Phillips Blu Ray Player is... - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 222 Old 02-19-2007, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Captain Spaulding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: OH
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the Philips player from Amazon for $599.00. A week later the price came down to $549.00. I contacted Amazon and they are crediting me with the difference. The player is great, no glitches whatsoever. I'd suggest playing "Legends of Jazz Showcase" if you really want to see what Blu-Ray can look and sound like at its best! Enjoy!
Captain Spaulding is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 222 Old 02-19-2007, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RWetmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brick, New Jersey
Posts: 3,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 58
If a disc only has DTS Master, will this player downconvert to regular DTS through optical or coaxial?
RWetmore is online now  
post #93 of 222 Old 02-20-2007, 12:04 PM
Member
 
rickmoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Spaulding View Post

I purchased the Philips player from Amazon for $599.00. A week later the price came down to $549.00. I contacted Amazon and they are crediting me with the difference...

Thanks for the heads up! I just emailed Amazon, and they're giving me a $50 credit too. The email response appeared to be a form letter, so this must be a common request. Mine shipped on the 7th and I received it on the 12th. I wonder what the cut off time is for a refund is, 2 weeks, 30 days???

Anyway I've been very happy with the player.

Rick Moll
rickmoll is offline  
post #94 of 222 Old 02-20-2007, 12:55 PM
Member
 
JJJschmitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Wernersville, PA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
1. Thanks for the information, I've been thinking about going Neutral and this helps.
2. It's refreshing to see people talking in a civil manner about the different formats, I was afraid this "war" had turned everyone in jerks.
JJJschmitt is offline  
post #95 of 222 Old 02-21-2007, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
BigDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hazard, KY
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got my Philips in today. So far, this former HD-DVD-exclusive guy is very impressed. The picture and sound on the Prestige are first-rate. The uncompressed PCM is as good as (if not better than) any Dolby TrueHD track I've heard.

Anyway, had a question about the Philips: is there anyway to show time remaining on a disc? I had no luck in the manual, but thought maybe I was overlooking something.

BigDad is offline  
post #96 of 222 Old 02-23-2007, 07:03 AM
Member
 
multicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, New Hampshire
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own a Toshiba A2 and recently purchased the Philips 9000 Blue-Ray player from Amazon for $549.00 (and free shipping). The Philips picture is beautiful..on a par with HD DVD, and l couldn't be happier. Both players go through a Benq 8700 projector (l use a Blue Jeans cable HDMI to DVI cable)..and it works perfectly..no issues at all. I don't know what firmware it came with, but l am inclined not to upgrade it since l am of the belief that if it is not broken..don't fix it. I watched Chicago (Blu Ray edition) on the Philips last night, and the quality was amazing! I use the analog out for audio (left & right sterio) into my Harmon Kardon receiver as l prefer Logic 7 for my surround sound application. I am not that technically oriented, but l can find no faults at all with this player. One thing l did notice in comparrison with the Toshiba..the Philips disc tray is smooth as silk unlike the Toshiba which is kind of clunky..but the Toshiba works fine so really not an issue.
multicat is offline  
post #97 of 222 Old 02-23-2007, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Yogi55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at jumping into the HD or Blu-Ray Market and I would like to get a player that can replace my present SD Player, which I also use for audio. Does the Phillips Blu Ray Player play movies on DVD+R/DVD-R and DVD+RW/DVD-RW. Also will it play CDs with MP3 files on it. Thanks
Yogi55 is offline  
post #98 of 222 Old 02-23-2007, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dwisniski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florence, NJ
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi55 View Post

Looking at jumping into the HD or Blu-Ray Market and I would like to get a player that can replace my present SD Player, which I also use for audio. Does the Phillips Blu Ray Player play movies on DVD+R/DVD-R and DVD+RW/DVD-RW. Also will it play CDs with MP3 files on it. Thanks

While I have not tested DVD+/-RW, I can tell you it does play DVD+/-R's flawlessly, even Double Layer media for both formats. I was happy about this since my HD-A1 chokes on DVD+R DL's. I still think the Philips is a great player for the money.
dwisniski is offline  
post #99 of 222 Old 02-23-2007, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
himey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampabay, FL
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwisniski View Post

While I have not tested DVD+/-RW, I can tell you it does play DVD+/-R's flawlessly, even Double Layer media for both formats. I was happy about this since my HD-A1 chokes on DVD+R DL's. I still think the Philips is a great player for the money.

I am surprised your A1 didn't play DL DVD+R's. I never had a problem with mine on the Verbatim and Memorex.
himey is offline  
post #100 of 222 Old 02-23-2007, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neo1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: CANADA!
Posts: 3,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by himey View Post

I am surprised your A1 didn't play DL DVD+R's. I never had a problem with mine on the Verbatim and Memorex.

