OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 124 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5238Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
meburdick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by daren_p View Post
Hi guys, I will have to read through the treads when I get a chance but I had a couple questions (hopefully haven't been asked too many times). I recently picked up a Sony x900e tv & today just got the x800 player to go with it. I picked up a couple UHD movies to test it out (Planet Earth II & the Revenant). Both these movies are HDR, how do I confirm that the movie is actually playing in HDR? I tried hitting believe it was the info key but that didn't seem to confirm HDR anywhere that I saw.

Both units are mostly stock settings (have tweaked the tv picture settings to ~rtings), did turn on the enhanced mode & have the player hooked up through HDMI 2, with what I believe is an HDMI cable that can do HDR (AR platinum).

I'm also wondering which piece of equipment does the better upconverting, should I do it in the player or the tv? & are there any other settings I should change to be getting the best picture out of the combo?
First, both are nice devices and should work well together. My X800 is connected to a 940D and it works great.

Second, you're going to want to alter your picture settings on the 900E to your liking and/or have it professionally calibrated. There are good things about the "out of the box" settings, but lots of folks that have tweaked settings have gotten much better pictures.

Third, be sure you have the X800 connected HDMI2 or HDMI3, and then be sure that particular port is set to Enhanced Mode.

Fourth, you can get validation of HDR by pressing "Action", choosing "Picture Settings" and looking in the upper right corner.
KONICA TECH likes this.
meburdick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,019
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 658 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Will this unit play legacy 1080p blu-ray on a 1080p television?
gbaby is offline  
post #3693 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbaby View Post
Will this unit play legacy 1080p blu-ray on a 1080p television?
Yes, of course!
Hellohowareyou is offline  
 
post #3694 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 07:11 PM
Member
 
shadylpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I can also confirm that HDR is still there for Netflix, but the HDR Icon is no longer there so you can't tell what has HDR and what doesn't unless you play it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
shadylpete is offline  
post #3695 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 08:39 PM
Senior Member
 
robert ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Pct

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Cables from the local cable company?

Even if they paid me to use them I would never use any cables from the cable company. Heck I have five or six routers they gave me, gathering dust in my closet because I have no desire to use them.

The inexpensive, Certified Premium, Monoprice HDMI cables have been working great in my UHD setup. With my Sony 850C and UHD devices.

Like all Certified Premium HDMI cables from other places, they are individually tested to meet the HDMI specs. With a link to the test results for each cable.
This is what I got and it looks to meet all the specifications needed!

http://www.pctinternational.com/wp-c..._20170321f.pdf
robert ham is offline  
post #3696 of 5592 Old 06-16-2017, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 713 Post(s)
Liked: 531
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert ham View Post
This is what I got and it looks to meet all the specifications needed!

http://www.pctinternational.com/wp-c..._20170321f.pdf
I'd be more impressed if the sheet stated "certified premium" or 18 Gbps.

There are still a lot of "high speed" HDMI cables around that are spec'd to 10.2 Gbps. That's adequate for some 4k material, but not all formats.

They may work just fine at the highest bitrates that are attained at this time. Or not.
bobknavs is offline  
post #3697 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 12:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Cables from the local cable company?

Even if they paid me to use them I would never use any cables from the cable company. Heck I have five or six routers they gave me, gathering dust in my closet because I have no desire to use them.
The best USB-A cable I've ever seen came from a local cable company, actually it was a DSL company, but that's similar. The cable is quite a bit heavier and thicker than some piece of junk I had bought at Radio Shack for some pretty good money.
lsjdflsdfsdf is offline  
post #3698 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 12:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The hdmi cables Comcast gives out with their X1 self upgrade kit has been very good quality for me. No it doesn't always do HDR and 4k perfectly but up till I got my 4k gear their cables worked perfectly with some of my picky hdmi devices.
Dartman is offline  
post #3699 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4065
To anyone curious, Robert Zohn posted elsewhere that Sony has not given an official date for their displays and DV, but likely "end of summer". So I would not expect the players to get it before then, IF they even get it.
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #3700 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 6
OFFICIAL Sony UBP-X800 Owners Thread

I bought the Rocky mountain express UHD 4k HDR from Amazon. The title says it has HDR on the cover.
But unable to get the HDR signal.
I tried a different disc PASSENGERS movie and I get the HDR signal. Not sure why the Rocky Mountain express disc doesn't play HDR version.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by pssriram16; 06-17-2017 at 04:29 PM.
pssriram16 is offline  
post #3701 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Are you SURE you're putting the 4K disc in your player and not the Blu-ray? Many 4K UHD titles package the 4K disc hidden under the insert on the LEFT side of the case and the Blu-ray disc is on the right side. Might be good to double-check.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Denon AVR-X4200W | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DMP-UB900
My Media Collection
dpippel is offline  
post #3702 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 03:25 PM
Member
 
carealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How to open case

Does anyone know how to open the case? I want to put an IR emitter inside like I have with my other equipment. I got the side panels off no problem. Near as I can tell, the top panel should slide forward after the screw on each side is removed, but for the life of me I can't get it to budge.
carealtor is offline  
post #3703 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
You could go to the Sony site and look at "Sony unique chassis" .. it looks like there are more than two screws.
lsjdflsdfsdf is offline  
post #3704 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpippel View Post
Are you SURE you're putting the 4K disc in your player and not the Blu-ray? Many 4K UHD titles package the 4K disc hidden under the insert on the LEFT side of the case and the Blu-ray disc is on the right side. Might be good to double-check.


