One-and-Only PS3 as Blu-Ray Player Thread - Page 556 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16651 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 09:37 AM
Member
 
ALLIANCE68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

davehancock & ALLIANCE68:

Thanks. I am glad I asked. I also know the Nyko is back lit or has glow in the dark buttons and the Sony does not. Amazon has the Sony on sale for $19.99 and BB is $24.99.

ALLIANCE68: I hope the Flames beat the Sharks. I am a Stars fan (live in the DFW area). I am hoping they beat the Ducks tonight to go up two games to nill. It's been a while since the Stars won a playoff series.

The PS3 remote is very easy to use, being backlit is not a problem, once your comfortable with it.

I think all the series are going to be long, except maybe Detroit. Dallas should win, I'd take Turco over Giguere ANY DAY. Calgary over Sharks if my team shows up every night, first two games make me hopeful. Wild/Avalanche up in the air, I do wish Forsberg didn't look so healthy.
ALLIANCE68 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16652 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

no... LPCM gives you audio during FF....

I can only tell you what I know to be true from first-hand experience. I don't use PCM, everything is set to bitstream and I have always had audio (over optical) when using FF at 1.5x.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16653 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

I also know the Nyko is back lit or has glow in the dark buttons

That would be news to my Nyko, which emits no visible light of any kind.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #16654 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
mustvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALLIANCE68 View Post

The PS3 remote is very easy to use, being backlit is not a problem, once your comfortable with it.

I think all the series are going to be long, except maybe Detroit. Dallas should win, I'd take Turco over Giguere ANY DAY. Calgary over Sharks if my team shows up every night, first two games make me hopeful. Wild/Avalanche up in the air, I do wish Forsberg didn't look so healthy.

Yeah Forsberg is a bit of an enigma. Prior to the trade deadline he tells everyone he is not fit to play and will sit out the rest of the year then signs with the AVS. He is a great player and a pain the butt if your teams plays against him. I wish Zubov was healthy for Dallas. I am concerned with the youth of our blue liners. He is the QB of this team and really improves the PP and PK along with providing a real score threat for a defensemen.

I hope you guys beat the Sharks. I think they are one of the toughest teams in the west. If the Stars advance I'd rather not play the Sharks or Wings.
mustvid is offline  
post #16655 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
mustvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

That would be news to my Nyko, which emits no visible light of any kind.

Here is the Amazon description:

Product Features

IR Technology allows for control up to 25 feet away
Luminescent buttons allow for use in low light situations
Includes 2 AAA batteries

It sounds like it doesn't work then. I am going with the PS3 remote any how since I'm not looking to use with a Harmony remote.
mustvid is offline  
post #16656 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:20 PM
Member
 
moonw5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello all. I have been lurking on this thread for a short while and actually just went to EB Games to purchase a PS3 for 95% Movie use. The salesman actually told me not to purchase the PS3 but a stand alone unit as they had 12 PS3 units in the last 3 months have the laser malfunction from users watching a lot of DVD's, BD on their machines. This led me to walking away from the store frustrated and confused.
Any thoughts on this?

Thanks
Rod
moonw5 is offline  
post #16657 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I think that just means they glow in the dark?

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #16658 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonw5 View Post

Hello all. I have been lurking on this thread for a short while and actually just went to EB Games to purchase a PS3 for 95% Movie use. The salesman actually told me not to purchase the PS3 but a stand alone unit as they had 12 PS3 units in the last 3 months have the laser malfunction from users watching a lot of DVD's, BD on their machines. This led me to walking away from the store frustrated and confused.
Any thoughts on this?

Thanks
Rod

I would say you should take it with a grain of salt.

#1) If the laser was to malfunction he'd have no way of knowing why, as the blue laser is used for reading games as well. Not to mention that the stand-alones use the same blue laser by all accounts, therefore a stand-alone would be susceptible to the same breakdowns.

#2) 12 PS3s in 3 months is four per month. While that's not an astronomical figure, it does seem a bit improbably that people could watch so many movies in one months time as to destroy the laser. I watch a lot of movies a month by most standards, and that's still only roughly 8-10 movies a month.

#3) If you're worried, you could always get an extended warrantee. Most people are going to use the manufacturer's warantee anyway, so I doubt they've gotten that many PS3 returns as it's more likely people would've shipped their PS3 off to Sony.

Of course, it is possible he's telling the truth and they just have an abnormally high amount of faulty PS3s. But your warrantee would cover it.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16659 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
mustvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it? I recieve mine next week and was wondering if I should or need to purchase one. I will use it for movies primarily. Also, did I need a cooling fan to watch movies?
mustvid is offline  
post #16660 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Sony designed the PS3 to be the showcase hardware for Blu-ray. If someone wants to convince me that it would be any more susceptible to failure from playing BDs than any other machine, they will have to be a somewhat higher authority than a game store clerk.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #16661 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
bb09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it? I recieve mine next week and was wondering if I should or need to purchase one. I will use it for movies primarily. Also, did I need a cooling fan to watch movies?

