Does PS3 Upconvert DVD's? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mjrichar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the PS3 upconvert 480i DVD's to HD formats over HDMI? I'm trying to find the answer in the PS3 online manual but can't find it.

Thanks.

"Don't get caught watchin' the paint dry"
mjrichar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Esox50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It does not. However, it might be able to do so via a firmware update in the future. Rumors suggest a March timeframe.
Esox50 is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mjrichar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esox50 View Post

It does not. However, it might be able to do so via a firmware update in the future. Rumors suggest a March timeframe.

I can't believe a state of the art machine like this doesn't do it. It seems standard for "Basic" DVD players to upconvert.

"Don't get caught watchin' the paint dry"
mjrichar is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 01:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North East USA
Posts: 14,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjrichar View Post

I can't believe a state of the art machine like this doesn't do it. It seems standard for "Basic" DVD players to upconvert.

Some possible reasons:

SD DVD conversion is software based in cell processer and was not ready for launch, a delay of the PS3 for this reason was not even considered

SD DVD conversion wasn't deemed important by gaming division of Sony

SD DVD playback not really expected to be big, so why waste money on it

Sony didn't have enough software or engineering resources to do it right

Hardware based upconversion not included to save costs

Sony deliberately didn't include it so Blu-ray discs would look better. Fear that consumers may not see a difference between good upconverted SD DVD discs and Blu-ray discs, even more so on non HD DVD displays.

Reason to upgrade to a stand alone Blu-ray player that could upconvert SD DVDs.

.
"A lot of good arguments are spoiled by some fool who knows what he is talking about." - Miguel de Unamuno


follow me on Twitter
Kosty is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Trebuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Standard Definition is horrid outputted from the PS3. A $30 dvd player would give the same results.
Trebuken is offline  
post #6 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
sting0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone try to play DVDs in their PS3? I got BD movies working right, but for some reason the resolution switches to 480x720 4:3, no widescreen, when I try to play a dvd? Have to try to figure this out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post

Standard Definition is horrid outputted from the PS3. A $30 dvd player would give the same results.

sting0r is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebuken View Post

Standard Definition is horrid outputted from the PS3. A $30 dvd player would give the same results.

I have the PS3 and I think that the 480p looks pretty damned good. Not as good as the upconverting A2, but still looks about as good as the best 480p dvd player I have ever had.
inca is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
jon g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

I have the PS3 and I think that the 480p looks pretty damned good. Not as good as the upconverting A2, but still looks about as good as the best 480p dvd player I have ever had.

SD looks terrible to me, nowhere near the quality of a good upconverting DVD player like my denon 3910...
jon g is offline  
post #9 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 06:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
alfbinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Old Brooklyn (Cleveland), Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess the answer is NO.

Chad Billheimer rocks as a ISF Calibrator for Ohio.
Roller Coaster season is upon us. Proud member of American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) Woodies Rule!
alfbinet is online now  
post #10 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtlots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northeast WI
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I am also very pleasantly surprised by the PS3's standard dvd playback.
curtlots is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
MrPorterhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Lake, IN
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by inca View Post

I have the PS3 and I think that the 480p looks pretty damned good. Not as good as the upconverting A2, but still looks about as good as the best 480p dvd player I have ever had.

Same here for me. The PS3's DVD playback is quite good.

How do you go low? A SVS PB10-isd and a Cerwin Vega LW-15, that's how I go
Sony 60GB PS3 for Blu-ray Movies
MrPorterhouse is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jwv651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I prefer my A2 over the PS3 with SD.

Joe V.
jwv651 is offline  
post #13 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Matt-05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwv651 View Post

I prefer my A2 over the PS3 with SD.

As do I...The A2 is terrific at upconverting.

Waiting on a winner....or the SamsungUP5000
Matt-05 is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 01-01-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sdallnct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too think the SD on the PS3 is pretty good. However, I will admit to never using an upconverting DVD player. My main DVD player has been a Toshiba SD-H400 which is a tivo with built in DVDp.

In any case I'm at least saying the ps3 is not a liability with SD.

Tho I will say I didn't think I was going going to get a PS3 for about six months, so I do have a D1 ready to do the mod on. Maybe once I get some time I'll do the mod and see how that goes....
Sdallnct is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 01-02-2007, 03:04 PM
Ix
Advanced Member
 
Ix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
My Oppo 97 is noticeably better at upconverting SD over my PS3. I'm guessing the reason those of you posting that it looks good are in the same boat as Sdallnct - you haven't really seen SD on a good upconverting player. The only real way to explain the difference is to see them together on the same display using the same source material.

SD looks ok on the PS3, but it could definitely improve.
Ix is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 01-02-2007, 08:10 PM
 
vincentnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for the 1345509098132947123407 times...NO!!!

the ps3 won't upconvert ur dvd. MAYBE in future firmware.
vincentnyc is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 12:52 AM
Member
 
BlackFriar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentnyc View Post

MAYBE in future firmware.

