mention that the picture drops out when I'm going into menus on the Samsung. I have to power off tv and power on or disconnect and reconnect hdmi to restablish signal. Thanks for the help.
jasammeg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4172 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:01 AM
Member
 
jasammeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahro View Post
I thought you can only get HDR with 4K (2160). Is it possible the LG is reporting 1080p, but it's inaccurate.
That is what I was thinking because the Lg locks onto hdr picture mode and can't be changed. Also the picture on the martian is much better with uhd disck than bluray disk.
jasammeg is offline  
post #4173 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:06 AM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I don't think the Samsung BDP has this capability, but I've been told by both Samsung and Vizio execs that their 2016 models can simulate HDR from 1080p sources, so I would expect that other manufacturers have done the same. Interestingly, American broadcasters are more interested in adding HDR to HD signals than they are in actually upgrading their equipment to transmit 2160p.
Must be cheaper

UN55HU9000 TS01 SEK3500
grizzledbiker is offline  
 
post #4174 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I don't think the Samsung BDP has this capability, but I've been told by both Samsung and Vizio execs that their 2016 models can simulate HDR from 1080p sources, so I would expect that other manufacturers have done the same. Interestingly, American broadcasters are more interested in adding HDR to HD signals than they are in actually upgrading their equipment to transmit 2160p.
Maybe, but as of now, how can he get HDR 1080P? I've never heard of that. And he is reporting the picture looks great, so my guess is the LG is reporting incorrectly and he is getting 2160. Again, as of now HDR is only 4K (2160). Isn't that correct?
korsjs and King Richard like this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP

Last edited by ahro; 03-27-2016 at 08:38 AM.
ahro is offline  
post #4175 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Had my first freeze up. I was streaming off of Amazon. Video stopped and the unit became unresponsive for a few minutes. It finally responded to pressing the home button and exited Amazon. It was strange. I run a hardwared connection with 100/15 Internet speed. I'll assume it was the player since it was unresponsive for awhile.

Sony 940C*Sony HX909*Samsung K8500*Yamaha 3050*klipsch front RP-280's*rear RF-3's*center RP-450C*Sides RP-280's*front heights RP-140's*overhead 5650cii's*SVS-PB2000x4*emotiva XPA-5*Yamaha YSP-1600 sound bar*Sony HT-CT370 sound bar
loudog2 is offline  
post #4176 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,174
Mentioned: 87 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1433 Post(s)
Liked: 2119
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahro View Post
Maybe, but as of now, how can he get HDR 1080P? I've never heard of that. And he is reporting the picture looks great, so my guess is the LG is reporting incorrectly and he is getting 2160. Again, as of now HDR is only 4K (2160). Isn't that correct?
Yes...as far as disc playback on the Samsung BDP, it is only 2160p titles that have HDR.
King Richard likes this.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #4177 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:24 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6416 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahro View Post
Maybe, but as of now, how can he get HDR 1080P? I've never heard of that. And he is reporting the picture looks great, so my guess is the LG is reporting incorrectly and he is getting 2160. Again, as of now HDR is only 4K (2160). Isn't that correct?
Amazon has HDR video encodes down to 720P. Of course though you need to be playing the UHD title to get HDR. But if your bitrate drops down, you will continue to get HDR down to HD at 720P.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4178 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
hodges69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Have not been able to get any UHD feeds from the Amazon apps from either my tv..JS8500 or my k8500.. Complained to Amszon got this response,which I post partially..also running download speed of 50 :

Message From Customer Service
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you're experiencing.

Please note, at this time, Ultra HD videos playback is only supported on the following Amazon Video compatible devices:

Set-top Boxes & Streaming Media Players*

-- Amazon Fire TV (2nd Generation)
-- Roku 4

*These types of devices need to be connected to an Ultra HD TV that meets HDCP 2.2 content protection standards.

TVs
-- Samsung Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Sony Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- LG Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Vizio Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)

We're working hard to expand our Amazon Video service to a broader selection of Ultra HD devices.

If you try to play Ultra HD content on an unsupported device, Amazon Video will play back in HD video quality.

To stream videos in Ultra High Definition (UHD), you need a high-speed Internet connection of at least 15 Mbps.

Fluctuations in your connection speed can cause buffering or changes in video quality while you're streaming a Ultra HD videos. Restarting your device, modem, and/or router often helps with issues like this. If your connection speed is a lot slower than usual (and you've already tried restarting your device, modem, and/or router), you might need to contact your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for additional help.

