PS3 to get DVD upscaling by end of the week - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 10:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

ITS UP FOLKS..download

btb and wtw limited or full range

So far upscaling looks very VERY good to me..

Where is this option? i'm still not getting btb... scaling quality looks nice.
cybersoga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
For all you experts out there, somebody needs to clarify various upscaling options & what it does as far as resolution is concerned.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #153 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybersoga View Post

Where is this option? i'm still not getting btb... scaling quality looks nice.


Its in display settings

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #154 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post

For all you experts out there, somebody needs to clarify various upscaling options & what it does as far as resolution is concerned.


For me, full screen & normal are the same. Double shrinks the borders of the image. I'm playing w/s dvds on a w/s tv.

Double may have something to do with Standard vs widescreen dvds/tvs.

You should enable the full range & wtw for the best image.

on ps2 games, normal seems to be 4:3 while full stretches it to 16:9. So if you have a w/s tv, your ps2 games will be boxed in on normal.


I'm playing my SD-DVD version of T3. Looks pretty good!.

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #155 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Super white seems to be about clipping above white... best left on to prevent clipping. In fact this seems to affect clipping below black too. It's the levels switch we've been hoping for.
cybersoga is offline  
post #156 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:08 PM
Member
 
user7800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can PS3 make BDs fullscreen to get rid of the bars, or cant that happen in firmware?
I want that bad, a perfect scale to fullscreen.
user7800 is offline  
post #157 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UxiSXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Uh... you can zoom but that will cut off the sides. You (should) want the presented aspect ration, if not OAR. I am tending to prefer Open Matte nowadays but I'll choose OAR and bars rather than a stretch or zoom.

-- "No matter where you go, there you are."

SXRD/Denon/Polk/PS3/360/WiiU
Blu-ray bliss
SXRD Owner's Thread
PSN: Uxi

UxiSXRD is offline  
post #158 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:27 PM
Member
 
user7800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by UxiSXRD View Post

Uh... you can zoom but that will cut off the sides. You (should) want the presented aspect ration, if not OAR. I am tending to prefer Open Matte nowadays but I'll choose OAR and bars rather than a stretch or zoom.

You mean with a tv, or PS3 does the zoom?


I want it because of burn in, I had 4x3 bars burned in a LCD because contrast was to high, but the tv pic only gets a good 3d pop when almost maxed
+ if they could do it good its just a bigger pic that only eagle eyes would notice a downgrade, and you could choice to have it on or off.
user7800 is offline  
post #159 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SirDrexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackinbox View Post

Just checked the bonus features on Million Dollar Baby Blu-Ray. Even those are still 480p over component (and still stretched).

There must not be any upscaling whatsoever over component for anything unless I'm missing something in the settings.

I really wish I could get it to windowbox 4:3 material like my Oppo does.

It's the same over HDMI. The upscaling only affects DVDs, and then only over HDMI. I also wish it could windowbox 4:3 SD material on BDs.

I haven't tried a PS2 game yet, but could the "Double" setting mean that it just doubles the pixels across and down rather than smoothly scaling? So, if a game was 640x480 it would double to 1280x960 with black filling in the rest of the screen?
SirDrexl is offline  
post #160 of 172 Old 05-23-2007, 11:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDrexl View Post

It's the same over HDMI. The upscaling only affects DVDs, and then only over HDMI. I also wish it could windowbox 4:3 SD material on BDs.

I haven't tried a PS2 game yet, but could the "Double" setting mean that it just doubles the pixels across and down rather than smoothly scaling? So, if a game was 640x480 it would double to 1280x960 with black filling in the rest of the screen?

Does the normal setting windowbox it?

Basically, all my settings display it at 1080p. normal and full are the same (probably because w/s tv, w/s dvd). Double boxes the image in on all 4 sides.

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #161 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_six_pack View Post

For me, full screen & normal are the same. Double shrinks the borders of the image. I'm playing w/s dvds on a w/s tv.

Double may have something to do with Standard vs widescreen dvds/tvs.

You should enable the full range & wtw for the best image.

on ps2 games, normal seems to be 4:3 while full stretches it to 16:9. So if you have a w/s tv, your ps2 games will be boxed in on normal.


I'm playing my SD-DVD version of T3. Looks pretty good!.

