Phillips Blu Ray Player is... - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 222 Old 01-29-2008, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Logitech's very good about keeping the latest and greatest codes for new devices and considering this is not a brand new model, you should be fine... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 222 Old 03-18-2008, 10:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else having any problems with the latest fw upgrade? I'm thinking about upgrading, but I'm kind of nervous.
leem6453 is online now  
post #183 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using the latest Samsung bdp-1000 firmware with no problems.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #184 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 05:58 AM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been using the January firmware update with no issues whatsoever. I've seen a few recent releases and haven't noticed any issues, but if anyone else has and can chime in, please do... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
post #185 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 04:38 PM
Member
 
TLWTWU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to burst everyone's bubble, but I just got off the phone with the technical support person for the BDP9000, and there is a problem with playing the new release (March 11) of Independence Day (FOX). Several other brand new releases play just fine.

I am using the 1-02-08 firmware upgrade and it has been great, totally problem free, including FOX titles. In fact, Independence Day is the first and only title I have had problems with (I tried two different brand new disks from Amazon); the white screen with Philips logo would load, but the player will not load or play the movie.

The technical rep (an IT guy) said they are aware of the problem with a different encryption on this new FOX title, and they are working on a new firmware release, hopefully by the end of March.

Keep checking the site:
http://www.usasupport.philips.com/co...SU_us_CONSUMER

Overall the BDP9000 has been a great Blu Ray player, much overlooked by the marketplace. The fit and finish of the player has a very clean and contemporary look, and is of higher quality than most of the competition, or the new Philips BDP 7200 coming out in April, which is designed as a budget Blu Ray player with a low MSRP.

I would recommend the 1-02-08 firmware (don't know if the Samsung 1000 firmware would have a problem with Independence Day.
TLWTWU is offline  
post #186 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 04:49 PM
Member
 
TLWTWU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung has posted a newer firmware update, ver. 1.5 dated 2-29-08. If you want to use this, it probably fixes the problem, but it is a Windows only file (I am on a Mac).

Any input from Samsung firmware users?
TLWTWU is offline  
post #187 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thks for the info, TLWTWU. I'm sorry you had to find out the hard way, but it's nice to know they're aware of the problem and hopefully on it shortly.

BTW, the Samsung firmware update is an ISO, so you likely could use Toast Titanium or possibly even Apple's own Disk Utility to mount and burn it. I actually use Toast to burn the FW updates from Philips, Nero on a PC is not a necessity... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
post #188 of 222 Old 03-19-2008, 11:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After months of using Samsung updates, I just updated the latest Philips firmware after having frequent pausing during Res Evil: Extinction. It seemed to fix my problem...it only paused once after the update. It could be the disc, too. I would agree that this does seem to be a quality player...the PQ is always outstanding. It would be nicer to have faster load times for these newer fox and sony titles. RE: Extinction is reeeaaaally slow.
leem6453 is online now  
post #189 of 222 Old 03-25-2008, 12:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully played I Am Legend on the Phillips yet? I've read some people are having trouble playing this title on the Samsung BD-P1000.
leem6453 is online now  
post #190 of 222 Old 03-25-2008, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
badboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Home Farm, Emmerdale, Yorks)
Posts: 1,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLWTWU View Post

Samsung has posted a newer firmware update, ver. 1.5 dated 2-29-08. If you want to use this, it probably fixes the problem, but it is a Windows only file (I am on a Mac).

Any input from Samsung firmware users?

1.5 hasn't solved the Independence Day problem. I can get the disc to go all through the motions of loading, but nothing happens. Hoping an update will come soon. To be honest, not sure what 1.5 does, since I've noticed nothing different on my player since installing it. Supposedly it was for 3:10 to Yuma, but that played fine with 1.4 anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

Has anyone successfully played I Am Legend on the Phillips yet? I've read some people are having trouble playing this title on the Samsung BD-P1000.

Legend plays fine on my player. Pretty quick loading time as well. And the picture and sound are amazing (using 5.1 analogs).
badboi is offline  
post #191 of 222 Old 03-25-2008, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have been using Samsung's 1.5 firmware without issue- 3:10 to Yuma plays fine however, I have not tried I Am Legend yet. It will be nice when the day comes that firmware updates will not be a routine part of owning a blu-ray player. I hope Samsung and/or Phillips keeps up on the firmware updates.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #192 of 222 Old 03-25-2008, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboi View Post

Legend plays fine on my player. Pretty quick loading time as well. And the picture and sound are amazing (using 5.1 analogs).

