Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 51582Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:14 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by srinivas1015 View Post
Well, this is my first Oppo, so I have no idea what the upscaling looks like on the 103 . I'm currently using just a PS3 with my JVC rs-400. I take it that there would be a significant improvement? And more importantly, had you noticed any artifacts (especially with lots of foliage in the frame)? How do you usually prefer to watch blu-rays: at native 1080p or with upscaling enabled?
I would not expect significant video improvements between brands, but I might be wrong. OPPO goes to great effort to get the video correct, which is harder than it sounds.

I use UHD 24 for my resolution: the player upscales.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:15 PM
Member
 
wile3coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by russl View Post
I just placed my order and I'm pretty excited for my first Oppo player.

For those of you who've had earlier models and use universal remotes: Are they like most manufacturers where the IR codes stay pretty consistent from model to model? I want to go ahead and get my remote ready to go so I'm planning to download a code set from the 103 to get things mostly set.

Thanks,
Russ
According to the support page:

"The UDP-203 uses mostly the same remote code as the BDP-83. There are a few buttons added or removed. A universal remote previously programmed for the BDP-80/83/93/95/103(D)/105(D) will work with the UDP-203. The following remote control code document may be used as a reference for new IR code programming."

There is also a spreadsheet on that page that can be downloaded with all of the pronto codes.
wile3coyote is offline  
post #93 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellohowareyou View Post
A 100 dollar premium to ship just across the border to Canada is pure blasphemy by Fedex. Then add taxes, plus I know Fedex is going to add its own premium for brokerage. I will wait. Sigh!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Not too mention the USD to CAD exchange rate


Wrong thread as per direction at the start, but I will say I'm also in Canada and I think it's worth it.
FedEx is by far the most reliable cross-border courier, I am sure they included insurance, it's NOT the cheapest FedEx method so it should arrive fast, and it will still be cheaper than waiting to buy from the Canadian distributer. And you'll have it sooner.
Should come as no surprise really.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony XBR65X930D | Yamaha RXA3060 | AudioSource AMP100VS | Oppo UDP203 | NVidia Shield | Sony SSK90ED/70ED/CNK10ED *** Looking for 2 x K10ED's!! ***| KEF Ci160ER's (4) | Sony SAWX900's (2) | SVS PC12 Plus | Monster AVS2000SS & HTPS7000SS |
dashcam88 is online now  
 
post #94 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:17 PM
Member
 
scenemissing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugg. Can you tell me more about this vile Cineava restriction on local files? Is it on burned disks or anything connected to USB? I use so much digitally that if it won't play back that might be a deal breaker for me.

Do we know all what media is infected with it?
scenemissing is offline  
post #95 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:18 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedit View Post
Bill,

Thanks for that, I see under the video settings it has "strip metadata" under HDR along with auto, on and off. Only auto, on and off are in the online manual as far as I can see. So this setting will allow the BT.2020 profile to be passed. I could not find any reference to this in the manual at all but happy this option will be available.
We'll see if it is in the production firmware. It may be too experimental now.

The issue, as I understand it, is not retaining the 2020 color space, but handling HDR correctly. People want 2020 but with HDR converted to SDR, right? (I don't use that myself, so correct me if I'm wrong). I don't believe the spec covers that transformation, which is bizarre, because all players have to do it when displaying HDR sources on non-HDR displays, like existing 1080p displays (converting color space to BT709 in that case).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #96 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:21 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by scenemissing View Post
Ugg. Can you tell me more about this vile Cineava restriction on local files? Is it on burned disks or anything connected to USB? I use so much digitally that if it won't play back that might be a deal breaker for me.

Do we know all what media is infected with it?
Optical discs, USB hard drives, DLNA, SMB & NFS networks.

Currently not detected for HDMI input or HDMI ARC.

Cinavia is mostly (but not exclusively) Sony. Google and you'll find lists.

-Bill
Peteco68 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #97 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:22 PM
DAB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SF CA
Posts: 2,540
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by atabea View Post
To any of the beta testers: Can you please confirm whether the analog outs (particularly the analog sub out) are are simultaneously active with the HDMI outs?
thanks.
YES---

db
DAB is offline  
post #98 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 191
In on my second try. Will be replacing a 105 used as a control center, or pre-pro, for a 5.1 system. The OPPO is connected to a 5 channel amp and 2 powered sub woofers. The one input is from a TiVo. Both the TiVo and the TV set have streaming capability. This will be my fourth OPPO player in the past 10 years. Glad to be here.

LG OLED 65 E6P, OPPO UDP-203, Yamaha CX-A5100 AVP
elphillips is offline  
post #99 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,922
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by atabea View Post
Thanks, wmmclain, that's an imprtant feature for me as I want to run my Crowson Transducers independently. This was also true of all Panasonic BD Players with analog outs, but the UB900 eliminated this feature to my great disappointment.
Also very important for those with legacy D-BOX implementations--those boxes will be supported with new movies codes for less than a month, but still--
thxman likes this.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #100 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:28 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,476
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3688 Post(s)
Liked: 4810
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Does the HDMI input on the back pass bitstream or is it pcm like the 103?
It accepts Bitstream, including the lossless Bitstreams.
--Bob
thxman and dnoonie like this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #101 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:28 PM
Member
 
russl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: MN
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wile3coyote View Post
According to the support page:

"The UDP-203 uses mostly the same remote code as the BDP-83. There are a few buttons added or removed. A universal remote previously programmed for the BDP-80/83/93/95/103(D)/105(D) will work with the UDP-203. The following remote control code document may be used as a reference for new IR code programming."

