Samsung BDP1200 Master/Owner's Thread - Page 196 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5851 of 6049 Old 10-12-2009, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
LRS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by celboy View Post

I mean I just got Contact & Snow White and they played fine.

The new Snow White blu-ray does not play fine in my 1200. Everything works great during the previews, but when I select "Play Movie" at the main menu, I lose all audio! I've tried selecting different audio tracks, but there's still no sound. I tried stopping the disc, ejecting it, and then re-loading it, but then I also lose audio during the previews. It's as if selecting "Play Movie" at the disc menu engages a mute function on the 1200. If I eject the disc, turn off the 1200, turn it back on, and then re-load the disc, I get the audio back for the previews, but still not for the main feature.

I also have a laptop with a blu-ray drive and my Snow White blu-ray works properly on it. But somehow I'd rather watch a blu-ray on my 65" HDTV than my 17" laptop.

I'd using analog out (rather than HDMI) on my 1200 for audio. (I've got an older pre-HDMI receiver.) I'm on firmware 2.6.
LRS3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5852 of 6049 Old 10-12-2009, 11:37 AM
Member
 
celboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes you are right. Snow White disables audio. I was not monitoring sound the first time.
I also use a analog receiver. I put Contact back in and it was (became) mute. I powered off/on. It came back.
celboy is offline  
post #5853 of 6049 Old 10-12-2009, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
LRS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by celboy View Post

Yes you are right. Snow White disables audio.

You and I may be the first to report this on AVS. I've checked a couple of other Snow White threads on AVS and not found any mention of it.
LRS3 is offline  
post #5854 of 6049 Old 10-12-2009, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Ultimateherts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"YEAR ONE" plays, but barely. To get it to play you have to use Fast Foward speed 2 otherwise it just freezes after the second preview and just recycles back to the loading page in the begining. The same goes for "INCENDIARY".
Ultimateherts is offline  
post #5855 of 6049 Old 10-12-2009, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While I don't have my 1200 anymore I do keep it up to date for my friend who bought it. It's been pretty solid since the last update, I can only hope Samsung continues to update their older players. I still have the 5000 I can confirm Snow White works on it.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #5856 of 6049 Old 10-13-2009, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
avhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria BC, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve siener View Post

how long ago did 2.6 come out? Been away from this thread for a long time, the sammy collecting dust in a closet. I am considering giving it away now, though. Still no fix for the dvd chapter stutter issue? Really sad. Does the stutter happen when the connected hdmi device supports audio?

2009-05-06
avhed is offline  
post #5857 of 6049 Old 10-14-2009, 12:30 PM
Member
 
astronomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the optical digital audio, and Snow White plays fine with current firmware 2.6. I called Samsung about the Wizard of Oz problem and got a knowledgeable tech who said he would pass the issue to the right people. Somebody with the Snow White problem should call it in (800-726-7864) so maybe they can attack both problems within the next few months.
astronomer is offline  
post #5858 of 6049 Old 10-15-2009, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
LRS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by astronomer View Post

I use the optical digital audio, and Snow White plays fine with current firmware 2.6. I called Samsung about the Wizard of Oz problem and got a knowledgeable tech who said he would pass the issue to the right people. Somebody with the Snow White problem should call it in (800-726-7864) so maybe they can attack both problems within the next few months.

I contacted them, but unfortunately did not get a knowledgeable tech. Nevertheless, she said she would add Snow White to a list they kept of movies with playback problems. One can only hope the next firmware update fixes the issue.
LRS3 is offline  
post #5859 of 6049 Old 10-20-2009, 03:14 AM
Member
 
robofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched with firm ware version 2.6:

Zack and Miri Make a Porno
Easy Virtue

No problems.
robofan is offline  
post #5860 of 6049 Old 10-29-2009, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,787
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I should have checked with the forum before I bought Snow White Blu-Ray. Like it has been reported, the disc sort of turns off audio. Audio does not come up until the player turned off. I use component audio output.

Also, like it has been reported, The Wizard Of Oz hangs on load.

