Sony BDP-S1 BD Player: USER REPORTS Here - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 2891 Old 12-12-2006, 09:00 PM
Member
 
acermena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdodolak View Post

The manufactured date should be listed on the back of the player.

Do you have a calibration disc? If so I'd suggest using that to get better results. If not and you have Netflix you may want to rent it to tide you over until the HD version is released.

By using YCbCr and RGB you are simply selecting the color space being used. Does one look better than the other?

The manual for the BDP-S1 recommends the following:

Y, Cb, Cr
-Select this when connecting to an HDMI device.

RGB (16-235)
-Select this if colors appear overly rich when set to RGB (0-255).

RGB (0-255)
-Gives brighter colors and deeper black. Select this if colors are weak.



I decided to exchange the BDP-S1 since BB just got a new batch in to see if I could get better quality. The box had one pc of tape only not the two pieces of tape like the origional one (large one over a small tape). The box still had the free disk.

The picture quality of this unit is much better in terms of sharpness and color quality. Maybe the other unit was bad or just a large variance in performance (true with many products). The only difference mechanically is the drive mechanism make a loader motor noise when opening and closing the drive (again the variance between units).


Just wanted to advise since all of you were helpfull in assting in my concern. Thanks.

TC
acermena is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a BDP-S1 last night, arrived home at midnight, and popped in Kung Fu Hustle that I also picked up.

I connected the player via hdmi and selected direct so I could pass 1080p24 to our HD-70 projector. Right off the bat the picture looked much improved over our Sammy player.

The problem I had though is there are what looks like tiny frame jumps every couple of minutes. Has anyone else experienced this? Could this be 1080p24 related? Also the movie froze at the end fight scene and the player powered itself off and back on. I have never had a single hiccup on the Sammy through 36 movies. I'm going to try watching Superman Returns tonight on 1080p60 to see if that will help the frame jumps.
gas_leak is offline  
post #93 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody get discrete codes for the player yet?
budeone is offline  
post #94 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
hamsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by budeone View Post

Anybody get discrete codes for the player yet?

Second that!

Norm
hamsey is offline  
post #95 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

I just bought a BDP-S1 last night, arrived home at midnight, and popped in Kung Fu Hustle that I also picked up.

I connected the player via hdmi and selected direct so I could pass 1080p24 to our HD-70 projector. Right off the bat the picture looked much improved over our Sammy player.

The problem I had though is there are what looks like tiny frame jumps every couple of minutes. Has anyone else experienced this? Could this be 1080p24 related? Also the movie froze at the end fight scene and the player powered itself off and back on. I have never had a single hiccup on the Sammy through 36 movies. I'm going to try watching Superman Returns tonight on 1080p60 to see if that will help the frame jumps.

Reports like these make me kinda nervous to buy the Sony. Please report back your findings re: frame jumps.
John Ballentine is offline  
post #96 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
fa8362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

I just bought a BDP-S1 last night, arrived home at midnight, and popped in Kung Fu Hustle that I also picked up.

I connected the player via hdmi and selected direct so I could pass 1080p24 to our HD-70 projector. Right off the bat the picture looked much improved over our Sammy player.

The problem I had though is there are what looks like tiny frame jumps every couple of minutes. Has anyone else experienced this? Could this be 1080p24 related? Also the movie froze at the end fight scene and the player powered itself off and back on. I have never had a single hiccup on the Sammy through 36 movies. I'm going to try watching Superman Returns tonight on 1080p60 to see if that will help the frame jumps.

Is that an Optoma projector? If so, this review doesn't list 1080p24 compatibility:

http://www.projectorcentral.com/optoma_hd70.htm
fa8362 is offline  
post #97 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Edllguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Is anyone using this Blu-ray player with the Pro930/1130 Pioneer Plasma? If so, how is the PQ and are you having any problems with judder etc? Realizing that these last gen plasmas do not except 1080p/24 I want to make sure that the BDP-S1 would be a good match for my Pro930.

Thanks
Edllguy is online now  
post #98 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah its a Optoma, I know it doesn't list 1080p24 but it works. The menu shows 1080i60 on the projector status but when the movie starts the projector loses sync and then reconnects and displays its running at 1080p24. I read the Optoma HD-70 could display 48hz so I assumed the 1080p24 is actually running at 24 fps? Is this correct?
gas_leak is offline  
post #99 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
fa8362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

Yeah its a Optoma, I know it doesn't list 1080p24 but it works. The menu shows 1080i60 on the projector status but when the movie starts the projector loses sync and then reconnects and displays its running at 1080p24. I read the Optoma HD-70 could display 48hz so I assumed the 1080p24 is actually running at 24 fps? Is this correct?

