Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2007, 11:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

If I already have an SD player with some of the best HQV upconversion for regular DVD out there (the Denon DVD 3930CI with the Silicon Optix Reon chip), is there any reason to get the Samsung BDP 2400 rather than the BDP 1400? I plan on continuing to use my Denon for SD DVD -- and music, of course -- and just wanted to have a good Blu-Ray player for movies in that format?

I would say you're safe to get the 1400.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2007, 02:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
If you plan to use the Denon for sd dvds then by all means the 1400 is perfect for you...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
uw69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe, what going to be your "next" blu-ray player?

I miss the rosewood sides on the old Pioneer Elite equipment!

Blu-ray - 576


HD DVD - 81

uw69 is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cappyxavs View Post

i did a search but nothing turned up on the thread... i believe i saw at the samsung site the 1400 is bd rev level 1.0 ?
can any one confirm or deny?

ALL BD players on the market today are BD-ROM Profile 1.0!
TrevorS is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cappyxavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 1,544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

ALL BD players on the market today are BD-ROM Profile 1.0!

thanks, i was considering the 1400 because it can bitstream the better audio however since it isn't bd1.1 there really is no reason for me to leave my panny b10a just yet.

WIDESCREEN WAS MADE FOR FOOTBALL!!
Anxiously waiting for a next gen HD-Rom media format to replace the old spinning disc technology.
Go Dallas Cowboys!!
cappyxavs is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cappyxavs View Post

thanks, i was considering the 1400 because it can bitstream the better audio however since it isn't bd1.1 there really is no reason for me to leave my panny b10a just yet.

The BD-P1400 looks really nifty, but it doesn't quite jive with my needs. I'm really interested in seeing how things go with the BD-P2400 come late November.
TrevorS is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

If you plan to use the Denon for sd dvds then by all means the 1400 is perfect for you...


So the only difference between the 1400 and the 2400 is the HQV/Reon chip? And the Reon chip only affects the upscaling of SD DVD content? For Bluray discs, it won't make any (little?) difference?

So I guess if I get HD-XA2 for HD and SD upscaling, there's no sense in my waiting for the 2400?

Thanks,

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

So the only difference between the 1400 and the 2400 is the HQV/Reon chip? And the Reon chip only affects the upscaling of SD DVD content? For Bluray discs, it won't make any (little?) difference?

So I guess if I get HD-XA2 for HD and SD upscaling, there's no sense in my waiting for the 2400?

Thanks,

Also the 2400 will have 7.1 analog out. And if the delays are ture till Nov. for the 2400 then it will be 1.1 not 1.0. But all the parts could be there for the 1400 to be 1.1 and they are just not telling anyone.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 09:55 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so I got the 1400 last night. When I try to upgrade the firmware, it says it has the latest firmware and there is no need to upgrade. I am not getting the DTS HDMA so my firmware is not upgraded. Anyone have any suggestions.

Kent
word302 is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 10:10 PM
Member
 
bjvjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Samsung 1400 qualify for the 5 free movies?

The form, which was printed before the 1400 came out, only lists the Samusng 1200.

Will there be another promotion after Sept 30?

Thanks
bjvjs is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by word302 View Post

so I got the 1400 last night. When I try to upgrade the firmware, it says it has the latest firmware and there is no need to upgrade. I am not getting the DTS HDMA so my firmware is not upgraded. Anyone have any suggestions.

Kent

Are you trying to get the DTS-HD MA decoded to LPCM in the player, or sent via bitstream for external decoding in a receiver/processor?
TrevorS is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjvjs View Post

Does the Samsung 1400 qualify for the 5 free movies?

The form, which was printed before the 1400 came out, only lists the Samusng 1200.

Will there be another promotion after Sept 30?

Thanks

If it's not listed, then you already know the answer to the first question (if you don't trust that, give Samsung a call!) You'll just have to await announcements for further coupon promotions.
TrevorS is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:24 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

Are you trying to get the DTS-HD MA decoded to LPCM in the player, or sent via bitstream for external decoding in a receiver/processor?

Bitstream
word302 is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

Burning the CD now! The player is hooked up and ready once updated

so what process/applications did you use to create the disk. I have tried several times to no avail. The paler takes a minute to load, then goes straight to the menu. I have also tried via ethernet, but my player thinks it has the most recent firmware already. I am getting very frustrated. Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated.

Kent
word302 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Nero to burn any ISO files I need.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 01:09 AM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah I'm using nero but the player doesn't seem to like my disk. Are you guys putting the ISO files in a folder on the disk, or just the ISO file?
word302 is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 01:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No you just copy it to the disk it is called a disk image. Make sure you are using a CD not a DVD. Cannot remember what it is called on Nero and that comp is in another part of the house.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 05:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
My next Blu ray player will be the Pioneer 95FD... Hopefully in the next couple of weeks... Then I will do a good A/B comparison with the 1400...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ted_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Westlake, OH
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by word302 View Post

yeah I'm using nero but the player doesn't seem to like my disk. Are you guys putting the ISO files in a folder on the disk, or just the ISO file?