IS this the case with 16:9 PS2 games as well as 4:3 PS2 games - or do you have to flip between normal (for 4:3) and full (for 16:9) depending on the game?
sneals2000 is offline  
post #162 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 View Post

IS this the case with 16:9 PS2 games as well as 4:3 PS2 games - or do you have to flip between normal (for 4:3) and full (for 16:9) depending on the game?




FFXII is 4:3, therefore you have to flip to full to stretch it.

If it's a 16:9 game (which I think GOWII is), it should just stay 16:9 regardless of your option for normal or full. If you want a 16:9 game to go to 4:3, you may have to use your tv settings. Note that I don't have any 16:9 ps2 games. Confirmation would be nice.

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #163 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 12:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Padriac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_six_pack View Post

FFXII is 4:3, therefore you have to flip to full to stretch it.

If it's a 16:9 game (which I think GOWII is), it should just stay 16:9 regardless of your option for normal or full. If you want a 16:9 game to go to 4:3, you may have to use your tv settings. Note that I don't have any 16:9 ps2 games. Confirmation would be nice.

No, if you have a 16:9 game and use "normal" it will be squished into 4:3. Basically you have to choose full or normal on a per game basis, depending on if the game is 4:3 or 16:9 (tested with Soul Calibur II and Shadow of the Colossus and Metal Gear 3:Subsistence)
Padriac is offline  
post #164 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sneals2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 7,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Padriac View Post

No, if you have a 16:9 game and use "normal" it will be squished into 4:3. Basically you have to choose full or normal on a per game basis, depending on if the game is 4:3 or 16:9 (tested with Soul Calibur II and Shadow of the Colossus and Metal Gear 3:Subsistence)

Cheers - thinking about it there may be no way for the PS2 games to flag what ratio they are working in - as the pixel structure is the same for both ratios (720x576 or 720x480 I imagine?) with non-square pixels. ISTR that in the UK the SCART connection doesn't flag the aspect ratio - unlike DVD players and TV set-top boxes that do - and you always had to manually flip your TV aspect ratio. Now instead of screen ratio flipping we need to flip in the PS3. Not a biggie.
sneals2000 is offline  
post #165 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Jimmy Nugent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this update only available via the network? Sony's website still has 1.7 as the current firmware upgrade.

I'm still using dial-up at home, so a network connection is not a viable option for me. Has anyone found this update on Sony's site?

Jimmy
Jimmy Nugent is offline  
post #166 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Gradthrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy Nugent View Post

Is this update only available via the network? Sony's website still has 1.7 as the current firmware upgrade.

I'm still using dial-up at home, so a network connection is not a viable option for me. Has anyone found this update on Sony's site?

Jimmy

The Offical (NA) Playstation site doesn't typically show new firmware updates until about 12 - 24 hours after the network release.
Gradthrawn is offline  
post #167 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 05:39 AM
Member
 
Jimmy Nugent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Grad- I'll keep checking...
Jimmy Nugent is offline  
post #168 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Headspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PS3 gives you the option of 1080i playback and most of us I assume select it even if we have only 720P capable TV's. While PS3 games and Blueray look outstanding regardless, the question is what picture resolution are we 720P owners getting then? Hopefully Sony will offer the 720P firmware fix.
Headspace is offline  
post #169 of 172 Old 05-24-2007, 10:47 PM
Member
 
seymouru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
seymouru is offline  
post #170 of 172 Old 05-25-2007, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Jimmy Nugent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the link seymour-

I downloaded the update from the official site today, but, despite following the instructions to the letter, my ps3 doesn't see the upgrade on my usb flash drive and therefore will not install it... I'm at a loss.

Maybe I'll take the unit to a friends house who has a high speed connection and try it directly through the network...

Jimmy
Jimmy Nugent is offline  
post #171 of 172 Old 05-25-2007, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Headspace View Post

The PS3 gives you the option of 1080i playback and most of us I assume select it even if we have only 720P capable TV's. While PS3 games and Blueray look outstanding regardless, the question is what picture resolution are we 720P owners getting then? Hopefully Sony will offer the 720P firmware fix.

'

??? If you feed a 720P machine a 1080i signal it just scales it to 720p. Every single 720p projector owner watches 1080i/p material with no problems.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #172 of 172 Old 05-26-2007, 05:29 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Now that 1.8 is out, let's move the discussion to the Master 1.8 thread so those with issues won't have to look all over the board to find them. Discussions involving BD movie playback go in the master thread in this forum. Discussions involving other 1.8 features and functions should go in the gaming forums.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off