If you don't currently have enough bandwidth for Ultra HD streaming, the Amazon Video player automatically adjusts to deliver the best video quality your Internet connection can support.

After performing the above steps, please try to watch the video again.
Okay.i have neither the newest Roku or 2nd generation fire stick...I take this to mean I am SOL for the present...am I right?
Tim Glover and martig like this.
hodges69 is offline  
post #4179 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodges69 View Post
i have neither the newest Roku or 2nd generation fire stick...I take this to mean I am SOL for the present...am I right?
According to Amazon's (detailed) device list: yes. I watch Amazon UHD on an LG TV; I'm sure the Samsung UHD player will join that list soon enough.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR (5.0.2)
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's (R/L F/R), (2) Polk Monitor 4's (TM), Polk CS300 center channel
Analog: B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Digital: Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD Blu-Ray
LG 65EF9500 4K OLED
Stanton is offline  
post #4180 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:56 AM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
...

Last edited by grizzledbiker; 03-27-2016 at 10:00 AM.
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #4181 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
According to Amazon's (detailed) device list: yes. I watch Amazon UHD on an LG TV; I'm sure the Samsung UHD player will join that list soon enough.
It seems things are getting muddied again. If you play a 4K HDR disc, like Chappie or San Andreas, you can't get 1080p HDR. You are getting 4k 2160. My new Onkyo player doesn't report 2160, it reports audio as Atmos (if there's an Atmos track), and video as 'premium content.'

As far as Amazon goes, I get UHD on the 8500 now. If I watch Bosch, e.g., and pause the player, I see UHD on the top title bar and the lower time bar. And it sure looks like 4K to me. It actually may start out as 1080p, but soon kicks up to UHD.
korsjs and King Richard like this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP
ahro is offline  
post #4182 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 10:16 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6416 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodges69 View Post
Have not been able to get any UHD feeds from the Amazon apps from either my tv..JS8500 or my k8500.. Complained to Amszon got this response,which I post partially..also running download speed of 50 :

Message From Customer Service
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you're experiencing.

Please note, at this time, Ultra HD videos playback is only supported on the following Amazon Video compatible devices:

Set-top Boxes & Streaming Media Players*

-- Amazon Fire TV (2nd Generation)
-- Roku 4

*These types of devices need to be connected to an Ultra HD TV that meets HDCP 2.2 content protection standards.

TVs
-- Samsung Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Sony Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- LG Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Vizio Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)

We're working hard to expand our Amazon Video service to a broader selection of Ultra HD devices.

If you try to play Ultra HD content on an unsupported device, Amazon Video will play back in HD video quality.

To stream videos in Ultra High Definition (UHD), you need a high-speed Internet connection of at least 15 Mbps.

Fluctuations in your connection speed can cause buffering or changes in video quality while you're streaming a Ultra HD videos. Restarting your device, modem, and/or router often helps with issues like this. If your connection speed is a lot slower than usual (and you've already tried restarting your device, modem, and/or router), you might need to contact your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for additional help.

If you don't currently have enough bandwidth for Ultra HD streaming, the Amazon Video player automatically adjusts to deliver the best video quality your Internet connection can support.

After performing the above steps, please try to watch the video again.
Okay.i have neither the newest Roku or 2nd generation fire stick...I take this to mean I am SOL for the present...am I right?
I'm having no problem with UHD and HDR from my SOny 2015 UHD TV internal Amazon app. Of course the K8500 doesn't have HDR enabled yet from the apps. But before i returned my K8500 to BestBuy on Thursday, it was still streaming the UHD encodes from Amazon.
King Richard likes this.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4183 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 11:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasammeg View Post
I've tried the auto resolution but I will try again. The hdmi cord is rocketfish and it is four feet. I have a monster ultra hd platinum that is eight feet I have tried also. The uhd titles I have tried are Mad Max and The Martian. I forgot to mention that the picture drops out when I'm going into menus on the Samsung. I have to power off tv and power on or disconnect and reconnect hdmi to restablish signal. Thanks for the help.
I had similar menu issues (drop outs) until I changed color = auto...but I never had to power cycle anything. A 4 (or even 8) foot HDMI cable is so short you shouldn't have any issues there. Don't know what else to suggest.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR (5.0.2)
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's (R/L F/R), (2) Polk Monitor 4's (TM), Polk CS300 center channel
Analog: B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Digital: Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD Blu-Ray
LG 65EF9500 4K OLED
Stanton is offline  
post #4184 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,850
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodges69 View Post
Have not been able to get any UHD feeds from the Amazon apps from either my tv..JS8500 or my k8500.. Complained to Amszon got this response,which I post partially..also running download speed of 50 :

Message From Customer Service
Hello,

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you're experiencing.

