PS3 Region Bypass?? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > PS3 Region Bypass??

Blu-ray Players

achilles78's Avatar achilles78
05:15 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 42
Joined: Mar 2007
Just got a rental copy of "The Omen". As a Fox disc it is coded to region B. I have a region A PS3. Sure enough, the disc comes up with a warning on playing back that it is the wrong region. However, pressing the "Top Menu" button on the BD remote accesses the menu!. The disc then plays back properly.

Anyone else tried this? I have firmware 1.54.
fleetwoodguy79's Avatar fleetwoodguy79
06:14 AM Liked: 10
post #2 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 125
Joined: Oct 2006
Wow, I've gotta go try this!

I have a few UK import DVD's, that would be fantastic if I could play them! Has anyone figured out how to play PAL DVD's on the PS3 yet? I have a DVD set imported that is region free, however the PS3 says it cannot play PAL. Both of my other cheap DVD players can.

At any rate, GREAT find!
achilles78's Avatar achilles78
07:18 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 42
Joined: Mar 2007
Please give feedback if this works on any other discs - seems too good to be true.
camaj's Avatar camaj
07:21 PM Liked: 10
post #4 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 1,499
Joined: May 2003
What button is "top menu" on the SIXAXIS? Is that the square?
WirelessGuru's Avatar WirelessGuru
07:48 PM Liked: 11
post #5 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 3,128
Joined: Feb 2006
Fox is going to get pissed at Sony if this is true. LOL
Spizz's Avatar Spizz
08:34 PM Liked: 29
post #6 of 15
03-09-2007 | Posts: 3,383
Joined: Jan 2000
I'll be keeping an eye on this thread.
achilles78's Avatar achilles78
01:24 AM Liked: 10
post #7 of 15
03-10-2007 | Posts: 42
Joined: Mar 2007
Not on the Sixaxis - you need the BD remote.
WriteSimple's Avatar WriteSimple
02:29 AM Liked: 10
post #8 of 15
03-10-2007 | Posts: 3,206
Joined: Jan 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessGuru View Post

Fox is going to get pissed at Sony if this is true. LOL

Flawed logic. If this is true, then Fox (US) will sell more The Omen (or other similarly region locked titles) to Region B/C consumers. How's that bad for business?

Only the partners who own distribution rights in their region will get pissed.

The BDA said that region locked titles have 12 months starting from the release date to be sold. After that, it falls under the "catalog" titles and should be region free. Remaining stock must be labelled as region locked while new pressings must remove the region code and be labelled as such.


fuad
sneals2000's Avatar sneals2000
04:59 AM Liked: 60
post #9 of 15
03-10-2007 | Posts: 7,111
Joined: May 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwoodguy79 View Post

Wow, I've gotta go try this!

I have a few UK import DVD's, that would be fantastic if I could play them! Has anyone figured out how to play PAL DVD's on the PS3 yet? I have a DVD set imported that is region free, however the PS3 says it cannot play PAL. Both of my other cheap DVD players can.

At any rate, GREAT find!

You should be able to replay them, especially if they have no regional coding, via a Linux DVD playback app if you have Linux installed on your PS3. How the 50Hz will look displayed at 60Hz is another question. (You'll get some judder on motion I suspect)

Not allowing 50Hz playback of region-free titles on a 60Hz PS3 is a bit restrictive - especially now you can buy DVD recording camcorders. (Imagine someone living in the UK recording a DVD of a family event and sending it to the US...)
dvdjan's Avatar dvdjan
10:43 AM Liked: 10
post #10 of 15
03-14-2007 | Posts: 107
Joined: May 2002
bump
achilles78's Avatar achilles78
06:30 AM Liked: 10
post #11 of 15
03-15-2007 | Posts: 42
Joined: Mar 2007
Come on, someone else must be able to test this as well!
ToddUGA's Avatar ToddUGA
07:52 AM Liked: 15
post #12 of 15
03-15-2007 | Posts: 1,571
Joined: Dec 2005
I'm definitely testing this out when I get home.
achilles78's Avatar achilles78
11:17 AM Liked: 10
post #13 of 15
03-15-2007 | Posts: 42
Joined: Mar 2007
Unfortunately I tried this with "Click" region B. It won't work stating the function is unavailable. This is a Sony disc. Must have prohibited user operations applied to the wrong region screen. Couldn't find a way round it. Perhaps a modified firmware in future to allow such operations on all discs would be the answer. In the meantime I'd be interested if anyone could try the trick on other Fox discs.
williamtassone's Avatar williamtassone
01:06 AM Liked: 11
post #14 of 15
03-16-2007 | Posts: 1,030
Joined: Jun 2005
THE AUSSIE LINK

http://www.dtvforum.info/index.php?showtopic=47419&st=0
WirelessGuru's Avatar WirelessGuru
01:20 AM Liked: 11
post #15 of 15
03-16-2007 | Posts: 3,128
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WriteSimple View Post

Flawed logic. If this is true, then Fox (US) will sell more The Omen (or other similarly region locked titles) to Region B/C consumers. How's that bad for business?

Only the partners who own distribution rights in their region will get pissed.

The BDA said that region locked titles have 12 months starting from the release date to be sold. After that, it falls under the "catalog" titles and should be region free. Remaining stock must be labelled as region locked while new pressings must remove the region code and be labelled as such.


fuad

My understanding was that Fox was the studio that pushed BDA the hardest for region coding. That is what my comment was related to.
Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3