One-and-Only PS3 as Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 1044 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31291 of 32100 Old 11-04-2011, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Football Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered a 3d projector. How well does the play station do 3d and the 7.1 sound?
Football Dad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31292 of 32100 Old 11-04-2011, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Has anyone had issues with the PS3 not playing nice with their projector? I just recently bought another PS3 for my living room and have it running into my processor and the output of the processor is run through a powered splitter to my plasma and JVC DLA-RS10. The PS3 works fine to the TV, but I get nothing to the projector. I decided to cut the splitter from the equation and run the output of processor directly into the projector and still nothing. I have an XBOX 360, Apple TV, NeoTV 550, HTPC and DirecTV box that all play nice, but the PS3 refuses. What am I missing here?

The Cave: Sony VPL-VW600ES, 110" Elite Fixed, Oppo BDP-103D, Apple TV 3, Marantz SR-7009, 3 x Emotiva XPA-1 Gen2 , 4 x Emotiva XPA-1L, MartinLogan Motion 60XT, MartinLogan Motion 50XT, 4 x MartinLogan MotionFX, 2 x Rythmik FV15HP, 4 x Gallo Nucleus Micro (Atmos Height)
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #31293 of 32100 Old 11-05-2011, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I have a 4 year old 40GB FAT PS3. I use it in a well ventilated area. Recently it has developed an issue whereby the fans kick up into higher gear after 10-15 minutes of a blu-ray movie or game. Its not in super jumbo jet mode, but it is quite a bit louder than my projector and very annoying, especially during quiet periods in a game or movie.

I've tried all the easy remedies, vacumming, blowing air/dusting etc but nothing has helped. Tried running it with cans under it as stands, didn't help, etc.

From what I read it may be the thermal paste and heat sinks. I'm not sure though because in those reports its YLOD or super crazy loud fans after 5 minutes.

In my cases I don't believe the fans are in the highest mode but they are definitely blowing pretty hard.

Anyway - I'm considering trading in my PS3 and putting the money toward a slim. Do the slims run much cooler and quieter, or might I have the same issue with that? If so that would be a huge waste of money.

There is a company I can send it to - looks like it'll cost me about $100 to take care of it. But at that point I could put that $100 plus some trade credit and for another $150 just get a brand new slim.

What do you guys make out of this and what do you recommend? Thanks!
lovingdvd is offline  
post #31294 of 32100 Old 11-05-2011, 12:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post

I have a 4 year old 40GB FAT PS3. I use it in a well ventilated area. Recently it has developed an issue whereby the fans kick up into higher gear after 10-15 minutes of a blu-ray movie or game. Its not in super jumbo jet mode, but it is quite a bit louder than my projector and very annoying, especially during quiet periods in a game or movie.

I've tried all the easy remedies, vacumming, blowing air/dusting etc but nothing has helped. Tried running it with cans under it as stands, didn't help, etc.

From what I read it may be the thermal paste and heat sinks. I'm not sure though because in those reports its YLOD or super crazy loud fans after 5 minutes.

In my cases I don't believe the fans are in the highest mode but they are definitely blowing pretty hard.

Anyway - I'm considering trading in my PS3 and putting the money toward a slim. Do the slims run much cooler and quieter, or might I have the same issue with that? If so that would be a huge waste of money.

There is a company I can send it to - looks like it'll cost me about $100 to take care of it. But at that point I could put that $100 plus some trade credit and for another $150 just get a brand new slim.

What do you guys make out of this and what do you recommend? Thanks!

Had the fat and now have the slim. Big difference but the slim is still a bit noisy. My fat was VERY loud, like a jet engine after 10 minutes. The slim fan can certainly be heard in a quite room but I would say it produces no more than 30% of the noise of the fat.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #31295 of 32100 Old 11-05-2011, 12:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,043
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Thanks. When I buy a slim is there any trick to looking at the packaging to determine if its the latest and greatest hardware? I'll probably get the 320GB Uncharted 3 Bundle one since I planned to buy the game anyway.

Then again this seems like a silly time to make that purchase. I have to think that with Black Friday coming up there will be a better deal... Anyway if there is newer hardware with a cooler chip/components etc certainly I'd want to get that one.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #31296 of 32100 Old 11-11-2011, 09:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Skyrim in 3D

Just got this game and have to ask how do you get it to play in 3D? When I installed the game, it downloaded an update. I believe it was in regards to 3D play. When I start the game now, there are warnings about 3D, but I can find nothing that allows me to play in 3D.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Thunderduck is offline  
post #31297 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderduck View Post

Skyrim in 3D

Just got this game and have to ask how do you get it to play in 3D? When I installed the game, it downloaded an update. I believe it was in regards to 3D play. When I start the game now, there are warnings about 3D, but I can find nothing that allows me to play in 3D.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Have you already PLAYED other 3D games?

