Samsung BD-P1200 limited roll-out begins April owners reviews - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 156 Old 03-14-2007, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, we're going to start seeing a slow launch of Samsung's G2 BD player. No lossless audio or HDMI 1.3, but this baby is expected to be fast and has the same Silicon Optix Reon VP chip on board that the XA2 employs.

Unfortunately no image enhancement tools like the XA2 owners have boasted about using. Coming down to $799 MSRP.... not bad Samsung.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 156 Old 03-14-2007, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BTBuck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
goodtimes, but samsung will have to come with more than this for me to kick my BDP-1000 to the spare bedroom.

Still lovin my BDP1K

HDDVD owner: 360 add-on, HD-A30, HD-A2, A1
Blu-ray disc supporter: ps3-60gb, Oppo BDP-93
TV's: LN46B750 1080p-240hz LCD/kdl55hx729 1080p 240hz 3D LED

Link:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BTBuck1 is offline  
post #3 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 06:54 AM
Member
 
e430fab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do we know when in april, beg. mid. end ??
e430fab is offline  
post #4 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,927
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Pre-ordered mine last night through Buy six months same as cash Premier Account so I'd have both formats and the HQV on this one so I may choose from both libraries. Now is the wait for fullfillment and despite what reselleratings may say I've bought items through them for a number of years and never had a negative event/purchase - only savings of CASH!

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #5 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
GodsLabRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just took the plunge and bought this thing. Well, technically it was a pre-order. Looks like I'll finally be in the HD camp!

--

Aaron J. Bossig

Some people like to complain about BluRay. I just like to watch movies in HD. I'm funny like that.
GodsLabRat is offline  
post #6 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 33
No advaced audio decoding and no HDMI 1.3? I will be waiting for the Sony 2nd gen model and I hope it is out with-in two or three months.
JKR1963 is offline  
post #7 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 03:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKR1963 View Post

No advaced audio decoding and no HDMI 1.3? I will be waiting for the Sony 2nd gen model and I hope it is out with-in two or three months.

It's supposed to have HDMI 1.3.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #8 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 03:21 PM
Newbie
 
mt835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to a Silicon Image press release their HMDI 1.3 transmitter chip will be included in the BD-1200. Here is some of the text:

VastLane HDMI 1.3 Transmitter, Receiver and Switches Enable Leading-Edge Video and Audio Capabilities for Samsung's New Blu-ray Disc Player and HDTVs
mt835 is offline  
post #9 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 04:36 PM
Member
 
joehifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was torn between the Samsung and the Sony as well. Some have said it will be 1.3 and others not. I guess that is not as important to me as the upconverting ablity and it sounded like the chip that the Samsung will be using is very good for that. I am guess it will upconvert better than the Sony so I think I am going to gamble and get the Samsung. I am not going to replace all the DVD's that I have and I want a good upscaling player.
joehifi is offline  
post #10 of 156 Old 03-15-2007, 05:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 26,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 816
Advanced audio, HDMI 1.3, 1080p/24
Come on Samsung!

As a consolation, the Reon chip is quite good from what I have heard.

A.P.S. deserve our protection....join the cause today!
oink is offline  
post #11 of 156 Old 03-17-2007, 10:26 PM
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This unit absolutely "does" have 1.3 and will be available in a week at certain retailers. It will also do 1080P and have picture in picture as well as ethernet port.

http://reviews.cnet.com/4660-12760_7-6683224.html
TheHDMan is offline  
post #12 of 156 Old 03-17-2007, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

has the same Silicon Optix Reon VP chip on board that the XA2 employs.

Forgive me if this has been listed somewhere, but do we know what decoder chip this new Samsung model uses? The old model used the Broadcom that only did up to 1080i and thus needed an extra video chip (simliar to the Reon) to turn it back into 1080p.