Mine had problems at layer changes (with HDV HDDVD authored content). Every single disk I burned will skip at the layer change, sometimes freeze, sometimes advance by a chapter and continue, but pretty much the 5 minutes after layer change is gone. I burnt quite a few disks before I realized this was happening.
Neo1965 is offline  
post #101 of 222 Old 02-24-2007, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 422
I have the same problem if I use Memorex. Using Verbatim eliminates that problem.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is online now  
post #102 of 222 Old 02-24-2007, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
himey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampabay, FL
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^
On my old A1 I never had a problem with Memorex or Verbatim DL+R DVDs on SD content. I only used Verbatim's on HD content knowing they were higher quality. I never tested the Memorex with HD.
himey is offline  
post #103 of 222 Old 02-24-2007, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
JayRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats the best price you have seen on this player and where was it? My local Walmart has one in there clearance section. I talked to the department manager and she told me that she would price match any price for the same model new in box. All I have to do is print the site and take in by there. I would love to get this player.

-------
PSN ID: Total_Chaos13
http://www.*******.com/
JayRock is offline  
post #104 of 222 Old 02-24-2007, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Amazon.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #105 of 222 Old 02-25-2007, 09:37 PM
Member
 
multicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, New Hampshire
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
last night l played a non hd dvd in the Philips Blue Ray deck and then the same disc in my Toshiba A2..the up-conversion picture on the Toshiba is vastly superior to the Philips. For high definition material, they seem to be about the same ..beautiful picture on both.
multicat is offline  
post #106 of 222 Old 02-25-2007, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
himey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tampabay, FL
Posts: 1,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayRock View Post

Whats the best price you have seen on this player and where was it? My local Walmart has one in there clearance section. I talked to the department manager and she told me that she would price match any price for the same model new in box. All I have to do is print the site and take in by there. I would love to get this player.

At my local Walmart there was no price on the Phillips so I had them scan it and it came up $898.00. The Samsung was $699.00. No HD-DVD players in stock...
himey is offline  
post #107 of 222 Old 02-26-2007, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
VELOCITYOFHUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pevco View Post

Many people just don't know that out of the box the Philips has a lower panel door that you must access to select the video out put selection...HDMI..Composite..etc.
The disc drawer will not open untill this is done.......then you must go into setup and select the audio out put.....PCM...Bitstream etc..................plus a few other selections........then the Philips plays great Blu-ray discs and up converts to 1080p on standard DVD's as well.....................I've had mine for a few weeks now and I'm very pleased with it.
And Paid $549.00 via Amazon with a couple of coupons from previous purchases.

You should update the firmwear as well .

You are totally correct pevco! I liked to never figure this out after updating the firmware on my machine. Attention firmware updaters
VELOCITYOFHUE is offline  
post #108 of 222 Old 02-27-2007, 05:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
VELOCITYOFHUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by multicat View Post

last night l played a non hd dvd in the Philips Blue Ray deck and then the same disc in my Toshiba A2..the up-conversion picture on the Toshiba is vastly superior to the Philips. For high definition material, they seem to be about the same ..beautiful picture on both.

Interesting findings with the standard def dvd playback Muticat! For some reason I find it hard to watch anything standard def anymore once having the Philips and a few bluray discs.

Anyone interested in Buying out from me an excellent horror /giallo dvd collection.
VELOCITYOFHUE is offline  
post #109 of 222 Old 03-01-2007, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Quote:


I know for sure 100% it outputs dolby digital through coax, thats how its hooked up at my local electronics store. IMO I think the people that cant get it to work, dont realize they have to enable bit stream in audio out. Also, the nag screen with hdmi audio out not supported, that pops up, shows up if your display can not process the hdmi audio. however thats if you have the hdmi cable connected directly to the tv.

So it works in principle, but in practice if your HDMI cable is connected to a monitor that doesn't process audio, then in practice it doesn't work, because you get an error message. Right?

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #110 of 222 Old 03-03-2007, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
jclem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, what happened to the Philips at Amazon for $550.??? I saw it there on 3/1, went back today to buy it and the price was $780. !!! What's up with that? Were the $550's really reconditioned ones, even though it didn't say that? Anyone know?
I have the Tosh A1 and was hoping to go format neutral with the Philips, but I can't for this much $$$. (And, No, I'm not going to go the PS3 route!).
jclem is offline  
post #111 of 222 Old 03-03-2007, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclem View Post

Hey, what happened to the Philips at Amazon for $550.??? I saw it there on 3/1, went back today to buy it and the price was $780. !!! What's up with that? Were the $550's really reconditioned ones, even though it didn't say that? Anyone know?
I have the Tosh A1 and was hoping to go format neutral with the Philips, but I can't for this much $$$. (And, No, I'm not going to go the PS3 route!).

I don't blame you for not going the PS3 route. The price of $7** that you see is from another dealer selling through Amazon. Amazon themselves are now sold out of this player. I'm not sure if they're getting anymore and if so I'm not sure what the price is going to be. BTW, the price of $5** was for new units.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #112 of 222 Old 03-05-2007, 02:36 PM
Member
 
DTGallagher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First time posting on this side of the format fence...