Please note, at this time, Ultra HD videos playback is only supported on the following Amazon Video compatible devices:

Set-top Boxes & Streaming Media Players*

-- Amazon Fire TV (2nd Generation)
-- Roku 4

*These types of devices need to be connected to an Ultra HD TV that meets HDCP 2.2 content protection standards.

TVs
-- Samsung Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Sony Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- LG Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)
-- Vizio Ultra HD TVs (2014 models or later)

We're working hard to expand our Amazon Video service to a broader selection of Ultra HD devices.

If you try to play Ultra HD content on an unsupported device, Amazon Video will play back in HD video quality.

To stream videos in Ultra High Definition (UHD), you need a high-speed Internet connection of at least 15 Mbps.

Fluctuations in your connection speed can cause buffering or changes in video quality while you're streaming a Ultra HD videos. Restarting your device, modem, and/or router often helps with issues like this. If your connection speed is a lot slower than usual (and you've already tried restarting your device, modem, and/or router), you might need to contact your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for additional help.

If you don't currently have enough bandwidth for Ultra HD streaming, the Amazon Video player automatically adjusts to deliver the best video quality your Internet connection can support.

After performing the above steps, please try to watch the video again.
Okay.i have neither the newest Roku or 2nd generation fire stick...I take this to mean I am SOL for the present...am I right?
I've watched several things on Amazon in UHD. Sounds like a typical canned response. I have 150 down running to my 940C. No HDR yet, though.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #4185 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
nhey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 100
The LG G6 owners including myself are all getting "TV doesn't support HDMI 2.2" when trying to play any UHD disc, and only able to play them at 1080P. What's going on???
nhey is offline  
post #4186 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stoked21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kansas City (Lenexa)
Posts: 2,281
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1525 Post(s)
Liked: 928
Anyone use the K8500 with a 25' or longer cable? Can you get the 4k/60 Samsung menu to display?
Has anyone tried the Ethereal HDM-GA1 to drive the signal over longer cable lengths? Do you get 4k/60 HDR?

FYI, I'm using JVC RS400 PJ and 4k/24 HDR has worked great every since early Feb.
Stoked21 is offline  
post #4187 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoked21 View Post
Anyone use the K8500 with a 25' or longer cable? Can you get the 4k/60 Samsung menu to display?
Has anyone tried the Ethereal HDM-GA1 to drive the signal over longer cable lengths? Do you get 4k/60 HDR?

FYI, I'm using JVC RS400 PJ and 4k/24 HDR has worked great every since early Feb.
I'm using a 25-30 foot HDMI cable from my JS9500 to my K8500 and seem to get the signal just fine...
King Richard likes this.
Chirosamsung is offline  
post #4188 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 02:57 PM
Member
 
namirkhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoked21 View Post
Anyone use the K8500 with a 25' or longer cable? Can you get the 4k/60 Samsung menu to display?
Has anyone tried the Ethereal HDM-GA1 to drive the signal over longer cable lengths? Do you get 4k/60 HDR?

FYI, I'm using JVC RS400 PJ and 4k/24 HDR has worked great every since early Feb.
Can't get home menu, even after Jvc firmware update

Marantz 7702mkII
JVC RS500
Panasonic DMP-UB900
namirkhan is offline  
post #4189 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 03:56 PM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhey View Post
The LG G6 owners including myself are all getting "TV doesn't support HDMI 2.2" when trying to play any UHD disc, and only able to play them at 1080P. What's going on???
bummer

UN55HU9000 TS01 SEK3500
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #4190 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1550 Post(s)
Liked: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhey View Post
The LG G6 owners including myself are all getting "TV doesn't support HDMI 2.2" when trying to play any UHD disc, and only able to play them at 1080P. What's going on???
Unless you've tried >1 disc and >1 cable, I would say the jury is still out. I would assume the 2016 line uses the same HDMI chip set as the 2015 line, and I have no trouble with UHD (see sig). Unless the additional Dolby Vision hardware is mucking up the works...
King Richard likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR (5.0.2)
(4) Polk Monitor 10B's (R/L F/R), (2) Polk Monitor 4's (TM), Polk CS300 center channel
Analog: B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Digital: Pioneer CLD-99 Elite LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD Blu-Ray
LG 65EF9500 4K OLED
Stanton is offline  
post #4191 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
EngenZerO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stoked21 View Post
Anyone use the K8500 with a 25' or longer cable? Can you get the 4k/60 Samsung menu to display?
Has anyone tried the Ethereal HDM-GA1 to drive the signal over longer cable lengths? Do you get 4k/60 HDR?

