Panasonic DMP-BD10 - 1.4 firmware... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pixel_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
- Picture Quality via HDMI
- Playability and stability
- Response of skipping operations
- Support of the dics recorded with Panasonic AVCHD Camcorders

check:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...d10/index.html
pixel_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sweet! I got get a look at a Panny

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #3 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Im confused.... This is not showing up on their regular site. It also looks like this firmware is older than the original. Anyone?
shamus is offline  
post #4 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pixel_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus1099 View Post

Im confused.... This is not showing up on their regular site. It also looks like this firmware is older than the original. Anyone?

The update site is the official pansonic site (firmware form 1/16/07... what firmware do you have?
pixel_ is offline  
post #5 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixel_ View Post

The update site is the official pansonic site (firmware form 1/16/07... what firmware do you have?

Ive got the original firmware, but when I download this, my computer asks me if I want to replace with this, which shows a date of 12/05???? Im not very computer savy so....
shamus is offline  
post #6 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd2012 View Post

12/05/06 is later than the November release of the last update.

No... December2005.
shamus is offline  
post #7 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd2012 View Post

Well, that should have been clue enough that the date was corrupted somewhere, or was replaced with info not pertaining to a date. When you stick the disc in your machine, it will know immediately if it is a new update or not.

Ok!!! I just had to purchase winrar... waiting for my order to go through!
shamus is offline  
post #8 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When they say "Picture Quality via HDMI," I hope they're referring to the CUE on SDs.
bferr1 is offline  
post #9 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshd2012 View Post

You don't need WINRAR!

What do I need?
shamus is offline  
post #10 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dvdguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Shelby, NC. previously in Charlotte
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can I download to a dvd or is it to cd only?

Elite PRO-70X5FD!

dvdguru

Xbox Live Gamertag: AVS Steve
dvdguru is offline  
post #11 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ottscay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just updated my player without a hitch (burned using default Windows software to a cd-r). I can also confirm while using the THX Optimizer that blacker than black is passed through, and the drop-shawod is very visible with black levels turned up. I haven't had time to check cue, but I'm already thrilled.

Hurray to Panasonic!!!!

Be a Reality fanboy.
ottscay is offline  
post #12 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 05:58 PM
 
Frank Stein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdguru View Post

Can I download to a dvd or is it to cd only?

Panasonic specifically states CD. Will it work with a DVD? Who knows. Will it screw anything up if you put in on a DVD? Who knows. You could try. Or you could just use a CD-r and not take any chances. If I didn't have a CDr around, I would go buy some before taking any chances with a DVD. You'll need more CDr's anyway for subsequent updates.

P.S. My Panasonic updated to 1.4 without a hitch from CDR.
Frank Stein is offline  
post #13 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dvdguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Shelby, NC. previously in Charlotte
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Frank, I won't take the chance on messing it up using a dvd.

Elite PRO-70X5FD!

dvdguru

Xbox Live Gamertag: AVS Steve
dvdguru is offline  
post #14 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,024
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Good news.

FWIW: I used a CD-R for the last update w/o a hitch.

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #15 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,024
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Any True HD / DTS HD on this release?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #16 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:43 PM
Member
 
BreakPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated to 1.4 with no problems.

The menus on "Descent" are as slow as always. However, pressing the chapter skip button responds very fast. The picture, which was already great, looks better with even more contrast and "pop". However, its hard to tell. Maybe it's just my expectations. We need someone with 2 Pannys to do an A/B compare.
BreakPoint is offline  
post #17 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,836
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Curious how to verify latest software installed on the Panny? I got the unsupported message when I inserted the burned CD. But, I just recently purchased this unit from VE, so it could be that mine was shipped with 1.4

"Retired" AVS Moderator
Feeler: I'm thinking of selling my JTR Triple 8HT's Let me know if you are interested?
For Sale: ACS PlanarTrap (freestanding acoustic panel) ($300/pair)[/B]:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/209-au...tic-panel.html
rboster is online now  
post #18 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 06:56 PM
Member
 
BreakPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rboster View Post

Curious how to verify latest software installed on the Panny? I got the unsupported message when I inserted the burned CD. But, I just recently purchased this unit from VE, so it could be that mine was shipped with 1.4

To see the FW version: Go to the Setup Menu. Select Display. Move the highlight into the Display Menu. Press "STATUS" button. You will see a small 1.4 (or whatever version) appear for a few seconds in the lower right.