I hope the Reon is here in this player for standard DVD only, and not for the silly 1080i/60 (with 3:2 flags) into 1080p/24 and then into 1080p/60 conversion that the Samsung P1000 and XA2 use, people are finding with the XA2 that while hypothetically this should be equivalent the end result isn't identical.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #13 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wine country CA
Posts: 7,268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Yup, we're going to start seeing a slow launch of Samsung's G2 BD player. No lossless audio or HDMI 1.3, but this baby is expected to be fast and has the same Silicon Optix Reon VP chip on board that the XA2 employs.

Unfortunately no image enhancement tools like the XA2 owners have boasted about using. Coming down to $799 MSRP.... not bad Samsung.

-Robert

What about uncompressed PCM that's on some of the discs out there, can this player decode or pass it via HDMI?

sent via Morse code...........

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #14 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post

What about uncompressed PCM that's on some of the discs out there, can this player decode or pass it via HDMI?

All Blu-ray players do that, as required by the specification.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

Forgive me if this has been listed somewhere, but do we know what decoder chip this new Samsung model uses? The old model used the Broadcom that only did up to 1080i and thus needed an extra video chip (simliar to the Reon) to turn it back into 1080p

I'm not certain, but I believe it uses the newer Broadcom BCM7440. This chip can output 1080p24 directly -- the universal LG player uses the same chip and can output 1080p24 on Blu-ray titles.

Whether Samsung would output 1080p24 from the decoder for pull-down, or output 1080i60 to the Silicon Optix ReonVX to perform inverse telecine and pull-down, I have no idea.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #15 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

Whether Samsung would output 1080p24 from the decoder for pull-down, or output 1080i60 to the Silicon Optix ReonVX to perform inverse telecine and pull-down, I have no idea.

And according to this post you made it would make no difference.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

There is no quality difference between decoding 1080p24 and applying pull-down to 60p, and decoding 1080p24 into flagged 1080i60 and then performing inverse telecine, with pull-down to 60p. If that is all you do, it's the same bits.


Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #16 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

And according to this post you made it would make no difference.

Yes, it should make no difference assuming that is the extent of the processing applied.

In the case of the older Samsung BD-P1000, quality is degraded because because the cheap Genesis chip in that player applies all sorts of other post-processing steps (filters) to the picture signal. It doesn't limit its processing to inverse telecine and pull-down.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #17 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 10:54 AM
 
carmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, what are the perceived limitations on this new BD player? I am trying to figure out if I should get this unit or the Sony PS3. I an NOT a gamer at all, but am looking to get the best video and sound quality out of a BD player for BD discs and well as SD DVDs for the least amount of money (aren't we all!)

If it matters, I will be sending the audio signal to a Lexicon DC-2 pre-amp processor and the HMDI for video will be running directly to the new JVC-RS1. Will there be any compatability problems with this unit and the RS-1 since this unit has HMDI 1.3, but the JVC does not?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Dave
carmutt is offline  
post #18 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carmutt View Post

So, what are the perceived limitations on this new BD player? I am trying to figure out if I should get this unit or the Sony PS3. I an NOT a gamer at all, but am looking to get the best video and sound quality out of a BD player for BD discs and well as SD DVDs for the least amount of money (aren't we all!)

If it matters, I will be sending the audio signal to a Lexicon DC-2 pre-amp processor and the HMDI for video will be running directly to the new JVC-RS1. Will there be any compatability problems with this unit and the RS-1 since this unit has HMDI 1.3, but the JVC does not?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Dave

The only real obvious limitation over a PS3 (and if you ask me its a biggie) is that this doesn't support any of the advanced audio codecs. The PS3 supports Dolby TrueHD. Over on the industry insiders thread Sony has now begun authoring a few new titles with TrueHD tracks at higher sample rate over PCM (24/48 vs. 16/48) thanks to the lossless compression size savings.

That being said thanks to the Reon HQV chip the Samsung's standard DVD output should be nearly perfect, and certinaly better then the anemic PS3 DVD support.

Oh and we don't know if the Samsung will do 1080p/24 native output.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #19 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The Panasonic DMP-BD10A will support TrueHD. See here.

Gary J
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gary J is offline  
post #20 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

The Panasonic DMP-BD10A will support TrueHD. See here.