I didn't think Legend would be trouble. My Warner titles have always been pretty user friendly, unlike the slower loading fox and sony titles.
leem6453 is online now  
post #193 of 222 Old 03-25-2008, 06:39 PM
Member
 
TLWTWU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An update on the Independence Day/ Fox not playing issue:

I downloaded Samsung 1.5 (2-29-08) and am running it now. As was stated, it did not fix the problem. My experience has been the same as badboi's.

I e-mailed Fox Entertainments Customer Service at:

foxdrop@4icc.com

with the following message:

My new copies (2) of Independence Day will not play on my Philips BDP9000 player. As you know, this player is a clone of the Samsung BD-P 1000.

I have tried the latest available firmware from Philips (1-02-08) and also Samsung (2-29-08).

Neither firmware will load or Play the movie.

I have contacted Philips support, and they are supposed to be working on an update, available soon.

However, does Fox Entertainment have any suggestions or solutions?

At present, I am stuck here in Texas with a $28.00 coaster, wondering whether I can buy the future Fox releases.

Thanks-

Their less than helpful reply was:

Hello,
We have not received any reports regarding the above title not playing. We suggest you allow Philips to obtain an updated firmware and take it from there.

Thank you
Fox Consumer

As was stated, Blu Ray is a great new technology, but until the hardware manufacturers (Philips, Samsung etc.) and the movie studios (Fox) work better with each other, the new adoption rate will suffer.

I may not risk buying any more new Fox releases, especially if I am stuck with a $28.00 coaster.
TLWTWU is offline  
post #194 of 222 Old 04-17-2008, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
New firmware was just released by Philips (ver 80228)- it appears to be a newer version of the Samsung BD-P1000 1.5 firmware (ver 80225)- it specifically mentions this as a fix for Fox titles.

http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/d...=Link_Software

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #195 of 222 Old 04-21-2008, 03:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody having any problems playing AVP: Requiem? I want to pick this title up.
leem6453 is online now  
post #196 of 222 Old 04-22-2008, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump...anyone?
leem6453 is online now  
post #197 of 222 Old 04-22-2008, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
tomd51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Worse case scenario, you could always try renting it first to make sure. That way if you do have problems, you're only out the rental fee until it's fixed via firmware... -TD
tomd51 is offline  
post #198 of 222 Old 04-22-2008, 10:47 PM
Member
 
TLWTWU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed Philips Version 80228 on the day it came out, April 17.

I also noticed that this is the same firmware (obtained from Samsung) that Samsung released on 2-29-08. Apparently, Philips does not write the firmware updates, they merely obtain them from Samsung, who makes cosmetic graphic changes.

I have even noticed that (on my Mac) the unzipped temporary file downloaded is actually labeled BDP1000, but after unzipping, the iso file is correctly labeled BDP9000 v.80228.

Bottom line, my INDEPENDENCE DAY problem was not fixed, and I gave up, got a refund of 27.95 from Amazon, and sent the second disk back.
TLWTWU is offline  
post #199 of 222 Old 05-08-2008, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm starting to get a little irritated with this player. Lately if I put a newer title disc (Fox, Sony, I Am Legend) with so much as a scratch, scuff, or even if I give it a mean look, I get pauses, hiccups, slow disc boot-up, or worst-case it spits the disc out (I Am Legend). I might have to sweet-talk the wife for a new player, but she's got "I told you so" written all over her face.

In case your wondering, I have the latest Samsung firmware (1.5).
leem6453 is online now  
post #200 of 222 Old 05-08-2008, 08:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Does anyone else think we're heading for a system where the player (don't think phillips) checks the disk and if it doesn't have the correct software loaded goes out on the web and downloads the latest fix prior to trying to play a disk?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #201 of 222 Old 05-09-2008, 12:34 PM
Member
 
TLWTWU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Does anyone else think we're heading for a system where the player (don't think phillips) checks the disk and if it doesn't have the correct software loaded goes out on the web and downloads the latest fix prior to trying to play a disk?

With ethernet connections on Profile 2.0 and later, this is a possibility.

It would be similar to Apple's Automatic Update system on their computers. After all, the blu ray players are basically a dedicated computer.
TLWTWU is offline  
post #202 of 222 Old 05-09-2008, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

I'm starting to get a little irritated with this player. Lately if I put a newer title disc (Fox, Sony, I Am Legend) with so much as a scratch, scuff, or even if I give it a mean look, I get pauses, hiccups, slow disc boot-up, or worst-case it spits the disc out (I Am Legend). I might have to sweet-talk the wife for a new player, but she's got "I told you so" written all over her face.

In case your wondering, I have the latest Samsung firmware (1.5).

