AV Multi Out to HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my PS3 connected over the AV Multi out cable to my HTIB...

my question is, is there an AV Multi Out to HDMI cable available for audio transfer?

the only way I could get the PS3 Audio connected over my HTIB was over the AVMulti Out Cable, are there any other options?


I have the PS3 video over HDMI to my LCD
and the PS3 audio over AV Multi Out to my HTIB Samsung Q85

Thanks

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

I have my PS3 connected over the AV Multi out cable to my HTIB...

my question is, is there an AV Multi Out to HDMI cable available for audio transfer?

the only way I could get the PS3 Audio connected over my HTIB was over the AVMulti Out Cable, are there any other options?


I have the PS3 video over HDMI to my LCD
and the PS3 audio over AV Multi Out to my HTIB Samsung Q85

Thanks


Uh, Don't know if you tried this, but how about optical cable straight from your PS3 to your HTIB. The receiver in the HTIB has to have an optical connection.
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHDTV? View Post

Uh, Don't know if you tried this, but how about optical cable straight from your PS3 to your HTIB. The receiver in the HTIB has to have an optical connection.

why does it have to have an optical connection?

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

why does it have to have an optical connection?

You asked if you have any other options and I gave you one.

I believe there is only 3 ways to get sound out of the PS3. 1. The Multi out, which you are using. 2. Optical. 3. HDMI.

You're not going to get 5.1 surround sound with that multi-out, only left and right.

Unless your receiver has HDMI, you're not going to get sound from your receiver, only from your TV. If your receiver does have HDMI, you can hook another HDMI from your TV to your receiver (or receiver to TV if you hook the PS3 to the receiver and not the TV). This will allow you to get 5.1, etc.

Optical will get you 5.1 also. This is a good option for you since you don't have to buy any special cables, just a plain optical.


Hope that helps
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

why does it have to have an optical connection?

Opps, I didn't read your 2nd question right. I said that your HTIB has to have an optical connection because I'm assuming is a 5.1 HTIB. Those have been around for at least 5 years, so I'm assuming you have one of those. I have never seen one of those receivers without an optical connection.

If you have optical, then it is your best bet to hook up sound unless your receiver has HDMI.

Hope that helps
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes the receiver has an HDMI out and IN....any other options?

I am just looking the get the best out of it

thank you for you answers GotHDTV?

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read this again

so my best option would be hooking up the PS3 to my TV over HDMI and then connect the TV with the receiver also through HDMI? is that about right?

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 03:06 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

I read this again

so my best option would be hooking up the PS3 to my TV over HDMI and then connect the TV with the receiver also through HDMI? is that about right?

PS3 to HTIB via HDMI for both audio and video.

HTIB to TV via HDMI for video. Audio will come from the HTIB.
RUR is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post

PS3 to HTIB via HDMI for both audio and video.

HTIB to TV via HDMI for video. Audio will come from the HTIB.

I think I did that and my TV showed a message saying 'unsupported mode'. I thought it would not be a problem since the receiver has a HDMI out and in?

I will try it again, it looks like the best option would be optical for right now...

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 03:25 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Have you set the PS3 to a resolution which the TV will display i.e. 1080i, 1080p etc? Hold down the PS3 on button until you hear the second beep, then see what you get on the display.

You're better off using HDMI, if we can sort this issue out.

Ken
RUR is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea its set to 1080P on my Samsung 4665F

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 05:53 PM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 59
OK. To keep this simple to sort out, can you connect the PS3 directly to the TV via HDMI? Do this, then re-select 1080p in the PS3 video output setup. If you get a blank screen, the TV doesn't support that resolution. If all is well, it will test, then give you an OK screen.

Let me know what happens.

Ken
RUR is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firstly, it would be helpful if you post the model of your HTiB.

Secondly, not all HTiBs have optical/coaxial digital inputs.

Thirdly, not all HTiBs have HDMI inputs, and not all of them can handle PCM audio via HDMI inputs.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 05-01-2007, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

I read this again

so my best option would be hooking up the PS3 to my TV over HDMI and then connect the TV with the receiver also through HDMI? is that about right?

