One-and-Only PS3 as Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 1055 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31621 of 32090 Old 02-26-2012, 09:43 PM
Newbie
 
jorlanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok been using my PS3 as my only Blu-Ray Player since launch day...Now I saw a Sony BDP-S580 for $80 just saw I can get a 2nd Blu-Ray player sa i can use it on my Living room...

My question is PS3 was released 2006...the BDP-S580 was released 2011, Do they differ in picture quality?
jorlanm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31622 of 32090 Old 02-27-2012, 12:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can I use my apple Bluetooth keyboard/ wireless with ps3?
zoro is offline  
post #31623 of 32090 Old 02-27-2012, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Boston, MI
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anyone have any luck with HD quality YouTube videos with the new browser updates on the PS3? I haven't had a moment to play around with them but find the lack of a YouTube app to be a major miss on this system.
Rob67 is offline  
post #31624 of 32090 Old 02-27-2012, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Ken Beck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Can I use my apple Bluetooth keyboard/ wireless with ps3?

Don't see why not - give it a try.
Ken Beck is offline  
post #31625 of 32090 Old 02-27-2012, 12:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Can I use my apple Bluetooth keyboard/ wireless with ps3?

Yes. My Apple Wireless Keyboard is paired with my PS3, although I hardly ever use it with the PS3 these days.
gwsat is offline  
post #31626 of 32090 Old 02-27-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorlanm View Post

Ok been using my PS3 as my only Blu-Ray Player since launch day...Now I saw a Sony BDP-S580 for $80 just saw I can get a 2nd Blu-Ray player sa i can use it on my Living room...

My question is PS3 was released 2006...the BDP-S580 was released 2011, Do they differ in picture quality?

I have both... and 1080p is 1080p as far as I can tell... If there is a difference I can't see it.

I now just use my S580 (actually the Costco version - but same player) for movies... for no good reason really. I bought the S580 because it was a really good price, and at that time the PS3 didn't do any HD audio with 3D... plus it did SACDs which my PS3 does not do - I think it was originally a 40gig model, now it is 120gig.

-Aaron
My Basement Movie Room and Bar/Game Room - actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #31627 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
kiwi__av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am hoping someone can help with my new setup.

I have just purchased a new PS3 slim 160gb and a Denon AVR-1912. They are connected to each other via an HDMI cable and I was able to configure video and audio up with no problem.

However if I review the "Settings > Sound Settings > Audio Output Settings" settings on the PS3 both Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA are not selected. If I try and manually configure the audio settings both Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA are greyed out and can not be enabled. Is this normal??

I know I can configure the PS3 to decode the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA formats and pass the stream to the receiver as LPCM but at the moment I am just trying to comfirm I don't have a problem with either the PS3, the AVR-1912, or something else.
kiwi__av is offline  
post #31628 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Make sure you pick HDMI, not Optical. Also, Auto can give that behavior. Try Manual. Also more settings under Video settings - BD Audio Output Format.
mdavej is offline  
post #31629 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
kiwi__av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Make sure you pick HDMI, not Optical.

Am definitely using HDMI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Also, Auto can give that behavior. Try Manual.

Have tried manual, but the options for the Lossless formats are greyed out like they are disabled and cannot be selected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Also more settings under Video settings - BD Audio Output Format.

I have set the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" option to Bitstream but this just gives me DD or DTS lossy not the lossless format.

From what I can tell (and this is my first PS3 so maybe I am missing something) if I have the BD audio set to Bitstream and I am using an HDMI connection that is configured to support the lossless formats I should be getting the lossless formats at the receiver but that's not happening with my AVR-1912.

Is anyone else using the Denon AVR-1912 with a PS3 160gb setup to Bitstream?
kiwi__av is offline  
post #31630 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 04:59 PM
Member
 
WeaponX Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi__av View Post


Am definitely using HDMI.

Have tried manual, but the options for the Lossless formats are greyed out like they are disabled and cannot be selected.

I have set the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" option to Bitstream but this just gives me DD or DTS lossy not the lossless format.

From what I can tell (and this is my first PS3 so maybe I am missing something) if I have the BD audio set to Bitstream and I am using an HDMI connection that is configured to support the lossless formats I should be getting the lossless formats at the receiver but that's not happening with my AVR-1912.

Is anyone else using the Denon AVR-1912 with a PS3 160gb setup to Bitstream?

If your PS3 is a "Fat" model, it can't bitsream the lossless formats through HDMI. It can, however, decode them internally and send them in lossless PCM format to your receiver. Try changing the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" setting and then the lossles formats will be available for you to select.

Only the PS3 Slim can bitstream the lossless audio formats.
WeaponX Alpha is offline  
post #31631 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
kiwi__av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeaponX Alpha View Post

If your PS3 is a "Fat" model, it can't bitsream the lossless formats through HDMI. It can, however, decode them internally and send them in lossless PCM format to your receiver. Try changing the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" setting and then the lossles formats will be available for you to select.