There is also a spreadsheet on that page that can be downloaded with all of the pronto codes.

Thanks! I just found that page myself and was about to answer my own question here.

Russ
russl is offline  
post #102 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: O.A.S.I.S
Posts: 7,396
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1450 Post(s)
Liked: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by scenemissing View Post
Ugg. Can you tell me more about this vile Cineava restriction on local files? Is it on burned disks or anything connected to USB? I use so much digitally that if it won't play back that might be a deal breaker for me.

Do we know all what media is infected with it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Optical discs, USB hard drives, DLNA, SMB & NFS networks.

Currently not detected for HDMI input or HDMI ARC.

Cinavia is mostly (but not exclusively) Sony. Google and you'll find lists.

-Bill
Some Universal, Warner and Fox titles have it as well. I was shocked to find that much of my collection has it. When I sold my 103D in anticipation of the 203 and had to use my old PS3 for a month, it felt like half the titles were infected.

In short, enough movies are coded this way that using a device like the PS3 as my media player was not workable. Way too many movies would just stop playing audio after several minutes and a warning would flash on the screen. Then we'd be digging through piles of movies in storage to find the original. I was not a popular guy on those evenings.

***
My current setup.
My favorite movie review podcast, the Next Picture Show.
Don't suffer through Gamma D on your JVC. Optimize HDR Tone Mapping using Arve's tool & Masciola's test patterns instead (hints.)
nathan_h is online now  
post #103 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
bigdogaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Here's what EVERYONE is waiting to know: Yes it comes in a special bag -

It's a man bag, very cosmopolitan


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My equipment: JVC RS-55, SI Performance 120" 1.3 gain, OPPO BDP-105, ANTHEM MRX-1120, Roomie-iPad, QNAP 469L NAS, ROKU 4, ATV, DTV HR34-500, PS3, XBOX 360. ML Source (F), Matinee (C), MotionFX (S), Motion4 (.4), (2) Depth-i subs. M/ASlim5 Rack, CalMAN 5 Enthusiast/C6 meter.
bigdogaxis is offline  
post #104 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,532
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2448 Post(s)
Liked: 1763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
Yeah but if you have the Oppo Go Green Limited Edition Carryall, you know you're extra special.
I have a green bag. Can't remember what came in it. Was that the beta sample for the BDP-93????
Smarty-pants likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #105 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:39 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I have a green bag. Can't remember what came in it. Was that the beta sample for the BDP-93????
-83.

-Bill
Sam S and Smarty-pants like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #106 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
We'll see if it is in the production firmware. It may be too experimental now.

The issue, as I understand it, is not retaining the 2020 color space, but handling HDR correctly. People want 2020 but with HDR converted to SDR, right? (I don't use that myself, so correct me if I'm wrong). I don't believe the spec covers that transformation, which is bizarre, because all players have to do it when displaying HDR sources on non-HDR displays, like existing 1080p displays (converting color space to BT709 in that case).

-Bill
The FAQ on the website says it will do this so hoping it is included on the one I just ordered. I don't believe it is a conversion, it is just stripping the HDR data away while keeping the Wide Color Gamut information. Folks are doing it with other players in combination with a HDfury box that may not be necessary any longer, here's hoping.
Mikedit is offline  
post #107 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:45 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikedit View Post
The FAQ on the website says it will do this so hoping it is included on the one I just ordered. I don't believe it is a conversion, it is just stripping the HDR data away while keeping the Wide Color Gamut information. Folks are doing it with other players in combination with a HDfury box that may not be necessary any longer, here's hoping.
Well, that's a puzzle. You strip the metadata and the display will accept it as SDR. If you have not remapped the contrast somehow, the signal is still HDR, just not labelled as such. Does the display know what to do with that?

-Bill
atabea likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #108 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,532
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2448 Post(s)
Liked: 1763
Quote:
Originally Posted by russl View Post
I just placed my order and I'm pretty excited for my first Oppo player.

For those of you who've had earlier models and use universal remotes: Are they like most manufacturers where the IR codes stay pretty consistent from model to model? I want to go ahead and get my remote ready to go so I'm planning to download a code set from the 103 to get things mostly set.

Thanks,
Russ
Quote:
Originally Posted by wile3coyote View Post
According to the support page:

"The UDP-203 uses mostly the same remote code as the BDP-83. There are a few buttons added or removed. A universal remote previously programmed for the BDP-80/83/93/95/103(D)/105(D) will work with the UDP-203. The following remote control code document may be used as a reference for new IR code programming."

