Official Sony Bdp-300/301 Owners Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 03:17 AM
Newbie
 
FXSTBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesno View Post

any word on the update to the firmware yet for the java titles like pirates? Is there, in fact, an update out already?

I called Sony and they are sending me the latest firmware, version 2.0, but when I checked the version installed in the unit it had version 2.00 installed already. I'm thinking this is not going to be an upgrade for me. I don't have the POTC movies, but I haven't experianced any problems with any of the titles I do have.
FXSTBI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 05:30 AM
jvc
Senior Member
 
jvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazbug View Post

Now we have a few owners, can i get the final answer to this question??

I have a sherwood Newcastle R-965 which has 7.1 ch analogue inputs with full bass management.

Now if i connect the 5.1 analogues from the 300 to the reciever, will i get to hear TrueHD, dts-HD HR (i know MA is a no go yet) at the full bitrates. IE) does this player decode the above sound formats????

thanks

That's what the (overly large) manual indicates. The only disc I have with a new surround mode is First Blood(DTS-HD). Since that is the only one, I did not feel a need to hook it up to the analogs. However, surround sound through coaxial sounds a LOT better than DVD and has far more impact and clarity. I know vidoe bitraes seem to average around 24 mbps.
jvc is offline  
post #183 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
jerseydiplomat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post

is this at a BB store yet. anyone seen it.

maybe this weekend, if not def the 20th should be found at most best buys in limited numbers though
jerseydiplomat is offline  
post #184 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 07:36 AM
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have a region-free PAL DVD they could try?
Robert George is offline  
post #185 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this player, or any other Blu-ray player, support 7.1 PCM output from the HDMI?

I love my HT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #186 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Ramrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up the 300 on Friday. This is my first HD player. Hooked it up via HDMI directly to a 46XBR2. First impression--pretty good, although I only had upconverted SD DVDs and HDTV programming to compare it to. While watching POTC (the only BD disc I have), I was pressing the video format button on the remote which goes through the output modes- 480, 720, 1080i/p etc, and it stopped playing the movie. Anyone else experience this? Maybe it was a fluke, cause I tried it again and it continued playing.
Ramrod is offline  
post #187 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
desmond212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnickersonjr View Post

Does this player, or any other Blu-ray player, support 7.1 PCM output from the HDMI?


yes. only true hd.
desmond212 is offline  
post #188 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 11:33 AM
Newbie
 
FXSTBI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramrod View Post

Picked up the 300 on Friday. This is my first HD player. Hooked it up via HDMI directly to a 46XBR2. First impression--pretty good, although I only had upconverted SD DVDs and HDTV programming to compare it to. While watching POTC (the only BD disc I have), I was pressing the video format button on the remote which goes through the output modes- 480, 720, 1080i/p etc, and it stopped playing the movie. Anyone else experience this? Maybe it was a fluke, cause I tried it again and it continued playing.

I don't have pirates, but I have gone through the output modes durring other movies with no problems.
FXSTBI is offline  
post #189 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 12:48 PM
Newbie
 
Tesno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my local best buy looked up when they could have this in and they said it would be next saturday...a week from today

lets hope
Tesno is offline  
post #190 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 02:23 PM
Member
 
jlangner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BB online has it available now and in stock.

Blu-Ray: 40
Yamaha RX-V663
Sony BDP-S350
jlangner is offline  
post #191 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gandley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pOTC just puts a strain on the chipset. The PS3 flys thru the potC load up but then it has the processing power to do it.

I believe Sigma have new chipset out soon that is 4X faster than these current chipsets. So that should help a fair bit, but then that means waiting for the players with i think revision C chips. Kjack may be able to confirm if hes aloud to.