It's not a question of "maybe," more or less "when" since SCEI is working on multitap upscaling algorithms. Masakazu Honda has also stated on topic that they 'plan to use the non-original luminance information generated in upscaling for HDMI 1.3 deep color.'

They are also working on upscaling and nose shaping algorithms for ripped CD audio AFAIK; but the time horizon is unknown for release of this.
BlackFriar is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 04:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
inca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now let me state that I use my A2 for playing back my SD-DVD as it does a wonderful job of upconverting them, but now with that said the PS3 is no slouch at playing back SD-DVDs and looks really good, but of course not on par with the A2, but probably one of the best looking pics for 480p.
inca is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Onkyo10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own both...I have my A1 for SD upconverting and HD dvd; the PS3 is for BR...the remain, i don't care if PS3 does good upscaler or not...although it does pretty good in 480p...I also have Sony NS76 for upconverting sd Region 2 ...everything is wonderfull.. i guess every body here in this forum own at least two or three DVD players...why are you still struggling with that? Don't tell me that you want to sell your SD upscaler player..it does not worth a penny now, no more than 20-30 $..it 'ss better you keep them for your SD..
Onkyo10 is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Monty22001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The standard DVD playback on it is far nicer than my 3 year old Sony progressive player. Maybe it's because of the hdm, dunno.
Monty22001 is offline  
post #21 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 07:54 AM
 
vincentnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok for the ppl that has a dvd player that upconvert their dvd and is connected to the tv thru hdmi port...let say ur tv is capable of doing 1080p.

will it display in 1080p from 480p? if not, what then? 720p?
vincentnyc is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Monty22001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentnyc View Post

ok for the ppl that has a dvd player that upconvert their dvd and is connected to the tv thru hdmi port...let say ur tv is capable of doing 1080p.

will it display in 1080p from 480p? if not, what then? 720p?

Doesn't that depend on the dvd player? The new Oppo's can do 1080p, but most are 1080i. I believe one Samsung can do 1080p as well, but the Oppo is supposed to be much better.
Monty22001 is offline  
post #23 of 29 Old 01-03-2007, 09:10 AM
 
vincentnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so if the upconvert dvd player said it can do 1080p...i guess it will upconvert the pix to 1080p then? i guess i got my answer...thx.
vincentnyc is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 01-04-2007, 08:10 AM
Member
 
antidata27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Upconverting is moot with fixed pixel displays like plasma, no? Everything is upconverted to 1080p on my PRO-FHD1. Otherwise, I'd see a black border around the picture most of the time. The only drawback I see is the screen flicker when switching resolutions.

That said, 480p in/1080p out on my plasma looks damn good coming from the PS3. My test case; "Finding Nimo".
antidata27 is offline  
post #25 of 29 Old 01-06-2007, 02:31 PM
Member
 
2cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Winthrop Harbor, IL
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can one of you Jedis with every equipment available please post pics:

PS3 SD DVD vs. 1080P Upconvert DVD?

If possible on 46" LCD?

As we know, as display gets bigger DVD looks worse!

Entropy.
2cents is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 01-06-2007, 08:09 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by sting0r View Post

Anyone try to play DVDs in their PS3? I got BD movies working right, but for some reason the resolution switches to 480x720 4:3, no widescreen, when I try to play a dvd? Have to try to figure this out.

That's the way a DVD will look unless it is "stretched" by the player or your TV. Try using a "wide mode" on your TV. Some TVs may call it "full screen" or "zoom". My TV has 2 wide modes, one for non-anamorphic DVDs and one for anamorphic DVDs.

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #27 of 29 Old 01-06-2007, 08:14 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentnyc View Post

ok for the ppl that has a dvd player that upconvert their dvd and is connected to the tv thru hdmi port...let say ur tv is capable of doing 1080p.

will it display in 1080p from 480p? if not, what then? 720p?

A digital display will scale an incoming 480p signal to the native resolution of the display. eg. If you have a Sony SXRD RPTV the 480p from the PS3 scale it to 1080p. It will also take a 720p signal from a cable box or upconverting DVD player and scale it to 1080p (1920x1080) which is the native resolution of the SXRD TV. Is that what you were asking? Or does that answer your question?

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 11-21-2007, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wilson-Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NC
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has the status of answer to the the OP (no) changed since the last reply in this thread?

Thanks.

HDTV in my home since 1999.
Wilson-Flyer is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 11-21-2007, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Mandrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Weathership Tango Delta
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, FWIW, many people report that the PS3 is one of the best upscalers going for the price. I didn't read this older thread, but I read widely, and found much confirmation for this. I haven't confirmed this with experience, but my PS3 on my 1080p screen does a much better job that I expected would be possible with standard DVDs.

So I'm a happy camper, and suggest peopl resd more current postings. I never saw anything like those early 07 posting when doing my research. Further, PS3s continue to evolve via firmware upgrades (which are uber easy due to wifi built in - in most models).
Mandrake is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off