PS3 Firmware 1.8 Update Master Discussion Thread; POST ALL 1.8 COMMENTS HERE - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 251
I've closed all of the other 1.8 firmware threads. Let's keep it all in one place so members don't have to fish all over the board for information on this update.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donricouga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok sounds good.

anyhow, this is what i wanted to know

under the documentation for Super White over HDMI it states the following
Quote:
[Automatic]* or [Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr] must be selected in [BD/DVD Video Output Format (HDMI)] under (Settings) > (BD/DVD Settings).


So if we want to use the RGB Full as well, we should leave the display settings to automatic ?
donricouga is offline  
post #3 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:08 PM
Member
 
erasat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by donricouga View Post

ok sounds good.

anyhow, this is what i wanted to know

under the documentation for Super White over HDMI it states the following
Quote:
[Automatic]* or [Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr] must be selected in [BD/DVD Video Output Format (HDMI)] under (Settings) > (BD/DVD Settings).


So if we want to use the RGB Full as well, we should leave the display settings to automatic ?

YES. That's what I will change once I get home, as I was browsing this morning when downloaded the Update and changed a couple of things.
erasat is offline  
post #4 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Iggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: signal hill, cali
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
certainly a big improvement in upconversion but still needs a little adjustment

oh yah my bd playback even when set to full looks the same

and whats up with people saying the fans are louder now? is that true? i havent watched a whole movie on it yet since the update but last night it was the same as loud while i tested back to the future and gone in 60 seconds and pirates for a little while
Iggster is online now  
post #5 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Monty22001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There seems to be some bugs. Sometimes I get a black border on my Samsung HLS around the picture if I change some settings, especially to Double upscale.

Y Pc/Bp looks a lot better with superwhite on, than RGB does at all. RGB looks quite washed out, but I suppose that's how it is.

Overall though the picture looks great with upscaler set to Normal, format to Y Pb/Cb and superwhite and RGB full both on.
Monty22001 is offline  
post #6 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:09 PM
Member
 
nickelplayer6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anybody recommend the best settings for a ps3 connected to a panny 42px60u plasma via hdmi?
nickelplayer6 is offline  
post #7 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ettepet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some people complained about excessive fan noise after their upgrade to 1.8.

Does the new 1080p24 compatibility mode already cause more fan noise, or is it caused by upscaling?
Ettepet is offline  
post #8 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jwv651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here...I have my PS3 hooked up to a 2005 JVC 70" 1080p with HDMI my set does not except a 1080p input it upscales to 1080p...so do I leave it on Auto or should I put it on RGB?

Joe V.
jwv651 is offline  
post #9 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xbdestroya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess nine stickies wasn't enough.
xbdestroya is offline  
post #10 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:14 PM
Member
 
roaringLION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For all those with component setup's.

1. Does the PS3 up-convert DVD's to 720p or 1080i (For non-copy protected DVD's)?

2. Does the PS3 up-convert PS/PS2 games to 720p or 1080i via component?

3. Does RGB or Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr relate to component at all? (The Playstation FAQ states these options are just for HDMI)

4. Which is better (by opinion) 720p or 1080i for Blu-ray?
roaringLION is offline  
post #11 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:14 PM
Member
 
joshmanley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just started this tread about the 1.80 update and streaming media...

MY TVERCITY THREAD

I'll be where I'm at!

PS3: Manley23
joshmanley is offline  
post #12 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Too bad the update doesn't allow the PS3 to pass DSD to the receiver. I was hoping to circumvent the LFE bug on my receiver.

If my understanding is correct, this new "bitmapping" feature is some sort of noise reduction for SACD's? Did we really need it?

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #13 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donricouga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We should have started a thread based on the important 1.8 upgrades. As this thread is going to get messy real quick

-One for 1080p@24Hz
-One for DVD upscaling
-One for RGB Full and Super White over HDMI
-One for that networking thing
-One for everything else.

Anyhow, i suggest for people who have a TV that only supports 60Hz, like my hl-s5087w, turn off 1080p24 support. You don't need it because its useless for us.
donricouga is offline  
post #14 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Bley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL. USA
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by roaringLION View Post

For all those with component setup's.

1. Does the PS3 up-convert DVD's to 720p or 1080i (For non-copy protected DVD's)?

2. Does the PS3 up-convert PS/PS2 games to 720p or 1080i via component?

3. Does RGB or Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr relate to component at all? (The Playstation FAQ states these options are just for HDMI)

4. Which is better (by opinion) 720p or 1080i for Blu-ray?

I believe you have to use hdmi to your display to get upscaling to work. If your using component it will not work.
Tom Bley is offline  
post #15 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
donricouga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWL5 View Post

Too bad the update doesn't allow the PS3 to pass DSD to the receiver. I was hoping to circumvent the LFE bug on my receiver.

If my understanding is correct, this new "bitmapping" feature is some sort of noise reduction for SACD's? Did we really need it?

Correct, all it does is use dithering to reduce noise or distortion
donricouga is offline  
post #16 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
Shakey_Jake33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post

I believe you have to use hdmi to your display to get upscaling to work. If your using component it will not work.

