One-and-Only PS3 as Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 1061 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31801 of 32090 Old 06-04-2012, 04:43 PM
Member
 
joepags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI55ION View Post

If you ask me I think you've been unlucky. I've got a release day old ps3 'fat' and a 3 year old 'slim' both still working as new.

+1, except my slim is only 2 years old. Extremely happy with both.
joepags is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #31802 of 32090 Old 06-04-2012, 07:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 14,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI55ION View Post

If you ask me I think you've been unlucky. I've got a release day old ps3 'fat' and a 3 year old 'slim' both still working as new.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joepags View Post

+1, except my slim is only 2 years old. Extremely happy with both.

Me three. I have had my PS3 Fat for 4 years and I gave my grandson one 6 months after I got mine. Both have performed flawlessly ever since.
gwsat is online now  
post #31803 of 32090 Old 06-06-2012, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
ok stupid question time biggrin.gif

i have a standard hdmi(ferrite core ones) cable going from my ps3(fatty) to my pio1018 my samsung has a high speed cable and looks better. i was shopping for new cables to hook up my htpc and saw that monoprice has a silver plated cable for sale for $10, should i get one for the ps3 or would i be better off with a normal high speed cable, or is the difference in picture quality "in my head"?

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31804 of 32090 Old 06-07-2012, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

ok stupid question time biggrin.gif
i have a standard hdmi(ferrite core ones) cable going from my ps3(fatty) to my pio1018 my samsung has a high speed cable and looks better. i was shopping for new cables to hook up my htpc and saw that monoprice has a silver plated cable for sale for $10, should i get one for the ps3 or would i be better off with a normal high speed cable, or is the difference in picture quality "in my head"?
I buy all my cables from Monoprice and $10 seems pricey for one of their HDMI cables (what length are you getting?). I was just on their site yesterday and a 6' HDMI was @$3 (latest spec etc) and you can choose from different colors.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31805 of 32090 Old 06-07-2012, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

I buy all my cables from Monoprice and $10 seems pricey for one of their HDMI cables (what length are you getting?). I was just on their site yesterday and a 6' HDMI was @$3 (latest spec etc) and you can choose from different colors.

this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024004&p_id=3658&seq=1&format=2 i was asking because i got some standard speed ones back in 2008 and i need more for my htpc and movies look better with the high speed cable attached to my bdp-1400 so i was wonderig if it was the cable or the player as i could always order a third cable

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31806 of 32090 Old 06-07-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024004&p_id=3658&seq=1&format=2 i was asking because i got some standard speed ones back in 2008 and i need more for my htpc and movies look better with the high speed cable attached to my bdp-1400 so i was wonderig if it was the cable or the player as i could always order a third cable

That cable is fine if you're going to run it in a wall - thus the higher price. No need to get that one unless you're running it through a wall. smile.gif

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31807 of 32090 Old 06-11-2012, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DayWalkerSC400 View Post

Thanks for the responses! This is great news and super helpful. One last question, do you guys think a dedicated blu ray player will outlast a ps3 in terms of life span? I've used my ps3 only for blu ray and Netflix streaming and it died after 2 years. This unit was refurbished but the new console I had before that died after the same amount of time. I want a dedicated blu ray player because I am hoping it will last me longer. Think it will last me quite some time or what's the average life span?

ps3 should be fine just make sure you have a "optimal operating environment" i try to baby mine as i live in a cape and the ave temp/humidity gets pretty bad in the summer and there's no windows or a/c. if i had an a/c id try to keep it between 58-65F in the HT but back OT, it never hurts to have a back up player just in case if you have the funds cool.gif

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31808 of 32090 Old 06-11-2012, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
krholmberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10240&cs_id=1024004&p_id=3658&seq=1&format=2 i was asking because i got some standard speed ones back in 2008 and i need more for my htpc and movies look better with the high speed cable attached to my bdp-1400 so i was wonderig if it was the cable or the player as i could always order a third cable

That's what I use. I say get the best... we are literally talking about a couple bucks.

Krister
krholmberg is offline  
post #31809 of 32090 Old 06-15-2012, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
MrPanther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I purchased BBC Life on Blu-ray here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002UXRGM0/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

According to most reviews, this set should play fine on USDM PS3's. Well after the initial splash screens and video intro, it goes to a blank screen and refuses to even go to the Title menu! This is beyond frustrating. Is there such a thing as 1080p/50? Some people have said that my PS3 Slim , mfg in Sept. 2011, can't read this format. I checked and this release, although a UK release, is region free so that should NOT be a problem.

