HDMI Audio not supported? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-05-2007, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Doctor Krypton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get this message on my Samsung Blu Ray player. Why am I getting this and how do I get it not to show up on the screen?
Doctor Krypton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-05-2007, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
eecubed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would help if you list your equipment and how they are connected.

If you connect the player directly to the display and the display does not support sound over HDMI, then that is likely the case. You might need to connect via other methods for sound.

veni, vidi, vici
You can't understand something until you can measure it with numbers.
eecubed is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-05-2007, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Innerloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get the message as well. I'm not sure if its from the TV or the player. Both are Samsung in my case and have similar looking menus.

Anyway its just telling you that your display device (Tv) isn't setup to use HDMI audio. Its not a big deal and it disappears in a few seconds. I don't know if there is a way to turn it off, it didn't bother me enough to look for one.

I am curious what brand of TV you have, that way I'd know for sure if its my TV or the player that puts up the message...
Innerloop is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-05-2007, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Doctor Krypton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eecubed View Post

Would help if you list your equipment and how they are connected.

If you connect the player directly to the display and the display does not support sound over HDMI, then that is likely the case. You might need to connect via other methods for sound.

Sorry, I didn't think it mattered much in this case. My Blu Ray player is hooked up via HDMI to my Panny AE900U Pj and audio is handled via optical connection. I don't get the message when I play HD DVD's.
I'm guessing it displays the message because I am not using HDMI for audio but it's kinda ridiulous to have this giant intrusive box on the screen when you are firing up a movie.
Doctor Krypton is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-06-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
IIRC, the message will go away if you set the player's digital out option to PCM rather than Bitstream.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-06-2007, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Doctor Krypton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaldorfSalad View Post

IIRC, the message will go away if you set the player's digital out option to PCM rather than Bitstream.

But then I don't get 5.1 and all that.
Doctor Krypton is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-06-2007, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Krypton View Post

But then I don't get 5.1 and all that.

Sorry, I can't remember all the permutations as I just recently returned the Samsung (this issue was one of the reasons). IIRC, you should still get 5.1 over HDMI and the 5.1ch analog outputs but downmixed via digital optical/coax.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-06-2007, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I get the same thing on my Sammy player/Sony a2000 set. Connected via HDMI directly to set and via coaxial digital cable and analog 5.1 cables to HK AVR635.

The Sony sets will display this warning when recieving a digital audio format via HDMI that the set does not support (i.e. DD 5.1). The display will be in a grayish rectangular box on the screen. The warning on my set with the Sammy player is blue and has rounded corners so is being generated by the player and not the set.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off