PS3 to get DVD upscaling by end of the week - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
tv is less then five years old hah

im trying to sell mine already and its only 7 months old! 60 xbr1 so its not like its a pos or to small like yours just that i want to go projector instead now
Iggster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cawgijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggster View Post

tv is less then five years old hah

im trying to sell mine already and its only 7 months old! 60 xbr1 so its not like its a pos or to small like yours just that i want to go projector instead now

Must be nice to be made of money

"Small" is in the eye of the be-holder.....fits and works perfectly fine in my family room......also has an incredible picture.
cawgijoe is offline  
post #93 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
solo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vienna, Va., USA
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's against regs to scale DVDs over component. Yes, it's why HDMI was forced on us all.

Studios didn't want upscaling over an analog signal since it's macrovision unprotected at that point.

There were some Chinese players that would do it though, and I think even Samsung had a model that did it for a while.

I never really cared since I have a spectacular 480p signal from my iScan, but my feelings might be different were I watching DVDs on a front projector vs a ~40 in. CRT.

My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!
solo88 is offline  
post #94 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cawgijoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 2,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by solo88 View Post

It's against regs to scale DVDs over component. Yes, it's why HDMI was forced on us all.

Studios didn't want upscaling over an analog signal since it's macrovision unprotected at that point.

There were some Chinese players that would do it though, and I think even Samsung had a model that did it for a while.

I never really cared since I have a spectacular 480p signal from my iScan, but my feelings might be different were I watching DVDs on a front projector vs a ~40 in. CRT.

Thanks for the info.

I have a 34" CRT and an excellent 480p signal from my Rotel DVD player.......so maybe I don't need to whine.......
cawgijoe is offline  
post #95 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
Jarls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it "1080p scaling of PS2 games" as in rendering of PS2 games at that kindo resolution (i.e. all polygon edges will look much sharper, textures remains unaffected) - or is it simply upscaling of the PS2 480 image to 720/1080 (like an upscaling DVD player).

If it's the latter, and i suspect it is - i dont see the big point as most wont see any diff at all!
Jarls is offline  
post #96 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 3,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It does appear from the press release that, unlike SD DVD, the the upscaled PS2 games are available on component:

Quote:


Notes

1. DVD-ROM (including DVD Video content) can only be upscaled with HDMI compatible TV sets.

BB
Brandon B is offline  
post #97 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

In case someone doesn't follow the PS3 thread, let me repeat this here: firmware 1.80 includes option for 1080/24 output.

all sweets for you my friend
zoro is offline  
post #98 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
solo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vienna, Va., USA
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon B View Post

It does appear from the press release that, unlike SD DVD, the the upscaled PS2 games are available on component:



BB

Yeah, there's no reason game content shouldn't be allowed over component.

My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!
solo88 is offline  
post #99 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrancescoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

In case someone doesn't follow the PS3 thread, let me repeat this here: firmware 1.80 includes option for 1080/24 output.

What's the source of that news?
FrancescoP is offline  
post #100 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 03:20 PM
Member
 
madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Vancouver B.C
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you go to this link, it will show you photo's of the new 1.80 update and you will see option for BD 1080p 24HZ output HDMI.. Kick ass update tomorrow.

http://www.ps3fanboy.com/2007/05/23/...es-and-movies/
madden is offline  
post #101 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 03:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert George View Post

Schwinnnng!!

Might, and I say, MIGHT have just saved me a bundle. I was ready to add a new BD player, but if this brings the PS3 up to the standard of the most current standalones for BD quality, I could be all set.

Agreed, the PS3 is rapidly becoming the best $500 I've ever spent on a HT piece of equipment, I was looking at other players as well.
Keenan is offline  
post #102 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
bored999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a question.. I currently have a old sony kp-46wt510 rptv. It has a dvi input and the dvi cable connects to the ps3's hdmi output by a dvi to hdmi converter. It works perfectly and gives me a 1080i resolution. I wanted to know if I would be able to upscale my dvd's using this connection once I update the fw tomorrow. I would think this would work, but I've heard that you can't upscale unless your tv has a hdmi connection. Can anyone help me? Thanks.
bored999 is offline  
post #103 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bunga99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I skimmed over this thread real quick.....so forgive me if its already been asked or mentioned..

I wonder if this will also allow 720P play back on Blu Rays....Not just 1080I or 1080P. Right now the 720P playback is not a real 720 but seems like a 480P.

Thx,
Claude
Bunga99 is offline  
post #104 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunga99 View Post

I wonder if this will also allow 720P play back on Blu Rays.

As far as I know, it will. Yes, currently you'll get 480p out of Blu-rays, if your TV/projector is unable to input 1080i/p.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #105 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

As far as I know, it will. Yes, currently you'll get 480p out of Blu-rays, if your TV/projector is unable to input 1080i/p.