There is a setting in the PS3 and Everything else needs to be 3D compatible
drhankz is online now  
post #31298 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

Have you already PLAYED other 3D games?

There is a setting in the PS3 and Everything else needs to be 3D compatible

Yes, Uncharted 3 and several 3D movies. Also a 3D space game I downloaded but can't recall the name. Looks good when the ship explodes. I have a new Vizio 3D set.

Could you please advise what I need to do in the PS3 so that I can confirm I have the correct settings there?

Thank you for your help.
Thunderduck is offline  
post #31299 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderduck View Post

Yes, Uncharted 3 and several 3D movies. Also a 3D space game I downloaded but can't recall the name. Looks good when the ship explodes. I have a new Vizio 3D set.

Could you please advise what I need to do in the PS3 so that I can confirm I have the correct settings there?

Thank you for your help.

If other 3D games played on the PS3 - you should be good to go
drhankz is online now  
post #31300 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

If other 3D games played on the PS3 - you should be good to go

In Uncharted 3, there is a menu selection I need to make to play the game in 3D plus the tv asks for confirnation when whenever a 3D source is played. Nothing like this happens when I start/play Skyrim.

Tks
Thunderduck is offline  
post #31301 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thunderduck, just curious where you got the impression that Skyrim is supposed to be 3D? I've never seen any mention of it being in 3D at all. In fact, I seem to remember seeing something about how the developers had zero interest in making their games in 3D.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #31302 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 83
So this thread is almost 6 years old.

Are there not better Blu-Ray players in terms of speed, quietness of operation, features, picture and audio quality, etc.?

How are the sub-$200 players compared to the PS3 for Blu-Ray and DVD upscaling?
wco81 is offline  
post #31303 of 32100 Old 11-12-2011, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Must have been an incorrect assumption on my part. When I loaded the game it appeared to download the same update that Uncharted 3 did. After the update there are all kinds of warnings about the affects of viewing 3D programs. Since, as far as I can tell anyway, Uncharted did not come as 3D I thought the both games would play in 3D after the update.

My bad. Will enjoy both games as they are.
Thunderduck is offline  
post #31304 of 32100 Old 11-13-2011, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamermwm View Post

How do I zoom in on the picture if it doesn't fill the frame using only the standard PS3 controller?

I want to watch Cars 2 in 3D and its not 1:78 but 2:35 or whatever so I just wanted to be able do away with the letterbox bars. Is this even possible without buying the PS3 blu ray remote? I haven't been able to figure out how to do it with the PS3 controller

Also, did they ever fix it to where you can watch a 3D movie in 1080p with 7.1 surround or is it still just 5.1?

Any help or knowhow would be appreciated as I haven't used the PS3 for much more than games

What type of tv do you have? I can change the aspect ratio using my sharp aquos tv. It gives me the option of 4:3,16:9,zoom,wide zoom or the best dot to dot. Zoom or wide zoom gets rid of the black bars.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,7 TB, Video Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #31305 of 32100 Old 11-23-2011, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
CobbFC09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post

So this thread is almost 6 years old.

Are there not better Blu-Ray players in terms of speed, quietness of operation, features, picture and audio quality, etc.?

How are the sub-$200 players compared to the PS3 for Blu-Ray and DVD upscaling?

I am curious to know the answer to this question as well.
CobbFC09 is offline  
post #31306 of 32100 Old 11-24-2011, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobbFC09 View Post

I am curious to know the answer to this question as well.

In My Opinion - the ONLY Difference is in DVD Up-Converting.

For playing Blu-Ray Content - it is 100% Digital - NO DIFFERENCE.

The PS3 has never been a slouch in DVD Up-Converting.

ALWAYS REMEMBER - DVDs are Low Def and Converting from Low-def
to Hi-Def is always open to end user opinions.

I hope this helps. I'm am 100% HAPPY with my (3) PS3s.
drhankz is online now  
post #31307 of 32100 Old 11-24-2011, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MSchu18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 156
does anyone know if there is a software download that will make a early gen PS3 region free as far as BD's are concerned?
thanks

VPI Classic 2/Soundsmith Aida-Rega P5/Groovetracer/Denon DL-103R
Parks Audio Budgie Pre Amp-Budgie SUT
Pioneer SC85-Bel Canto REF 500M
Klipsch Cornwall/Crites/Aletheia Audio-Klisch RC64II-Klipsch SW-115
Samsung PN64D8000-OPPO BDP-93
Klipsch Image Ones-Klipsch x11i
MSchu18 is offline  
post #31308 of 32100 Old 11-24-2011, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
CobbFC09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

In My Opinion - the ONLY Difference is in DVD Up-Converting.

For playing Blu-Ray Content - it is 100% Digital - NO DIFFERENCE.