Only the PS3 Slim can bitstream the lossless audio formats.

The PS3 is definitely a slim version (brand new 160gb) ...

I have played around with the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" options changing between both Bitstream and Linear PCM but neither option changes the options within "Settings > Sound Settings > Audio Output Settings".
kiwi__av is offline  
post #31632 of 32090 Old 02-28-2012, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi__av View Post

The PS3 is definitely a slim version (brand new 160gb) ...

I have played around with the "BD / DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI)" options changing between both Bitstream and Linear PCM but neither option changes the options within "Settings > Sound Settings > Audio Output Settings".

Try picking optical, then check all the options, then switch back to HDMI and see if they stick. Is your amp on when you make the choices? It appears to me that the PS3 actually attempts to communicate with whatever device is connected to fill in its supported formats automatically. It can't do this with optical, so you can make any choices you want.
mdavej is offline  
post #31633 of 32090 Old 02-29-2012, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
kiwi__av's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Try picking optical, then check all the options, then switch back to HDMI and see if they stick. Is your amp on when you make the choices? It appears to me that the PS3 actually attempts to communicate with whatever device is connected to fill in its supported formats automatically. It can't do this with optical, so you can make any choices you want.

I tried this last night. Selecting Optical just removed the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA options ... which makes sense are these formats cannot be passed down the optical cable.

I think you are correct in that the PS3 does seem to "detect" the capabilities of the receiver it is connected to. I know the Denon AVR-1912 can decode both the lossless formats which is why this makes no sense. Could it be a cable issue??
kiwi__av is offline  
post #31634 of 32090 Old 02-29-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi__av View Post

Am hoping someone can help with my new setup.

I have just purchased a new PS3 slim 160gb and a Denon AVR-1912. They are connected to each other via an HDMI cable and I was able to configure video and audio up with no problem.

However if I review the "Settings > Sound Settings > Audio Output Settings" settings on the PS3 both Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA are not selected. If I try and manually configure the audio settings both Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA are greyed out and can not be enabled. Is this normal??

I know I can configure the PS3 to decode the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD-MA formats and pass the stream to the receiver as LPCM but at the moment I am just trying to comfirm I don't have a problem with either the PS3, the AVR-1912, or something else.

On your AVR you have to make sure you don't pick a HDMI pass-through type option. On my Yamaha Rx-663 the option is called: S. AUDIO and it has to be set to RX-V663 (other choice is "Other"). When set to "Other" the TV HDMI capabilities are advertised to the PS3 instead of the AVR's capabilities. This is so the PS3 (or other source) will output a HDMI signal that is compatible with the TV so it can be pass-through. You will have to find what Denon calls that HDMI setting.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #31635 of 32090 Old 03-04-2012, 04:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheGoatLantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sending my fat in for a slim (qualified for the $99 upgrade) how do I back up my system data?
TheGoatLantern is offline  
post #31636 of 32090 Old 03-04-2012, 07:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGoatLantern View Post

Sending my fat in for a slim (qualified for the $99 upgrade) how do I back up my system data?

Wow, what a deal! How long have you had your Fat? I would love to qualify for the $99 upgrade deal but my old Fat is nearly four years old and still works well.
gwsat is offline  
post #31637 of 32090 Old 03-04-2012, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Ocielz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Haines city, FL
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwsat View Post

Wow, what a deal! How long have you had your Fat? I would love to qualify for the $99 upgrade deal but my old Fat is nearly four years old and still works well.

Yes I would also like to know:-)

Onkyo 608 7.2 set up.
Klipsch VF-35 front left/right
Klipsch VC-25 center speaker
Onkyo SKF-560F back surround speakers.
Klipsch Synergy S1 surround.
Onkyo 12in. sub.
Polk Audio PSW505
PS3
Ocielz is offline  
post #31638 of 32090 Old 03-04-2012, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheGoatLantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my fat since 2007, not sure how long the trade in program is running but I'm glad i qualified
TheGoatLantern is offline  
post #31639 of 32090 Old 03-05-2012, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Klips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Kokomo, IN USA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Where is this deal? Although, there might still be some advantages in keeping the phat!
Klips is offline  
post #31640 of 32090 Old 03-05-2012, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ok - I have succeeded in totaling confusing myself after all these years. I have the original fat PS3 (purchased when they first came out - 4 usb's in front, PS2 compatible, etc ec). And I bought a 3D TV a few years ago and then they finally came out w/the adapter and then Sony updated the PS3 to play 3D games & BDs. I have a 4 x 2 switch/splitter that I was using to watch 3D on the TV and other non-3D stuff on a projector. I remember when I was playing around w/3D and the PS3 I "think" I could connect the PS3 through my NON-1.4 receiver and still get HD audio and 3D for PS3 games but not 3D BDs. This week I upgraded to a new 3D projector so I no longer need the 3D set etc. I have a dedicated 3D BD player that has component audio out and HDMI out so I use that for 3D movies since I get the HD audio and pic w/my existing equipment.

