DTS-HD MA and current Receivers/Players - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 207 Old 07-31-2007, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the DTS website you can enjoy Master Audio now...As long as the player and receiver have 1.1 or 1.2 HDMI and a DTS-HD decoder. I was surprised when I read this...

http://www.dts.com/dts-hd/dtshd-mast...g-receiver.php
TheHDMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 207 Old 07-31-2007, 10:30 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I admit that I'm confused.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #3 of 207 Old 07-31-2007, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Krycek7o2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought most players can't decode the DTS-HD MA stream, only extract the core.
Krycek7o2 is offline  
post #4 of 207 Old 07-31-2007, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krycek7o2 View Post

I thought most players can't decode the DTS-HD MA stream, only extract the core.

This is what I've been led to believe from listening to "so-called experts" on this forum, but it appears they were wrong!... I'm going to believe this DTS website myself...
TheHDMan is offline  
post #5 of 207 Old 07-31-2007, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

This is what I've been led to believe from listening to "so-called experts" on this forum, but it appears they were wrong!... I'm going to believe this DTS website myself...

No players can decode it yet... believe what you want.
shamus is offline  
post #6 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 03:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Woof Woof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

According to the DTS website you can enjoy Master Audio now...As long as the player and receiver have 1.1 or 1.2 HDMI and a DTS-HD decoder. I was surprised when I read this...

http://www.dts.com/dts-hd/dtshd-mast...g-receiver.php

You missed this crucial part in yr link

Quote:


You will need a player with a built-in DTS-HD Decoder, and both player and AV Receiver need to include HDMI version 1.1 or 1.2* outputs/inputs.

Woof Woof is offline  
post #7 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wine country CA
Posts: 7,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

This is what I've been led to believe from listening to "so-called experts" on this forum, but it appears they were wrong!... I'm going to believe this DTS website myself...


That will make an "expert" out of you, but first read it carefully.

sent via Morse code...........

The Hun
thehun is offline  
post #8 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
HD Hockey Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I was just on the DTS website and for DTS-HD it says you can use HDMI 1.1 or 1.2, but for the master audio both the player and receiver will need HDMI 1.3

 

50" Samsung Plasma HDTV | Networked Yamaha RX-V573 7.1 AV | BIC DV-32CLR Center | JBL 2600 Mains | Fluance AVBP2 Bi-Pole Surrounds on Soundcast SCS-100 wireless surround | Onkyo SKC-530 Sub | Networked Sony BDP-S590 

 
HD Hockey Guy is offline  
post #9 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My player does have a DTS-HD decoder. Also, the "so called experts" said you must have 1.3 to get MA...Apparantly this is not true. So explain that one...

Read this!

High Definition Player with DTS-HD Decoder to Current AV Receiver

You can enjoy DTS-HD Master Audio and DTS-HD High Resolution Audio if you have a new Blu-ray Disc or HD-DVD player with a DTS-HD Audio decoder built into the player. The audio will be decoded inside the player and passed to the receiver in two different ways.

HDMI 1.1 or 1.2 Connection

In this scenario, the high definition player would output the audio as an uncompressed 6 to 8 channel linear PCM digital audio stream. You will need a player with a built-in DTS-HD Decoder, and both player and AV Receiver need to include HDMI version 1.1 or 1.2* outputs/inputs. HDMI stands for High Definition Multimedia Interface, and is a single-cable connection designed to accommodate digital multi channel audio and video. Simply connect the HDMI cable from the output of the player to the HDMI input of the AV Receiver. The DTS decoder inside the AV Receiver will "ignore" the Linear PCM stream and pass the audio stream on to your receiver's digital-to-analog converters and then on to the 5.1 or 7.1 amplifier. This way you can enjoy DTS-HD Master Audio that is a bit-for-bit identical to the studio master.
TheHDMan is offline  
post #10 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD Hockey Guy View Post

I was just on the DTS website and for DTS-HD it says you can use HDMI 1.1 or 1.2, but for the master audio both the player and receiver will need HDMI 1.3

It does not say that.
TheHDMan is offline  
post #11 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,684
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

My player does have a DTS-HD decoder.

Then you must have demonstrated for yourself that it can't decode Master Audio, despite what the DTS website says.

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #12 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 08:34 AM
Senior Member
 
vvista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: HD Heaven
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

My player does have a DTS-HD decoder. Also, the "so called experts" said you must have 1.3 to get MA...Apparantly this is not true. So explain that one...

Which player do you have? Thanks!
vvista is offline  
post #13 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay_Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No current players can decode or pass DTS-HD MA.

You might want to also see the posts in this thread for how to get other lossless formats:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post11186394
Jay_Davis is offline  
post #14 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_Davis View Post

No current players can decode or pass DTS-HD MA.

You might want to also see the posts in this thread for how to get other lossless formats:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post11186394

No thank you, This web site explains it perfectly clear... Maybe you should read it...

http://www.dts.com/dts-hd/dtshd-mast...g-receiver.php
TheHDMan is offline  
post #15 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All this article tells us is that HDMI 1.1 and HDMI 1.2 will handle 6 to 8 channel LPCM. Something we already know. No "experts" ever claimed you had to have HDMI 1.3 to get DTS-HD-MA. What they have said is you need HDMI 1.3 (and more specifically the SiL9134 semiconductor) to pass DTS-HD-MA as bitstream.

Grrrr... another case of misinterpretation of DTS-HD-MA.
No wonder there are 10 threads about this on the front page from confused consumers.

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #16 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 02:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,684
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessGuru View Post

Grrrr... another case of misinterpretation of DTS-HD-MA.

The DTS page that the OP linked to says you can decode DTS-HD MA with a DTS-HD decoder (doesn't specify needing a MA decoder). Of course that's not true, but the OP refuses to believe otherwise.