It works? I though you said you had frame problems? I'm guessing that's why. Have you tried contacting Optoma?
fa8362 is offline  
post #100 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking its the player, I'll try 1080p60 tonight and see if the same behavior occurs. If it does I'll just trade the Sony for another unit and try again. Hopefully its just a faulty unit.
gas_leak is offline  
post #101 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Murilomms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: São Paulo - Brasil
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
www.sony.com/blurayupgrade

"Note about Interactive Capability of BD-J (BD-Java) Function"


Someone already registered your player?

The firmware upgrade for BD-Java is available?

I didn´t registered my player yet, because i´m in brazil.

Until now, i´m enjoying the player


----------------------
Toshiba HD-XA1
Sony BDP-S1
X360 + HD-DVD
Murilomms is offline  
post #102 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston, MA , USA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I registered.

As far as I know its not available.

I think Sony said January.
Carbo is offline  
post #103 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Phrynichus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

I'm thinking its the player, I'll try 1080p60 tonight and see if the same behavior occurs. If it does I'll just trade the Sony for another unit and try again. Hopefully its just a faulty unit.

I have had a similar issue with clipping at 1080p/24. My HP DLP is supposed to take 1080p/24, but I get what I can only describe as frame jumps or clips sometimes. Not quite sure what that means. If you return your device and 1080p/24 works better, let me know. I may exchange mine too.
Phrynichus is offline  
post #104 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tested some over my lunch break. I put in Click and watched 15 minutes on 1080p60 and it worked fine with no frame jumps. Then I turned on 24p and saw 2 jumps about a minute apart, went back to 60 and didn't see any for about 10 more minutes. So its pretty obvious it must be the projector has a problem with 24p mode.
gas_leak is offline  
post #105 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Phrynichus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

I tested some over my lunch break. I put in Click and watched 15 minutes on 1080p60 and it worked fine with no frame jumps. Then I turned on 24p and saw 2 jumps about a minute apart, went back to 60 and didn't see any for about 10 more minutes. So its pretty obvious it must be the projector has a problem with 24p mode.

Well it seems we may have identified the first issue with the BDP-S1. What kind of TV do you have, gas-leak ?

Anyone else with a 1080p/24 capable TV having trouble with the BDP-S1?

I am not too concerned though at the moment. This is the kind of thing that can be fixed with the firmware update next year.
Phrynichus is offline  
post #106 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
fa8362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrynichus View Post

Well it seems we may have identified the first issue with the BDP-S1. What kind of TV do you have, gas-leak ?

Anyone else with a 1080p/24 capable TV having trouble with the BDP-S1?

I am not too concerned though at the moment. This is the kind of thing that can be fixed with the firmware update next year.

His problem isn't the player. His display specs don't list 1080p/24 capability.
fa8362 is offline  
post #107 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
budeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lombard IL
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have mine running at 1080p/24 with no problems
budeone is offline  
post #108 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrynichus View Post

Well it seems we may have identified the first issue with the BDP-S1. What kind of TV do you have, gas-leak ?

Anyone else with a 1080p/24 capable TV having trouble with the BDP-S1?

I am not too concerned though at the moment. This is the kind of thing that can be fixed with the firmware update next year.

It's a Optoma hd70 projector and I don't think it's the player either. The projector can only do 1080p 48hz or 60hz and the Sony player doesn't allow me to select 48hz. It only allows me to select 24p on or off, so I think that's the problem.
gas_leak is offline  
post #109 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Phrynichus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So we need to replace our BDP-S1s then ? You think it is a problem in the Blu-ray player?

I wish we had other posting on this issue...
Phrynichus is offline  
post #110 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran the BDP-S1 to a sony Pearl projector which accepts 24fps and it is smooth as silk. No problems whatsoever.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
phansson is offline  
post #111 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
fa8362's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrynichus View Post

So we need to replace our BDP-S1s then ? You think it is a problem in the Blu-ray player?

I wish we had other posting on this issue...

Issue? There is no issue. Hook the Sony up to a 1080p/24 capable projector and you won't have a problem.
fa8362 is offline  
post #112 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no problem with the Sony player. I thought my pj could do 1080p24 and it can't.
gas_leak is offline  
post #113 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JlgLaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No matter how many ways you state it, if the PJ is not spec'd for 24hz it will not display properly. If its important to you, get a VP to output 48hz to your PJ.

Jim
JlgLaw is offline  
post #114 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, Ca
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I picked this player up last week at Best Buy to go with my new 50PH9UK plasma. I have it set to 1080i/60, since that is what my display accepts. I am using the optical audio output, since I have an older receiver (Denon AVR-5700)

Overall, it's a pretty good player. The image and sound quality are both pleasing. So far I've watched a handful of Blu-Rays and both my wife and I were fairly impressed.

On the downside, though, the player has frozen up on me a few times. There is also significant lag when trying to search or scan through a disc. The real disappointment, though, is the lack of features (no HDMI 1.3, advanced audio support, etc).

All in all, I would say that this player is a stretch at $1K. The quality is mostly there, but with the lack of features it isn't very future resistant. It will be going back to BB once my HD-A2 comes in next week.