I really am trying to go format neutral, but the strange way this player handles
audio and video is disconcerting. I bought the player because it was relatively
cheap on Amazon and I wanted something to play "Casino Royale" and the variety of titles which aren't available on HD-DVD.

I tried hooking up video with HDMI and audio with Toslink and got the annoying
"HDMI not supported" nag screen to which others have alluded. I don't know
why I thought a supplemental Dolby Digital track or down conversion to Dolby Digital or DTS was standard (it is on HD DVD). Now I have the player hooked to
my receiver's 5.1 analog outputs, and for some reason can't get any audio out of
the side speakers when I run the speaker test mode, though they do appear to
be working when I play a disc.

Bottom line - I don't really like the 5.1 analog outputs, but wasn't planning to get
an HDMI receiver for a while (my money's pretty much tied up paying for a new
JVC DLA-RS1 projector). My 55 year old ears would also probably be quite happy
with a somewhat better than Dolby Digital bitstream track.
However, since I'm not willing to "dumb down" the video to use component outputs so I can go bitstream, I'm forced to use the analog outputs. Who makes these design decisions, both for the players and the discs?

Does the even cheaper Samsung player have similar audio and video limitations?
Is any information available about the upcoming (cheaper than current model) Sony which might lead me to trade in the Philips and wait for the Sony?

Thanks for any suggestions you might have.

Dennis

P.S. I'm not really interested in the PS3 (though I might be if I could actually
find a 20gb model in stock). Something about using a videogame as a high
definition playback device seems just plain wrong, though many of course
disagree.
DTGallagher is offline  
post #113 of 222 Old 03-08-2007, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOO HOO! Just ordered the Philips BDP9000 for $549 with free shipping from Amazon.com. Once I placed the order, the price shot back up over $800! I think that's an okay deal. I'm sure the prices on these things are going to just keep free falling due to the format war. I wish it had HDMI 1.3 for the lossless audio, but I'm sure I'll be happy. Now... I just need to convince the Mrs. that dropping $550 on another movie player player (XBOX 360 HD DVD, upconverting DVD / VCR) was a good idea. If they find a note with my body, it WASN'T suicide...
misterjensen is offline  
post #114 of 222 Old 03-08-2007, 09:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Well I have been thinking about getting one for my outdoor movie theater experienc. And since Disney is Blu ray exlusive it would make sense to use a Blu ray player. The Philips so far seems like my bes bet. I can wait it out another month or two until the weather is ready but so far I like this player. It would either be this one or the sammy that I find for a great price... I will hope it is the Philips...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #115 of 222 Old 03-08-2007, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzook11 View Post

i have a tosh a1, and a phillips bdp9000. i agree with dwisniski that the bdp9000 acts more like a regular dvd player. it has fast load times, and stoping and resuming from wher you left off is nice. i have to give pq edge to the tosh. once bluray discs start coming in vc1 format, i am sure it will even things out. i like both formats, i am not partial to one or the the other. the only thing i dont like about the bdp9000 is the remote. it dosnt work very well.


This post was in January. So now that we are in March, suzook11, do you feel Blu-Ray's AVC has caught up to VC-1 with the current releases? If you buy Casino Royal, let me know if you feel AVC used to encode that movie surpasses anything you've seen on VC-1 or equals it. It would be interesting to hear your response.
Supermans is offline  
post #116 of 222 Old 03-10-2007, 05:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 225
BTW, I want to impress on everyone the importance of installing the firmware update. Without it, some discs won't play at all. Other discs will play, but the HDMI audio quality is compromised. t sounds bright and bass shy. After the update, the sound is warm and natural.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #117 of 222 Old 03-12-2007, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the BDP9000 have BD-Java support?
misterjensen is offline  
post #118 of 222 Old 03-13-2007, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterjensen View Post

Does the BDP9000 have BD-Java support?

Anyone? I guess a better way of asking is: Is there anyone who can't do something feature wise right now with their BDP9000 (not including audio)?
misterjensen is offline  
post #119 of 222 Old 03-13-2007, 05:35 PM
Senior Member
 
TriptonUpman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it supports BD-Java, but make sure you get the latest firmware update. All current blu-ray discs seem to be fully compatible (other than for true DD-TrueHD or DTS-HDMA output of course).

Blu-ray discs - 154
HD-DVD - 0

FACT: 90% of the industry is blu-ray, few are hd-dvd.

FACT: Paramount paid 150m, sabotage by MS.

FACT: consumers have spoken, they chose blu-ray over 2-1.
TriptonUpman is offline  
post #120 of 222 Old 03-13-2007, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
misterjensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriptonUpman View Post

it supports BD-Java, but make sure you get the latest firmware update. All current blu-ray discs seem to be fully compatible (other than for true DD-TrueHD or DTS-HDMA output of course).

Whew! Glad to hear it. For $549 shipped from Amazon, the BDP9000 should do the job until this format war is resolved. The PS3 isn't an option in my household, as my wife's only request is that I don't have two game systems. My XBOX 360 with HD DVD ain't going anywhere. I'm now format neutral
misterjensen is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off