Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 - First End User Reports - OWNERS ONLY! - Page 59 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 1912 Old 12-04-2008, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

I tried playing "Planet Of The Apes" on my rev 1.3 BD-P1000 and there was no blocking during the rolling credits at the end, whereas 1.8 in my other player did. Maybe 1.9 fixes that -- I'll have to give it a try !

I tried loading 1.9 and at the end of the firmware verification, the player announced the installation (main) was cancelled! It then proceeded to prompt for the Loader and the other, neither of which changed revision. Naturally, my playback result was unchanged.

I then tried going back to my pre 1.8 firmware -- 1.3 from Nov 19, 2007. It loaded fine and guess what -- no more blocking during the rolling credits.

So both my players are now again on 1.3 and I'm wondering what the problem is with the rev1.9 main, and when they're going to fix the "Planet Of The Apes" rolling credits blocking problem with the more recent firmware (don't know what rev it starts with, only that 1.8 exhibits it !)
TrevorS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Anthony01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Samsung BD-P1000, have had no problems w/ it untill recently.

Rented the new HULK, and X-files. neither of those will play, they just show loading.
Tropical Thunder plays, and so does the new Indiana Jones. But HellboyII and Wanted does not.

They all play on the PS3 at Blockbuster. The player is not hooked to the internet, so I had to download the new Firmware and uploaded it to the player via disc. That worked fine and the firmware is from Oct 08. I noticed that HELLBOYII, WANTED, X-FILES, and TROPICAL THUNDER all are BD-LIVE. Does that cause a problem, cause again TT still works

any advice or info would help

thanks
Anthony01 is offline  
post #1743 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need the latest firmware. A new one came out last week.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1744 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

I tried loading 1.9 and at the end of the firmware verification, the player announced the installation (main) was cancelled! It then proceeded to prompt for the Loader and the other, neither of which changed revision. Naturally, my playback result was unchanged.

I then tried going back to my pre 1.8 firmware -- 1.3 from Nov 19, 2007. It loaded fine and guess what -- no more blocking during the rolling credits.

So both my players are now again on 1.3 and I'm wondering what the problem is with the rev1.9 main, and when they're going to fix the "Planet Of The Apes" rolling credits blocking problem with the more recent firmware (don't know what rev it starts with, only that 1.8 exhibits it !)

You probably had a bad burn. Make sure you burn at a speed that's about half of what the max rating is for best results. I had no problems going from the original 2006 factory firmware to 1.9 on my "new" player last week.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1745 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 02:49 PM
Member
 
Anthony01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did that
Ok, with the draw open and pressing info button, here is what I get

LDR: M29F / FRONT 21
PSD: 80225.1
DMN: 060929.01 REGION:0A/01


Is that old or newer?
Anthony01 is offline  
post #1746 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnmos View Post

You probably had a bad burn. Make sure you burn at a speed that's about half of what the max rating is for best results. I had no problems going from the original 2006 factory firmware to 1.9 on my "new" player last week.

I burned at X4, don't think it goes any slower than that ! Don't need anything faster for these update CD's -- they're quick anyway, so I always take the side of extreme caution. Still, I can take another shot at it.

Anybody else observe a problem with 1.8 or 1.9 and the "Planet Of The Apes" rolling credits at the end?
TrevorS is offline  
post #1747 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

I burned at X4, don't think it goes any slower than that ! Don't need anything faster for these update CD's -- they're quick anyway, so I always take the side of extreme caution. Still, I can take another shot at it.

Anybody else observe a problem with 1.8 or 1.9 and the "Planet Of The Apes" rolling credits at the end?

I always thought slowest was best, but I have heard that newer CD-Rs rated for high speeds actually aren't designed to be burned that slow. They do better at speeds closer to their rated speed. 50% rated speed is probably the best burn you can get.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1748 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony01 View Post

I did that
Ok, with the draw open and pressing info button, here is what I get

LDR: M29F / FRONT 21
PSD: 80225.1
DMN: 060929.01 REGION:0A/01


Is that old or newer?

latest version is 81121.1
shawnmos is offline  
post #1749 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 10:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, well, well, my second burn worked!
I now have:
Quote:


LDR: T22F/FRONT:21
PSD: 81121.1
DMN: 060929.01

installed on the player, but guess what! I get colored blocks during the rolling credits at the end of "The Planet Of The Apes"! Both 1.8 and 1.9 are broken in this respect relative to 1.3!

Can anyone tell me what didn't work on 1.3 that does work on 1.8 or 1.9?
TrevorS is offline  
post #1750 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Anthony01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So did i burn it wrong? i went off of Samsungs website
Anthony01 is offline  
post #1751 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Well, well, well, my second burn worked!
I now have:

installed on the player, but guess what! I get colored blocks during the rolling credits at the end of "The Planet Of The Apes"! Both 1.8 and 1.9 are broken in this respect relative to 1.3!

Can anyone tell me what didn't work on 1.3 that does work on 1.8 or 1.9?

I tried cleaning my BD and no change. I then loaded 1.9 on my other player and got the identical colored blocking during the rolling credit symptom as on the first player. This doesn't occur on either player with 1.3.

Anybody else?
TrevorS is offline  
post #1752 of 1912 Old 12-10-2008, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony01 View Post

So did i burn it wrong? i went off of Samsungs website

When you load the new firmware CD-R, the player first reports it's verifying system firmware. When it finishes from a successful verify, it tells you the firmware ID (81121.1) and asks if you want to install it. If you select YES, it proceeds with installing all three firmware modules. If you don't see that exact behavior, then there is a problem and the new firmware is not being installed.
TrevorS is offline  
post #1753 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

I tried cleaning my BD and no change. I then loaded 1.9 on my other player and got the identical colored blocking during the rolling credit symptom as on the first player. This doesn't occur on either player with 1.3.