By the way, I'm running my PS3 through my Denon AVR 1910. Anyone know what might be going on?
MrPanther is offline  
post #31810 of 32090 Old 06-15-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPanther View Post

So I purchased BBC Life on Blu-ray here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002UXRGM0/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img
According to most reviews, this set should play fine on USDM PS3's. Well after the initial splash screens and video intro, it goes to a blank screen and refuses to even go to the Title menu! This is beyond frustrating. Is there such a thing as 1080p/50? Some people have said that my PS3 Slim , mfg in Sept. 2011, can't read this format. I checked and this release, although a UK release, is region free so that should NOT be a problem.
By the way, I'm running my PS3 through my Denon AVR 1910. Anyone know what might be going on?

You are out of luck... The PS3 cannot playback 1080p/50. Although the disc is region fee, the playback format is not compatible with NSTC standards. I think the US version is 1080i/60....

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #31811 of 32090 Old 06-23-2012, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

just lost my 60gb to the red blinking light; is it a better idea just to get a replacement unit for $99 and restore a backup from the old system? the only ps2 games i play are MGS, legacy of kain and FF-X. i use it as my primary bluray player(samsung bdp-1400 is my backup) is it worth getting a slim referb.

went with the try to fix, they sent me another 60 gb "referb" i got the thing around the beginning of march, go to turn it on today; fan spins up 3 beeps red light, one month out of warrenty. i called support and they said to call back on monday because there isnt a supervisor to approve another replacement 60gb. anyone else who still has a fat( and no a/c in a windowless ht den) how do you keep your system cool?

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31812 of 32090 Old 06-24-2012, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the deal in some dark scenes in Blu Rays where I see a lot of noise and there is a flashing phenomena. I've seen this in various different blu rays on my PS3 over time.
Just last night in the Blu Ray Journey 2: Mysterious Island I saw this in some dark scenes, and not in all.
Anybody know what's happening here? Blu Ray mastering errors? PS3 settings or problems?
Anyone?

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #31813 of 32090 Old 06-24-2012, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,420
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardballpete View Post

What is the deal in some dark scenes in Blu Rays where I see a lot of noise and there is a flashing phenomena. I've seen this in various different blu rays on my PS3 over time.
Just last night in the Blu Ray Journey 2: Mysterious Island I saw this in some dark scenes, and not in all.
Anybody know what's happening here? Blu Ray mastering errors? PS3 settings or problems?
Anyone?

Hi hardballpete, is the PS3 connected via HDMI? If so check if "Deep Color" found under "Display Settings Menu" is set to Auto ... if so try Off.
JChin is offline  
post #31814 of 32090 Old 06-24-2012, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
hardballpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Davie, Fl.
Posts: 497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes on HDMI. Deep color is off. Super white was on, turned it off.

Anything else?

Baby, remember...It's my life and I'll do what I want!
hardballpete is offline  
post #31815 of 32090 Old 06-24-2012, 06:59 PM
Member
 
wickedg8gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: louisville ky
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read the last couple pages and i'm having the same issue as a few other people. My Ps3 fat out of nowhere stopped reading disc. Last week I watched a couple movies and the next day it wouldn't work. The load icon spins but nothing. So today i called Sony's tech support and they said something was wrong and I could send it in for a $99 repair or just have to buy a new one. Not sure what to do and some advice would be greatly appreciated.
wickedg8gt is offline  
post #31816 of 32090 Old 06-25-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedg8gt View Post

I've read the last couple pages and i'm having the same issue as a few other people. My Ps3 fat out of nowhere stopped reading disc. Last week I watched a couple movies and the next day it wouldn't work. The load icon spins but nothing. So today i called Sony's tech support and they said something was wrong and I could send it in for a $99 repair or just have to buy a new one. Not sure what to do and some advice would be greatly appreciated.
They offer a $99 refurbed Slim to me since I have the original fat 60gb w/ps2 compatibility - i decided to pay the extra $ to get mine repaired. Took @ 2weeks in total time.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31817 of 32090 Old 06-25-2012, 08:25 AM
Member
 
wickedg8gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: louisville ky
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

They offer a $99 refurbed Slim to me since I have the original fat 60gb w/ps2 compatibility - i decided to pay the extra $ to get mine repaired. Took @ 2weeks in total time.

Thanks. Mine is only a 40gb fat and thats why I was wondering if it was cost effective to spend the $100 dollars or another $150 more and get a new one with the warranty. The tech said it was only a 45 day warranty after they fix it and I don't know how they do as far as repairs go a year down the road. I did consider refurbished from them or my local video game store but used always worries me.
wickedg8gt is offline  
post #31818 of 32090 Old 06-25-2012, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedg8gt View Post

Thanks. Mine is only a 40gb fat and thats why I was wondering if it was cost effective to spend the $100 dollars or another $150 more and get a new one with the warranty. The tech said it was only a 45 day warranty after they fix it and I don't know how they do as far as repairs go a year down the road. I did consider refurbished from them or my local video game store but used always worries me.
The warranty is the same whether you have them repair your unit or they send you a refurbed one.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31819 of 32090 Old 06-25-2012, 08:44 AM
Member
 
wickedg8gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: louisville ky
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

The warranty is the same whether you have them repair your unit or they send you a refurbed one.

