Ultimate AV PS3 Review! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 01-11-2007, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
idealty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought this was a pretty good read. Ultimate AV typically does some pretty detailed and objective reviews so its refreshing to see someone thoroughly appreciate the PS3 for what it is. I've seen a lot of threads asking about the quality and capabilities of the PS3 so perhaps this may help answer some of those questions. Check it out:

Ultimate AV PS3 review


Summary:

Highs
Excellent image quality with Blu-ray
Lightning fast disc loading and access speeds
Superior connectivity to standalone BD players with HDMI 1.3 and Wi-Fi
Superior audio decoding capabilities with 7.1-channel Dolby TrueHD
Software upgradeble plaform- it could keep getting better!

Lows
SIXAXIS wireless controller as remote control will give non-gamers fits
Very soft DVD playback
Lacks ability to upconvert DVDs and 720p games to 1080i/p
No multichannel analog outs- you must have HDMI 1.1 or later in your AVR or pre/pro to take full advantage of its audio capabilities
idealty is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 01-11-2007, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beatboy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 2,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the Conclusion to this review:

Quote:
The PS3 unequivocally earns its keep as a BD player for a home theater environment, although the non-gamers among you will certainly want that optional Blu-ray Disc remote. It's not quite good enough on standard DVD playback to unseat very good, up-to-date, standalone DVD players, but in all other respects it earns top scores.

~Josh

hidefpreview
beatboy77 is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 01-11-2007, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
ckong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A quick question, is the absence of sd upconversion a permanent feature or did Sony hint at an upgrade via download later?
ckong is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 01-11-2007, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRMOTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckong View Post

A quick question, is the absence of sd upconversion a permanent feature or did Sony hint at an upgrade via download later?

There has been a hint that an update may be available in March.. Maybe...
MRMOTA is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 01-11-2007, 06:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
That was a pretty informative review... Nicely written...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Nice read,

I agree with the part about the sixaxis being less then perfect as a movie-watching remote. I was always accidentally pusing the front buttons which are very sensitive. But now I've learned codes from a PS2 remote to my Harmony 659 and once in the Blu Ray or DVD mode I can do it all via IR. (I have the PS2 to USB adapter which you need to make this work.)

The fact that you can "boot" directly into this mode by just putting in a DVD or Blu Ray disc when the system is off is also awesome.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 07:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Good article and pretty much spot on. I also have the Toshiba A-1 and I must admit I like using the PS3 more. Disc loading is much quicker and the remote control works well. Doesn't really feel like a PS3 once I have the remote in hand.

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rlsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 5,618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The remote issue may be a function of your experience. My son uses the SIXAXIS remote for playing movies and says he doesn't even want the remote.

Sony needs to supply an easy way to use IR remotes with this system to satisfy non-gamers however.
rlsmith is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Shuley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
<3 my PS3.
Shuley is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I agree I guess I'll have to go the PS2 Ir route to get my Harmony 880 to work with it
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlsmith View Post

The remote issue may be a function of your experience. My son uses the SIXAXIS remote for playing movies and says he doesn't even want the remote.

Sony needs to supply an easy way to use IR remotes with this system to satisfy non-gamers however.

ndskyz is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 08:22 AM
Member
 
Connavar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if you buy a Remote, a HDMI receiver and wait for the next firmware upgrade (for DVD upscaling and DTS-MA), you get the perfect BD player.
Connavar is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Well,

I use the remote I had before I bought the PS3 (Harmony 659) and I don't have a HDMI receiver but some people do so they wouldn't need to buy that. Actually,... I don't need that either but someday I may get one.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 05:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,019
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Brian, I have a logitech harmony too, would you please clarify how to programe for ps3
zoro is online now  
post #14 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hughmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
DVD's look better on my PS3 than my HTPC.
Hughmc is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am watching the dvd POTC-DMC on my A2 and it looks and sounds fanatastic....the dvd PQ on my PS3 is terrible and unwatchable to me...if you are used to outstanding upscaling on dvd the ps3 falls way short in this regard. On the A2 it is really clean and almost hi def and hard to tell the difference.........the controller is fine for a remote on the ps3 to me...

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maxx_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Algona, WA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure that the PS3 will ever be able to upscale. I was under the impression that upscaling needs a chip that just is not in the PS3.

"My ignorance amuses me." .......Manfred Powell

Blu-Ray = 381 HD DVD = 1
My Collection
Maxx_75 is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IeraseU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxx_75 View Post

I am not sure that the PS3 will ever be able to upscale. I was under the impression that upscaling needs a chip that just is not in the PS3.

Upscaling can be done via either hardware or software.

PS Network: HZR
Xbox 360 Tag: HZR Nam 75
Wii Connect: 7793 3308 1436 9373

I support cycle commuting.
IeraseU is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 10:12 PM
Member
 
nizzan4u2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im thinking of selling my bdp1000 and getting a ps3. I wanna enjoy some games in high def too. Plus I like the advanced features.
nizzan4u2nv is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 01-12-2007, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
 
dsg2003gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nizzan4u2nv View Post

Im thinking of selling my bdp1000 and getting a ps3. I wanna enjoy some games in high def too. Plus I like the advanced features.