There is also a spreadsheet on that page that can be downloaded with all of the pronto codes.
Using Harmony here. Harmony has 2 sets of codes for Oppo. One is called "Oppo Player" or the like, the other (and later) set is called "Oppo Home Theater". The later set (Home Theater) is the best choice since it includes codes for input toggle, "option" and so forth, and allows you to power on the player with a specific input set.
DanGraney and grtuck like this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #109 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Well, that's a puzzle. You strip the metadata and the display will accept it as SDR. If you have not remapped the contrast somehow, the signal is still HDR, just not labelled as such. Does the display know what to do with that?

-Bill
Yes, it displays as SDR but with BT.2020 enabled. I noticed another one of the beta testers commented that it works great with his Epson projector.
Smarty-pants likes this.
Mikedit is offline  
post #110 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Lucky Strike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What kind of power cord does it use? I've got my pre-order in but I already know that I'm likely going to need to buy a longer cord. I had to buy an aftermarket 10' cord for my current player for my particular space. It'd be nice to order the cord now so that I've got it before the Oppo shows up.
Lucky Strike is offline  
post #111 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Jubei-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 59
can any of the beta tester please confirm that the 203 is multivoltage as shown on the pictures of the back.

-Jubei
Jubei-1 is offline  
post #112 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Mikedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky Strike View Post
What kind of power cord does it use? I've got my pre-order in but I already know that I'm likely going to need to buy a longer cord. I had to buy an aftermarket 10' cord for my current player for my particular space. It'd be nice to order the cord now so that I've got it before the Oppo shows up.
The manual states the power cord is 4.5 feet.
Mikedit is offline  
post #113 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,070
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Well, that's a puzzle. You strip the metadata and the display will accept it as SDR. If you have not remapped the contrast somehow, the signal is still HDR, just not labelled as such. Does the display know what to do with that?

-Bill
IIRC, with the Panny 900 if you turn on HDR to SDR conversion in the player, it just sends out SDR BT709 8 bit. BUT, if you connect it to a display that cannot do HDR, or hide the fact with the Fury, the Panny will then convert HDR to SDR, and send out BT2020 10 bit WCG.

The Philips does the same, but its color mapping has been found to be a little off. So, the Panny is remapping, it is a very good image with just HDR stripped because I had one. I sold that setup when the 203 looked like it would have it.
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #114 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Rengozu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: TN
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 46
So what video settings are people using for UHD's when connected to the JVC RS600?
noshank likes this.
Rengozu is offline  
post #115 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SimpleTheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,945
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Any beta testers have a newer JVC projector? I'm hoping the OPPO BT2020 spec can be used instead of what I'm experiencing with my JVC, which is a very dark picture requiring the use of bright mode to bring it up to barely acceptable brightness.

Why is there NO perfect equipment, only compromises?
SimpleTheater is offline  
post #116 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audioguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Not far from Atlanta - but far enough!
Posts: 6,495
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2532 Post(s)
Liked: 1677
Quote:
Originally Posted by joez7700 View Post
Question for the beta testers. Does the new udp 203 have the ability to zoom 4k disc's?
I would much rather have vertical stretch. Much much rather. Is it included by any chance??
audioguy is online now  
post #117 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:06 PM
Member
 
solid_dvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does it have vertical stretch for UHD-discs and 4K media files? I saw some discussion about zoom modes earlier
in this thread, but wanted to check the vertical stretch capability separately in the hopes that I could use my external
lens with the Oppo203. Thanks for any info!

EDIT: Looks like I was the 2nd to ask this
solid_dvd is offline  
post #118 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:12 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,292
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3324 Post(s)
Liked: 2595
Quote:
Originally Posted by audioguy View Post
I would much rather have vertical stretch. Much much rather. Is it included by any chance??
Quote:
Originally Posted by solid_dvd View Post
Does it have vertical stretch for UHD-discs and 4K media files? I saw some discussion about zoom modes earlier
in this thread, but wanted to check the vertical stretch capability separately in the hopes that I could use my external
lens with the Oppo203. Thanks for any info!

EDIT: Looks like I was the 2nd to ask this
Yes, same as the previous players.

-Bill
solid_dvd likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #119 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:13 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,476
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3688 Post(s)
Liked: 4810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubei-1 View Post
can any of the beta tester please confirm that the 203 is multivoltage as shown on the pictures of the back.

-Jubei
It is. Specs are here:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-u...-Features.aspx

and also printed towards the back of the user Manual, which can be downloaded from OPPO's Support page for the player.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #120 of 20727 Old 12-12-2016, 02:13 PM
Member
 
wile3coyote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by solid_dvd View Post
Does it have vertical stretch for UHD-discs and 4K media files? I saw some discussion about zoom modes earlier
in this thread, but wanted to check the vertical stretch capability separately in the hopes that I could use my external
lens with the Oppo203. Thanks for any info!

EDIT: Looks like I was the 2nd to ask this
According to the instruction manual, it does:

"Stretch – The image is vertically stretched 1.33 times. For movies with 2.35:1 aspect ratio, this zoom
level cuts off the black borders at the top and bottom of the image. Users of a projector with an
anamorphic lens may find this mode helpful."
solid_dvd likes this.
wile3coyote is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 uhd , blu-ray , Oppo , UDP-203 , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off