PS3 signal loss w/HDMI receiver - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 03-22-2007, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggster View Post

if you find the problem let us know so just incase any of us get the same problem we can fix it.

btw i have a 2807 and a ps3 but have only had the ps3 about a week and about 30 hours of use and no problems yet... (Knock on wood) except a freeze up but turning off the net fixed that

splke to soon yesterday while watching ultraviolet in the begining it cut out (audio and video) for a split second like it dropped signal. i hope this isnt something that is gonna happen often...
Iggster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 03-25-2007, 03:37 AM
Member
 
THE WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recentley bought a ps3 from Japan, cause it can play region A movies.At first it was fine,I was watching Underworld,SWAT,Stealth etc.After watching Crank thats when i noticed my first dropout.It only happens once throughout the film.Then watching Casino Royale it happened again, just in the beginning.Does the new fimware 1.6 upgrade fix this, or have any of you have found a way.
THE WB is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 03-25-2007, 03:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrowley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My US PS3 has done the same thing also - twice so far

Playing The Prestige and Casino Royale

A brief loss of picture and sound.

Mark
mrowley is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 03-25-2007, 04:51 AM
Member
 
THE WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricST View Post

I tried this the past 3 days with success ( Knock on wood).
Turn on the 2307ci then the PS3 and I have had no drop outs. Even Ice Age II played fine. Now as soon as I tell you all that ,it will happen tonight.
Do you guys really think its a Denon related problem even though there are no signs of it happing with my A2?

So what your saying is turn the amp on first than the ps3.I have a denon avc-a1xva which is showing the same problem as your amp.I will give that a go.You know being a Hdmi issue anything is possible.
THE WB is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 04-01-2007, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
DigitalAnvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me the problem was solved by disconnecting it from my media control box, it wasn't the amp, cables, movie or ps3 that caused the problem
DigitalAnvil is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 05-13-2008, 03:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Imatk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is there a definitive answer for this?

I have the Pioneer Elite VSX-92 and have the exact same problem. Usually once a movie the audio and video drop out for a second or two then it starts back.

Also cuts on and off "like a fat man trying to get off a couch" in the very beginning. Which isn't really an issue since the movie hasn't started yet.

Should I try different cables?
Imatk is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 05-13-2008, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
in the BD settings, there is the 1080P 24.. I remember my friend had his ps3 set to on.. and was having problems.. once he check and then turned it off.. then it was fine.
stroll down a bit in the BD settings to find it. its very easy to turn off.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 12-02-2011, 04:20 PM
Member
 
mazer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am resurrecting this old thread because I am having the same problems described here. At first I thought it was my receiver, but now I realize that I only lose signal from my PS3 and not my DirecTV box (both are connected through HDMI).

The PS3 will cut out during games and also streaming Netflix.

Does anyone know if there was solution to this problem? I am going to make sure it's really my PS3 by connecting it directly to my TV over the weekend, but I wanted to see if anyone knows any new information regarding this issue.

Thanks!
mazer75 is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 12-04-2011, 02:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mystic_sniper28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what hdmi standard is each component including cable
mystic_sniper28 is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 04-20-2013, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
zigs6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is an ancient thread by now but I was having the exact same issue. I have a ps3 hooked up via HDMI to an Onkyo 609 and here is how I FIXED it. I thought it was my onkyo 606 that was causing this but when it started on my new 609 with brand new HDMI cables, I knew something else was going on.

In the PS3 settings I changed all of the following, and I'm not sure exactly which one did the trick but it worked.

Under the video tab there are two upconverting options. I had these both on but turned them to off just in case there was a conflict with the upconverting from the ps3 and the upconverting done by the receiver. I also changed my settings in there to 1080p output instead of auto. For the audio, I changed from linear to bitstream and bitstream direct. There are two audio options in the settings and I made sure they were both bitstream. That was everything i think. Ever since making those changes, I have not encountered that pesky flickering issue on blue rays and the ps3 main screen. If none of the above worked out for you, try switching your HDMI cables or play around with your receiver settings. For me, neither was necessary. Too bad I found that out AFTER buying some new monoprice HDMI cables. Oh well...rolleyes.gif
zigs6 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Yamaha Rxv2700 7 1 Channel Network Home Theater Receiver , Denon Avr 4306b 7 1 Ch Home Theater Multimedia A V Receiver Black , Denon Avr 2807 A V Surround Receiver
Gear in this thread - Rxv2700 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off