Hopefully within a year, a fully featured (1080p/24, HDMI 1.3, Advanced Audio, 7.1 analog out) Blu-Ray player will be out at a more reasonable price point (~$800). I'm hoping that the successor to the Panasonic DMP-BD10 will fit the bill.

For now, I'll stick with HD DVD. The player is cheaper and there are enough titles to hold my interest.

Tim Vickroy

"Besides, there's no reason we can't be civil, is there?"
TimV is offline  
post #115 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 07:25 PM
Member
 
TytaniumK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Payne, AL
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings & Good Evening fellow Videophiles!

I am on the BDPS1 thread because that is what I believe I want. I have a 3yr-old rear-projection UltraVision HDTV capable of 1080i so I'm wondering [hoping] a blu-ray machine, albeit 1080p, will render good service. What say ye, genius comrades?

I've researched Samsung, Sony, Panasonic, & Pioneer in the blu-ray format & Toshiba in the HD-DVD camp. I have only seen Samsung & Sony Demo'd at BB, so I don't have any experience w/Toshiba, Pioneer, or Panasonic. But I read user reviews.

That said, what caused you to buy the Sony instead of the Panasonic DMP-BD10K?
I have not seen the Panasonic in action, yet it reads well on most sites. And it plays CDs. So, I'm just asking. Is it a case of the cost diff? Sony is a few hundred less.

So far, I'm leaning towards the Sony...even tho' the best I'll receive it at is either 1080i (not p) or possibly 720p. Is it worth the cost? Thanks in advance. I'm close to hitting the BUY IT NOW button on eBay. Stop me or tell me to punch it! LOL

Ty-K
TytaniumK is offline  
post #116 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 90
My BDPS1 is going back to BB tomorrow assuming they have a replacement in stock. Tonight it froze twice on Revenge of the Sith and the second time required a hard reboot. This makes 4 out of 7 SD DVDs that it has frozen on. No problems with 4 BDs and the PQ is very good to excellent on both BDs and DVDs. Hopefully the replacement will have as good PQ and no significant problems.
dsinger is offline  
post #117 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
richkhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The variation in BD to BD is shameful. I started to think I wasted my money on both the Blue Ray player and my Yamaha projector but when I turned on my Sat HD I realized ITS ALL ABOUT THE TRANSFER. "Superman Returns" is shameful. "The Fifth Element" (which came "FREE") with the player wasn't any better. I would think that if Sony really wanted to show off the player, they would give us a reference quality transfer. Then again, they didn't even go to the trouble of giving buyers an HDMI cable. Ice Age actually came close to meeting my expectation. If the BD camp wants to win consumers over, they really need to tighten up the quality. Otherwise I'm going back to buying used SD DVD and buying only an occasional BD disc for classic movies with excellent transfers. Shameful waste of what should be excellent technology. Of course, I have Toshiba's 2nd gen HD DVD on order, I'll see if they can do better. At least it will be cheaper.
richkhu is offline  
post #118 of 2891 Old 12-13-2006, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
joe_s2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my BDPS1 for the last 4 days and it has froze several times as well. It happens with both BD and SD DVD discs. I also have to eject and reinsert each disc after completing the first disc.

I'll try and update this post with each occurrence and the time

Frozen at:
[BD] Corpse Bride: 29m 42s (restarted by itself 45-60 seconds after freezing)
[SD] X-Men 3: ...m...s (didn't note the time)


On the positive side, the great news is that the PQ when connected to the Pearl/Carada BW screen is incredible using HDMI. I'm seeing new details with all of my upconverted SD DVD's. My wife and I are enjoying our SD DVD collection all over again.

I'm really happy with it and have to agree with the Ultimate AV/Mag Review. I will return it to BB after the holidays and hope that that PS3 will satisfy my requirements.
joe_s2k is offline  
post #119 of 2891 Old 12-14-2006, 04:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All these freezing problems being reported remind me of the early days of the A1 (and laserdiscs!). Not good. However, I guess the Panny and Samsung are pretty good in this respect. We'll have to see how the Pioneer sorts out soon. One things for sure - I want a machine w/o freezing problems. Ruins the movie for me (and embarrassing as hell if you have guests over).
John Ballentine is offline  
post #120 of 2891 Old 12-14-2006, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 90
On the positive side, the great news is that the PQ when connected to the Pearl/Carada BW screen is incredible. I'm seeing new details with all of my upconverted SD DVD's. My wife and I are enjoying our SD DVD collection all over again.

I agree 100%. My major reason for choosing the S1 over Panny is the 480i over HDMI. Fed to a Lumagen HDP with that outputing 1080p to my 65" Panny at 1:1 makes a good PQ DVD look like a different movie. Given some of the movies available on BD, I would have to think longer about returning this particular unit if it froze on BD rather than DVD.
dsinger is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off