PS3 Region Bypass?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 04:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
achilles78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a rental copy of "The Omen". As a Fox disc it is coded to region B. I have a region A PS3. Sure enough, the disc comes up with a warning on playing back that it is the wrong region. However, pressing the "Top Menu" button on the BD remote accesses the menu!. The disc then plays back properly.

Anyone else tried this? I have firmware 1.54.
achilles78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 05:14 AM
Member
 
fleetwoodguy79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, I've gotta go try this!

I have a few UK import DVD's, that would be fantastic if I could play them! Has anyone figured out how to play PAL DVD's on the PS3 yet? I have a DVD set imported that is region free, however the PS3 says it cannot play PAL. Both of my other cheap DVD players can.

At any rate, GREAT find!

Early adaptor of new technology!
fleetwoodguy79 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
achilles78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please give feedback if this works on any other discs - seems too good to be true.
achilles78 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
camaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, Great Britain
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What button is "top menu" on the SIXAXIS? Is that the square?
camaj is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fox is going to get pissed at Sony if this is true. LOL

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 03-09-2007, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 3,276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'll be keeping an eye on this thread.
Spizz is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 03-10-2007, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
achilles78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not on the Sixaxis - you need the BD remote.
achilles78 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 03-10-2007, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessGuru View Post

Fox is going to get pissed at Sony if this is true. LOL

Flawed logic. If this is true, then Fox (US) will sell more The Omen (or other similarly region locked titles) to Region B/C consumers. How's that bad for business?

Only the partners who own distribution rights in their region will get pissed.

The BDA said that region locked titles have 12 months starting from the release date to be sold. After that, it falls under the "catalog" titles and should be region free. Remaining stock must be labelled as region locked while new pressings must remove the region code and be labelled as such.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 03-10-2007, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleetwoodguy79 View Post

Wow, I've gotta go try this!

I have a few UK import DVD's, that would be fantastic if I could play them! Has anyone figured out how to play PAL DVD's on the PS3 yet? I have a DVD set imported that is region free, however the PS3 says it cannot play PAL. Both of my other cheap DVD players can.

At any rate, GREAT find!

You should be able to replay them, especially if they have no regional coding, via a Linux DVD playback app if you have Linux installed on your PS3. How the 50Hz will look displayed at 60Hz is another question. (You'll get some judder on motion I suspect)

Not allowing 50Hz playback of region-free titles on a 60Hz PS3 is a bit restrictive - especially now you can buy DVD recording camcorders. (Imagine someone living in the UK recording a DVD of a family event and sending it to the US...)
sneals2000 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 03-14-2007, 09:43 AM
Member
 
dvdjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
dvdjan is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 03-15-2007, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
achilles78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Come on, someone else must be able to test this as well!
achilles78 is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 03-15-2007, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm definitely testing this out when I get home.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 03-15-2007, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
achilles78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately I tried this with "Click" region B. It won't work stating the function is unavailable. This is a Sony disc. Must have prohibited user operations applied to the wrong region screen. Couldn't find a way round it. Perhaps a modified firmware in future to allow such operations on all discs would be the answer. In the meantime I'd be interested if anyone could try the trick on other Fox discs.
achilles78 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 03-16-2007, 12:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
williamtassone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
williamtassone is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 03-16-2007, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WriteSimple View Post

Flawed logic. If this is true, then Fox (US) will sell more The Omen (or other similarly region locked titles) to Region B/C consumers. How's that bad for business?

Only the partners who own distribution rights in their region will get pissed.

The BDA said that region locked titles have 12 months starting from the release date to be sold. After that, it falls under the "catalog" titles and should be region free. Remaining stock must be labelled as region locked while new pressings must remove the region code and be labelled as such.


fuad

My understanding was that Fox was the studio that pushed BDA the hardest for region coding. That is what my comment was related to.

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off