FW 2.6
Ungermann is offline  
post #5861 of 6049 Old 10-29-2009, 10:50 PM
Member
 
Scruffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: GVRD, BC, Canada
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using firmware version 2.6. Audio craps out for "Run Fatboy Run". Quite annoying. The movie plays perfectly in my Oppo BDP-83 and to think that I paid more for the Sammy than I did for the Oppo.

Peter
Scruffy is online now  
post #5862 of 6049 Old 10-30-2009, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,787
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The Wizard Of Oz and the Snow White play fine in the Panasonic BD60. Also, my old AVCHD backups on DVD discs work on the Panasonic (they do not work with the current BD-P1200 firmware). The Panasonic also reads AVCHD from an SDHC card, including Canon's 30p videos. The real issue with the BD60 is that it has no coaxial digital audio output, only HDMI and old-fashioned stereo. This sucks, because HDMI goes straight to the TV, and my receiver does not support HDMI at all.
Ungermann is offline  
post #5863 of 6049 Old 11-10-2009, 08:41 PM
Member
 
celboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Both Up and Monsters played with no problem. Usually the latest disney requires an update so I am surprised. Michael Mann's Heat plays as well.

But I'm still waiting for Wizard of Oz. Thanks Samsung.
celboy is offline  
post #5864 of 6049 Old 11-15-2009, 05:58 AM
Member
 
robofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched with firm ware version 2.6:

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen
GI Joe The Rise of Cobra
Spread
Hardware
Deep Impact

No problems.
robofan is offline  
post #5865 of 6049 Old 11-17-2009, 11:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Maybe I'm crazy, maybe my eyes need to be checked, or maybe I'm just missing something, but I switched my 1200 from 16:9 to 4:3 letterbox while watch LOTR, and I swear the pic got better. Sharper it seems.

I LOVE MOVIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

lordcloud is offline  
post #5866 of 6049 Old 11-19-2009, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcloud View Post

Maybe I'm crazy, maybe my eyes need to be checked, or maybe I'm just missing something, but I switched my 1200 from 16:9 to 4:3 letterbox while watch LOTR, and I swear the pic got better. Sharper it seems.

anyone have any ideas or thoughts?

I LOVE MOVIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

lordcloud is offline  
post #5867 of 6049 Old 11-19-2009, 02:36 PM
Member
 
jmerrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i tried to play UP today and had problems, so I connected an ethernet cable to upgrade my firmware. It's been sitting on "firmware update now processing...please do not turn off power" for about 2 hours. How long should I let it sit, and should I do anything?
jmerrey is offline  
post #5868 of 6049 Old 11-19-2009, 02:50 PM
Member
 
jdcerank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anytime that I did a firmware upgrade, it only took about 20 minutes or so to get done. I have had several. Two hours can't be right. Don't turn off your 1200, call customer service and see what their solution is.
jdcerank is offline  
post #5869 of 6049 Old 11-21-2009, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
LRS3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Smyrna Beach, FL
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I watched the new "Watchmen Ultimate Cut" blu-ray (with Tales of the Black Freighter woven into the film) last night and had no problem with my 1200. This version of the film doesn't suffer from the "audio drift" issue that some (including me) experienced with the "Watchmen Director's Cut" blu-ray. I'm on firmware version 2.6. Still waiting (maybe forever?) for Samsung to issue a firmware update to address the Snow White audio problem and other issues identified since firmware version 2.6 came out in May 2009.
LRS3 is offline  
post #5870 of 6049 Old 11-23-2009, 12:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
C'mon fellas, no one has switched their player to 4:3 just to see if it would impact the picture at all?

I LOVE MOVIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

lordcloud is offline  
post #5871 of 6049 Old 11-23-2009, 04:37 PM
Member
 
robofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched with firmware version 2.6:

Star Trek
Trick 'r Treat

No problems.
robofan is offline  
post #5872 of 6049 Old 11-29-2009, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Gerhard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 6,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

The Wizard Of Oz and the Snow White play fine in the Panasonic BD60. Also, my old AVCHD backups on DVD discs work on the Panasonic (they do not work with the current BD-P1200 firmware). The Panasonic also reads AVCHD from an SDHC card, including Canon's 30p videos. The real issue with the BD60 is that it has no coaxial digital audio output, only HDMI and old-fashioned stereo. This sucks, because HDMI goes straight to the TV, and my receiver does not support HDMI at all.