Did you try the latest philip's firmware update? It seems to be a later build then Samsung's 1.5 firmware- see my previous post.

Scott

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #203 of 222 Old 05-10-2008, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^Yeah that's what I'm using right now. It seems to be working. I think my problem partly lies in the discs. Spiderman 3 in particular has been really troubling lately with the stuttering. I used a solution of 50/50 water and alcohol, and that seems to work pretty good. I always keep my discs in great condition, but this is overkill.

Thanks though Scott,

Lee
leem6453 is online now  
post #204 of 222 Old 05-11-2008, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With this latest firmware upgrade, I'm having a lot of problems lately playing BD-Java discs (Spiderman 3, RE: Extinction, etc). I called Philips today and they said they are working on a new firmware to take care of the problem; and if this doesn't work, they are considering a possible exchange program. To what that entails, I don't know.
leem6453 is online now  
post #205 of 222 Old 05-11-2008, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

With this latest firmware upgrade, I'm having a lot of problems lately playing BD-Java discs (Spiderman 3, RE: Extinction, etc). I called Philips today and they said they are working on a new firmware to take care of the problem; and if this doesn't work, they are considering a possible exchange program. To what that entails, I don't know.

Hmmm....did you talk to Philips USA? That would be great if they offer some type of exchange program- maybe for a 7200?

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
post #206 of 222 Old 05-11-2008, 09:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^That's what I was thinking...7200 would be nice. On a side note, I switched over to the Samsung firmware, as it does seem a bit more stable.
leem6453 is online now  
post #207 of 222 Old 05-14-2008, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it seems like my player is on its last leg. Lately I can't play anything without constant pausing or rejection. I'm trying to get a replacement through Philips, but with only an Ebay receipt, it doesn't look promising. I guess I'll be looking for a new player in the near future. How frustrating.
leem6453 is online now  
post #208 of 222 Old 05-16-2008, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
harvey108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leem6453 View Post

Has anyone successfully played I Am Legend on the Phillips yet? I've read some people are having trouble playing this title on the Samsung BD-P1000.

I am using the Samsung 1.5 version firmware.
Last night I tried to play I am Legend and after a couple of minutes the door opened with an error message something like "This disc cannot be played". I cleaned the disk and again I had the same problem. This morning, I read through a few pages of postings in the Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 AVS forum after:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...dp1000&page=49
I read in one or two of the postings that they had success after several tries, as if the player was learning each time a little bit about how to load that particular disc. So this morning I loaded the disc and it played the first time. Until we get a fix or exchange players I am going to immediately, upon renting a Blu-ray disc, take it home and put it into my player until it loads correctly and then I will put on pause which results, in a few minutes, with the unit shutting down to "standby' mode. Then when I want to actually play the disc I will hit "play" and it should start playing right from the point that I paused it.
harvey108 is offline  
post #209 of 222 Old 05-16-2008, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
leem6453's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Misawa AB, Japan
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvey108 View Post

I am using the Samsung 1.5 version firmware.
Last night I tried to play I am Legend and after a couple of minutes the door opened with an error message something like "This disc cannot be played". I cleaned the disk and again I had the same problem. This morning, I read through a few pages of postings in the Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 AVS forum after:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...dp1000&page=49
I read in one or two of the postings that they had success after several tries, as if the player was learning each time a little bit about how to load that particular disc. So this morning I loaded the disc and it played the first time. Until we get a fix or exchange players I am going to immediately, upon renting a Blu-ray disc, take it home and put it into my player until it loads correctly and then I will put on pause which results, in a few minutes, with the unit shutting down to "standby' mode. Then when I want to actually play the disc I will hit "play" and it should start playing right from the point that I paused it.

I feel you brother. I'm going through the same type crap. This player has been so unreliable lately. I did have amazon replace I Am Legend, and that copy works every time now. But I think the defective disc must have damaged my player, because now everything I put in it, I have to jump through four hoops just to get it to play. I keep a "boot" dvd out at all times to give my player a warm fuzzy, then usually a blu-ray will kick in.

I'm hoping a new firmware update comes out soon, but I don't know if that will fix it. I'm already looking at other players...I've got it narrowed down to Panny BD30 or PS3.
leem6453 is online now  
post #210 of 222 Old 05-16-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SKoprowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canton, OH
Posts: 1,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI- I just got a Samsung BD-P1500 to replace my Philips BDP9000. I am very impressed with it. You might want to consider the Samsung too. I will admit though- I have had zero issues with my Philips- I have not tried I Am Legend though. The Samsung is a huge speed improvement over the Philips and the picture seems slightly better.

NE Ohio HT Nutt
SKoprowski is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off