Panasonic DMP-BD10, 10A Setup/Tweaks/Settings Thread - Page 135 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4021 of 4040 Old 08-23-2010, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
himey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampabay, FL
Posts: 1,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminator840 View Post

I installed a new AVR last night and dumped the analogs for HDMI. In the set up menu I turned HDMI audio on, and then set everything to bitstream. I want my new AVR to do the decoding. I am not getting Dolby True HD or DTS Master Audio, I am getting DTS core and legacy DD. What am I missing?

This player outputs Dolby True HD as PCM and does not do DTS-MA. Set your new AVR to PCM...
himey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4022 of 4040 Old 08-23-2010, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Terminator840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by himey View Post


This player outputs Dolby True HD as PCM and does not do DTS-MA. Set your new AVR to PCM...

I knew this player would not decode DTS-MA, but I thought you could send the signal via bitstream in HDMI and let the AVR decode the signal?
Terminator840 is offline  
post #4023 of 4040 Old 08-24-2010, 04:40 PM
Member
 
dbriana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The dmp-bd10a only decodes internally, it does not bitstream those formats.
dbriana is offline  
post #4024 of 4040 Old 08-25-2010, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Terminator840's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Frankfort, KY
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So for advanced codecs over HDMI set everything to PCM? I have a PS3 so I guess I'll use it to play DTS-MA discs.
Terminator840 is offline  
post #4025 of 4040 Old 11-04-2010, 04:17 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having trouble with Panny's website whats the newest Firm Ware for teh BD 10A

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4026 of 4040 Old 11-04-2010, 04:38 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOE.G View Post

I am having trouble with Panny's website whats the newest Firm Ware for teh BD 10A

2.5 Last update was over 2 years ago.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #4027 of 4040 Old 11-04-2010, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Thats the one I have was just checking

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4028 of 4040 Old 11-19-2010, 08:36 AM
Newbie
 
mxz600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I buy a new receiver with DTS-MA decoding, will I get DTS-MA out of my BD10A through the 7.1 analog?
mxz600 is offline  
post #4029 of 4040 Old 11-19-2010, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxz600 View Post

If I buy a new receiver with DTS-MA decoding, will I get DTS-MA out of my BD10A through the 7.1 analog?

No, you'll get DTS reg-lar but at it's highest bit-rate.

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #4030 of 4040 Old 02-05-2011, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I have been following this thread since it started, But I am not about to reread it to find my answer again. MY BD10 a used to be hooked up to a DLP and a 7.1 Sound System. I now have it hooked to my Sammsung Plasma HDMI and no Suround system at this time.

1. Can Any one help me to pick what settings wouldbe best in the set up menu,

Ex. Multi channel or 2 ch. Theres also a darker setting and all that kind of stuff. Thanks a lot.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4031 of 4040 Old 02-15-2011, 10:48 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone?

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4032 of 4040 Old 03-12-2011, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How should the other settings be set, such as HDMI levels and Black levels and what not? Picture detail normal or fine and so on.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4033 of 4040 Old 06-29-2011, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When Was the last Firmware Released? Will there be more? My Guess is not which sucks because this has been a great player for me, I have this along with the 55 and the 85 and this is my most used one out of all of them.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
post #4034 of 4040 Old 10-11-2011, 05:34 PM
Member
 
rayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have my BD10A set up to play the high res audio through HDMI using PCM. My receiver is a Yamaha RX3900 and verifies 7:1 as does the Blue Ray player using test tones. I can only get the player to pass 5:1 high res such as Dolby True HD. I do the disc set up for 7:1 and only 5:1 passes via PCM. I should mention the back surround work fine when using Dolby EX. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Yamaha RX3900
JBL Studio 590 7:1
SVS Ultra PB 13
Sharp LC70LE857U
Sony SACD
rayven is offline  
post #4035 of 4040 Old 10-11-2011, 06:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Most discs only contain 5.1 sound track. Are you sure you are playing a disc with 7.1 sound tracks. 7.1 TrueHD and DTS-HD are very rare. On some newer Panny players, Panasonic also restrict the decoding capability in software to 5.1 max for low end players so that they can force you to pay more for mid or higher end versions.

But yours is pretty old version. Such limit wasn't imposed back then.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4036 of 4040 Old 10-12-2011, 05:56 PM
Member
 
rayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Most discs only contain 5.1 sound track. Are you sure you are playing a disc with 7.1 sound tracks. 7.1 TrueHD and DTS-HD are very rare. On some newer Panny players, Panasonic also restrict the decoding capability in software to 5.1 max for low end players so that they can force you to pay more for mid or higher end versions.

But yours is pretty old version. Such limit wasn't imposed back then.

Chris Botti in Boston is Dolby True HD 7:1.

Yamaha RX3900
JBL Studio 590 7:1
SVS Ultra PB 13
Sharp LC70LE857U
Sony SACD
rayven is offline  
post #4037 of 4040 Old 11-01-2012, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
robotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Plainfield, Il
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a used Panasonic DMP-BD10 Blu ray player and the only Blu ray it will play is Pandorum. The rest gets a read disc error. I checked the Panasonic site and the latest firmware is v2.5. The player is already updated to V2.5. Any suggestions? I only paid 10.00 for the player, so if its broken no big lose. Just weird it only plays Pandorum.

I'm not snobbish and uninformed.
robotec is offline  
post #4038 of 4040 Old 11-01-2012, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
RichGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange county, CA
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotec View Post

I just purchased a used Panasonic DMP-BD10 Blu ray player and the only Blu ray it will play is Pandorum. The rest gets a read disc error. I checked the Panasonic site and the latest firmware is v2.5. The player is already updated to V2.5. Any suggestions? I only paid 10.00 for the player, so if its broken no big lose. Just weird it only plays Pandorum.

Sounds like it may have been priced so low for a reason, I have a Panasonic DMP-BD10A and have never had a disc it wouldn't play, it's always been a great player.

When I die I want to go peacefully, in my sleep like my grandfather did, not screaming and scared like the other three people in his car!
RichGuy is offline  
post #4039 of 4040 Old 11-01-2012, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotec View Post

I just purchased a used Panasonic DMP-BD10 Blu ray player and the only Blu ray it will play is Pandorum. The rest gets a read disc error. I checked the Panasonic site and the latest firmware is v2.5. The player is already updated to V2.5. Any suggestions? I only paid 10.00 for the player, so if its broken no big lose. Just weird it only plays Pandorum.

My guess would be that either the reader is dirty or dying. A cleaning might yield you a player...???

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #4040 of 4040 Old 11-02-2012, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
JOE.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BD 10 A is still going strong, I love this play I used it more then any of my others, It's load times aren't the fastest but it does well, the only disc I could not get it to play was Avatar.

Samsung HL-T6176S 1080P DLP
Panasonic DMP BD55
Onkyo HT-SR800 7.1
Samsung PN50A650 1080P Plasma
Panasonic DMP BD 85 K
Samsung LN32C530F1F
Panasonic DMP BD10 A
JOE.G is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd10 Blu Ray Disc Player Upscaling

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off