5.1 Uncompressed & Optical Out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 01-08-2007, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm not sure if this is the right forum or not. I am new to blu-ray. I have an A-1. My receiver is a Denon 3805. The A-1 uses the analog ins and I don't have HDMI inputs on the receiver. I put in Stealth which has a 5.1 & a 5.1 uncompressed. The PS3 is set to bitstream.
With the 5.1 uncompressed chosen, the receiver shows up Pro-logix IIX.
With the 5.1 chosen, it shows un as Dolby Digital but with a very muted and compressed sounding soundstage. This is the first movie that I have run into with that problem. X3 sounds great. Is this normal? I am running firmware 1.32.
I will get a new receiver when it decodes the other formats.
Again, sorry if this isn't in the right forum.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-08-2007, 02:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can't get 5.1 uncompressed audio through optical out or coax. You must buy a new receiver with HDMI 1.1+ to experience the uncompressed audio from Blu-ray on the PS3.
post #3 of 14 Old 01-08-2007, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 15
I have a Denon 3803 and my receiver will play the 5.1 uncompresed setting with the coax. The receiver will show Dolby PLII, they sound is extremely dynamic and better than DD. When I switch the receiver to the 5.1 analogs, it almost sounds the same as the uncompressed over coax w/ PLII.
post #4 of 14 Old 01-08-2007, 06:58 PM
Advanced Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rr6966 View Post

I have a Denon 3803 and my receiver will play the 5.1 uncompresed setting with the coax. The receiver will show Dolby PLII, they sound is extremely dynamic and better than DD. When I switch the receiver to the 5.1 analogs, it almost sounds the same as the uncompressed over coax w/ PLII.