And so should the original BD-10 with a firmware update, I don't think the BD-10A and the BD-10 are really all that different from what I can tell.

Anyway all that does is reinforce why Sony is now supporting TrueHD, the PS3 supports it, the Panasonics will, and of course Cyberlink's PC player does too.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #21 of 156 Old 03-18-2007, 08:32 PM
 
carmutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

And so should the original BD-10 with a firmware update, I don't think the BD-10A and the BD-10 are really all that different from what I can tell.

Anyway all that does is reinforce why Sony is now supporting TrueHD, the PS3 supports it, the Panasonics will, and of course Cyberlink's PC player does too.


I know the 1200 isn't even out yet, but could they do a firmware update to support True HD in the future? Does this codec seem to be one everyone will be going to?

Dave
carmutt is offline  
post #22 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
madkaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mooresville NC
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

The only real obvious limitation over a PS3 (and if you ask me its a biggie) is that this doesn't support any of the advanced audio codecs. The PS3 supports Dolby TrueHD. Over on the industry insiders thread Sony has now begun authoring a few new titles with TrueHD tracks at higher sample rate over PCM (24/48 vs. 16/48) thanks to the lossless compression size savings.

That being said thanks to the Reon HQV chip the Samsung's standard DVD output should be nearly perfect, and certinaly better then the anemic PS3 DVD support.

Oh and we don't know if the Samsung will do 1080p/24 native output.

On the value electronics site you can download the manual for the 1200. In the manual it states it will support 24fps.
Let me rephrase, it says it will support film mode (24fps) but it still might not be Direct. It could do some sort of inverse ..... to get it.

ISF Certified Calibrator
CalMan Pro
Electronics Junkie
madkaw is offline  
post #23 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 07:43 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am finally in the market for the BD and found the BDP1000 for $500. I just found the BDP1200 for $660, would you guys recommends going ahead with the 1200?
ElwayLite is offline  
post #24 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElwayLite View Post

I am finally in the market for the BD and found the BDP1000 for $500. I just found the BDP1200 for $660, would you guys recommends going ahead with the 1200?

Now that I think we're getting closer to the actual specs on the 1200 - 1080p@ 24 fps (real or processed?), Reon HQV upconvert, overlay menus, HDMI 1.3, etc., the 1200 player should have it all. For me, unless it downright under achieves, its the 1200.

When you say you've found it at $660, is it available or is it a wait list item?

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #25 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 09:17 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

Now that I think we're getting closer to the actual specs on the 1200 - 1080p@ 24 fps (real or processed?), Reon HQV upconvert, overlay menus, HDMI 1.3, etc., the 1200 player should have it all. For me, unless it downright under achieves, its the 1200.

When you say you've found it at $660, is it available or is it a wait list item?

Its out of stock, but at that price I do not think Ill pass. Still debating but close. That price is with shipping and an extra 1 year warranty.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #26 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 10:54 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went ahead and ordered mine, hopefully its out soon.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #27 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrari fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElwayLite View Post

Its out of stock, but at that price I do not think Ill pass. Still debating but close. That price is with shipping and an extra 1 year warranty.


ElwayLite...where is it you ordered it from and for what $660.00 ?? And did they give you an estimate when they will get more in ?

Thanks in advance.
ferrari fan is offline  
post #28 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 12:31 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went with buy.com because of their store rating. Ecost has them too. I am hearing mid april.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #29 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
khwiggins2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Clarksburg, MD
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any word if this will support BD-J and BD-I? I'm guessing since it has an ethernet port, they can add internet content in the future with a firmware update.

"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty!" - Captain Malcolm Reynolds
khwiggins2 is offline  
post #30 of 156 Old 03-19-2007, 12:51 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by khwiggins2 View Post

Is there any word if this will support BD-J and BD-I? I'm guessing since it has an ethernet port, they can add internet content in the future with a firmware update.


Dunno about the formats, but the port is for firmware updates.
ElwayLite is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off