Dustin
gandley is offline  
post #192 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Ryan T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got an email from Amazon today saying that my S300 has shipped. I'll make sure to report back when I get it. Recently sold my PS3 to go the standalone route, so I should be able to give a pretty good comparison.
Ryan T. is offline  
post #193 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate to bring bad news but the Sony does not decode DTS-HD like the manual said, it sends DTS-ES instead. I thought it did as well when Totall Recall played fine but I didn't bother to check how my receiver recognized it nor how the Sony was sending it. This leads to believe it won't do TrueHD either, anyone got a TrueHD disc to tell. Sorry lparsons my original suspicsions were confirmed, check out the pics.

The disc has a DTS-HD HR option:


This is how the Sony sends it:


This is how the Onkyo TX-SR805 receives it:

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #194 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
rbrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

We are saying the same thing. All BD titles should run great on ALL BD players, especially 2nd Generation players. There is literally no valid excuse for this to be a non-issue. Is it because the specification isn't finalized? Is it because all that BD-J really doesn't work well? Is it because the mfgs and the studios don't communicate well?

Movies produced today should be supported by players mfg'd today PERIOD. This shouldn't have to be said, it is what makes sense.

/rant on
Unfortunately, these kinds of problems are all over CE these days. From BD players with BD-J problems, to HDDVD players having problems with some disks after frequent use, to AVR equipment described one way but really not doing what their own manuals say, heck even what their own tech support says.

Meanwhile, they are all lined up to take our money.
/rant off

I disagree. People line up to GIVE their money
rbrb is offline  
post #195 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

I hate to bring bad news but the Sony does not decode DTS-HD like the manual said, it sends DTS-ES instead. I thought it did as well when Totall Recall played fine but I didn't bother to check how my receiver recognized it nor how the Sony was sending it. This leads to believe it won't do TrueHD either, anyone got a TrueHD disc to tell. Sorry lparsons my original suspicsions were confirmed, check out the pics.

I see your picture, and I would raise you one, but I'm too darn lazy.

On the disk I had with TrueHD, my receiver shows MPCM, not DTE-ES. So I know it does the TrueHD fine.

Further, I have a DVD (Snakes on a Plane) that has DTS-ES Discrete on it, and my reciever shows DTS-ES Discrete, not MPCM.

What I don't know, except with your picture, is what I would see with DTS-HD as I don't have a disk with that on it.

Maybe its that POS Onkyo you own!

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #196 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 05:56 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

I hate to bring bad news but the Sony does not decode DTS-HD like the manual said, it sends DTS-ES instead. I thought it did as well when Totall Recall played fine but I didn't bother to check how my receiver recognized it nor how the Sony was sending it. This leads to believe it won't do TrueHD either, anyone got a TrueHD disc to tell. Sorry lparsons my original suspicsions were confirmed, check out the pics.

I hate it, but your test doesn't prove your point. It proves that the 300 doesn't pass DTS-HD, and the manual says that it doesn't. The manual does say that it decodes it, but that is a little harder to prove.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #197 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

I see your picture, and I would raise you one, but I'm too darn lazy.

On the disk I had with TrueHD, my receiver shows MPCM, not DTE-ES. So I know it does the TrueHD fine.

Further, I have a DVD (Snakes on a Plane) that has DTS-ES Discrete on it, and my reciever shows DTS-ES Discrete, not MPCM.

What I don't know, except with your picture, is what I would see with DTS-HD as I don't have a disk with that on it.

Maybe its that POS Onkyo you own!

Maybe it does to trueHD as the manual says, but doesn't the manual say DTS-HD as well. DTS-ES will be passed as bitstream from Snakes on a plane that's why your receiver recognizes it as such.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #198 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

I hate it, but your test doesn't prove your point. It proves that the 300 doesn't pass DTS-HD, and the manual says that it doesn't. The manual does say that it decodes it, but that is a little harder to prove.

Where does it say that in the manual? The infamous page that everyone keeps referring to in the manual suggests that this player does do TrueHD and DTS-HD. Someone with a trueHD soundtrack take pictures and prove me wrong.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #199 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:07 PM
Senior Member
 
rbrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazbug View Post

Now we have a few owners, can i get the final answer to this question??

