Samsung BDP1200 Master/Owner's Thread - Page 14 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 04:30 AM
Member
 
wrunow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: York, Maine
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also had the problem with a disc from Netflix, I think it was "The Lake House" and I sort of chalked that up to a scratchy disc. Another Netflix disc was "unplayable" ("Invincible") and I just re-ordered it. "Deja vu" was brand new though. Obviously I will try to track the issues for a while.
wrunow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 06:58 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrick99 View Post

Same thing happened to me while watching the same title with this player.

and to me. First such problem with any disc on either PS3/1200. Let me run off and see if others are having the issue with this disc on other players.
RUR is offline  
post #393 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
johnnyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just watched the SD version of Flags of Our Fathers on my Sammy 1200 and would like to report that the upconversion to 1080P was Fantastic.

Look...there's one of them now !
Johnny STOP IT !
(Night of the Living Dead)
johnnyd1 is offline  
post #394 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 08:13 AM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post

and to me. First such problem with any disc on either PS3/1200. Let me run off and see if others are having the issue with this disc on other players.


As I posted earlier, I had sound and picture issues with "Night at the Musseum" (brand new SD disc). Seems to happen right after the layer change. So far that is the only one ........
orfny is offline  
post #395 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know when Value Electronics or Dell will get any of these in??
phansson is offline  
post #396 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
johnnyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansson View Post

Does anyone know when Value Electronics or Dell will get any of these in??


I got mine from DELL for $600. in 8 days. They sell out pretty quick. You just have to order it and wait a week or two.
(8 business days)

Look...there's one of them now !
Johnny STOP IT !
(Night of the Living Dead)
johnnyd1 is offline  
post #397 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
patrick99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post

and to me. First such problem with any disc on either PS3/1200. Let me run off and see if others are having the issue with this disc on other players.

I don't believe I have had any problem like this with any other title and I have had the player for a few weeks now.
patrick99 is offline  
post #398 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$ 639 yesterday at bestbuy in beaverton oregon.
They had 4 left.
steviec is offline  
post #399 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
johnnyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviec View Post

$ 639 yesterday at bestbuy in beaverton oregon.
They had 4 left.

For the Sammy 1200 or the 1000 ?

My Best Buy has the 1000 for $699.

1200 for $799.

Look...there's one of them now !
Johnny STOP IT !
(Night of the Living Dead)
johnnyd1 is offline  
post #400 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quick Noob question, I apologize in advance. If you don't have an HDMI 1.3 receiver then are you shut out of the new HD audio codecs with this player?
pbmpharmacist is offline  
post #401 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 12:58 PM
Member
 
LP30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbmpharmacist View Post

Quick Noob question, I apologize in advance. If you don't have an HDMI 1.3 receiver then are you shut out of the new HD audio codecs with this player?

In its current state, yes. There has been some rumor about the chipset being capable of Dolby TrueHD and DTS HR. There has been no indication that if such a capability does exist, that it will ever be activated in the firmware.
LP30 is offline  
post #402 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyd1 View Post

For the Sammy 1200 or the 1000 ?

My Best Buy has the 1000 for $699.

1200 for $799.

I got the 1200 for that price.
steviec is offline  
post #403 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
johnnyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviec View Post

I got the 1200 for that price.

Great deal !

I thought all Best Buys sold at the same price...

Look...there's one of them now !
Johnny STOP IT !
(Night of the Living Dead)
johnnyd1 is offline  
post #404 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyd1 View Post

Great deal !

I thought all Best Buys sold at the same price...


Did you ask them to price match dell?? I asked my best buy to do that deal and they said they couldn't match online stores.

My best buy sucks. I go in that store at least 52 times a year and they don't ever deal with me. Plus they hardly ever have any new releases in stock on release day (blu ray or hd dvd).
phansson is offline  
post #405 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WaldorfSalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nr. Boulder, CO
Posts: 4,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I asked today at my local BB if they would match Dell's price of $633. They said they would. But I'm not ready to go G2 just yet as I have my eye on the newer Sony due out in July @ $599 MSRP.
WaldorfSalad is offline  
post #406 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 04:58 PM
Senior Member
 
ferrari fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansson View Post

Does anyone know when Value Electronics or Dell will get any of these in??

I ordered mine last week from VE ( $649.00 total ) and what they had in stock was already sold. I was told mine would go out sometime this week ( first week of May ) as soon as their next shipment arrives. For VE, it's first come, first served. I've waited nearly a year as I wanted a G2 Blu ray AND HD player, so waiting an extra few weeks after I ordered won't kill me Though I can hardly wait.
ferrari fan is offline  
post #407 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
sstiles4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone hooked this player up to the Pioneer Elite 1140? I was wondering how it performs outputting 1080p/24 and how both BR and SD DVD's look? Thanks
sstiles4 is offline  
post #408 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 09:56 PM
Member
 
datatwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung BDP 1200 as a source for my HLT 6189S. I thought the set was capable of inputting 1080P/24s? I can't get it to work. The BDP 1200 won't let me select the 24s setting. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong; the TV isn't capable of 1080p/24s input; or, there's something wrong with the Blu-ray player or the TV. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks.
datatwo is offline  
post #409 of 6049 Old 04-29-2007, 11:20 PM
Member
 
rkihara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally Posted by rkihara
I've had my BD-P1200 for three days now and I have no complaints about picture quality, but it does have some annoying quirks. I'm sending the signal to a Panasonic PT-AX100, through HDMI, and routing optical audio to the receiver. Whenever I start a disk, or switch chapters, I get an window displaying "HDMI audio not supported." Does anyone know how to shut this off?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Free View Post

Try going into the setup menu, and turn off the on screen displays. That worked for me, when I was having the problem. It will also turn off the arrows that pop up when skipping and fast forwarding.

