PS3 1080i Problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-03-2007, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
beazty327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I my PS3 is set to 1080i, two things happen. I get this weird ghosting/burn-in effect where images leave sort of a shadow on the screen after they have left (particularly noticeable in the XMB menu) and there are pairs of parallel lines running vertically across the screen that can be seen from closer than 5'. This problem appears both in the menu and in blu-ray playback. When I change the resolution to 720p, everything looks peachy keen. I'm outputting to a dell W4200 plasma with an HDMI -> DVI cable that accepts 720p and 1080i. Does anyone have any idea what is going on here?
beazty327 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-04-2007, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I don't think resolution has anything to do with it. It sounds like you have image retention.
metalsaber is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-04-2007, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
beazty327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why would this only occur in one resolution and with one device? 1080i from my DCT6412 cable box looks fantastic and does not have this problem.
beazty327 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-04-2007, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
beazty327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I turn off 1080i on my PS3, will blu-ray output in 720p?
beazty327 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-04-2007, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Forceflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your plasma probably isn't able to process 1080i well? Have you tried another source at 1080i?

***Warning*** Do not look into laser with remaining eye!!
Forceflow is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-04-2007, 08:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
beazty327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like I said in my second post, 1080i from my cable box over component works perfectly on my set. Could it be an issue with the DVI port on my TV?
beazty327 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-06-2007, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
beazty327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the confusion, but it is a W4200HD (1024x768). I can't find anything in the user manual or on the net that would suggest the DVI/HDMI port cannot accept 1080i, but the thought has crossed my mind. For TV's that cannot accept a resolution such as 1080i over DVI, do they display any image at all or would the image be distorted like mine?

I also have just a general question about my set. Since it is neither native 1080i or 720p, what resolution should I be having my devices output to the set for best results?
beazty327 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off