Also when I update firmware I always burn my CD at the SLOWEST possible rate (around 8x) as this gives a better chance of working.
BreakPoint is offline  
post #19 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ottscay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I've played with a number of disks, and BTB is showing on all of the callibration ones (I didn't check any early Sony-release easter egg callibration, since they clipped BTB anyways). No question about it. Subjectively, the color looks even better to me, but I wil wait for Sspears or Kris Dearing or someone who can do objectivce chroma measurements before I believe it.

Interactivity is marginally faster, especially FF and RW. Most important to me (and almost unbelievable to me) it fixed my problem with the SW out. The subwoofer out is very quiet (as is well documented) but before this firmware my SW audio out did not output anything. Now it does, and I am stoked. had to test a dozen BD's with uncompressed audio...I love it. When the Panny gets DTS-MA and TrueHD decoding it'll be the perfect player.

Awesome!

Be a Reality fanboy.
ottscay is offline  
post #20 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 08:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For some reason this is not downloading properly for me. It could be the time of day. Anyone else having trouble right now. Its downloading ok but wrong file size and its a dead format when I open it. File size before decompression is 32mb after 20mb.
I tried this on 3 different PCs thinking one of the machines was choking during download but got the same thing on all three.

Last update went very smooth. Ill give it another try in a hour.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #21 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Video Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixel_ View Post

- Picture Quality via HDMI
- Playability and stability
- Response of skipping operations
- Support of the dics recorded with Panasonic AVCHD Camcorders

check:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/c...d10/index.html


Just updated to 1.4. Everything seems to work fine on initial assesment.
Video Engineer is offline  
post #22 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Video Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

For some reason this is not downloading properly for me. It could be the time of day. Anyone else having trouble right now. Its downloading ok but wrong file size and its a dead format when I open it. File size before decompression is 32mb after 20mb.
I tried this on 3 different PCs thinking one of the machines was choking during download but got the same thing on all three.

Last update went very smooth. Ill give it another try in a hour.


I just downloaded about the same time Alan and worked OK for me. The server did seem to be slow and overloaded though.
Video Engineer is offline  
post #23 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
divedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Waxahachie, TX
Posts: 1,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded it within the last hour with no problem. The install went with no problems. Getting ready to watch a movie

Dive deep, play with sharks.

So long and thanks for all the fish . . .
divedude is offline  
post #24 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 09:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 24,024
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottscay View Post

Most important to me (and almost unbelievable to me) it fixed my problem with the SW out. The subwoofer out is very quiet (as is well documented) but before this firmware my SW audio out did not output anything. Now it does, and I am stoked. had to test a dozen BD's with uncompressed audio...I love it. When the Panny gets DTS-MA and TrueHD decoding it'll be the perfect player.

Awesome!

HDMI bass?

My Home Theater of the Month- Le Petit Trianon

There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #25 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 09:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys Im ending up with 32.5KB after de compression FRM type file. What the he%# is this
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #26 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 10:08 PM
TWD
AVS Special Member
 
TWD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My .FRM file is 31.6 MB (33,239,040 bytes) after decompress. It loaded just fine.

I noticed the the color space is 422. I could be wrong, but I think it was 444 prior to the upgrade.

TWD
TWD is offline  
post #27 of 232 Old 01-16-2007, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ottscay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan, pm me and I'll upload it for you to get if you keep having problems.

No Bland, I can't get HDMI audio into my Arcam. it was the analog (i.e. SW) out that wasn't outputting anything. And I mean anything. Tier 2 (or 3, I don't remember) customer support concluded it was a hardware problem, which I'd guessed too, as the circuit was just not "turning on". Anyways, I didn't send it in for repairs last week because I have guests in town and a Blu Ray player with optical sound is better than none; imagine my suprise tonight when I did nothing but laod the new firmware and suddenly there was SW output through the analogs.

Be a Reality fanboy.
ottscay is offline  
post #28 of 232 Old 01-17-2007, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any luck Alan??????
shamus is offline  
post #29 of 232 Old 01-17-2007, 10:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Guys I am sure I am OK. I am so use to updating the HD DVD players I was trying to burn this as an image file

By the way does anyone know if this patch will allow the Panny to play back BDAV discs...that would be sweat if it does!!

Thanks!
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #30 of 232 Old 01-17-2007, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pixel_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post


By the way does anyone know if this patch will allow the Panny to play back BDAV discs...that would be sweat if it does!!

Thanks!

No it does not play BDAV, have tried it. BDMV is ok...
pixel_ is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off