One-and-Only PS3 as Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 163 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4861 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
solo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vienna, Va., USA
Posts: 1,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do hope this cuts down on the PS3 bitch sessions for a while.

Then again, they may have helped make this kickass update happen.

Thanks for listening, Sony! Keep up the good work. We have more money to buy more of your products with.

My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!
solo88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4862 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgans316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barking, Essex, London
Posts: 6,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Will the firmware upgrades posted in the U.S web-site work with Japanese PS3 and vice versa?

Blu-ray : 340
lgans316 is offline  
post #4863 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Nice find. I guess that proves I wasn't bs'ing

Hey now, we never doubted you for one minute, old buddy. *nudge, nudge* *wink, wink*

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #4864 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Downloading 1.8 right now...Chicago area...!!!

Done, DVD UPscaler under the BD menu, includes the 24hz output

for 720 select DVD upscaler and double scale?? or just normal?? hmm..lets find out

Deselected 1080i on my set and now I am outputting 720P on my Mits3000U..YAHOOOOOOOOOOOOooo...

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4865 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:30 PM
Member
 
XavierMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updating to 1.8 right now in Indy.
XavierMike is offline  
post #4866 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the new firmware 1.8 installed! I haven't actually try a thing yet. From the system menu, ALL we need are there, 1080p24, DVD upscale, BTB/WTW switch (full range/limited) and many others! WOW!

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #4867 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maverick0716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yay, updating right now

Panasonic 42PX75U Plasma
PS3 60 GB
Xbox 360 Elite
Toshiba HD-A2
Pioneer VSX-1018
Polk Audio RM6750
maverick0716 is offline  
post #4868 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
OK, I guess still no 720p support for BD playback. Bummer.

For DVD upscaling I'm confused- do I pick:

Double Scale
Normal
Full Screen

I have a 720p DLP display.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4869 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

OK, I guess still no 720p support for BD playback. Bummer.

For DVD upscaling I'm confused- do I pick:

Double Scale
Normal
Full Screen

I have a 720p DLP display.

deselect 1080i, and you will get 720P60hz - do not do the AUTO, it will set it to 1080i..

in addition, I have put in a regular DVD and it upscales it to 720P

so far with the Gladiator test , its looking excellent...Putting my Oppo971 up for sale for sure now...

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4870 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Rich,

will that get you 720P for BD and DVD or just DVD only?

I'd hate to have to switch settings every time I switch back/forth between formats.

-dave

p.s. downloading update now... 40% and counting...

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.
DaViD Boulet is online now  
post #4871 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaViD Boulet View Post

Rich,

will that get you 720P for BD and DVD or just DVD only?

I'd hate to have to switch settings every time I switch back/forth between formats.

-dave

p.s. downloading update now... 40% and counting...

BOTH!!! tried in POTC BD and Gladiator regular DVD...ITS LOOKING REALLY GOOD...

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4872 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OH OH...One note..I just notice my PS3 sounds loud now--

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4873 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

OK, I guess still no 720p support for BD playback. Bummer.

For DVD upscaling I'm confused- do I pick:

Double Scale
Normal
Full Screen

I have a 720p DLP display.

I selected Double Scale..but that is out of just guessing..so far it looks fine for me..and by the way , it does 720P for BD and regular DVD...

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4874 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

deselect 1080i, and you will get 720P60hz - do not do the AUTO, it will set it to 1080i..

in addition, I have put in a regular DVD and it upscales it to 720P

so far with the Gladiator test , its looking excellent...Putting my Oppo971 up for sale for sure now...

Damn straight. Excellent! 720p@60Hz now for BD playback! I'll have to make a note of this in the PS3 forum. I hope this doesn't effect gameplay.

Odd it took so long to get to this point and resolve all our problems. Nice to know we've been heard.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4875 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Wow. if we got 720P downscaling for BD along with upscaling for DVD along with 1080p24 output... this is a serious damn update!!!!

dave

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.
DaViD Boulet is online now  
post #4876 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaViD Boulet View Post

Wow. if we got 720P downscaling for BD along with upscaling for DVD along with 1080p24 output... this is a serious damn update!!!!

dave

I cant see why it wont be the TOP BD player to own now...for sure!!

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #4877 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Dave, the PS3 always had 720p@60Hz BD playback capability, the 1st Japanese version shipped that way, then it dissapered after an update.

Well, anyways, it's nice to have it back. There's also a "white level" adjustment of some sort added to the meager SD-DVD video adjustments if someone wants to play around with it. As with the others I can't see a bit of difference.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4878 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

I cant see why it wont be the TOP BD player to own now...for sure!!

It's funny looking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Li On View Post

BTB/WTW switch (full range/limited)

Can you run DVE and confirm that it does indeed pass <16 >235?

Anyone know of DLNA approved streaming software that runs on XP?

ted
tvted is offline  
post #4879 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradthrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvted View Post

It's funny looking.