Thanks for the news on the 24hz even tought my display doesn't support it, but 720p BluRay Playback would be even a greater new as my display 1080i is good but 720p is even better.. (crisper)

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
post #106 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,558
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Wow, kudos to Sony for caring to continually improve BD playback. Now all we really need is a fix for BTB/WTW and DTS-HD MA decoding. The 1080p/24Hz update instills a lot of confidence that these two features will eventually be made available. Considering its price, the PS3 is probably the best investment that I've ever made.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #107 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SirDrexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cawgijoe View Post

Would piracy be the reason that there is no upscaling through Componet for movies?

In a way, yes. Macrovision doesn't work in HD, so they cut off capturing the upscaled video stream. However, who is going to bother capturing a stream when the CSS protection is easily broken?
SirDrexl is offline  
post #108 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's now the 24th in London where the press release was announced. Still no firmware update!
cybersoga is offline  
post #109 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
PARASITE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any chance the new firmware will fix the PS3 problem with producing below black?
I have a ISF calibrated 65831 and the blacks on the PS3 clip. I know its possible that this could be one of the little bug fixes. Can you confirm from your source about this?
I dont think this is like a big cat out of the bag so what do you think?
PARASITE is offline  
post #110 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 05:33 PM
Member
 
Kampai!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blu-ray 1080/24P Via HDMI Confirmed! Great!
Kampai! is offline  
post #111 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wildfire99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Wet Northwest
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the 24p is real, and non-buggy, then they just bought themselves a reprieve from my complaining about DTS-HD MA decoding. I'll use 24p the day the update is installed. Can't say the same thing about the DTS.

I can't wait to test upscaling between the PS3 and the HD-A2.
wildfire99 is offline  
post #112 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My other big beef with PS3 is that most PS3 games are 720P and my display does not take 720P input, only 1080i. Therefore all 720P PS3 games have been downressed to 480P. I don't suppose this update would allow 720P PS3 games to be upconverted to 1080i/p as well?

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
post #113 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 06:07 PM
Member
 
regular guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news.

Silly questions from a newbie:

If I buy a PS3, let's say in October, will it already have the new firmware. In other words, as Sony cranks out PS3s, beginning tomorrow, they should have all the new firmwares included, right??

Assuming a buy an earlier version, say a pre-May 2007 version, do I need to only download the "firmware Version 1.80"? Or do I also need to download all earlier firmwares???

Sorry to ask such obvious questions, but I have never had a product that was "future proof" and able to be "improved" via internet. Go Sony!
regular guy is offline  
post #114 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

My other big beef with PS3 is that most PS3 games are 720P and my display does not take 720P input, only 1080i. Therefore all 720P PS3 games have been downressed to 480P. I don't suppose this update would allow 720P PS3 games to be upconverted to 1080i/p as well?


I'm already very excited about this update, but PS3 software scaling would indeed be the icing on the cake for us CRT HDTV owners.
ResOGlas is offline  
post #115 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by regular guy View Post

Great news.

Silly questions from a newbie:

If I buy a PS3, let's say in October, will it already have the new firmware. In other words, as Sony cranks out PS3s, beginning tomorrow, they should have all the new firmwares included, right??

Assuming a buy an earlier version, say a pre-May 2007 version, do I need to only download the "firmware Version 1.80"? Or do I also need to download all earlier firmwares???

Sorry to ask such obvious questions, but I have never had a product that was "future proof" and able to be "improved" via internet. Go Sony!

There about 1 FW per 2 months so next one should be close to July/August be that v1.9 and i'am pretty sure in Oct/Nov will see 2.0 (1 year of the console), that just my guess

Anyway, you can download it right away when you plug you're PS3 on the net, the whole process take about 30 minutes max (download and installing) or you can even download the ISO and put it on a USB Key..

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
post #116 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
solo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vienna, Va., USA
Posts: 1,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by regular guy View Post

Great news.

Silly questions from a newbie:

If I buy a PS3, let's say in October, will it already have the new firmware. In other words, as Sony cranks out PS3s, beginning tomorrow, they should have all the new firmwares included, right??

Assuming a buy an earlier version, say a pre-May 2007 version, do I need to only download the "firmware Version 1.80"? Or do I also need to download all earlier firmwares???

Sorry to ask such obvious questions, but I have never had a product that was "future proof" and able to be "improved" via internet. Go Sony!

As soon as you set up networking, the PS3 will automatically prompt to download the latest firmware, which is all you need. You could also download it and install it via flash drive or disc if you don't enable networking right away. One file does it all.

My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!
solo88 is offline  
post #117 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just woke up (today is public holiday here). Firmware 1.8 DOWNLOADING! I will find out soon!

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #118 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1.8 and downloading in the CHICAGO area...come on people!!

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #119 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
MrPorterhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Lake, IN
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updating as we speak.

How do you go low? A SVS PB10-isd and a Cerwin Vega LW-15, that's how I go
Sony 60GB PS3 for Blu-ray Movies
MrPorterhouse is offline  
post #120 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 08:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Jackinbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like it may do upscaling over component for non-protected DVDs. After the update and before the install it mentions that "some DVDs" may not be able to upscale over component. Mine in installing now so I'll now for sure very shortly.
Jackinbox is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off