PS3 Firmware 1.8 Update Master Discussion Thread; POST ALL 1.8 COMMENTS HERE - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 534 Old 06-19-2007, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dave Vaughn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 4,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 100
It isn't likely that it is the cable. All my HDMI sources run through my Denon 4806CI set to passthrough (audio stripped only) and run straight to the JVC 1080p projector. This doesn't happen with any other sources and just started with the 1.81 update. Durning Deja Vu, it happened about 6 times in all.

David Vaughn

Blu-ray Reviewer / Technical Writer

Sound & Vision Magazine (Print & Online)

Dave Vaughn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 534 Old 06-19-2007, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joevfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
heres a good read for you guys, its an interview with two of the sarftware engineers of the PS3 firware. they talk alot about 1.81 and the upconversion feature and more

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.ph...entry588627932
joevfx is offline  
post #363 of 534 Old 06-19-2007, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
dominica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joevfx View Post

heres a good read for you guys, its an interview with two of the sarftware engineers of the PS3 firware. they talk alot about 1.81 and the upconversion feature and more

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.ph...entry588627932


Very good and interesting Read.
dominica is offline  
post #364 of 534 Old 06-19-2007, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Just got done reading that, pretty cool and there still not done tweeking it and making it better.

Question: I still have the 1.80 upgrade, is it best to download the 1.81 or wait? I heard the 1.81 causes an issue with black levels and I am using a large screen with an FP...
Garman is offline  
post #365 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whippersnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This really doesn't relate to the 1.8 firmware update, but it sure leaves me anticipating further PS 3 firmware updates. Love my PS3!!

http://www.next-gen.biz/index.php?op...=6077&Itemid=2
whippersnapper is offline  
post #366 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
surap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A fanless PS3 in the future? That would mean that I could enjoy 24/96 sound in a almost silent Home Theater. That would be nice....
surap is offline  
post #367 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 47
This might be a old question but is the PS3 using HDMI 1.3?? Tech guy just told me that the BDP-S300 wasn't and none of any current Sony's products use HDMI 1.3 yet.. Also how important is 1.3? Thanks........
Garman is offline  
post #368 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
The manual/specs of my PS3 says 1.3 and Deep Color.

Why using other people's TV settings is a
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cyberbri is offline  
post #369 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 47
cyberbri: The the tech people don't have a flipping clue... Orginally the BDP-300 stated it was 1.3 HDMI but now people are saying it is 1.1...
Garman is offline  
post #370 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Collier View Post

I guess we can all take this as verification then (?) that, for those without HDMI receivers, Blu-rays playing on a PS3 can output picture up to full 1080p/24 on HDMI and digital audio such as DD or DTS 5.1 on optical?

This would be enough for me; I don't currently have an upgrade path for my AV pre.
(Sony Pearl, Linn Kinos)

Absolutely this works. Mine is running this way.

BB
Brandon B is offline  
post #371 of 534 Old 06-20-2007, 11:29 PM
Newbie
 
kiwiboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else found that since upgrading to firmware 1.81, they can no longer see BTB via RGB on their display?

With 1.80, my front projector was happily displaying the BTB bar on the Casino Royale test pattern as long as I specified Blu-Ray playback using RGB from the PS3 - but since upgrading to 1.81, I can't get it to display this bar anymore ...
kiwiboy is offline  
post #372 of 534 Old 06-21-2007, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay_Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1.81 does nos not pass BTB in RGB mode. Full mode just stretches the standard color range. There's is no equivalent to "superwhite mode".
Jay_Davis is offline  
post #373 of 534 Old 06-21-2007, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
well if it can't pass BTB in RGB mode then i just won't hook up my ethernet cable for the update until they fix this...argh
oleus is offline  
post #374 of 534 Old 06-21-2007, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garman View Post

This might be a old question but is the PS3 using HDMI 1.3?? Tech guy just told me that the BDP-S300 wasn't and none of any current Sony's products use HDMI 1.3 yet.. Also how important is 1.3? Thanks........

