Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 - First End User Reports - OWNERS ONLY! - Page 60 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 1912 Old 12-20-2008, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
shawnmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the new fox titles play on this player with HDMI? I thought they didn't.

Format Neutral: Samsung BD-UP5000
HD DVDs: 41
Blu-rays: 24
shawnmos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 1912 Old 12-20-2008, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnmos View Post

There are no problems using HDMI. Only component.

OK, so it sounds like 1.8 and 1.9 may not offer any advantages over 1.3 for HDMI users. Perhaps I'll just go back to 1.3 and wait to hit a problem before trying 1.9 again. I don't like losing proper functionality without knowing I'm gaining something of greater value.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Seemless branching issues previously encountered, seemed fixed for me last night.
I was having some oddities with it on Close Encounters in particular.

I retired the player, so that was the only title I checked after updating.

A possible correction of seamless branching? I'll stick with 1.3 for now and see what shows up -- thanks !

PS. Went back to my cover-both-bases stance, one player on each revision -- makes it easier to compare if/when I hit anything !
TrevorS is offline  
post #1773 of 1912 Old 12-23-2008, 10:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was an update behind, but I gave my BD-P1000 to my bro-in-law after I did the update, many discs do seem to play now that did not before. He has purchased a slew of them now and reports they all play, some load painfully slow he said though.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #1774 of 1912 Old 12-23-2008, 11:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

after I did the update, many discs do seem to play now that did not before.

On the other hand, now I have a Blu-ray disc (Run, Fat Boy, Run) that no longer plays after the last update.
Paul H is offline  
post #1775 of 1912 Old 12-23-2008, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Endless loading screen? Can you describe what happens when it does not play please?
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #1776 of 1912 Old 12-23-2008, 03:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

Endless loading screen? Can you describe what happens when it does not play please?

My son has the P1000 now in his bedroom. He called me in when the disc wouldn't play. It woud take quite a long time to load and then spit it out with a message like - this disc cannot be played - or something similar. Several attempts at unplugging the unit and Cache clearing didn't help, yet it played when it was in my room and the disc still plays fine when I put it in my other player.
Paul H is offline  
post #1777 of 1912 Old 12-23-2008, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER View Post

I was an update behind, but I gave my BD-P1000 to my bro-in-law after I did the update, many discs do seem to play now that did not before. He has purchased a slew of them now and reports they all play, some load painfully slow he said though.

Thanks John! Time'll tell, I thoroughly enjoyed my favorite Bond film on BD last night -- "Dr. No" ! No problems of any sort on v1.3 with HDMI. Unfortunately, I don't watch a lot of films these days (though I've a sizable stack of both HD formats on hand.) Still, if I hit something, I'll report it !

PS. Read last night that "Gangs Of New York" BD was flubbed by Disney -- same master as the DVD! I bought a copy on a Towers sale since I was certain it would be spectacular, not to mention an improvement over the decent, but flawed SD DVD. Bummer !
TrevorS is offline  
post #1778 of 1912 Old 12-26-2008, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't know if it was mentioned here earlier, but it seems Fox recently moved to a new BD+ on their titles -- one of them being my original "Planet Of The Apes." I guess with that kind of thing going on, it's not entirely surprising our players need updates occasionally. Interesting though that my old rev 1.3 firmware has no issues with that film !

Here is the current list: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1098170
TrevorS is offline  
post #1779 of 1912 Old 12-29-2008, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Chris Bellamy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Scotland
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVEng View Post

Has anyone successfully played "Horton Hears A Who!" via the component output? I updated to v1.9 and still get the "analog output restriction" message.

Horton hears a who (and the other recent fox issues) dont play with component out on my bdp1000 (fw 1.9) or that of a freind I sent some discs to test, either. From others' comments (for example above in this thread) it seems to be an issue specific to this player rather than a blanket analogue restriction by fox, unless anyone knows different. Painful for those of us at the sharp end, nevertheless.

Chris
Chris Bellamy is offline  
post #1780 of 1912 Old 12-29-2008, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
tobinns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Philips bdp9000 has the same error, but is the same hardware internally.
tobinns is offline  
post #1781 of 1912 Old 01-03-2009, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tkmedia2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: CA, WA, USA
Posts: 2,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was behind on an update as well. Except for the newer titles, the fw is much better than the previous rev. I spent some time and loaded variety about 50 disc and they all work on first try. The discs that never loads properly still don't work. All of my sporadic hit and miss discs loads properly and every time now instead of giving me a read error.
tkmedia2 is offline  
post #1782 of 1912 Old 01-03-2009, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electric_Haggis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just popped in to say goodbye.
I finally pulled the trigger on a PS3 with a bluetooth remote (also considered the Panasonic BD35).

Wow... This thing is Sony's finest hour. Its load and access time times are absolutely without peer - often faster than regular DVD! Having a bluetooth remote helps this, and not having to aim the remote directly at the unit is also a blessing.

Of course there's also 24p, HD audio decoding, excellent upscaling, frequent online updates, a great menu system and the flexibilty of having a games machine/computer built in to the bargain.

