Official PS3 Lock-up thread... post your problem here. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Mods please leave this thread active. The primary PS3 thread has degenerated into a zillion newbie posts all asking if the PS3 can scale DVDs and if it has analog audio output.

THIS THREAD IS ONLY FOR THE LOCK-UP PROBLEM OF THE PS3 DURING BD PLAYBACK.

Many of us seem to have discovered that after we updated our firmware past 1.1, our player started to randomly/occasionally "lock up" during BD movie playback where an image from the movie just stays motionless on the screen and remains there despite all degree of button pushing on the remote. Sometimes users can still get the menu to come up and press "stop" but nothing seems to take effect.

The only solution so far is a hard boot-down by powering off the manual switch on the back of the unit and on again.

I had the player lock up THREE times the other night while trying to watch Prada with a friend. Now I'm pissed and just about ready to return this frustrating device to the store from whence it came.





Here's what I'd like to know from everyone:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.
DaViD Boulet is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
chokeslam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem? Yes, but only when the XMB is up or when quitting a BD or game.

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
The second day I had it, 1.31 I believe?

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player? 60gig

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated? Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring? It hasn't happened to me in a few weeks but I can't recall if it was after a firmware update or not.
chokeslam is offline  
post #3 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 09:05 AM
Senior Member
 
gas_leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know I don't have a PS3 but this is the very same problem I had with my first two Sony BDP-S1s. I wonder if its just a Sony problem?
gas_leak is offline  
post #4 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 09:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Robbinsville, NJ
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this started after a firmware upgrade, I would wait to return it until after the next upgrade/update. They seem to be coming pretty frequently. I'm sure this will be fixed. How widespread is the problem?
Steve Wright is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 09:20 AM
Member
 
avshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 60 GB version with latest firmware and I have not had any lockups whatsoever. I have it positioned horizontally. I would wait for the next firmware update to see if your problem continues.
avshaman is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
pidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Elk Grove
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?
No

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
I am using the latest 1.32 firmware and no problems

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?
60GB

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?
Flat horizontally

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?
Never encountered problem
pidge is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 09:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
gvg45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I'd like to know from everyone:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem? No, at least not yet

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update? version 1.32

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player? 60g

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated? Horizontally

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring? n/a
gvg45 is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here's what I'd like to know from everyone:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

yes

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

1.3
3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?

20

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

horizontally

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?

I havn't run into it again but showing ice age 2 to a friend and there was a little stutter
space2001 is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:00 AM
Member
 
sqlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I'd like to know from everyone:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem? NO

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player? 20 UPGRADED TO AN 80 GB

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated? HORIZONTAL

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring? NO ISSUES EVER ENCOUNTERED AT ALL

Porsche. There is no substitute...
sqlb is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:03 AM
Member
 
mbot75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Concord, OH
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

Yes

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?


Happened once so far while watching "The Devil Wears Prada" with the 1.31 firmware (have yet to watch a movie with 1.32 - I downloaded it after watching KoH last night).

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?


60

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccurring?


Don't know yet but only hard reboot worked the first time.
mbot75 is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:06 AM
Member
 
HybridHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have no problems with my China 60gb. The question "Was it made in Japan or China" should be added as well.
HybridHB is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
David, not trying to flame you or anything, but just wanted to ask you where did you get the impression that "many of us" have the lock-up problem with PS3? As far as I know "many of us" are happily watching BD and other discs with no lockups.
Anyway, I have the latest firmware and my 60GB PS3 has never locked up neither during BD playback nor any time after that. My PS3 is placed horizontally. Perhaps, the firmware upgrade did not go through correctly in your case, or maybe you are having a bad unit. Also check the disk itself: is it clean? Does it have scratches?
I am willing to try to replicate the issue on my PS3. Can you mention specifics:
- what BD discs were you watching when the lockup happened?
- did yuo press any buttons that triggered the lockup or did it happen completely "unprovoked"?
- and most importantly, can you yourself replicate the lockups (same BD or different BDs)?

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:19 AM
Member
 
mbot75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Concord, OH
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He already mentioned that it happened during "The Devil Wears Prada" - the same movie I experienced the issue with. Have you watched that one yet? Perhaps there is a problem with the disc.
mbot75 is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
foots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

No

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?


1.32 and no problems.

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?


20

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

Vertical

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccurring?


N/A
foots is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BTBuck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?
Have had 1 lock up

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
Firmware 1.3 i believe.

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?
60gb

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?
Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?
It's only happened one time in about 30 Blu-Ray movies and never happened on a game. I don't even consider it a "problem"

HDDVD owner: 360 add-on, HD-A30, HD-A2, A1
Blu-ray disc supporter: ps3-60gb, Oppo BDP-93
TV's: LN46B750 1080p-240hz LCD/kdl55hx729 1080p 240hz 3D LED

Link:Blu-ray Disc Fan Forum
BTBuck1 is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 11:45 AM
Member
 
nonametofame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My situation is similar to Brian's post. Had 1 lockup while watching the Talladega Nights freebie. Firmware was 1.3 at the time, on a 20g PS3, placed horzontally
nonametofame is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 12:26 PM
Member
 
mosman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i've had one lock up in the opening minutes of the devil's rejects. has never happened again with that dvd or any others. i have the 20gb, using component, unit is horizontal.
i could get no controller comands to work during freeze up...had to turn off units back power switch. i know playback issues with my toshiba hd-dvd player were cleared up with firmware updates....so if this indeed a trouble sony is aware of hopefully a futrure firmware upgrade will correct it. also, not everyone was having playback trouble with the toshiba...much like the ps3.
mosman72 is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 01:28 PM
Member
 
JustBKaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?
No.