The DMP-BD60 surely has optical digital audio out, can't you use that? I don't believe your claim of only stereo and HDMI audio output is correct. I am sure the player is much better than the Samsung BD-P1200 in any event.

Chris
Chris Gerhard is offline  
post #5873 of 6049 Old 12-02-2009, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordcloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I have a Samsung 1200 and I've been experimenting with settings, and i recently switched the picture settings from 16:9 to 4:3 and I could be imagining it, but the picture quality seems to have improved. I'm wondering if this is technically possible. An unnecessary processing step removed or what?

I LOVE MOVIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

lordcloud is offline  
post #5874 of 6049 Old 12-02-2009, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
avhed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria BC, Canada
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avhed View Post

Will 2.7 play Ping Pong Playa and In the Electric Mist?

I meant to type 2.6 above. That is from May 14.
After a half a year delay, I finally install v2.6 firmware. The two movies mentioned above still does not play. Any hope to see a 2.7 eventually?
These two movies were released in early Feb. and Mar.!
avhed is offline  
post #5875 of 6049 Old 12-03-2009, 07:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by avhed View Post

I meant to type 2.6 above. That is from May 14.
After a half a year delay, I finally install v2.6 firmware. The two movies mentioned above still does not play. Any hope to see a 2.7 eventually?

I doubt at this stage that we will see Samsung do anything more for the 1200.

Mine has been relegated to the bedroom for dvd duty (for which it is very good, with its excellent upconversion), and I've gotten an Oppo 83 for the main HT.
millerwill is online now  
post #5876 of 6049 Old 12-03-2009, 09:50 AM
Member
 
porpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Watched T4 Salvation the other night. Took quite a while to load the menu after the previews were finished. Movie did play, but it hiccuped and lost sync with the audio about once every 5 minutes. Solved fairly simply by hitting rewind for a second and then play again. Made for a frustrating evening though; nothing like constantly interrupting the flow of a movie.

--Ken
porpie is offline  
post #5877 of 6049 Old 12-05-2009, 05:29 PM
Newbie
 
jmreyn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Crank 2 will not play with firmware 2.6. Just gets a blank screen...
jmreyn2 is offline  
post #5878 of 6049 Old 12-05-2009, 08:26 PM
Member
 
celboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm running 2.6 and crank 2 did play.
celboy is offline  
post #5879 of 6049 Old 12-07-2009, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
cash70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My 1200 has been collecting dust for a while now. I decided to stop by and check on it here since I thought about pulling it out and setting it up in our son's bedroom. After reading this I don't know if I want to go through all the headaches again.
cash70 is offline  
post #5880 of 6049 Old 12-08-2009, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,787
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gerhard View Post

The DMP-BD60 surely has optical digital audio out, can't you use that? I don't believe your claim of only stereo and HDMI audio output is correct. I am sure the player is much better than the Samsung BD-P1200 in any event.

My receiver does not have optical input. I returned the BD60 back to Costco only to buy the BD80. It has its share of problems.

* It does not play 50Hz DVDs though the box says nothing about PAL/NTSC, it says that the player plays discs that are labeled "Region 1" or "All". I have plenty of region-free PAL discs but the player does not play them. Panasonic mentions this in the operation manual, but does not mention it on the box.
* It does play DivX, but really wacky, nowhere near my OPPO 970. Does not preserve aspect ratio and does not resize to full screen. Junk.
* It does not play DivX from an SD card, so I have to stick the card into a USB adapter and stick the adapter into the USB port to watch DivX from the card. Lame.
* It does play 50Hz DivX, but it does not play 50Hz AVCHD, and the operation manual has nothing about that. Crap.

All in all, I should have bought the PS3. People, don't spend money on this set-top junk, I mean all standalone Blu-ray players. Just buy the PS3 which plays everything and has frequent firmware updates.
Ungermann is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Bd P1200 Blu Ray Disc Player
Gear in this thread - P1200 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off