Can you run DVE and confirm that it does indeed pass <16 >235?

Anyone know of DLNA approved streaming software that runs on XP?

ted

I ran DVE, and can confirm that it passes blacker than black. Not sure about whiter than white, though. Enabling RGB Full Range (HDMI) helped dramatically (I suspect this is what allows it to pass blacker-than-black. There's another option called "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr Super-White (HDMI), but I have no idea what it does.
Gradthrawn is offline  
post #4880 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sunny Hawaii
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 42
GREAT NEWS!!!! I have just completed the HQV DVD test and the PS3 1.80 firmware passes ALL tests!! Cadence, interlacing, artifacting, you name it, it passed!!! Not only that, upscaling is terrific! Standard DVDs look spectacular... even better than my Denon 3930CI DVD player. Details show up which I have never noticed before. There is a inconsequential small bug... sometimes when I eject a disc, an error pops up, stating wrong disc inserted but it has no effect on the player.

There is a 1080P24 option on the menu, but it only selects auto or off... what it does, I am not sure. One more item, the PS3 now runs LOUDER than before. I never had an issue with the fan noise but it seems that the update has resulted in the unit running hotter as the fan now runs at a constant higher speed.

This update catapults the PS3 into the premier Blu-Ray and DVD player right now.

If it's not a BIG screen, it's not a theater...
Jon S is offline  
post #4881 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:45 PM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gradthrawn View Post

I ran DVE, and can confirm that it passes blacker than black. Not sure about whiter than white, though.

Can you post the setting that you switched to enable BTB? Sony's terminology is a bit confusing.
BdoUK is offline  
post #4882 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Gradthrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post

Can you post the setting that you switched to enable BTB? Sony's terminology is a bit confusing.

I do believe it was "RGB Full Range (HDMI)," under the "Display" settings.
Gradthrawn is offline  
post #4883 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Installing now.

One thing I've noticed (that either wasn't there in the past or I didn't see) is that after the download and you accept the terms of service agreement, it lists the new features and even has some disclaimers about upscaling not being available through component and DVI output.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #4884 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:51 PM
Senior Member
 
BdoUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

Installing now.

One thing I've noticed (that either wasn't there in the past or I didn't see) is that after the download and you accept the terms of service agreement, it lists the new features and even has some disclaimers about upscaling not being available through component and DVI output.

Brandon

Seems like it should be available if the DVI port is HDCP correct? I'll have to test this tomorrow as my Mitsubishi has a DVI HDCP port.
BdoUK is offline  
post #4885 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
native 720p output ROCKS. I just watched some Planet Earth and on my 720p projector it's sharper and more-detailed than ever.

No more bobbing!!!

p.s. I put a BD disc in the transport and the PS3 went into auto-play!!!


!!!!!

Anyone else notice that? Oh thank-heavens!

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.
DaViD Boulet is online now  
post #4886 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BdoUK View Post

Seems like it should be available if the DVI port is HDCP correct? I'll have to test this tomorrow as my Mitsubishi has a DVI HDCP port.

I apologize. It said component and "d-terminal" not DVI. Sorry if I nearly upset any of you folks.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #4887 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What the hell does "double-scaling" do? When I select it it gives the disclaimer that "if 720p output is selected the display will be [normal]."

Also there is an annoying thing going on with my controller now after I go into a PS2 game (God of War). It shuts the controller off upon entering the game and upon exiting the game every time.

Other than that, I'm pleasantly surprised. It ain't every day that a piece of electronics hardware increases in value after purchase.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #4888 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ndjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And it also fixed the fast forward scan on 1080i TS clips that you play from the harddrive, before you could only FF a few minutes in to the film and it would stop
ndjr is offline  
post #4889 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Ronnie 1.8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Castro Valley, CA (San Francisco Bay Area)
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon S View Post

Standard DVDs look spectacular... even better than my Denon 3930CI DVD player.

This may be true for your case, but with Silicon Optix REALTA video processing, I do not believe the PS3 has superior video quality than my (our) 3930CI. The Denon 3930CI is 1 of only 2 DVD players to pass Audioholics/HQV bench test with a perfect 130 points of 130 points (matching the Denon DVD-5910). Are your display and 3930CI ISF calibrated? Mine are, and I'm heading upstairs right now to download 1.8, and do a little testing. Jeez, I'm going to be sleepy tomorrow morning...
Ronnie 1.8 is offline  
post #4890 of 32090 Old 05-23-2007, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
PARASITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well one thing I have noticed is, when you select full range rgb, then use the upscaler for a movie or a game, the system goes back to limited range rgb. I checked with ps2 games and dvd movies. when you set it to full range and use upconverting it goes back to limited.
PARASITE is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Blu Ray Players , Blu Ray Movies , Sony , Toshiba , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off