Anybody else?

I don't have that movie to test. Is that at the beginning of the movie or the end (usually old movies had credits at the beginning but I can't remember)?
shawnmos is offline  
post #1754 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 09:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sweet that we got another FW for this thing!!!
I'm burning the CD-R now.

Some kudos to Samsung! But, it did come a little late for me, I did change out the player in my theater.

I'll be anxious to read results with the new releases for sure.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #1755 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnmos View Post

I don't have that movie to test. Is that at the beginning of the movie or the end (usually old movies had credits at the beginning but I can't remember)?

Rolling credits are always at the end. Credits at the front are treated as a series of titles, they don't roll (or scroll if you prefer).

PS. It doesn't happen with all BD, eg "Total Recall" is fine. So far I've only tried those two BD with 1.8/1.9.
TrevorS is offline  
post #1756 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Rolling credits are always at the end. Credits at the front are treated as a serious of titles, they don't roll (or scroll if you prefer).

PS. It doesn't happen with all BD, eg "Total Recall" is fine. So far I've only tried those two BD with 1.8/1.9.

In that case it doesn't sound like a big deal. I'd stick with 1.9 because I think they have fixed a lot of other playback issues that you may run into if you don't.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1757 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All very well in theory, but I'm not yet aware of what works now, but didn't in my previous firmware revision (1.3). The only thing I'm currently certain of is a loss of functionality with a recent release title "The Planet Of The Apes." What are the clearly acknowledged gains? Judging from your response -- you probably don't know either!
TrevorS is offline  
post #1758 of 1912 Old 12-11-2008, 11:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well the Bond films now work for one.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1759 of 1912 Old 12-12-2008, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Seemless branching issues previously encountered, seemed fixed for me last night.
I was having some oddities with it on Close Encounters in particular.

I retired the player, so that was the only title I checked after updating.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #1760 of 1912 Old 12-12-2008, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnmos View Post

Well the Bond films now work for one.

Aha! Please excuse my ignorance, but please tell me what the hdmi problem was with the Bond films -- I just picked up some of those !
TrevorS is offline  
post #1761 of 1912 Old 12-13-2008, 11:53 AM
Member
 
w0lver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've tried the 1.9 firmware, clearing the cache, and a few other tricks that have worked with other stubborn discs like pressing stop during the load and hitting the disc menu button... Anyway, nothing seems to work for me on X-Files
w0lver is offline  
post #1762 of 1912 Old 12-13-2008, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0lver View Post

I've tried the 1.9 firmware, clearing the cache, and a few other tricks that have worked with other stubborn discs like pressing stop during the load and hitting the disc menu button... Anyway, nothing seems to work for me on X-Files

No, it's not working on my BD-P1000 either. I'm currently on hold for Samsung to report the issue.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #1763 of 1912 Old 12-13-2008, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electric_Haggis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by w0lver View Post

I've tried the 1.9 firmware, clearing the cache, and a few other tricks that have worked with other stubborn discs like pressing stop during the load and hitting the disc menu button... Anyway, nothing seems to work for me on X-Files

From what I've heard about the new X-Files, you're not missing much.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Electric_Haggis is offline  
post #1764 of 1912 Old 12-13-2008, 10:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, it's horrible.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1765 of 1912 Old 12-14-2008, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electric_Haggis View Post

From what I've heard about the new X-Files, you're not missing much.

I've only seen the one from 10 years ago and I liked it a lot. I'm going to see the new one tonight.

lujan
673 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
7 DVD
lujan is online now  
post #1766 of 1912 Old 12-15-2008, 08:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten the new Futurama Blu-ray to work?
shawnmos is offline  
post #1767 of 1912 Old 12-16-2008, 01:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Aha! Please excuse my ignorance, but please tell me what the hdmi problem was with the Bond films -- I just picked up some of those !

There are no problems using HDMI. Only component.
shawnmos is offline  
post #1768 of 1912 Old 12-16-2008, 07:32 AM
Newbie
 
AVEng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully played "Horton Hears A Who!" via the component output? I updated to v1.9 and still get the "analog output restriction" message.
AVEng is offline  
post #1769 of 1912 Old 12-16-2008, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
roma_victor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVEng View Post

Has anyone successfully played "Horton Hears A Who!" via the component output? I updated to v1.9 and still get the "analog output restriction" message.

I have fw 1.8 on the 1000; I am using component and I am getting the same "analog output restriction" on ALL recent Fox releases that I've tried, including:

X-Files
Horton Hears a Who
Space Chimps
The Happening
Meet Dave
Super Troopers
(I haven't tried any of the Planet of the Apes or Bond movies yet)

It seems to me that Fox has decided to activate the prohibition against analog (component) video on all its BDs - I thought there was an agreement between the studios that they wouldn't do that until 2010(?)

I hate Fox
roma_victor is offline  
post #1770 of 1912 Old 12-20-2008, 02:21 PM
Member
 
omeaga66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roma_victor View Post

I have fw 1.8 on the 1000; I am using component and I am getting the same "analog output restriction" on ALL recent Fox releases that I've tried, including:

X-Files
Horton Hears a Who
Space Chimps
The Happening
Meet Dave
Super Troopers
(I haven't tried any of the Planet of the Apes or Bond movies yet)

It seems to me that Fox has decided to activate the prohibition against analog (component) video on all its BDs - I thought there was an agreement between the studios that they wouldn't do that until 2010(?)

I hate Fox

I heard the players were still suppose to play movies if this happend but downconverted. If this isn't so that is a real shaft to early HDTV adopters who do not have HDMI inputs.
omeaga66 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd P1000 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - P1000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off