The PS3 has never been a slouch in DVD Up-Converting.

ALWAYS REMEMBER - DVDs are Low Def and Converting from Low-def
to Hi-Def is always open to end user opinions.

I hope this helps. I'm am 100% HAPPY with my (3) PS3s.

Do you have the PS3 Slim? I am thinking of getting that on Black Friday.
CobbFC09 is offline  
post #31309 of 32100 Old 11-24-2011, 10:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,469
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobbFC09 View Post

Do you have the PS3 Slim? I am thinking of getting that on Black Friday.

I have (3) PS3 Fats.

The Slim can bit-stream Hi-Def Audio versus Converting Hi-Def Audio - as the FATS can do
drhankz is online now  
post #31310 of 32100 Old 11-25-2011, 09:30 AM
Member
 
Eyefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can I have two PS3's (about 30 feet apart in two different rooms) running two different games simultaneously on separate TV's ? Specifically I am wondering whether the controllers would "interfere" with the other machine. I would assume that each controller is paired via bluetooth with their own PS3?
Eyefly is offline  
post #31311 of 32100 Old 11-25-2011, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
owine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 1,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eyefly View Post

Can I have two PS3's (about 30 feet apart in two different rooms) running two different games simultaneously on separate TV's ? Specifically I am wondering whether the controllers would "interfere" with the other machine. I would assume that each controller is paired via bluetooth with their own PS3?

Correct. Simply plug a controller into the USB cable to pair it with the console.
owine is offline  
post #31312 of 32100 Old 11-25-2011, 03:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Liver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a "fat" PS3 that is just use for Blu Rays. The issue the freaking remote. Sometimes it pairs, sometimes not. To get it to pair, I have to hard start the PS3 (physically turn the switch) and hope it pairs.

Latest updates and Sony remote (new batteries). Any ideas.

I'm like Mother Theresa, but a bonin'.

Separating the uncomfortably feminine from the possible Canadian.
Liver is offline  
post #31313 of 32100 Old 11-25-2011, 03:26 PM
Member
 
XTRME 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liver View Post

I have a "fat" PS3 that is just use for Blu Rays. The issue the freaking remote. Sometimes it pairs, sometimes not. To get it to pair, I have to hard start the PS3 (physically turn the switch) and hope it pairs.

Latest updates and Sony remote (new batteries). Any ideas.

If I "remember" correctly, that sounds like a Bluetooth board going out. Mine does the same and my Blu-Ray drive just died for the second time. I'm going to have them replace it as well when I send it in for repair.
XTRME 94 is offline  
post #31314 of 32100 Old 11-25-2011, 10:59 PM
Member
 
roadwarrior980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've been noticing an issue with my VSX 21 receiver playing Blurays in TrueHD 7.1 and was wondering if it had something to do with the PS3 (I have a slim)

When I put in a BD with DTS-HD MA 7.1, such as Tron: Legacy or Captain America, the receiver reads it as 7.1 DTS-HD MA (I only have 5.1 channels set up, but the receiver reads it as 7.1.

When I play a title with TrueHD 7.1, such as Transformer: DOTM or Super 8, the receiver reads it as TrueHD, but only indicates 5.1 channels instead of 7.1. It still sounds alright, just wondering why it recognizes differently between the two formats.

Does anyone know why this is? the rest of my setup is a Samsung 47' LED display, non 3D. Thanks!

"To sin by silence when we should protest makes cowards out of men."

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 06-08.

Operation Iraqi Freedom Campaign Veteran, 09-10.

Operation Enduring Freedom Campaign Veteran, 12-13.

roadwarrior980 is offline  
post #31315 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 08:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Liver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XTRME 94 View Post

If I "remember" correctly, that sounds like a Bluetooth board going out. Mine does the same and my Blu-Ray drive just died for the second time. I'm going to have them replace it as well when I send it in for repair.

Gotcha. Guess I'll live with it until it truly dies. Not worth the additional investment of getting it fixed versus getting an new PS3 (or other Blu Ray player).

Unless you know of a cheap place to buy the replacement bluetooth board (or even if it is user replaceable). I'm going to search, but if you already know please chime in.

edit: found the iFixit site and it seems easy to replace. Now I need to find the replacement board in stock.

I'm like Mother Theresa, but a bonin'.

Separating the uncomfortably feminine from the possible Canadian.
Liver is offline  
post #31316 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 09:39 AM
Member
 
XTRME 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liver View Post

Gotcha. Guess I'll live with it until it truly dies. Not worth the additional investment of getting it fixed versus getting an new PS3 (or other Blu Ray player).

Unless you know of a cheap place to buy the replacement bluetooth board (or even if it is user replaceable). I'm going to search, but if you already know please chime in.

edit: found the iFixit site and it seems easy to replace. Now I need to find the replacement board in stock.