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
Latest firmware 1.32

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?
60gb

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?
Vertical, plenty of ventilation

Reyo-San Pictures
High Quality Productions on a Zero Budget
JustBKaz is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LAGOSIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW ORLEANS/ HOUSTON
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gas_leak View Post

I know I don't have a PS3 but this is the very same problem I had with my first two Sony BDP-S1s. I wonder if its just a Sony problem?

I had that problem with my Sammy initially. After the upgrade it only happened once while watching KOH.

KEEP BOTH FORMATS ALIVE!
This translates to better PQ & AQ.
LAGOSIAN is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 12-29-2006, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eXgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NorthSide, BC, CA -ALWAYS AGAINST THE WIND-
Posts: 1,028
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2 lockups. none since 1.32

plenty vent. sitting flat.


watched 15+ movies on it.

So Far... So Good... So What!
Unlock Your Samsung PNxxD550 series 5 plasma to achieve Expert 10 point Calibration and Expert Patterns. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1339743
eXgo is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 12-30-2006, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
DaViD Boulet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 6,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
TauRus and others,

in the main PS3 thread the issue has already been well established. Apparently many folks started getting this "lock up" thing after the 1.3 update.

It affects radomly and isn't title dependent... one day a movie will play fine, the next day it will freeze.

Also, it has no bearing if the disc is 1 or 2 layer, MPEG2/VC1 etc.

I've had lockups on the following movies at sometimes, then not at other times:

Ice Age,
8 below
Devil/Prada
and a few more I can't remember at the moment.

1080p and lossless audio. EVERY BD should have them both.
DaViD Boulet is online now  
post #22 of 56 Old 12-30-2006, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hobbs47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Huntington Beach,CA
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?
No

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
I'm on 1.32

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?
20 GB
4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?
Horizontal
HDMI out to Sony STRDA5200ES to Panny plasma

hobbs47 is online now  
post #23 of 56 Old 12-30-2006, 01:47 PM
Member
 
David_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I'd like to know from everyone:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem? No

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update? 1.32

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player? 60 GB

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated? Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring? n/a
David_T is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 12-30-2006, 03:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 605
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?
NO

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?
N/A v1.32

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?
20GB

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?
Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?
n/a

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #25 of 56 Old 12-31-2006, 10:04 PM
Member
 
dauthum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have IA2:TMD watched 1st time with my daughter with no probs. Next day watched with G.F. and locked up. FW:1.31 vert, 20GB. BTW watched it about 3 other times with no problems. I have had no problems with the other BD movies I own, so far.
dauthum is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 01-01-2007, 12:59 AM
Newbie
 
MikeLambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just had a lockup.

Watching the Searchers late in the movie durring rescue scene. Only the second movie I've watched on this unit.

1.3 Horizontal

Need to update to 1.32
MikeLambert is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 01-01-2007, 01:51 AM
 
1loudsuv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: long beach california
Posts: 1,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?definatly!

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?never updated anything

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?had a 60 gig

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?horizontally

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?no just got rid of it

let me add it seems i have bad luck and everything i buy always has a problem my first hd-dvd player broke my 360 would lock up like crazy till i moved the power block around and my ps3 would lock up like crazy also but never really messed around with it sold it to soon
1loudsuv is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 01-01-2007, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sean_w_smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Altos, CA and Huntsville, UT
Posts: 4,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

Several times before Firmware 1.32. not at all since

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

The Day I bought it I updated to 1.31 before doing anything...

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?

60g

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

Horizontal

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer
reoccuring?[/b][/quote]

seems to not happen with 1.32 so far, cross my fingers...
sean_w_smith is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 01-02-2007, 06:16 AM
Senior Member
 
theswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At risk of "jinxing" myself, I'll participate:

1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

No. I've watched a number of BD including Devil Wears Prada. (I did have my PS3 lock-up once during RFOM while it was on the firmware that shipped with the device.)

2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

Latest firmware - 1.32 I think.

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?

60 gig

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

Horizontal on an open stand with about 5 inches of space on the right side (facing the device), 6 inches behind, 8-10 inches above, 15-20 feet in front, and 2-3 feet on the left side.

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?

N/A
theswami is offline  
post #30 of 56 Old 01-02-2007, 06:41 AM
Member
 
BLWTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1. Do you have the lock-up problem?

Doesn't lock but video drops out for a second or two and returns. Happens on all BD disks and more frequent as system plays longer and gets warmer. Games play fine.
Running via component cables. HDMI/DVI does not work.


2. When did it start? After what firmware version/update?

I uploaded 1.32 before playing movies.never ran games or movies prior to update install. opened on x-mas day.

3. Do you have a 20 or 60 gig player?

60g

4. Is your player on-end or horizontally seated?

on-end

5. Have you been able to fix the problem so that it is no longer reoccuring?

NO
BLWTX is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off