That took care of the error message. Thanks!
rkihara is offline  
post #410 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 01:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
patrick99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post

and to me. First such problem with any disc on either PS3/1200. Let me run off and see if others are having the issue with this disc on other players.

When I tried to play this disc yesterday, it would not play at all. After a very lengthy attempt to load, I got the error message "This disc cannot be played."
I didn't try again, fearing worse problems.
patrick99 is offline  
post #411 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 04:12 AM
Member
 
creaturex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also had the Samsung BD-P1200 lock up on me while watching Casion Royale. The picture disappeared and I couldn't get the disc out. Turning the player on and off didn't help. I unplugged it from the power and left it off for the night. Strangely enough... it worked the next morning.

Suave Kajko
Publisher/Editor-in-Chief
CANADA HiFi Magazine
http://www.canadahifi.com

President
Toronto Audio Video Entertainment Show (TAVES)
http://www.taveshow.com
creaturex is offline  
post #412 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
AustinSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarantado View Post

Actually price was 759.99, i was told they only suppose to carry 3unit/store
and theyre not suppose to be selling it yet.
first store i went to was sold out so i have them call other store to see if they have 1
in stock. was told there was 1 left in chula vista so i told them to hold it for me.
Got a 12% discount in the mail and 18mo. 0 interest on my BB card so i'm happy.
don't have to wait. could have gotten it a lot cheaper at dell using my 10% coupon
but just don't have the patient to wait.
I think these player is a keeper.

They were selling them as early as last Tuesday in Texas, but none of the clerks knew it. They were all clueless. The unit stock was under the 1000 display unit and they didn't have one on display. When I asked if they had any the guy went looking in backstock. I was standing by the 1000 and looked at the box to see '1200' on it...

See how your Blu-Ray movies stack up. Visit the Blu-Ray Tier Thread Today.
Viewing Movies at 1080p/24 on a Pioneer PRO-FHD1 50" Plasma TV and a Blu-Ray Player. Viewing Distance:7-10ft.
AustinSTI is offline  
post #413 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
AustinSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got mine from buy.com - $650 shipped.

See how your Blu-Ray movies stack up. Visit the Blu-Ray Tier Thread Today.
Viewing Movies at 1080p/24 on a Pioneer PRO-FHD1 50" Plasma TV and a Blu-Ray Player. Viewing Distance:7-10ft.
AustinSTI is offline  
post #414 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 07:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 16,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does the 1200 offer any picture parameter settings for BD playback??

Thanks!!
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #415 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 09:40 AM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaturex View Post

I also had the Samsung BD-P1200 lock up on me while watching Casion Royale. The picture disappeared and I couldn't get the disc out. Turning the player on and off didn't help. I unplugged it from the power and left it off for the night. Strangely enough... it worked the next morning.


I have had issues with quite a few DVD's now so Dell is sending me a new unit. I hope this is not a major new issue for this player!!
orfny is offline  
post #416 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 10:18 AM
Member
 
shizam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I called VE, and now they say Wednesday. So I guess I'll wait until then, and just cancel the order if they can't send it out that day. Also, I found out the mystery 24.99 charge was for DVE, which I never ordered, but they must have decided to send it to me and bill me just for giggles? So they said they credited my account, and I'll just send it back to them if/when it comes.

Kind of frustrating.
shizam is offline  
post #417 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
johnnyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by orfny View Post

I have had issues with quite a few DVD's now so Dell is sending me a new unit. I hope this is not a major new issue for this player!!


No problems with mine !

Look...there's one of them now !
Johnny STOP IT !
(Night of the Living Dead)
johnnyd1 is offline  
post #418 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 12:38 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Does the 1200 offer any picture parameter settings for BD playback??

Thanks!!

Alan,

What do you mean by parameter settings?

Ken
RUR is offline  
post #419 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

Does the 1200 offer any picture parameter settings for BD playback??

Thanks!!

It just has the same sharpness and noise reduction like the Xa-2 has, and of course the 1080p 24 option but no color, brightness , contrast options.
steviec is offline  
post #420 of 6049 Old 04-30-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steviec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the great northwest
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by creaturex View Post

I also had the Samsung BD-P1200 lock up on me while watching Casion Royale. The picture disappeared and I couldn't get the disc out. Turning the player on and off didn't help. I unplugged it from the power and left it off for the night. Strangely enough... it worked the next morning.

I had no problem at all with casino royale or any of the other titles i have run thru the player.
steviec is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd P1200 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - P1200 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off