I have heard of others replacing it themselves which is why I believed that to be the issue. Since my drive is out again though, I'm just going to have Sony replaced both the drive and the bluetooth card. I purchased a new Slim 160GB for myself, but my daughter wants me to get my old one fixed and give it to her for Christmas, as she still has a bunch of PS2 games, and my old one is a 80GB backwards compatible one.
XTRME 94 is offline  
post #31317 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Swatdude1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please forgive my reluctance to read through 1000 pages for an answer to my question. I have done tons of reading on the LPCM vs Bitstream and I am still confused by what the new PS3's can actually do. I just bought Black Friday 160gb Ratchet and Clank Bundle for $199.

Is this considered a slim?

Will it bitstream TrueHD?

This is what Sony's website says which is confusing to me...

"2.A device compatible with Linear PCM 7.1 Ch. is required to output 7.1 Ch. audio, supported by Dolby TrueHD or a similar format, from the HDMI OUT connector. This system does not support output from the DTS-HD 7.1 Ch. DTS-HD 7.1 Ch audio is output from a 5.1 or lower channel."

My system is 5.1 so will it support bitstream for DTS-HD and TrueHD? I am running a Denon AVR-5308 in my home theater with a Panasonic BD player but I want one for the family room I which I would be running with a Pioneer Elite VSX-30.
Swatdude1 is offline  
post #31318 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swatdude1 View Post

Please forgive my reluctance to read through 1000 pages for an answer to my question. I have done tons of reading on the LPCM vs Bitstream and I am still confused by what the new PS3's can actually do. I just bought Black Friday 160gb Ratchet and Clank Bundle for $199.

Is this considered a slim?

Will it bitstream TrueHD?

This is what Sony's website says which is confusing to me...

"2.A device compatible with Linear PCM 7.1 Ch. is required to output 7.1 Ch. audio, supported by Dolby TrueHD or a similar format, from the HDMI OUT connector. This system does not support output from the DTS-HD 7.1 Ch. DTS-HD 7.1 Ch audio is output from a 5.1 or lower channel."

My system is 5.1 so will it support bitstream for DTS-HD and TrueHD? I am running a Denon AVR-5308 in my home theater with a Panasonic BD player but I want one for the family room I which I would be running with a Pioneer Elite VSX-30.

Post number 2 should explain it.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=931796
PaulGo is offline  
post #31319 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
TheGigaShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swatdude1 View Post

I have done tons of reading on the LPCM vs Bitstream and I am still confused by what the new PS3's can actually do.

The slim PS3 (as opposed to the "fat" original design) is able to send bitstream HD audio to your receiver (via HDMI) so that the receiver can decode it. The "fat" PS3 could not do this. It had to internally decode DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD tracks then send the decoded LPCM (also via HDMI) to the receiver. As it is all lossless (uncompressed) audio, the end result (what you hear) is the same.

The slim can actually do both (send bitstream or internally decode if you like). The only difference is that if you have the PS3 do the decoding instead of the receiver, the little DTS-HD and TrueHD LEDs on your receiver will not light up. It will only indicate incoming LPCM.

Quote:


I just bought Black Friday 160gb Ratchet and Clank Bundle for $199. Is this considered a slim?

Yes. For reference:
http://seraphstudios.net/wp-content/...8/ps3slim4.jpg

Slim on the right, fat on the left.

Quote:


Will it bitstream TrueHD?

Yes it will.


Quote:


My system is 5.1 so will it support bitstream for DTS-HD and TrueHD?

Based on the receivers you mentioned, yes. Bitstream or not has nothing to do with the number of channels (5.1 vs 7.1). That said, 7.1 tracks are much rarer than 5.1 tracks on Blu-ray discs. If you happen to get a disc with a 7.1 track, the receiver will down mix it to 5.1. No problem.

Bottom line for you based on the info you provided....

If you connect the PS3 to either of the receivers that you mentioned via HDMI and set the PS3 HDMI audio output to bitstream...

http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...ings.html#1470

...the receiver(s) will decode the DTS-HD MA or the Dolby TrueHD tracks. Do that and you're good to go.
TheGigaShadow is offline  
post #31320 of 32100 Old 11-26-2011, 11:10 PM
Member
 
Swatdude1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help! I was waiting for an answer before I cracked the PS3 box, debating on whether to take it back and go with a dedicated Blu-ray player. Hooked it up and popped in Conan that I had just rented. The soundtrack sounded awesome and the DTS-HD lit up the front of the receiver.

Sorry, I missed the first page!!! I actually searched the forum with the terms "PS3 bitstream TrueHD" and everything that returned was from 2007 or 2008. I didn't even think to check the first page of 1045 page thread, assuming it would also be from 2007.
Swatdude1 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Blu Ray Players , Blu Ray Movies , Sony , Toshiba , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off