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #17 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DTS website says, "You can enjoy DTS-HD Master Audio AND DTS-HD High Resolution Audio if you have a new Blu-ray Disc or HD-DVD player with a DTS-HD Audio decoder built into the player."...They have to be talking about the current players on the market. This has to mean a regular DTS-HD decoder because I know I am getting DTS-HD high resolution, and the site say's , "You can enjoy DTS-HD Master Audio "AND" DTS-HD High Resolution Audio" with the setup. I personally can't see any other way to decipher this.
TheHDMan is offline  
post #18 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 03:56 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post

The DTS page that the OP linked to says you can decode DTS-HD MA with a DTS-HD decoder (doesn't specify needing a MA decoder). Of course that's not true, but the OP refuses to believe otherwise.

Sanjay

Well, DTS seems to think it's true. What do you have to prove they are incorrect?
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #19 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys...That link is not working now...I bet they screwed it up and are fixing it?...Jesus!...EVEN DTS can't get this right!....
TheHDMan is offline  
post #20 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, never mind...it Is working!...That link is still up and running. I'm going to call them..
TheHDMan is offline  
post #21 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to DTS, this article is 100% correct and you "can" listen to MA with a current player and receiver if hooked up as stated. If the Blu-Ray/ HD-DVD player does DTS-HD or has that logo on it, then you can listen to MA.

http://www.dts.com/dts-hd/dtshd-mast...g-receiver.php
TheHDMan is offline  
post #22 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 05:03 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just damn!
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #23 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHDMan View Post

According to DTS, this article is 100% correct and you "can" listen to MA with a current player and receiver if hooked up as stated. If the Blu-Ray/ HD-DVD player does DTS-HD or has that logo on it, then you can listen to MA.

http://www.dts.com/dts-hd/dtshd-mast...g-receiver.php

OK... I'll bite. Assuming this is indeed true. My question is, what existing players decode DTS-HD? Many players pass on the DTS legacy core. But which can "decode" DTS-HD or which have the DTS-HD logo?

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #24 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 05:55 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessGuru View Post

OK... I'll bite. Assuming this is indeed true. My question is, what existing players decode DTS-HD? Many players pass on the DTS legacy core. But which can "decode" DTS-HD or which have the DTS-HD logo?

Several seem to be able to have the firmware updated to do so, and the Denons and the Denon amps can do it. However, that is off topic. We have been told for months that it required an MA capable processor to do it. DTS is saying that present players can do it (with the HD upgrade).
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #25 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

Several seem to be able to have the firmware updated to do so, and the Denons and the Denon amps can do it.

I know Onkyo, Pioneer, and Denon have receivers that do it, but there seems to be future issues with outputting bitstream from players with the advanced authoring needed to mix dual tracks for IME.

My question is which PLAYERS can decode DTS-HD. Isn't this what we have been discussing all along? No players can decode DTS-HD-MA. Isn't DTS-HD the same decoding process it is just a compressed format? I'm not sure what the revelation behind this article is. I see nothing new here. DTS-HD and DTS-HD-MA cannot currently be decoded by any players.

Am I missing the krux of this thread discussion?

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #26 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 06:06 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessGuru View Post

I know Onkyo, Pioneer, and Denon have receivers that do it, but there seems to be future issues with outputting bitstream from players with the advanced authoring needed to mix dual tracks for IME.

My question is which PLAYERS can decode DTS-HD. Isn't this what we have been discussing all along? No players can decode DTS-HD-MA. Isn't DTS-HD the same decoding process it is just a compressed format? I'm not sure what the revalation behind this article is. I see nothing new here. DTS-HD and DTS-HD-MA cannot currently be decoded by any players.

Am I missing the krux of this thread discussion?

I guess the thing in question is that HD and MA seem to be the same according to DTS. We have been told here that they are different and require different chips than are presently in players. DTS seems to contradict that.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #27 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 06:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sdurani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Monterey Park, CA
Posts: 19,684
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1275 Post(s)
Liked: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

Well, DTS seems to think it's true. What do you have to prove they are incorrect?

The fact that none of the players can decode the MA extension packet.

Sanjay

Sanjay
sdurani is offline  
post #28 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 06:25 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdurani View Post

The fact that none of the players can decode the MA extension packet.

Sanjay

You saying it doesn't make it true. DTS says HD decoders will do it. They may be lying, but I have to trust the developer before some guy on a forum. If you actually have proof, please let us see it.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
post #29 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sisko197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slim GoodBooty View Post

You saying it doesn't make it true. DTS says HD decoders will do it. They may be lying, but I have to trust the developer before some guy on a forum. If you actually have proof, please let us see it.


Didn't the guys who developed the chipset being used in current players state uncategorically that DTS HD MA required too much bandwidth for CURRENT hardware? I trust the guy building the hardware to decode this stream more than I trust a PR website.

I don't see any reason why he would lie. I also see no reason for manufacturers to be coy about a feature on their hardware if in fact that hardware were capable of it. But believe what you like.
Sisko197 is offline  
post #30 of 207 Old 08-01-2007, 07:48 PM
 
Slim GoodBooty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisko197 View Post

Didn't the guys who developed the chipset being used in current players state uncategorically that DTS HD MA required too much bandwidth for CURRENT hardware? I trust the guy building the hardware to decode this stream more than I trust a PR website.

That doesn't even make sense. It should require no more processing (not bandwidth) than a TrueHD track. If there is a problem it would lie in the silicon itself not being about to have the software written to it for decoding.

Quote:
But believe what you like.

Thanks, but I didn't state nor am I concerned about what I believe. I posted the fact that DTS says it will work, which it did.
Slim GoodBooty is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off