Just received PS3 BD Remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bill0711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received the Japanese version from NCS Inc. for $39. All the labels on the remote are in English (see attached jpg), but the instructions are in Japanese which does me no good. I am using it with a US 20GB PS3 1.31 firmware. The package includes 2 AA batteries and the remote weighs 5 ozs incl the batteries. To install select Settings, Accessory Settings, Register Bluetooth device, Register BD remote control and hold the Start and enter keys on the remote for five seconds. The PS3 is very responsive to the remote. Being bluetooth the range of the remote is very good, I tested from about 50 feet from a different room with the doors closed and had no problems, you could probably hide your PS3 away and still control it. You can also turn the PS3 on and off by pressing the Playstation button on the remote for about 2 seconds. I have no idea if the remote would have any use with games but it looks good for media, if you can accept its lack of IR.
LL
Bill0711 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRMOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So how long before you got it? Are you in the states? What shipping did you spring for? Thanks
MRMOTA is offline  
post #3 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 04:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Cool. Thanks for the info. I was thinking about getting one if I get a PS3...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #4 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bill0711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Great Neck, NY
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ordered from http://ncsx.com/ located in Brooklyn, shipped UPS ground for $7, from Brooklyn to Great Neck is about 10 miles so it took one day
Bill0711 is offline  
post #5 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRMOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks I'm getting one.
MRMOTA is offline  
post #6 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jayselle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is battery life mentioned anywhere? I know infrared remotes can last years with one set of batteries as it doesn't take much power to send out short IR blasts. This remote has to maintain a bluetooth link constantly which would seem to drain the battery quickly. Unless the remote connects the transmits the command in which case it would seem there would be a lag.
jayselle is offline  
post #7 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 08:59 PM
Senior Member
 
chokeslam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's weird that they have buttons for L1, L2, L3, R1, R2, R3. I know L1 and R1 are backward chapter skip and forward chapter skip, respectively, but there are already buttons for those functions on the remote... I remember trying the other 4 while watching a BD tonight and they did nothing.
chokeslam is offline  
post #8 of 50 Old 12-14-2006, 08:59 PM
Member
 
tcpipkim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When can purchase PS3 remocon in usa?
tcpipkim is offline  
post #9 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 12:11 AM
 
John Haghighi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am hoping someone with a pronto will post the remote codes
John Haghighi is offline  
post #10 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
KCWolfPck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Haghighi View Post

I am hoping someone with a pronto will post the remote codes

Is there a Pronto that is Bluetooth compatible? The PS3 doesn't have any IR ports so a programmable remote isn't going to do anything for you. What good would the remote codes be? Just curious.....
KCWolfPck is offline  
post #11 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You are correct, it won't work with the Pronto, or Harmony remote, for that matter since those remotes use IR, not Bluetooth.
ArthurL is offline  
post #12 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 05:27 AM
Member
 
ihyln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just ordered one, hopefully it will arrive quickly!
ihyln is offline  
post #13 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Dave-Blu-Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great! 10x for the info

Blu-ray is the way!
Dave-Blu-Ray is offline  
post #14 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 06:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To tell the truth, I can navigate the DVD functions witht he remote controll as quickly as I can with any DVD Remote. I don't think there is a reason for me to upgrade right now, other then people looking at me funny when I use the PS remote to access DVD stuff
inca is offline  
post #15 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam_ME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town, TX
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this available in the states yet? If not, when is it due out and what's the reported list price?
Adam_ME is offline  
post #16 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I assume you can do everything with this remote that you can do with the pop-up hover menu that comes up when you press the triangle button on the controller. The only difference is that I can use this remote to never have to see the pop-up hover menu. That would be great!

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #17 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 01:35 PM
Member
 
jhimmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam_ME View Post

Is this available in the states yet? If not, when is it due out and what's the reported list price?

Brooklyn is "in the states".
jhimmel is offline  
post #18 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Adam_ME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town, TX
Posts: 1,130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhimmel View Post

Brooklyn is "in the states".

I meant the US version of the remote.
Adam_ME is offline  
post #19 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bdshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't imagine what would be different except it would have an english manual, from what the OP said. I'll think about getting one of these, but I would rather hold out till someone comes out with an IR receiver, and buy something like the Harmony so I can use it with all of my other devices.