Thanks for your help. So basically I have to decide buy new or take a chance with a refurbed one. Never bought anything refurbed so not sure what to do but I need one.
wickedg8gt is offline  
post #31820 of 32090 Old 06-25-2012, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickedg8gt View Post

Thanks for your help. So basically I have to decide buy new or take a chance with a refurbed one. Never bought anything refurbed so not sure what to do but I need one.
For $115 I chose to have mine repaired. If a new one cost $175 I'd probably have opted for a new one but they're not that cheap.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31821 of 32090 Old 06-26-2012, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
how do you keep yours cool? i dont have any a/c

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31822 of 32090 Old 06-27-2012, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brandonnash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: murfreesboro, tn
Posts: 3,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You can always check local pawn shops. I go in the shops around me for video games pretty frequently and the cost for used units from them are $150-175 for the newer slim models. Most pawn shops offer a 30 day money back offer if it stops working. I have a 40 gig fat model I got a little over a year ago used from a friend for $50. Couldn't pass up that deal. Still working fine.

brandonnash is offline  
post #31823 of 32090 Old 06-28-2012, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

how do you keep yours cool? i dont have any a/c
I have AC but it gets warm (the man cave is the second floor) but the PS3 is fairly well ventilated. I DO use CPU fans on my AVR to help keep the air blowing off it. They connect via usb on a usb hub to my Revu.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31824 of 32090 Old 08-13-2012, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 45
stupid thing died again; decided to go for a slim since they said i could have it for free, mom should be happy since it uses less power(and i can put the funds for a new player into getting a popcorn machine). are the video settings the same as the "Bertha" ones

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #31825 of 32090 Old 08-20-2012, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Same here my trusty old PS3 keeps dying. I reflow fixed YLOD couple of times already. I used my PS3 only for playing blu-ray's and occasionally for DVD. I need to find player that has at least same quality blu-ray picture and also player should work fast as PS3. I already purchased Panasonic BDT110 a while ago and it is fast player but occasionally I find its picture lacking compared to PS3. Would it be best just to buy another PS3?

My old PS3 is fat version, how slim compares to it in blu-ray playing? I've seen tests that slim is slower but besides that is there any other difference (especially in picture quality)?

Anyone here found a standalone player that is definitely better than PS3 in playing blu-ray's?
Big Lebowski is offline  
post #31826 of 32090 Old 08-20-2012, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
^^ MY fat PS3 just died this weekend. About 3 days left in my 90 day warranty repair from paying to get it repaired when it stopped playing discs/games. Now it just 'died' (flashing red light - red light - green light -yellow light - flashing red light again). So I'll be sending it to them again for repair. We'll see what happens this time.

I have a 3D BD player I use for my movies now and regulated the PS3 to just a game player.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #31827 of 32090 Old 08-20-2012, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electric_Haggis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Lebowski View Post

Same here my trusty old PS3 keeps dying....
Anyone here found a standalone player that is definitely better than PS3 in playing blu-ray's?

I've recently replaced my PS3 Slim with a Sony BDP-S185.

Quieter, just as fast, same quality, and better for access to online channels like ABC iView, SBS Online, YouTube etc.
It's been excellent.
Electric_Haggis is offline  
post #31828 of 32090 Old 08-21-2012, 05:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric_Haggis View Post

I've recently replaced my PS3 Slim with a Sony BDP-S185.
Quieter, just as fast, same quality, and better for access to online channels like ABC iView, SBS Online, YouTube etc.
It's been excellent.

Thanks. You don't see _any_ difference in PQ compared to PS3?
Big Lebowski is offline  
post #31829 of 32090 Old 08-21-2012, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 142
All players tend to look the same with Blu-ray, because they don't have to do anything to the image to look good. There's more of a difference between players with DVDs, but that difference is getting smaller with time as the low-end players include better de-interlacing and scaling algorithms.

For a Blu-ray player I would buy based on the other features you want it to have, and not worry about Blu-ray picture quality.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #31830 of 32090 Old 08-21-2012, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

All players tend to look the same with Blu-ray, because they don't have to do anything to the image to look good. There's more of a difference between players with DVDs, but that difference is getting smaller with time as the low-end players include better de-interlacing and scaling algorithms.
For a Blu-ray player I would buy based on the other features you want it to have, and not worry about Blu-ray picture quality.

I know it should be like that for some reason I see slight difference comparing PS3 and Panasonic BDT110. That's why I'm hesitating if I should just get another PS3 or is there a player that it really 100% equal to PS3.
Big Lebowski is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Blu Ray Players , Blu Ray Movies , Sony , Toshiba , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off