Do it! I returned my Hd-a2 and got a PS3 and LOVE IT!
dsg2003gt is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
gsearles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Brian, I have a logitech harmony too, would you please clarify how to programe for ps3

Here's how you set up for IR remote control on the PS3:

http://www.remotecentral.com/articles/ps3-ir-remote.htm

I'm going to post a new thread about this, this seems to be fairly unknown in this group, surprisingly.

Greg
gsearles is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 08:32 AM
Member
 
aviguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
The PS3 will output 720p, 1080i, or 1080p when it is native on a Blu-ray Disc or a video game. It can also downconvert from 1080p to 1080i if your display cannot accept 1080p. But it cannot downconvert 1080p to 720p, and it does not have the ability to upconvert lower resolution discs to 720p, 1080i or 1080p. Even when I manually selected 720p or 1080p as the output format, the PS3 would output only 480p with standard definition DVDs.

for people with tvs that have a 720p native resolution and want to get the ps3 as a bd player, the inability to downconvert to 720p should be a major reason to wait until they fix it. the 1080i output from the ps3 to my tv is subpar imo. I was getting ready to return the player before i read that a fix is expected in march.

is there a list of good movies with native 720p?

btw, i can get 720p from xbox 360 player and the picture is the best i'v seen so far in a movie. I bought it yesterday so i only played King Kong so far.
aviguy is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
gsearles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviguy View Post

is there a list of good movies with native 720p?

There are no movies in 720P. Every single HD DVD and Blu Ray disc is encoded at 1080P.

Greg
gsearles is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nizzan4u2nv View Post

Im thinking of selling my bdp1000 and getting a ps3. I wanna enjoy some games in high def too. Plus I like the advanced features.

This is what i would be pissed about if i were Samsung, Pioneer and any other CE selling a BD player.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 12:32 PM
nyg
AVS Special Member
 
nyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't watch SD DVDs anymore. That said, the PS3 does a terrific job with playback of BDs. The remote is a must though. A lot less headaches.
nyg is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If the PS3 wasn't involved as a BD player i would not have a BD player.......

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dialog_gvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 4,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyg View Post

I don't watch SD DVDs anymore. That said, the PS3 does a terrific job with playback of BDs. The remote is a must though. A lot less headaches.

Agreed. The funny thing is, you'd be a bit perplexed using it unless you had already used the game controller (where's the power button?!).

They trained us well. LOL.

Gary


- Don't trust sigs
dialog_gvf is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 01:15 PM
sb1
AVS Special Member
 
sb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviguy View Post

for people with tvs that have a 720p native resolution and want to get the ps3 as a bd player, the inability to downconvert to 720p should be a major reason to wait until they fix it. the 1080i output from the ps3 to my tv is subpar imo. I was getting ready to return the player before i read that a fix is expected in march.

is there a list of good movies with native 720p?

btw, i can get 720p from xbox 360 player and the picture is the best i'v seen so far in a movie. I bought it yesterday so i only played King Kong so far.

You probably shouldn't compare too much to KK. That may be setting the bar a little high. I support both formats, but to me, KK has been pretty close to the best there is on either format. To my eyes and on my equipment, anyway. Others will disagree. I would like to see 720p capability from the PS3, though.

Stephen.

Chances are very good that I was drinking when I posted the above.

sb1 is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
DarkAdept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsearles View Post

There are no movies in 720P. Every single HD DVD and Blu Ray disc is encoded at 1080P.

This seems to be a common misconception. While most content is 1080p, there are definitely 1080i discs out there (some of the concert content, for example.) More recently, one of the recent reviews of an "adult" title on HD DVD claimed that it was 720p. I suspect that's an option on Blu-ray as well even though I've never heard of a disc that uses it.
DarkAdept is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
DarkAdept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviguy View Post

for people with tvs that have a 720p native resolution and want to get the ps3 as a bd player, the inability to downconvert to 720p should be a major reason to wait until they fix it.

I think people worry about this too much. Whether the downconversion is done by the source or display is pretty much irrelevant, and as some have pointed out having a scaler in both devices means you run the risk of converting material twice and actually getting a worse picture as a result.

The only people I'd caution about getting a PS3 at this point are those who have an early display that doesn't have a scaler of its own. The 1080i-only CRT and RP CRT owners have good reason to be leery of the PS3 until Sony addresses this. It shouldn't be a major issue for Blu-ray content since everything to date has been released at 1080p or 1080i, but for games it is a very real problem.
DarkAdept is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 01-13-2007, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
cheezycheech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsearles View Post

Here's how you set up for IR remote control on the PS3:

http://www.remotecentral.com/articles/ps3-ir-remote.htm

I'm going to post a new thread about this, this seems to be fairly unknown in this group, surprisingly.

Greg

anybody know the actual make and part# offered from radioshack? i checked with one of their smaller stores and they don't carry it. i want to call and find out if the other stores stock it before i end up driving all over the place. tia!
cheezycheech is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off