PSN: bdshort
bdshort is offline  
post #20 of 50 Old 12-15-2006, 03:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdshort View Post

I'll think about getting one of these, but I would rather hold out till someone comes out with an IR receiver, and buy something like the Harmony so I can use it with all of my other devices.

Hmm, IR through the USB ports on the front...something similar to the Saitek DVD remote on the PS2. Let's keep our fingers crossed.
ArthurL is offline  
post #21 of 50 Old 12-16-2006, 02:54 PM
Member
 
pifemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank to the OP for the info. I just ordered one today (although temp out of stock).

Bob
pifemaster is offline  
post #22 of 50 Old 12-19-2006, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you go to the Harmoney login and search for PS3, you can load the functions to the PS3 to the 880. However thoug it does state on the site that the remote does not work with bluetooth. So why did harmoney even bother offering this device?
stepmback is offline  
post #23 of 50 Old 12-19-2006, 05:17 PM
Member
 
dauthum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys just looked on the ps forum and they said there is a usb to ps2 controller adapter at radioshack. My guess is if you have the old remote for the ps2 you could always use it's sensor with the harmony(as stated just a guess).
dauthum is offline  
post #24 of 50 Old 12-19-2006, 07:18 PM
Member
 
playitloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are there any bluetooth compatible universal remotes out right now? That to me seems like the answer to all our problems.
playitloud is offline  
post #25 of 50 Old 12-19-2006, 09:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jayselle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dauthum View Post

Hey guys just looked on the ps forum and they said there is a usb to ps2 controller adapter at radioshack. My guess is if you have the old remote for the ps2 you could always use it's sensor with the harmony(as stated just a guess).

I think this is hack. You still have to control the PS3 with the sixxaxis controller until the actual movie is playing.

The remote will need to act like a normal remote such as powering the unit on and off.
jayselle is offline  
post #26 of 50 Old 12-20-2006, 04:05 AM
Member
 
avshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks great! Even though I can use the PS3 controller as effectively as any DVD player remote I think I will still get one of these.
avshaman is offline  
post #27 of 50 Old 12-20-2006, 04:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Nike-Air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepmback View Post

If you go to the Harmoney login and search for PS3, you can load the functions to the PS3 to the 880. However thoug it does state on the site that the remote does not work with bluetooth. So why did harmoney even bother offering this device?

Probably in anticipation of an IR receiver being released to plug into the USB port at some point.
Nike-Air is offline  
post #28 of 50 Old 12-20-2006, 04:36 AM
Senior Member
 
michael000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Spring (Houston)
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a bad little remote, will probably pick one up depending on the price. Normally price wouldn't be an issue but i'm guessing this one is as thin and that the buttons are as tiny as they were on the official Sony PS2 DVD remote. No way i'm paying over $20 for one given those reasons as well as the fact that it's severely lacking compared to what you get with the X360 universal remote, and that retails for $29.

Still pretty dumbstruck that my TV, DVD player, and PS3 (possibly stereo as well in the near future) are all made by Sony but i can't purchase a single remote that will work them all.
michael000 is offline  
post #29 of 50 Old 12-20-2006, 04:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
cdub998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Raleigh,nc
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chokeslam View Post

That's weird that they have buttons for L1, L2, L3, R1, R2, R3. I know L1 and R1 are backward chapter skip and forward chapter skip, respectively, but there are already buttons for those functions on the remote... I remember trying the other 4 while watching a BD tonight and they did nothing.

Sony did that with the ps2 remote also. Its because you can technically use the remote to play games. Though I have no idea why you would want to.

Xbox 360 gamertag: Cdub998
PSN: cdub998
cdub998 is offline  
post #30 of 50 Old 12-20-2006, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdub998 View Post

Sony did that with the ps2 remote also. Its because you can technically use the remote to play games. Though I have no idea why you would want to.

Maybe this is SCE's introduction to a Wiimote for the PS3?

Just speculating. Though an eletronic gyroscope built-in to the BD remote would be a far fetched idea.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off