No picture from PS3 after updating. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2006, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
I just recieved a PS3 and the first thing I did after the initial setup was run the update. After the update was complete it said to hit the 'x' button to restart. Now I get no picture on the TV and I can't seem to turn it off other than using the off switch on the back. Any ideas?

--Ray

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2006, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try holding the power button for 5 seconds - it should reset the machine. If you still don't see any video, try the composite cable and set the output settings from there. You can select each mode that your display supports.
Neo1965 is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
I turned the unit off from the back and let it sit for 10 minutes and when I turned it on it worked. I still can't seem to get 5.1 sound from optical though.

After keeping it on for about 10 minutes I turned it off and tried to turn it back on and I got no picture or sound. I wonder if this is a heat issue? I have the unit sitting on a box with no obstructions on any side. The right lower side sure is hot after a couple minutes.

When this happens, the controller lights blink and it never connects up to the PS3. The time it did work it hooked up right away and light 1 on the controller was lit up.

I hope I don't have to send this to Sony!!!

--Ray

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Old 12-20-2006, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xbdestroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raynist, important to know would be exactly how you have your PS3 set up. HDMI? Component? Composite? Talk to us, and we'll help you out. :)
xbdestroya is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
It is hooked up Via an HDMI to DVI cable and then an optical cable for the sound.

I just started it up again after sitting for 10 minutes and it worked. I then shut it off after a couple of minutes and turned it back on, no picture or sound and the lights on the remote just kept blinking (green light is on on the front of the PS3).

When this happen I also don't see anything if I try the composite cables that came with it.

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Old 12-21-2006, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When it works, go to the setup screen for the display. Does it say which modes are checked? Test each mode and see if any mode doesn't work on your TV. Normally, before I move the PS3 from the 1080P capable set to the 1080i only, I have to disable the 1080p checkbox first.

Note pressing the power for 5 seconds will turn off all display modes and try to connect to hdmi if it sees it, but will come up in 480P until you go in to change display settings, does that work for you?

If you can't see anything via composite to change setup, then your set could be defective.
Neo1965 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo1965
When it works, go to the setup screen for the display. Does it say which modes are checked? Test each mode and see if any mode doesn't work on your TV. Normally, before I move the PS3 from the 1080P capable set to the 1080i only, I have to disable the 1080p checkbox first.

Note pressing the power for 5 seconds will turn off all display modes and try to connect to hdmi if it sees it, but will come up in 480P until you go in to change display settings, does that work for you?

If you can't see anything via composite to change setup, then your set could be defective.
Hi Neo,

When it is having the problem holding the power button down for the 5 seconds does nothing. The only way I can turn it off at that point is to hit the switch on the back.

I just got off the phone with Sony and it looks like I will have to send the unit in......

--Ray

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Letterbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist
Hi Neo,

When it is having the problem holding the power button down for the 5 seconds does nothing. The only way I can turn it off at that point is to hit the switch on the back.

I just got off the phone with Sony and it looks like I will have to send the unit in......

--Ray
Dude, this so shi**y eh? I waited 3 days in the cold for my unit, and its not working either.
Letterbomb is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letterbomb
Dude, this so shi**y eh? I waited 3 days in the cold for my unit, and its not working either.

Yep, it sucks. It works sometimes, so I wish they would charge me for another unit and send it to me and then I can send the bad one back when I get the new one so I would not be without it.

Fortunatey I didn't have to wait outside for several days or I would really be angry!!!

--Ray

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Letterbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty upset about it, it really sucks big time. The games work fine, but the Blu Ray movies dont play. Which is lame, especially since I bought 6 blu ray movies.

Well, I wish you the best of luck.
Letterbomb is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynist
Hi Neo,

When it is having the problem holding the power button down for the 5 seconds does nothing. The only way I can turn it off at that point is to hit the switch on the back.

I just got off the phone with Sony and it looks like I will have to send the unit in......

--Ray
I think you're supposed to power off, and then hold the power button for 5s to power it on. You should hear a beep, and the screen should reset to 480P and you'd have to change settings to get the other modes (or select auto for HDMI). I only had to do it once, and I can't remember the exact sequence, only that you keep it pressed until you hear some beep.
Neo1965 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have no picture or no audio anymore after updating the firmware. I will be returning my ps3 to the store and get a refund. I will be purchasing another ps3 next year when most of the gitches are fixed.
Kage is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xbdestroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed, try Neo's suggestion before sending it back Raynist - keeping your finger on the power pad while powering on will reset all display and audio settings. It does sound like your unit might be bad, but hey you never know, worth a shot.
xbdestroya is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
I just talked to one of my local EB stores (i bought mine from ebay, but have the receipt) and they called around the Pittsburgh area and found a store that had a PS3 left and they are holding it for me so I can exchange it this evening. That is some great customer service!!!

--Ray

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 343
new ps3 is working great and not getting hot like the other one.

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
4 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in slanted boxes (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
3 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials in Ported Boxes for LCR's
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off