That's really up to you based on the cost of the plan and the benefit to you should you have a problem. I paid $60 for the 2 year replacement plan at Best Buy. To me, it was worth it.
bb09 is offline  
post #16662 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 05:55 PM
Member
 
plnorris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the format war has ended I have decided the PS3 is the way to go for my blu-ray upgrade. But I was also quite pleased to learn that the 80gb is also SACD capable. Actually I'm more enthused about SACD than blu-ray movies but I really like the fact that the PS3 is capable of doing so many different things and hopefully with just one HDMI cable. But I would like to wait until this holiday season to get it, and I've been reading here that the 80gb might be discontinued soon so my question is...if they stop selling the 80gb, wouldn't Sony put out a newer version that is SACD cabable or maybe would Sony possibly make the less expensive 40gb version SACD capable? Any thoughts or ideas will be appreciated.
plnorris is offline  
post #16663 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chris0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

Sony designed the PS3 to be the showcase hardware for Blu-ray. If someone wants to convince me that it would be any more susceptible to failure from playing BDs than any other machine, they will have to be a somewhat higher authority than a game store clerk.

Same here. Like Brandon said, I'm pretty sure it's the same laser that is in the other players released to date.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it? I recieve mine next week and was wondering if I should or need to purchase one. I will use it for movies primarily. Also, did I need a cooling fan to watch movies?

An EW is a safety net. If you feel better having one then get the EW. And unless you live in the desert and don't have AC you don't need any external cooling devices for the PS3. It was designed to work as is.

Pics from my TV here and here.
chris0 is offline  
post #16664 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
Kdub2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've just set up my home theatre system for the time and I can't convince my PS3 to stay in 1080p.

I have a bit of an unusual set up, as I am sending the HDMI over cat5e - my prewire is about 2 years old and I'm trying to use what I have built into the walls.

I am using a Sanyo Z2000 as my PJ and when I turn on the PS3, it will display 1080p for a second, and then hunt down before settling on 480i !

I can manually set it to 1080i, but thats it.

If I just drag an HDMI right up to the PJ, it seems to work fine. I'm worried that the problem my HDMI over cat5e converters, but I was hoping that I could change one of my PS3 settings to make it work.

Can I turn off 'deep color'? Can I do anything to make my existing pre-wire work? Is this a HDCP issue?

BTW, my Onkyo up converting DVD player has no problem outputing at 1080p over the extenders.

Any thoughts would be appreciated - I've saved my pennies and developed my own basement over the last two years to get this far. Its killing me to be stopped at the last wire!

One more point - I'm sending everything through my Onkyo HT R557 first.
Kdub2 is offline  
post #16665 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cappyxavs View Post

yum, thanks for the crow it was very tasty
I am glad to see it behind us as well

can't wait for tax time!!! Refund, Dts-ma, stimulouse pack wahoooo!

Well, it's obvious that you are too happy to be sour about anything right now...

More photos...

Attachment 107321

Attachment 107320
LL
LL
Digital_View is offline  
post #16666 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdub2 View Post

I've just set up my home theatre system for the time and I can't convince my PS3 to stay in 1080p.

I have a bit of an unusual set up, as I am sending the HDMI over cat5e - Is this a HDCP issue?

HDCP is the first thing that came to mind. But, try getting a test cable using cat6. Just a thought.
Digital_View is offline  
post #16667 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Amnesia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it?

No.

Extended warranties are never worth it. If they're "worth it", that means that you're paying less for the warranty than you would be expected to pay for repairs (on average). That suggests that the warranty company will lose money and ultimately go out of business (and then what's your warranty worth?)
Amnesia is offline  
post #16668 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:23 PM
Newbie
 
Kdub2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_View View Post

HDCP is the first thing that came to mind. But, try getting a test cable using cat6. Just a thought.

Thanks for the comment...

Cat 6 is a possibility - my prewire included a pair as well - I just didn't bother to terminate them when I hooked up my projector.

BTW is it necessary to have HDMI 1.3 compliant hardware? The PJ and the PS3 are obviously 1.3, but I'm not sure the HDMI over Cat5 device is. Would this be a problem? I thought I would just miss out on the 'deep color' part of HDMI. I saw that that the PS3 was outputting 'deep color' while my upconverting DVD player was not.

I'd say it was something to do with the 24fps issue (the PJ can handle it), but the even the PS3 menu wouldn't stick in the 1080p.
Kdub2 is offline  
post #16669 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:49 PM
Member
 
bolmsted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it? I recieve mine next week and was wondering if I should or need to purchase one. I will use it for movies primarily. Also, did I need a cooling fan to watch movies?

Buy it on a credit card that has extended warranty protection and extends warranty another year.
bolmsted is offline  
post #16670 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kdub2 View Post

Thanks for the comment...