HDMI 1.3 only matter is you have an AVR and display that support it. Currently the ps3 does have 1.3 hdmi hardware, but the software features are not all there, read the main ps3 thread for more details.

How important is it? Personally I don't think it's important till HD-DVD and BD discs have support for it (which both specs don't have any requirements or specs to optionally enable), so I'm not sure what your deep color source will be. After that, you will need to invest in the appropriate AVR and Display.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #375 of 534 Old 06-22-2007, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleus View Post

well if it can't pass BTB in RGB mode then i just won't hook up my ethernet cable for the update until they fix this...argh

After some playing around with my updated (1.81) PS3 I find that in YcBCr output mode it passes BTB and with super white turned on passes WTW. This would seem to be the best mode to operate the PS3 with most HDTVs since this eliminates the PS3 needing to convert the recorded video info into RGB as well as supporting the BTB and WTW info (that is useful for calibrating the connected HDTV display).

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #376 of 534 Old 06-22-2007, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
so for those of us using projectors or displays that can't accept YcBCr, we're left without the ability to pass BTB???
oleus is offline  
post #377 of 534 Old 06-22-2007, 05:45 PM
Member
 
sjyang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleus View Post

so for those of us using projectors or displays that can't accept YcBCr, we're left without the ability to pass BTB???

Oleus:

I tried one of the tips above on my PS3 (Firmware 1.8.1) and it is now passing BTB. I'm using a HDMI-DVI connection on a Samsung HLN series.

Select:

RGB Limited
Superwhite On

I can clearly see the difference between RGB Full and Limited. BTB is not passed on Full. I used a THX Optimizer suite to test that this works.

Hope that works for you.

sjyang
sjyang is offline  
post #378 of 534 Old 06-23-2007, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
krholmberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my PS3 hooked up to an RS1. I should be able to pass YcBCr (with superwhite on) via HDMI without any problems, right? I don't think there any benefit to using RGP limited with superwhite on since I'm not using DVI or component. Am I correct?

Krister
krholmberg is offline  
post #379 of 534 Old 06-23-2007, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by krholmberg View Post

I have my PS3 hooked up to an RS1. I should be able to pass YcBCr (with superwhite on) via HDMI without any problems, right? I don't think there any benefit to using RGP limited with superwhite on since I'm not using DVI or component. Am I correct?

Yes.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #380 of 534 Old 06-23-2007, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjyang View Post

Oleus:

I tried one of the tips above on my PS3 (Firmware 1.8.1) and it is now passing BTB. I'm using a HDMI-DVI connection on a Samsung HLN series.

Select:

RGB Limited
Superwhite On

I can clearly see the difference between RGB Full and Limited. BTB is not passed on Full. I used a THX Optimizer suite to test that this works.

Hope that works for you.

sjyang


strange....i'll try a THX disc later (i think i only have them on SD though), but using the CASINO ROYALE and BLACKHAWK DOWN test screens with the pluge test, i can no longer see the BTB info.....

i am using a dvi-hdmi cable, and i switched to RGB LIMITED and SUPERWHITE ON....still could not see the BTB bar anymore.

so for some of us 1.8.1 has indeed taken away the ability to pass BTB.....it used to for me, not anymore.
oleus is offline  
post #381 of 534 Old 06-23-2007, 05:08 PM
Member
 
antidata27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ummmm.....Correct me if I'm wrong, folks, but if RGB full is simply taking RGB 16-235 and scaling it to RGB 0-255 then BTB is there. You just won't notice it because RGBs in the vicinity of 16 are being scaled down to 0. I'm still at a loss as to the usefulness of RGB full.
antidata27 is offline  
post #382 of 534 Old 06-24-2007, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,862
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by antidata27 View Post

Ummmm.....Correct me if I'm wrong, folks, but if RGB full is simply taking RGB 16-235 and scaling it to RGB 0-255 then BTB is there. You just won't notice it because RGBs in the vicinity of 16 are being scaled down to 0. I'm still at a loss as to the usefulness of RGB full.