I have a sherwood Newcastle R-965 which has 7.1 ch analogue inputs with full bass management.

Now if i connect the 5.1 analogues from the 300 to the reciever, will i get to hear TrueHD, dts-HD HR (i know MA is a no go yet) at the full bitrates. IE) does this player decode the above sound formats????

thanks

I have been waiting for a owner to answer your question. Yes you will be able to listen to and enjoy any audio codec/format that the unit processes now and in the future without having to upgrade to a HDMI equipped receiver via multi channel analog output. Enjoy!
rbrb is offline  
post #200 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:08 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Where does it say that in the manual? The infamous page that everyone keeps referring to in the manual suggests that this player does do TrueHD and DTS-HD. Someone with a trueHD soundtrack take pictures and prove me wrong.

Your 300 is acting exactly like the manual and that chart says it will. If you do what the manual says, you will get TrueHD and DTS-HD.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #201 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Maybe it does to trueHD as the manual says, but doesn't the manual say DTS-HD as well. DTS-ES will be passed as bitstream from Snakes on a plane that's why your receiver recognizes it as such.

It does say DTS-HD in the manual. It also says it sends it out as 7.1 LPCM.

But let me fly this by you. As I'm finding out, LPCM seems to differ depending on source. Is it possible there is a flag or some such being passed in the bitstream to cause the receiver to handle that stream differently? I don't know, just a conjecture...

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #202 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:11 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

It does say DTS-HD in the manual. It also says it sends it out as 7.1 LPCM.

Uh, no it doesn't.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #203 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

Uh, no it doesn't.

That'll teach me to use my failing memory. On page 48 it says that DTS-HD will be passed as LPCM 5.1 IF you select PCM and not AUTO for the HDMI out jack.

If you select AUTO, which is what I think is what happened with that photo, then it passes it out as DTS.

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #204 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

Your 300 is acting exactly like the manual and that chart says it will. If you do what the manual says, you will get TrueHD and DTS-HD.


So the reason I'm not getting DTS-HD is?????????????

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #205 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

It does say DTS-HD in the manual. It also says it sends it out as 7.1 LPCM.

Uh, no it doesn't times 2.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #206 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:21 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

So the reason I'm not getting DTS-HD is?????????????

You need to set it up to send PCM or use the analogs.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #207 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lparsons21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Maybe it does to trueHD as the manual says, but doesn't the manual say DTS-HD as well. DTS-ES will be passed as bitstream from Snakes on a plane that's why your receiver recognizes it as such.

Further reading says, change the HDMI out jack to PCM and then DTS-HD will be sent out as a 5.1 LPCM stream. In AUTO on that jack, it will output DTS, which is what you saw and I think why you saw it.

I hope that this is correct, but I can't check it myself.

Waiting with bated breath!

Lloyd
lparsons21 is offline  
post #208 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lparsons21 View Post

That'll teach me to use my failing memory. On page 48 it says that DTS-HD will be passed as LPCM 5.1 IF you select PCM and not AUTO for the HDMI out jack.

If you select AUTO, which is what I think is what happened with that photo, then it passes it out as DTS.

Auto selects the "best" signal. Selecting PCM just forces DTS to be decoded in the receiver. Can you prove to me that the player is sending DTS-HD rather than DTS. If so, you're right.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #209 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

You need to set it up to send PCM or use the analogs.

So, to you as well, Is there anyway to prove that the player is sending DTS-HD and not DTS? IF so, then you're right as well.

Um, why wouldn't "Auto" do the trick. Auto selects the best method and the last time I checked DTS HD was better than DTS .

So my position is that selecting PCM will get you decoded DTS sent from the player not DTS-HD, as always I could be wrong, but not until it is proven that I am.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #210 of 4494 Old 06-16-2007, 06:26 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You say you have a DYS-HD disc, see what it says.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off