Samsung BD-P1000 Will Output 1080p/60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-08-2006, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Little blue planet, third from the Sun.
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The following quotes are from a Canadian board and were posted by someone claiming to work for Samsung:

Quote:
I work at Samsung and the specs above were from January. After CES, it was decided to change the specs to include 1080p output. So please note, the BD-P1000 will output 1080p...not only 1080i.
Quote:
The BD-P1000 will output BOTH 1080P/60 AND 1080P/24. Although there is no official press release at the time, I assure you this is the information we have gotten from Korea.

As for the January press release; it has obviously been revised (as is to be expected when information is released 5-6 months prior to mass-production). And as an FYI, at CES, our BD-P1000 was only 1080i. But during CES, the marketing people from Samsung US contacted Korea and asked them to include 1080p.
Personally, I have no idea if this guy is the real deal but I thought I'd pass this on anyway. Will update if he reveals any more info.
Flave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-08-2006, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This has been reported elsewhere and is apparently true. I think even Circuit City's description mentions 1080p. I want to know about its other features, whether or not it includes built-in DTHD and DTS-HD decoders. Also which deinterlacer/scaler it uses for SD DVDs. (Hope it's not Faroujda b/c of MB.)

I mean, TV Authority's page on the Samsung mentions a "full color high defintion animated button," whatever the hell that means!
bferr1 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-09-2006, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Flave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Little blue planet, third from the Sun.
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bferr1
This has been reported elsewhere and is apparently true. I think even Circuit City's description mentions 1080p.
But I didn't think the 60 fps was confirmed yet.
Flave is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-09-2006, 01:00 PM
Member
 
HeavyC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there even a cable with the bandwidth necessary to carry 1080p/60. I don't think there is.
HeavyC is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 03-09-2006, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JBlacklow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A state of uncertainty
Posts: 4,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The specs for HDMI 1.1 allow for 1080p60, but it's not mandatory for manufacturers. Supposedly the bandwidth for current HDMI is twice as much as necessary for 1080p HDTV.

"When I get sad I just stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story."
--Barney Stinson, How I Met Your Mother

Best. Surge Protector. Ever.
JBlacklow is online now  
post #6 of 11 Old 03-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Member
 
PugFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mount Joy, PA
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CC web site info fo the new Samsung

http://www.circuitcity.com/rpsm/edOi...d/lookLearn.do

I had it first.....
PugFan is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 03-10-2006, 07:55 AM
Member
 
jcrobso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The band width necessary for 1080p/60 is in excess of 124mb/sec vrs the 44mb/sec for 1080i/30.
There are no cameras that have a 1080p/60 frame rate, only 1080p/24
jcrobso is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-10-2006, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wtr_wkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The film's 1080p/24 and if the display's native res is 1080p/60, you may have two choices for where to do the inverse telecine, the player or the TV. If your TV accepts 1080p/60, you also have a current or future external scaler as an option. And, PC...

HD-DVD is dead, so now I'm a Gary McCoy fanboy.
wtr_wkr is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-10-2006, 06:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,729
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Sounds Qualia friendly!

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 03-10-2006, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clepto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyC
Is there even a cable with the bandwidth necessary to carry 1080p/60. I don't think there is.
DVI Dual Link! (; But there do exists cables capable of it, some of it actually affordable.

There has been some discussion that based on the chips announced for the samsung, it will be a post processor chip that will actually be sending the 1080p...

I.e. Internally, the 1080p source is output at 1080i, where a secondary chip then deinterlaces/line doubles or telecines to 1080p30/60/etc, and then sends it to the HDMI output.

That's speculation, but since the Broadcom chip they're currently supposed to be using doesn't support 1080p output (same one in Toshiba's HD DVD players I think), it's probably close to reality. Keep in mind, that it seems like the margins on BD players are much higher than the Toshibas (again based on speculation, but probably close to reality as well), so implementing this 2nd tier output solution is more viable in a BD vs HD DVD player for now.

Main screen turn on. All your base are belong to us.
Clepto is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 03-12-2006, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Earz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 4,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clepto
DVI Dual Link! (; But there do exists cables capable of it, some of it actually affordable.

There has been some discussion that based on the chips announced for the samsung, it will be a post processor chip that will actually be sending the 1080p...

I.e. Internally, the 1080p source is output at 1080i, where a secondary chip then deinterlaces/line doubles or telecines to 1080p30/60/etc, and then sends it to the HDMI output.

That's speculation, but since the Broadcom chip they're currently supposed to be using doesn't support 1080p output (same one in Toshiba's HD DVD players I think), it's probably close to reality. Keep in mind, that it seems like the margins on BD players are much higher than the Toshibas (again based on speculation, but probably close to reality as well), so implementing this 2nd tier output solution is more viable in a BD vs HD DVD player for now.
And wich players are heavily subsidized, and being introduced were there is no market, let alone a high volume market to make up for this?
Earz is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off