I urge everyone here who is able to make the jump!
Electric_Haggis is offline  
post #1783 of 1912 Old 01-09-2009, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
monster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Louisville
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What did you find out from Samsung? I have updated to 1.9 and my x-files won't play either. Thanks.
monster21 is offline  
post #1784 of 1912 Old 01-09-2009, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is all OK with rev 1.3?
TrevorS is offline  
post #1785 of 1912 Old 01-24-2009, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Jamesman0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I refuse to update the firmware on my player. It seems that the new firmware updates are doing more harm then good. I havent updated my player since the Pirates trilogy came out and I havent had any playback issues other then long load times.
Jamesman0 is offline  
post #1786 of 1912 Old 01-30-2009, 01:00 AM
Newbie
 
ansaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am based in the UK it is with regret but my BDP1000 will have to be retired as it unable to play any of the new BD Live discs such as The X Files even with the latest firmware.
ansaw is offline  
post #1787 of 1912 Old 02-06-2009, 05:55 PM
Member
 
MARINECOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been a BDP-1000 owner for a long time now and I have had many problems with this player, not to mention super slow load times. Samsung should offer a big trade in rebate for an upgrade to a better player. This one is just a nightmare. New BD movie comes out and you have to keep your fingers crossed hoping that it will play without a new firmware update. So sick of this. Anyone else feel this way?
MARINECOP is offline  
post #1788 of 1912 Old 02-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electric_Haggis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MARINECOP View Post

Been a BDP-1000 owner for a long time now and I have had many problems with this player, not to mention super slow load times. Samsung should offer a big trade in rebate for an upgrade to a better player. This one is just a nightmare. New BD movie comes out and you have to keep your fingers crossed hoping that it will play without a new firmware update. So sick of this. Anyone else feel this way?

Um...yes.

Thing is Samsung will simply never do this... end of story.

Finally got rid of my BD-P1000 back in December and got a PS3.
Couldn't be happier with it.

If you want a standalone, then either the Panasonic BD35 or BD55 is definitely the way to go.

I posted a spiel on the subject HERE !
Electric_Haggis is offline  
post #1789 of 1912 Old 02-06-2009, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here. I got rid of mine back in July and got a PS3. Haven't had a problem since. I even picked a Sony 350 for the bedroom and it plays flawlessly.
leem6453 is online now  
post #1790 of 1912 Old 02-06-2009, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmmm! Haven't hit a title that doesn't play yet, but there's certainly lots of titles I haven't tried. My most recent acquisitions tried are Ipcress File, Dr. No, The Fog (Carpenter), Zulu, and Earth and the Flying Saucers. Do the ones that fail tend to be a particular studio (like Fox)?
TrevorS is offline  
post #1791 of 1912 Old 02-07-2009, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Hmmm! Haven't hit a title that doesn't play yet, but there's certainly lots of titles I haven't tried. My most recent acquisitions tried are Ipcress File, Dr. No, The Fog (Carpenter), Zulu, and Earth and the Flying Saucers. Do the ones that fail tend to be a particular studio (like Fox)?

Have you tried the latest X-Files title? I can't get that one to play.

Edit: I just called Samsung Technical Support and they just said to wait for the next firmware update. Nothing else they could do. Great, huh?

lujan
651 Blu-ray
21 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #1792 of 1912 Old 02-07-2009, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, unfortunately, that's not a title that interests me. I did spin the original "Planet Of The Apes" though -- no flaws with my 1.3 firmware. (Forgot to include that in my above list.) I've been picking up titles fairly regularly, mostly newer releases on price dips. If there's something else that doesn't play, I may have it.
TrevorS is offline  
post #1793 of 1912 Old 02-08-2009, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Jamesman0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ya, the 1.3 firware works great. It is slow, but all of my titles play to. It seems to be the best one to have at this point.
Jamesman0 is offline  
post #1794 of 1912 Old 03-04-2009, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
kb7oeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rented X-Files and the loading animation spins endlessly, sounds like there is no fix yet.
kb7oeb is offline  
post #1795 of 1912 Old 03-04-2009, 07:07 PM
 
hdblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the player is good because you can convert it to a US player with putting Us firmware in it it good for region B people It should work both ways, if you have a region A player and what a region B player just put uk firmware in it.
hdblu is offline  
post #1796 of 1912 Old 03-10-2009, 04:08 PM
Newbie
 
omykiss001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after who knows how many updates, some movies that would not play and others that would, and some that would after you ejected and put the disc back in I think this unit has bit the dust.

It has started producing what I can only describe as digital noice into random parts of movies, sort of random squares of noise that last anywhere from 15-45 seconds or more and occures through the whole movie, seems to be about every third movie we've tried to watch on the thing. I call it a done deal! Took it out back last night and gave it last rights

I went out and got the sony BDP-S550, and boy can I say it loads so much faster, that and the bitstream out for the HD audio is real nice. Makes me realize how underpowered this guy was, even though I have to say the player served me well, but I am glad I upgraded as I never realized how much of my life I was wasting trying to get this thing to play the movie I wanted to watch or finally giving up and saying to my wife, how about we just get the SD DVD from netflix in this title as it just doesn't like the Blu-ray.

Cheers to those of you who are still working with this dinosaur
omykiss001 is offline  
post #1797 of 1912 Old 03-10-2009, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sounds like your drive was giving up the ghost (I imagine DVD still played fine). A shame, but that does seem to be the bow out ! As I understand, the 1G HD DVD players go bad that way as well.

Good to hear you're back online though, even if it is a different player !
TrevorS is offline  
post #1798 of 1912 Old 03-10-2009, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Electric_Haggis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Don't know if anybody here has tried the Digital Video Essentials blu-ray on this machine, but you have to see how slow the menu overlays work to believe it.

After using it on my PS3, I took it to a friend's place to calibrate, playing it on his BD-P1000. After only 30 seconds of cycling through the menus, he decided to replace the machine there and then.
Electric_Haggis is offline  
post #1799 of 1912 Old 03-10-2009, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Awww! I've got two of 'em -- love 'em both !
TrevorS is offline  
post #1800 of 1912 Old 03-16-2009, 02:48 AM
Newbie
 
ansaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody had any joy playing the new X-files film on the Samsung, is there a firmware update that anyone knows of as my machine just will not play it.....Many thanks
ansaw is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd P1000 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off