FYI, I'm using JVC RS400 PJ and 4k/24 HDR has worked great every since early Feb.
Running on 100ft Celerity DFO. Seems to be working. It's a little finicky when it comes to power at TX/RX ends and occasionally with handshaking. Going to test out and watch the Martian tonight. Gonna put it through the grinder tonight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	171.2 KB
ID:	1342714  
EngenZerO is offline  
post #4192 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 07:09 PM
Member
 
lilbigman76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Killeen, TX
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasammeg View Post
Hello,
I have the Samsung connected to my lg 65-uh8500 via the two Hdmi cord method. I keep getting the Hdmi port not 2.2 compliant and the signal will be down rezzed to 1080p. I have tried three hdmi cords, all are high speed cords. When I hit info on the Lg it says 1080p with Hdr. The Lg goes into Hdr picture mode and I can't change it. The backlight and contrast are maxed out and can't be changed. I have rebooted the Samsung several times. In the Samsung settings I have the resolution on 2160p the color on ycbr 4:4:4 and deep color set to off. I also have the Lg set to Hdmi deep color. I put in a bluray and it shows 2160p and no hdr when I hit info on the Lg. The picture looks really good on the Lg with the uhd disk and the Hdr looks great but it shows 1080p and I need to get it to 2160p. Any help from fellow owners is most appreciated. Thanks.
Had the same issue with my LG 65UH8500 getting HDR 1080p and 720p HDR....Tried for days then I called LG and had my mother board replaced fixed the issue...Now only 2160p HDR...[edit] sorry I stated only 1080p but the replaced mother board fixed my issue

Last edited by lilbigman76; 03-27-2016 at 09:02 PM.
lilbigman76 is offline  
post #4193 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 240
This player and thread is a disaster lol

.
Current: LG 55E6P OLED (Self calibrated with Colormunki Display and HCFR)
Previous: LG 55" EF9500 OLED (Self calibrated with Colormunki Display and HCFR)
Tomcup is offline  
post #4194 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 07:57 PM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomcup View Post
This player and thread is a disaster lol
explain

UN55HU9000 TS01 SEK3500
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #4195 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilbigman76 View Post
Had the same issue with my LG 65UH8500 getting HDR 1080p and 720p HDR....Tried for days then I called LG and had my mother board replaced fixed the issue...Now only 1080p HDR...
There is no 1080p HDR, the LG is reporting incorrectly.
korsjs likes this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP
ahro is offline  
post #4196 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
ramcharger1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahro View Post
There is no 1080p HDR, the LG is reporting incorrectly.
This may be true but I believe this player engages HDR mode at lower resolutions.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
CCsoftball7 likes this.
ramcharger1979 is offline  
post #4197 of 13255 Old 03-27-2016, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
ramcharger1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 503
I am starting to believe this player is all over the board. Tonight for the first time I got the you need to be connect to a HDR capable display message when watching San Andreas. I have had this player since day one and have never seen this.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
ramcharger1979 is offline  
post #4198 of 13255 Old 03-28-2016, 01:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramcharger1979 View Post
This may be true but I believe this player engages HDR mode at lower resolutions.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
Why do you say that? What evidence do you have?

And as far as San Andreas, it's just a glitch. Put the disc back in; my guess is it will play. Did it?
korsjs and King Richard like this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP

Last edited by ahro; 03-28-2016 at 01:12 AM.
ahro is offline  
post #4199 of 13255 Old 03-28-2016, 01:15 AM
 
grizzledbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,790
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2886 Post(s)
Liked: 1328
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramcharger1979 View Post
I am starting to believe this player is all over the board. Tonight for the first time I got the you need to be connect to a HDR capable display message when watching San Andreas. I have had this player since day one and have never seen this.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
I had that too. All I had to do was toggle hdmi uhd color off and on and it went away.

UN55HU9000 TS01 SEK3500
King Richard likes this.
grizzledbiker is offline  
post #4200 of 13255 Old 03-28-2016, 03:26 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1792 Post(s)
Liked: 4341
Quote:
Originally Posted by EngenZerO View Post
Running on 100ft Celerity DFO. Seems to be working. It's a little finicky when it comes to power at TX/RX ends and occasionally with handshaking. Going to test out and watch the Martian tonight. Gonna put it through the grinder tonight.

Does it work better with the TV mounted sideways?



grizzledbiker and galonzo like this.
King Richard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off