According to the Sony page, discs which are not copy protected will upscale.
Shakey_Jake33 is offline  
post #17 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I preffer the picture of my Pioneer DV-59AVi (1080i upscale over HDMI) to PS3 with upscaling. It looks sharper. I calibrated PS3 using Sony Blu-Ray disc but watching my test DVDs colors looked somewhat shifted. I will check tonight to see if calibration with AVIA/DV Essentials will make a difference.
1080/24p is awesome as well for those with compatible sets. Picture viewer update is pretty nice one too. I haven't tried using networking features yet, but it looks promising (though I doubt I will be able to watch MPEG2 .ts captures).

couple of things I wish they had fixed:
1) DTS HD-MA support
2) full HDMI 1.3 support for DTS HD-MA and Dolby TrueHD bitstream
3)MPEG2 .ts support (was working prior to 1.6 fw upgrade)
4)DIVX, XVID... support

Great job Sony. Keep up with the excellent upgrades.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #18 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post

I've closed all of the other 1.8 firmware threads. Let's keep it all in one place so members don't have to fish all over the board for information on this update.

Doc

I agree with donricouga, since the update affects a number of different functions, it would be better to keep separate threads. Anyway, do you remember what happened to the One and only PS3 thread? Same will happen here.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #19 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bley View Post

I believe you have to use hdmi to your display to get upscaling to work. If your using component it will not work.

I had no problem with upconversion to 1080i using component video.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #20 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Shakey_Jake33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpaxadpom View Post

3)MPEG2 .ts support (was working prior to 1.6 fw upgrade)

Is this actually officially broken as of 1.7?
I did try to play some .ts files from my PC and the PS3 couldn't find them, I assumed it simply wouldn't play them over network stream.
Shakey_Jake33 is offline  
post #21 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:35 PM
Newbie
 
everaert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got a quick one:

I have my PS3 hooked up to my TV via HDMI to DVI adapter (my set does not support HDMI). Am I out of luck for the new 1.8 update? I know the HDMI connection somehow relates to content protection on movies, and I'm worried I won't be able to enjoy the boost in resolution for my flicks.

Thanks in advance.

PSN Id: EVERAERT
everaert is offline  
post #22 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EWL5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by everaert View Post

I've got a quick one:

I have my PS3 hooked up to my TV via HDMI to DVI adapter (my set does not support HDMI). Am I out of luck for the new 1.8 update? I know the HDMI connection somehow relates to content protection on movies, and I'm worried I won't be able to enjoy the boost in resolution for my flicks.

Thanks in advance.

As long as your DVI display is DVI-HDCP compliant, you should be good to go.

Pioneer broke my heart.
Denon broke my wallet.
Oppo broke my thinking.
EWL5 is offline  
post #23 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:40 PM
Newbie
 
Shakey_Jake33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by everaert View Post

I've got a quick one:

I have my PS3 hooked up to my TV via HDMI to DVI adapter (my set does not support HDMI). Am I out of luck for the new 1.8 update? I know the HDMI connection somehow relates to content protection on movies, and I'm worried I won't be able to enjoy the boost in resolution for my flicks.

Thanks in advance.

It's more about whether or not your DVI port supports HDCP.

Even if it doesn't, you'll at the very least have the same level of functionality as people using Component, and we know everything works over Component (maybe not the DVD upscaling).

DVI also doesn't support YCpCr, but that should be no problem as it will simply display as RGB.
Shakey_Jake33 is offline  
post #24 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakey_Jake33 View Post

Is this actually officially broken as of 1.7?
I did try to play some .ts files from my PC and the PS3 couldn't find them, I assumed it simply wouldn't play them over network stream.

The switch to 1.80 created problems for about 5-8% of my Mpeg-2 PS files that played great with 1.7. Suddenly all I get is a black screen with some of the files.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #25 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Vizunary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roaringLION View Post

For all those with component setup's.

1. Does the PS3 up-convert DVD's to 720p or 1080i (For non-copy protected DVD's)?

2. Does the PS3 up-convert PS/PS2 games to 720p or 1080i via component?

3. Does RGB or Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr relate to component at all? (The Playstation FAQ states these options are just for HDMI)

4. Which is better (by opinion) 720p or 1080i for Blu-ray?

1. up to 1080p through HDMI, no upscaling over analog inputs.

2. PSX/PS2 games will scale up to 1080p through ANY HD input.

3. I have no idea sorry

4. I think it would depend on the film, heavy action/fast moving flicks like Crank would benefit from being progressive, but slower films like The Queen the higher resolution would probably look better.

BTW, when I state "up to" that means 720p/1080i/1080p, hope this helps

ViZuNaRy

3D Blu-ray... Better than real life!
Vizunary is online now  
post #26 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 12:52 PM
Member
 
whitefox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HELP! I installled the update and dvd and BD playback looks even better now with my Panasonic AE500 projector (using HDMI/DVI converter), but I'm now having problems playing any ps2 games at all!

Basically, when I pop in a ps2 game, my projector (or maybe the ps3?) seems to flicker and try to resolve something as the DVI words keep flashing up and I get a blue screen for a sec and then black and it recycles doing this. Is there a setting I need to turn off or on? I've tried every setting I can think of but nothing works. I presently have max resolution in display settings at 480 and 720p checked.
whitefox is offline  
post #27 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Correct 4:3 upscalling is terrific. My recorded DVD-R SD material looks great using this feature.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #28 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 01:16 PM
Member
 
ban25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EWL5 View Post

As long as your DVI display is DVI-HDCP compliant, you should be good to go.

It is -- otherwise he wouldn't even get a picture.
ban25 is offline  
post #29 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
tpaxadpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakey_Jake33 View Post

Is this actually officially broken as of 1.7?
I did try to play some .ts files from my PC and the PS3 couldn't find them, I assumed it simply wouldn't play them over network stream.

It was broken with 1.6 fw update.
tpaxadpom is offline  
post #30 of 534 Old 05-24-2007, 01:31 PM
Member
 
bobcatmvp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone compare this to the Toshiba HD-XA2 upscaling?
bobcatmvp1 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off