Sound right to me. That seems to be the easy way. Or you can do the PS3 to the receiver then to the TV, but it seems that has not worked for you.

Make sure when you set the audio to set it to go through HDMI. If you did not change it from multi-out, then the sound will still be from the multi-out. I had that happen with me when I had my PS3 hooked into my bedroom TV via HDMI, but I took downstairs to my old TV which is only component (and my HTIB has optical). I had to switch not only to multi-out for video but sound to optical also.

Hope that helps.
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WriteSimple View Post

Firstly, it would be helpful if you post the model of your HTiB.

Secondly, not all HTiBs have optical/coaxial digital inputs.

Thirdly, not all HTiBs have HDMI inputs, and not all of them can handle PCM audio via HDMI inputs.


fuad

I did, if you read my first original post

its a Samsung HT-TQ85, it has both

here are the specs http://www.samsung.com/Products/Home...tq85_final.pdf

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHDTV? View Post

Sound right to me. That seems to be the easy way. Or you can do the PS3 to the receiver then to the TV, but it seems that has not worked for you.

Make sure when you set the audio to set it to go through HDMI. If you did not change it from multi-out, then the sound will still be from the multi-out. I had that happen with me when I had my PS3 hooked into my bedroom TV via HDMI, but I took downstairs to my old TV which is only component (and my HTIB has optical). I had to switch not only to multi-out for video but sound to optical also.

Hope that helps.

crap, I don't know what it is, it just doesn't work....

I will order some optical cables and see if the sound improves

don't get me wrong the sound thru the AV output is good, I can't complain, but I might be missing the 5.1 sound and that would suck

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jiffylush's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HTiB says it is 1080i, it may not support 1080p which is causing your problem with no video.

I bet if you deselect 1080p and only select 1080i and 720p you will clear up your problem.

It doesn't mention audio in over HDMI, or PCM, but it does have optical. So you will at least be able to get 5.1, if not PCM over HDMI.
Jiffylush is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so 5.1 over optical or maybe if it works PCM over HDMI?

thanks

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

crap, I don't know what it is, it just doesn't work....

I will order some optical cables and see if the sound improves

don't get me wrong the sound thru the AV output is good, I can't complain, but I might be missing the 5.1 sound and that would suck

Amel, so did you change the output setting for audio on the PS3 to come out of HDMI? I know it sounds stupid and like I said before, I have encountered that the PS3 only outputs sound (and video) out of one connection. You have the sound coming out of the multiout, so I think you didn't you change it. If you don't do the setting change, you will not even get sound if you buy optical cable.

Come to think of it you may have to not only do the output connector setting, but also how it is outputted (bitstream or PCM, etc). Do the connector setting change first though and see what that does.

I'd also do what Jiffylush said to do about your video problem.

Hope that helps
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotHDTV? View Post

Amel, so did you change the output setting for audio on the PS3 to come out of HDMI? I know it sounds stupid and like I said before, I have encountered that the PS3 only outputs sound (and video) out of one connection. You have the sound coming out of the multiout, so I think you didn't you change it. If you don't do the setting change, you will not even get sound if you buy optical cable.

I did, it did not make any difference....as soon as I get the optical cable I will update this thread

thanks guys

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 05-02-2007, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GotHDTV?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Posts: 1,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

I did, it did not make any difference....as soon as I get the optical cable I will update this thread

thanks guys

Okay, when you did that, did you get sound out of the TV with just a straight HDMI connection? If you did then, the sound output is fine and the issue is from your TV to your receiver. If that is the case, there has to be a setting in your tv. If that is not the case, then there must be a setting problem on your PS3.

Just to double check, did you save your settings too?
GotHDTV? is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 05-05-2007, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Amel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Clearwater Fl
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey

great news

got my optical cable yesterday

holy crap, what a freakin difference, I almost peed myself

it's unbelievable, the whole system rocks, thanks guys!

Blu-Ray Supporter
Amel is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 05-05-2007, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amel View Post

hey

great news

got my optical cable yesterday

holy crap, what a freakin difference, I almost peed myself

it's unbelievable, the whole system rocks, thanks guys!

It rocks, until you get the upgrade itch. Glad you finally get the full use of your HTiB.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off