If that is the way that "RGB Full" is working then the only use that I can think of would be when connecting the PS3 to a computer monitor (or any display configured to operate as a computer monitor) via a HDMI to DVI cable. Computer monitors, when connected to the source via DVI, are intended to have 0 represent black and 255 represent white.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #383 of 534 Old 06-24-2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
camchow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
enjoy watching blue ray using ps3.
pic was very good on my tv
what the difference between the ycbcr and RGB
and what about the 1080/60 and 1080/24 means ?
which is better when watching blue ray
camchow is offline  
post #384 of 534 Old 06-24-2007, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
even though my ps3 can no longer pass BTB on my setup, my BD discs look exactly the same as before the last update so i am not gonna sweat it. even before the update i could only see the BTB bars on Casino Royale and Blackhawk Down's setup screens, no other Sony discs. but as long as my movies are still looking good i am not going to worry about this. At least i was able to calibrate to the pluge pattern before i lost the ability to see it properly!! i am just curious as to what exactly it was in this last update that changed this for me....

(PS - i am using a 720p projector but have found that ouputting 1080p has a superior image, so I have to assume my projector is doing a better job of downconverting to 720p than my PS3...)
oleus is offline  
post #385 of 534 Old 06-26-2007, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
Kurosaki Ichigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware 1.82

Posted by Eric Lempel // Director, PlayStation Network Operations

Quote:


Hey everyone, you told us you wanted to hear about updates a few days in advance, so here's a quick heads up that we have a PS3 firmware update in the works. Scheduled for release in the next few days, firmware 1.82 is an update that enables the playback of AVC High Profile (H.264/MPEG-4) files. As most of you know, these are high quality files that you'll now be able to play on your PS3. Hopefully this update is moving us closer to the audio playback features many of you commented about in my post the other week. We're continuing to evaluate and improve things across the board, including PS2 software compatibility. I'll chime in here quickly with an update once the firmware is live and ready. Thanks for all of your support and feedback, keep it coming!

Source: PlayStation.Blog
Kurosaki Ichigo is offline  
post #386 of 534 Old 06-26-2007, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think at the moment the major issue is container (ts, avi, mkv, mov etc) support, meaning better "demuxer" performace. All these codec support is useless if the container can not be played. I hope more is coming.

And please, enable bitstream (AC3/DD, DTS, AAC etc) passthrough in XMB file playback mode! Thanks in advance.

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #387 of 534 Old 06-27-2007, 11:54 AM
Member
 
TREVLAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,

Quick question I foudn out how and where to change the RGB but how do I change it to FULL or limited?
and also the SUPER WHITE to ON?
I can not find these options am i missing something?
I have the 1.80 update.

thanks in advanced for any help
TREVLAN is offline  
post #388 of 534 Old 06-27-2007, 01:36 PM
Senior Member
 
VeeArSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TREVLAN View Post

Hi there,

Quick question I foudn out how and where to change the RGB but how do I change it to FULL or limited?
and also the SUPER WHITE to ON?
I can not find these options am i missing something?
I have the 1.80 update.

thanks in advanced for any help

I think it's in the Display settings. you should probably update to 1.81.

Xbox Live: ChestR0ckWell23 (that's a zero after the R)
PSN: VeeArSix
VeeArSix is offline  
post #389 of 534 Old 06-27-2007, 06:49 PM
Member
 
TREVLAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ha i went to DL 1.81 and the new 1.82 is available so looks like i'm going to the next level

also can someone explain to me what "BTB" stands for?
thanks
TREVLAN is offline  
post #390 of 534 Old 06-27-2007, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
BTB is "blacker than black." Black in "video" is at level 16 out of 0-255 possible levels of gradation, with white being at 235. So Video is 16-235. However PCs operate using the full 0-255 range. If you see a screenshot of a DVD on a PC monitor, the blacks will be noticeably grey if the levels are kept as-is, making the whole picture look a little washed out.

Checking for BTB is checking to see whether an output device is properly "passing" information below 16 encoded in the material. It won't be seen on-screen with a properly calibrated display, but the information helps the display re-create the signal.

Why using other people's TV settings is a
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cyberbri is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off