Thank you my friend. You were right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
dpippel, Tim Glover and Magellan55 like this.
pssriram16 is offline  
post #3705 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by pssriram16 View Post
Thank you my friend. You were right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I did the same thing when my two movies showed up. Grabbed Chappie and watched the whole movie and thought it looked awesome but maybe not quite 4k. Turns out without thinking about it I grabbed the Blue Ray copy and watched it.
My set wasn't playing well with HDR and the Blue Ray almost looked better till I turned off HDR. Hoping my set or the player get a update that makes them play nice together.
I did get some mono price certified HDR cables so that part is covered.
pssriram16 likes this.
Dartman is offline  
post #3706 of 5592 Old 06-17-2017, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartman View Post
I did the same thing when my two movies showed up. Grabbed Chappie and watched the whole movie and thought it looked awesome but maybe not quite 4k. Turns out without thinking about it I grabbed the Blue Ray copy and watched it.
My set wasn't playing well with HDR and the Blue Ray almost looked better till I turned off HDR. Hoping my set or the player get a update that makes them play nice together.
I did get some mono price certified HDR cables so that part is covered.


First half of the movie saw it on blu-ray and then switched to the uhd disk for the second half. What an amazing difference. Especially aerial shots of cities like Venice look stunning.

Also the other difference I see is with blu-ray disk the sound was DTS-HD and with the uhd disk the sound mode was DOLBY-HD. Not sure which one is better. They both sounded good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
pssriram16 is offline  
post #3707 of 5592 Old 06-18-2017, 01:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I really liked the movie, I liked the one he did before as well so was kinda looking forward to seeing it then forgot about it as life moved on till I bought the player to compliment my new 4K TV. At least my TV seems to play HDR videos from You Tube just fine and not sure which one to blame for the disk HDR issues but probably the cheap TV and it's firmware not happy with how the Sony feeds it for now. Hope they make a sequel but MOST of the info out there says he wont be making one, while a few sites claim he will. I have a older non HDMI Onkyo 898 and not sure if it supports the newer Dolby formats but it still sounds great and was THX certified when it was made. I haven't bothered trying to add the extra speakers to do 7.1 either but I have enough extras I could someday.
Dartman is offline  
post #3708 of 5592 Old 06-18-2017, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
robert ham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 166
My BAD!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
I'd be more impressed if the sheet stated "certified premium" or 18 Gbps.

There are still a lot of "high speed" HDMI cables around that are spec'd to 10.2 Gbps. That's adequate for some 4k material, but not all formats.

They may work just fine at the highest bitrates that are attained at this time. Or not.
When I checked the link to look further and after opening up the bag the cable company got me, I realized that I added the incorrect link.. They told me they were Premium and they were correct. I am going to spend latter this Sunday to test the new cables!!

http://www.pctinternational.com/prod...h-speed-cable/
aaronwt and fvbounty like this.
robert ham is offline  
post #3709 of 5592 Old 06-18-2017, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Trying to play MKV H.264 Atmos Files downloaded from the digital theater via the USB on the X800. The thumb drive is formatted in EXFAT. Getting unsupported or corrupt message. Any thoughts? According to the manual it should be play it, unless it's through a Home Network Server. Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bcourt99 is offline  
post #3710 of 5592 Old 06-18-2017, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just ordered this player today. Hope its worth it.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Last edited by mbergh22; 06-18-2017 at 08:18 PM. Reason: Price Talk
mbergh22 is offline  
post #3711 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 12:29 AM
Member
 
riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
Trying to play MKV H.264 Atmos Files downloaded from the digital theater via the USB on the X800. The thumb drive is formatted in EXFAT. Getting unsupported or corrupt message. Any thoughts? According to the manual it should be play it, unless it's through a Home Network Server. Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am not sure but some one here write about this... Atmos file will work only in m2ts container not on mkv...
riddle is offline  
post #3712 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 05:47 AM
Central Scrutinizer
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,290
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
I am not sure but some one here write about this... Atmos file will work only in m2ts container not on mkv...
MKV is just a container. If Atmos works in the m2ts file, then it will continue to work when put into an MKV container.

Nothing is what I want - a true Zen saying.