Sorry for the long post so my question is this: Can I connect my PS3 via HDMI to my 1.3AVR and then from the AVR to my 3D projector and play 3D BD games along w/HD audio? I don't need 3D BD movies - just games.

I think I can if I first directly connect the PS3 via HDMI to the 3D Projector to 'find' the 3D video source; disconnect it from the projector; then connect it to the AVR

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31641 of 32090 Old 03-14-2012, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Vudu 3d movies are in 1080p when using a PS3?
swak is offline  
post #31642 of 32090 Old 03-15-2012, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Decision to upgrade to slim version???

I have had this fat version 40 GB PS3 for about 4 years. I don't play games at all. Only used it infrequent BD player. I like the video quality.

Now, I am thinking of upgrade to the slim version for aesthetic reason.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of slim version over the fat version? I will be using it for BD playing mainly.

Does the slim version still require Bluetooth remote only? I have a Logitech Harmony1100 universal remote.

If I try selling our current one, would I get a good price? ( I heard that some people want the fat version for backward compatibility for games.)

My current model is CECHHO1 version bought here in USA.
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #31643 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 03:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
upstate-avfan-da's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

Decision to upgrade to slim version???

I have had this fat version 40 GB PS3 for about 4 years. I don't play games at all. Only used it infrequent BD player. I like the video quality.

Now, I am thinking of upgrade to the slim version for aesthetic reason.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of slim version over the fat version? I will be using it for BD playing mainly.

Does the slim version still require Bluetooth remote only? I have a Logitech Harmony1100 universal remote.

If I try selling our current one, would I get a good price? ( I heard that some people want the fat version for backward compatibility for games.)

My current model is CECHHO1 version bought here in USA.

Do you play SACD? If so slim does not. You may get a decent price but all depends on who is around you and not worried that it will eventually get YLOD.

Bit by the upgrade bug, limited by the WAF
upstate-avfan-da is offline  
post #31644 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 04:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

Decision to upgrade to slim version???

I have had this fat version 40 GB PS3 for about 4 years. I don't play games at all. Only used it infrequent BD player. I like the video quality.

Now, I am thinking of upgrade to the slim version for aesthetic reason.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of slim version over the fat version? I will be using it for BD playing mainly.

Only difference will be that slim version will allow you to bitstream HD audio instead of doing it LPCM. That's really only an advantage if you want our AVR to say "DTS-MA" instead of "LPCM".

Quote:


Does the slim version still require Bluetooth remote only? I have a Logitech Harmony1100 universal remote.

This hasn't changed. I use the Harmony PS3 adapter with my 1100, has worked perfectly and it is cheap on eBay.

Quote:


If I try selling our current one, would I get a good price? ( I heard that some people want the fat version for backward compatibility for games.)

My current model is CECHHO1 version bought here in USA.

The 40 gig model doesn't have backwards compatability or SACD, so I couldn't even give you a guess.
(reference: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3 )

-Aaron
My Basement Movie Room and Bar/Game Room - actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #31645 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by upstate-avfan-da View Post

Do you play SACD? If so slim does not. You may get a decent price but all depends on who is around you and not worried that it will eventually get YLOD.

I don't think my unit/version plays SACD.

Is the slim version much quieter?
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #31646 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

I don't think my unit/version plays SACD.

Is the slim version much quieter?

If you are NOT a GAMER - upgrading from Fat to Thin is a waste of money.

Today's Next Generation Blu-Ray players do everything for under $200.

Check out the Panasonic DMP-BDT220.
drhankz is offline  
post #31647 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paul Clancy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

I don't think my unit/version plays SACD.

Is the slim version much quieter?

The slim is much quieter than my launch fat. Worth the $$ in my opinion.
Paul Clancy is offline  
post #31648 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
CHRIS650's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

If you are NOT a GAMER - upgrading from Fat to Thin is a waste of money.

Today's Next Generation Blu-Ray players do everything for under $200.

Check out the Panasonic DMP-BDT220.

I think that's true.

However, the blu-ray player in ps3 is so robust and fast!

Also, ps3 is also the best dvd player that I have ever seen!
CHRIS650 is offline  
post #31649 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS650 View Post

I think that's true.

However, the blu-ray player in ps3 is so robust and fast!

Also, ps3 is also the best dvd player that I have ever seen!

I own (3) PS3s and the Panasonic BLOWS the PS3 away in all departments for a
PLAYER only You should buy a Panasonic DMP-BDT220. for less than $150 and
see what a 4th Generation PLAYER will do. That is my two cent recommendation.

The thin PS3 is NOT A DARN THING NEW.
drhankz is offline  
post #31650 of 32090 Old 03-16-2012, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
RaggedEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you only use your PS3 for blu-rays, then you are much better off getting a standalone player. IMHO.

Alex
RaggedEdge is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Blu Ray Players , Blu Ray Movies , Sony , Toshiba , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off