Did you download the directions (pdf file)? They are quite detailed on how to run Nero, etc. Here's the pdf link
http://org.downloadcenter.samsung.co...date_by_CD.pdf

"We're all bozos on this bus" - F.T.
 

ted_b is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Unlike the the Samsung P1200, the new P1400 unit won't resume playback if you power the unit off. To me that's a deal breaker. Also, where is the sharpnes and noise reduction settings??? They are both missing on this unit. This player is $499.99 for a reason.....Nuff said.
Cortiz is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Samfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post

Unlike the the Samsung P1200, the new P1400 unit won't resume playback if you power the unit off. To me that's a deal breaker. Also, where is the sharpnes and noise reduction settings??? They are both missing on this unit. This player is $499.99 for a reason.....Nuff said.

I believe you need the Reon HQV processing to have the picture setting options. The 1400 doesn't have Reon, but the 2400 will. The 1200 does have Reon and is a good deal for many users; particularly with some current discounts at retail. The 1200 lacks the bitsteam audio decoding though.

The 2400 looks to be the best of both worlds.
Samfield is online now  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samfield View Post

I believe you need the Reon HQV processing to have the picture setting options. The 1400 doesn't have Reon, but the 2400 will. The 1200 does have Reon and is a good deal for many users; particularly with some current discounts at retail. The 1200 lacks the bitsteam audio decoding though.

The 2400 looks to be the best of both worlds.

I current own the Panny BD10A which doesn't have the REON chip, and it does have a bunch picture settings, including the ones mentioned above. So basically, I just think that Samsung omitted these settings to cut cost.
Cortiz is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjvjs View Post

Does the Samsung 1400 qualify for the 5 free movies?

The form, which was printed before the 1400 came out, only lists the Samusng 1200.

Will there be another promotion after Sept 30?

Thanks


the general consensus was....give it shot. What have you got to lose except for a piece of the box!

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by word302 View Post

yeah I'm using nero but the player doesn't seem to like my disk. Are you guys putting the ISO files in a folder on the disk, or just the ISO file?


You have to *CREATE* the CD with the ISO image file. You can't just drag and drop it in there. One of the Nero option should be to "create a CD from ISO" or something like that.

That may be you problem.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:54 AM
Member
 
bjvjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just called Disney and the rep said that the 1400 is included in the offer. She said to write the model # on the form and submit it.
bjvjs is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post

Unlike the the Samsung P1200, the new P1400 unit won't resume playback if you power the unit off. To me that's a deal breaker. Also, where is the sharpnes and noise reduction settings??? They are both missing on this unit. This player is $499.99 for a reason.....Nuff said.


Ooop Acck!! that blows. Being the impatient type, I wanted to justify getting the 1400 instead of waiting for the 2400.

'course, there are no guarantees that 2400 will have the resume function. It does seem like something that a firmware update could address though (pure guess on my part)

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Ooop Acck!! that blows. Being the impatient type, I wanted to justify getting the 1400 instead of waiting for the 2400.

'course, there are no guarantees that 2400 will have the resume function. It does seem like something that a firmware update could address though (pure guess on my part)

Don't forget, the more we get in time, the more BD-J title will appear, the less you'll be able to Resume (Lionsgate put Bookmarks to compensate)

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 09:51 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Ooop Acck!! that blows. Being the impatient type, I wanted to justify getting the 1400 instead of waiting for the 2400.

'course, there are no guarantees that 2400 will have the resume function. It does seem like something that a firmware update could address though (pure guess on my part)

The stop/resume issue is common to all BD and HD DVD players and exists only for movies authored with advanced content. It's a constant bitch point with owners of both formats. See this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=911993

Movies without advanced content will stop/resume just fine.
RUR is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUR View Post

The stop/resume issue is common to all BD and HD DVD players and exists only for movies authored with advanced content. It's a constant bitch point with owners of both formats. See this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=911993

Movies without advanced content will stop/resume just fine.

That is not true my friend. I've tested a few Blu Ray players, including the Sony S300, Samsung P1200, P1400, and I currently own the Panny 10A.

Only the Panny and the P1200 has the resume feature. Don't get confuse here, all blu ray players have resume features, but only the P1200 and The Panny can resume playback even after the unit IS POWERED OF.
Some discs that requires the Java load, ie. The POTC discs, do not resume playback on any machine. But there are currently not too many titles like that.
Cortiz is offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 11:04 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post

That is not true my friend. I've tested a few Blu Ray players, including the Sony S300, Samsung P1200, P1400, and I currently own the Panny 10A.

Only the Panny and the P1200 has the resume feature. Don't get confuse here, all blu ray players have resume features, but only the P1200 and The Panny can resume playback even after the unit IS POWERED OF.
Some discs that requires the Java load, ie. The POTC discs, do not resume playback on any machine. But there are currently not too many titles like that.

Ah, apologies, then. I had assumed (and we all know about assumptions, eh?) we were talking about the adv content resume issue. I have the 1200 and, yes, it resumes after power off just fine on non-adv content discs. Did not know that this basic feature wasn't to be found on all players, including the 1400. Shoot, the last cheapie Phillips DVD player I had remembered the stop points on the last 5 DVD's played. Thanks for clarifying!
RUR is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off