Marantz AV7005 pre/pro cheap
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #3713 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Question. Is it possible to change the brightness and contrast of a video/photo from the UBP-X800?
Hellohowareyou is offline  
post #3714 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
Trying to play MKV H.264 Atmos Files downloaded from the digital theater via the USB on the X800. The thumb drive is formatted in EXFAT. Getting unsupported or corrupt message. Any thoughts? According to the manual it should be play it, unless it's through a Home Network Server. Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by riddle View Post
I am not sure but some one here write about this... Atmos file will work only in m2ts container not on mkv...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sorel View Post
MKV is just a container. If Atmos works in the m2ts file, then it will continue to work when put into an MKV container.
Atmos does not work with mkv on most, if not all, blu-ray players. It needs to be converted to M2TS format first.

Use this thread & post as a guide to convert your mkv files to M2TS.
Hellohowareyou is offline  
post #3715 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 06:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellohowareyou View Post
Atmos does not work with mkv on most, if not all, blu-ray players. It needs to be converted to M2TS format first.



Use this thread & post as a guide to convert your mkv files to M2TS.


Great. Thanks for the info. Strange when the manual shows mkv's as a playable file type. Ha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bcourt99 is offline  
post #3716 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Post Recommended Settings On Post #1?

I don't know who has the ability to update the original post but it sure would save a lot of repeat questions and answers if the main "recommenced settings" were placed on the initial post. I know that some of the settings depend on specific preference but there are some that are pretty much universal.
Elbie likes this.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Dolby Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Sony FMP-X10 4K Media Server, Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray, and Roku 4K Broadband
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-890 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
post #3717 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
Trying to play MKV H.264 Atmos Files downloaded from the digital theater via the USB on the X800. The thumb drive is formatted in EXFAT. Getting unsupported or corrupt message. Any thoughts? According to the manual it should be play it, unless it's through a Home Network Server. Thanks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcourt99 View Post
Great. Thanks for the info. Strange when the manual shows mkv's as a playable file type. Ha.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mkv is definitely playable. It's just that when you have atmos encoded mkv's, the Dolby TrueHD audio file carries two layers of encoded audio, which the blue-ray payer isn't able to decode. It likes audio decoded in two audio layers, like what the actual blu-ray discs carry. The eac3to software, that I linked above allows to decode the audio, and such a decoded audio file is playable with M2TS container.

Without atmos files, mkv is completely playable with the X800 like many other contemporary blu-ray players. Also, DTS-X files do not suffer from this problem. DTS-X can be encoded in mkv containers and are completely playable in this player.

You could download a few atmos and dts-x demo files from here, copy in your thumb drive and run them on the X-800. Note the atmos files will be in mt2s format. While DTS-X files are in mkv format.
aaronwt and bcourt99 like this.

Last edited by Hellohowareyou; 06-19-2017 at 12:54 PM.
Hellohowareyou is offline  
post #3718 of 5592 Old 06-19-2017, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
SLYDoggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Anybody Using the UBP-X800 in 4K mode with the Sony VPL-VW1100 4K projector? I'm currently using the Samsung 8500 4K BluRay but want to switch to the Sony for the better HDR to SDR conversion (since the 1100 doesn't support HDR). I know that the menus are in 60FPS which can be problematic for the 1100. I had issues with the newest Roku 4K unit because of the 60FPS and want to make sure that the 800 player will play well with the 1100.

Regards, Steve
Projector/Receiver - Sony VPL-VW1100ES 4K PJ & Sony STR-ZA5000ES 4K Dolby Atmos AVR
Media Devices - Sony FMP-X10 4K Media Server, Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray, and Roku 4K Broadband
Screen - 145" Dragonfly, 1.2 Gain, 16:9, Matte White Fixed Screen
Theater Remote/Cables - Universal MX-890 RF Remote, Monoprice Certified 18Gb HDMI Cables
SLYDoggie is offline  
post #3719 of 5592 Old 06-20-2017, 05:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 532 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellohowareyou View Post
Question. Is it possible to change the brightness and contrast of a video/photo from the UBP-X800?
Got my answer. Through use of one of the two custom modes while playing a video.
Hellohowareyou is offline  
post #3720 of 5592 Old 06-20-2017, 06:51 AM
mnc
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 2,729
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
To anyone curious, Robert Zohn posted elsewhere that Sony has not given an official date for their displays and DV, but likely "end of summer". So I would not expect the players to get it before then, IF they even get it.
I wish Sony would hurry up and say whether or not this player will get the DV update! I'm getting very close to buying and I'd rather get the Sony over the OPPO and save nearly $300. No way I'd buy the Sony without knowing if it will do DV or not.
OHMSEN likes this.

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, Panasonic 65VT50, DUAL PSA XS30SE's
mnc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4kupscale , 5040 , Epson , Sony , ubp-ux80 , ubp-x1000es , x800

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off