Cat 6 is a possibility - my prewire included a pair as well - I just didn't bother to terminate them when I hooked up my projector.

BTW is it necessary to have HDMI 1.3 compliant hardware? The PJ and the PS3 are obviously 1.3, but I'm not sure the HDMI over Cat5 device is. Would this be a problem? I thought I would just miss out on the 'deep color' part of HDMI. I saw that that the PS3 was outputting 'deep color' while my upconverting DVD player was not.

I'd say it was something to do with the 24fps issue (the PJ can handle it), but the even the PS3 menu wouldn't stick in the 1080p.

I wouldn't worry about "Deep Color" now. Not enough content in the market to matter. Not now, anyways.

What you should be concerned about is bandwidth...

Cat5e: 100 MHz up to 155 Mbit/s Bandwidth
HDMI 1.3: 10.2 Gbit/s at 340 Mpixel/s Bandwidth
Cat6a: 500 MHz and will provide up to 10 Gbit/s Bandwidth


By the way. Ever considered long "cheap" HDMI cables? Digital is digital. Just in case the cat6a doens't fix your problem.
Digital_View is offline  
post #16671 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolmsted View Post

Buy it on a credit card that has extended warranty protection and extends warranty another year.

Like AMEX, which is what I did. I currently have another 6 months or so to go on my launch unit warranty.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16672 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_View View Post

I wouldn't worry about "Deep Color" now. Not enough content in the market to matter. Not now, anyways.

What you should be concerned about is bandwidth...

Cat5e: 100 MHz up to 155 Mbit/s Bandwidth
HDMI 1.3: 10.2 Gbit/s at 340 Mpixel/s Bandwidth
Cat6a: 500 MHz and will provide up to 10 Gbit/s Bandwidth


By the way. Ever considered long "cheap" HDMI cables? Digital is digital. Just in case the cat6a doens't fix your problem.

How is Cat5 (or 6) HDCP compliant?

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16673 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustvid View Post

Is buying an extended warranty for a PS3 worth it? I recieve mine next week and was wondering if I should or need to purchase one. I will use it for movies primarily. Also, did I need a cooling fan to watch movies?

Buy it at Sam's Club and you don't have to worry about a warranty. You can take it back any time if it goes bad.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #16674 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

How is Cat5 (or 6) HDCP compliant?

Brandon

I was wondering how he was even receiving a 1080i signal in the first place via cat(anything).
Digital_View is offline  
post #16675 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I noticed the word "converter" in there in one of his posts regarding the HDMI to Cat5e hookup. I'm completely unfamiliar with such a thing, but I still think the HDCP issue may be his problem. If he was getting no signal at all it would be one thing, but the signal is being constrained down to 480i, which leads me to believe HDCP is disallowing the HD signal to be passed through the Cat5e.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16676 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 09:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
rfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Whitehall, PA.
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"I was wondering how he was even receiving a 1080i signal in the first place."

With a device like this.

http://www.extron.com/product/produc...rx&subtype=230

Randy J. Fisher, CTS-D
rfisher is offline  
post #16677 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

I noticed the word "converter" in there in one of his posts regarding the HDMI to Cat5e hookup. I'm completely unfamiliar with such a thing, but I still think the HDCP issue may be his problem. If he was getting no signal at all it would be one thing, but the signal is being constrained down to 480i, which leads me to believe HDCP is disallowing the HD signal to be passed through the Cat5e.

Brandon

Right. HDCP is the first thing that came to mind. But he can manually set it to 1080i and it stays set from what I understand. Since we can't do anything about HDCP. I wanted him to try the cat6a as a test.

If the cat6a doesn't work. Then there's nothing he can do. Unless he wants to live with 1080i.
Digital_View is offline  
post #16678 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Digital_View's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfisher View Post

"I was wondering how he was even receiving a 1080i signal in the first place."

With a device like this.

http://www.extron.com/product/produc...rx&subtype=230

Well, I'll be... New toys!

HDCP Compliant
Digital_View is offline  
post #16679 of 32090 Old 04-12-2008, 09:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_View View Post

But he can manually set it to 1080i and it stays set from what I understand.

Then perhaps it is a bandwith issue after all.

Kdub, what are your video resolution settings on the PS3? Do you have every resolution checked off up to 1080p or only 1080p and 480i?

Also what are you trying to do, watch a movie or play a game at 1080p?

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #16680 of 32090 Old 04-13-2008, 08:28 AM
Member
 
TopGun916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesia View Post

No.

Extended warranties are never worth it. If they're "worth it", that means that you're paying less for the warranty than you would be expected to pay for repairs (on average). That suggests that the warranty company will lose money and ultimately go out of business (and then what's your warranty worth?)


Hmm... should I then cancel my auto and health insurence as well?
TopGun916 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Lcd Hdtv , Blu Ray Players , Blu Ray Movies , Sony , Toshiba , Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off