How does the PS3 handle 1080p? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2007, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Anyone here with a PS3 and a 1080p display experiment with 1080i vs 1080p output with BD movies?
Since it seems that the PS3 might have to go from the 1080p24 source to 1080i60 bacl to 1080p60, I just wonder if it would better to pass it 1080i60 and let the tv dp the de-interlacing? I have a samsung hls-6188


thoughts?
curlyjive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2007, 11:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With your Samsung, you'll get the best picture with the PS3 set to output 1080p.

With a few exceptions, players do a better job at deinterlace than displays.
bfdtv is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

With your Samsung, you'll get the best picture with the PS3 set to output 1080p.

With a few exceptions, players do a better job at deinterlace than displays.

Thanks,

The reason I ask is B/c the samsing does have a pretty good de-interlacer, but I wasn't sure about the PS3.

What about the color space setting? Over HDMI, I have it set to YCbPr...better to set it to Auto or RGB?
curlyjive is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 01:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
necrolop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PS3 doesnt have scalers, it does everything with software. 1080p60 is derived from the 1080p24. It doesnt have the same limitations caused in the samsung by its chips.

CROPPED < OAR < OPEN MATTE -- OOOOH I SAID IT!
necrolop is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
REL77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 701
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

Anyone here with a PS3 and a 1080p display experiment with 1080i vs 1080p output with BD movies?
Since it seems that the PS3 might have to go from the 1080p24 source to 1080i60 bacl to 1080p60, I just wonder if it would better to pass it 1080i60 and let the tv dp the de-interlacing? I have a samsung hls-6188


thoughts?

I just noticed you asked this in like 3 threads now..wow
REL77 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 06:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 828
I could have sworn I answered this thread earlier.
With 1080P the PS3 seems to do a better job than than with 1080i on my setup. My VP50 does a better job interlacing the 1080P signal from the PS3 than the PS3 doing it's own interlacing to output 1080i.
Then my TV takes the 1080i signal and deinterlaces it to 1080P. It is noticeably better coming from the VP50 than from the PS3.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 11:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have asked this question as well, and have not been able to get a good answer. We all know that the Samsung and Panasonic players take the 1080p24 output on the disks to 1080i60 then convert to 1080p60. For those who like myself are using a VP50, the best output to select from the above players is 1080i, and to let the VP50 do the deinterlacing.

I have heard that 1080p from the PS3 is better, but have not gotten a clear explanation. Can anyone explain exactly how the PS3 is getting its 1080p60 output?
cal87 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

I have asked this question as well, and have not been able to get a good answer. We all know that the Samsung and Panasonic players take the 1080p24 output on the disks to 1080i60 then convert to 1080p60. For those who like myself are using a VP50, the best output to select from the above players is 1080i, and to let the VP50 do the deinterlacing.

I have heard that 1080p from the PS3 is better, but have not gotten a clear explanation. Can anyone explain exactly how the PS3 is getting its 1080p60 output?

Would like to know this too...as well as the best setting for HDMI output...AUTO, RGB???
curlyjive is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:24 PM
Member
 
winstonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also use 1080i to VP50 and 1080p to projector. This is way better than using 1080p from PS3 to VP50 or 1080P directly to projector.

I don't know why, it just is. If not for the VP50 I would be totally dissapointed in the video quality of the PS3.
winstonb is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by winstonb View Post

I also use 1080i to VP50 and 1080p to projector. This is way better than using 1080p from PS3 to VP50 or 1080P directly to projector.

I don't know why, it just is. If not for the VP50 I would be totally dissapointed in the video quality of the PS3.

Hmmm. This is the opposite of what some others have said. If the PS3 is interlacing the signal first like the other players, this would certainly make sense.

Personally, I have not had a chance to compare the two yet. (Couldn't get the 1080p output from the PS3 to even work until I reverted to 1.00 firmware on the VP50). Will have to do some testing for myself. Still, no clear explanation what the PS3 is doing exactly.
cal87 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
How about people without an external processor, but with a 1080p set? How are you setting you ps3 output? 1080i or 1080p?
curlyjive is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
WoodyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

How about people without an external processor, but with a 1080p set? How are you setting you ps3 output? 1080i or 1080p?


I have Ruby and I tried both 1080i and 1080p, for blu-ray movie playing, I see no difference.
WoodyT is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodyT View Post

I have Ruby and I tried both 1080i and 1080p, for blu-ray movie playing, I see no difference.

Thanks for the feedback. Do you have yours set to AUTO, RGB, ect???
curlyjive is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:24 AM
Member
 
fher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help Please!

I Have A Sony 40"xbr2 With The Ps3. When Watching And Movie And I Hit The Display It Reads 1080p. When I Put Madden It Reads 720p. Why? How Can I Play Madden In 1080p?
fher is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 828
You can't. The PS3 doesn't scale the games to 1080P. You have to play it in the resolution it's rendered, 720P. resistance is the same way. it's only a 720P game as are most of the PS3 titles.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:02 PM
Member
 
fher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You! Now I Can Sleep
fher is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by fher View Post

Thank You! Now I Can Sleep

I doubt it would make much of a difference even if the PS3 could scale 720 to 1080. Considering those of us with 1080p sets, the tv does that anyway.
curlyjive is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by fher View Post

Help Please!

I Have A Sony 40"xbr2 With The Ps3. When Watching And Movie And I Hit The Display It Reads 1080p. When I Put Madden It Reads 720p. Why? How Can I Play Madden In 1080p?

Why Are You Capitalizing The First Letter Of Every Word? That's A Lot Of Extra Work For You To Type And Is Very Annoying For Everyone Else To Read.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:11 PM
Member
 
octogon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sending from PS3 1080i to projector Mits HC 5000 and then let the PJ to do the job to 1080p, it has an HQV scaler, the picture is fantastic.I a doing the same with HD Sat and HD DVD.

Blue-Ray Disc 276
octogon is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodyT View Post

I have Ruby and I tried both 1080i and 1080p, for blu-ray movie playing, I see no difference.

Same setup.... can't see any difference at all.
stepmback is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:12 AM
Member
 
ddemeterio5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post

Anyone here with a PS3 and a 1080p display experiment with 1080i vs 1080p output with BD movies?
Since it seems that the PS3 might have to go from the 1080p24 source to 1080i60 back to 1080p60, I just wonder if it would better to pass it 1080i60 and let the tv dp the de-interlacing? I have a samsung hls-6188


thoughts?

Has anyone confirmed this logic: 1080p24 -> 1080i -> 1080p60
I have a Panasonic 65" 1080p display and a HD Leeza video processor. My display can accept 1080p60 and my video processor will de-interlace 1080i -> 1080p60. I assume my video processor will do a better job in de-interlacing than the PS3. Now if the PS3 does 1080p24 -> 1080p60 then it would be better to connect it straight to my display. The HD Leeza will not accept 1080p inputs.

Any thoughts from the experts?
ddemeterio5 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off