Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by th8ter View Post

Are you using the updated firmware or the original that came with the unit?

Updated last Wednesday night. Also, noticed with the Blu ray of "We are Marshall" there was no menu at the head. It jumped right to the movie. Anyone else have that issue

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 01:53 PM
Senior Member
 
th8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I and some others just have a bad unit since yours seems to be working fine. I noticed you are also in Greenville/Simpsonville where did you get your 1400?
th8ter is offline  
post #453 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Circuit city on Woodruff. A guy over there today told me just to bring it back in exchange, and "forget" to mention I did the firmware upgrade.

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
post #454 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Doom4420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems to me that even though I'd like to buy a stand alone unit, every BD player except for the ps3 seems to have many issues, especially the Samsung units. Their quality control and subsequent updates leave much to be desired. I'm sticking with my PS3.

Blu-Ray and HD-DVD supporter.
Doom4420 is offline  
post #455 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Big Lar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a Lockup with The Lakehouse last night on the 1400,tried to get the disc out, get the player to do anything for about 30 minutes/ no go. Finally just shut it all down, and got it to release it today. Latest firmware,etc... Oh well, I was hoping I wouldn't run into this sorta thing for a 500 dollar unit, but then again, I have seen that with electronics, we are merely beta testers
Big Lar is offline  
post #456 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edgebsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Gulfport MS
Posts: 1,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I'm betting it's the firmware.

Should have been a beta.

I'm not touching that until it's revised.

In defense of Samsung it seems they are listening to the needs of the customer by providing updates and I'm betting that they will fix this with another update.

Jeremy
Reaction Audio Subwoofers

edgebsl is online now  
post #457 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:04 PM
Member
 
jkraebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMann357 View Post

Just played Fifth Element with PCM vs. TrueHD on Denon 3808 and I know everyone says that it should be exactly the same but it isn't even close. The TrueHD is much more forward with greater seperation, I am not saying it is better but it is louder and more "in your face" and it is not even possible that someone would say they are exactly the same or even similar. Maybe it is the way the receiver is processing it? No idea why this would be the case. There are dozens of threads and hundreds of postings that say that technically it should be identical. I like them both but no where near identical.

Do you have any playback issues with the combo of the 1400 with the 3808. I have the same setup and I could not get through a Blu-ray movie without losing the sound followed by a frozen picture seconds later. On top of that the Players counter kept going up as if it were still playing. There doesn't appear to be an issue with the player as I am able to get it to play numerous BDs with an Onkyo TX-SR605.

Is there a setting on the Denon that I'm missing that will alow the entire movie to playback?
jkraebel is offline  
post #458 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:15 PM
Member
 
ReadyHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a definitive answer yet as to whether a 1400 purchase will qualify for the 5 free BD movies? The salesperson at BestBuy was unable to print out a 5 free rebate receipt/form when I asked him about the promotion this weekend. He had no problem printing it out for the 1200. Perhaps the offer just doesn't apply to the 1400. Otherwise, I'm seriously considering this player as a great way to go format neutral and have lossless audio playback capability.
ReadyHD is offline  
post #459 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humanoid1 View Post

The audio output in setup on the 1400 is set for bitstreem. When set for PCM the same errors your having occurs. I'm using HDMI. Try it and see how it works for you.

There is a hdcp issue with my Marantz SR7001 and the 1400 when the audio out is set to pcm on the 1400. When set to bitstreem its excellent!
Cheers,
Ray


Hmm, since 7001 isn't DTS-MA aware, are you saying that you're letting the 1400 do the decoding? I thought you had to use the analog output to hear TrueHD/DTS-MA?

Hansang

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #460 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
OK, I think I got this down, but need some confirmation. My Marantz SR8001 cannot decode DTS-MA or Dolby TrueHD. However, am I correct in saying that *if* the Bluray player can decode these codecs, it will send it out via analog output? And my 8001 will happily play it? But this can't happen via HDMI even if I use PCM correct?

So if I want to hear TrueHD or DTS-MA , I have to use the analog output (or buy AVR that understands TrueHD/DTS-MA)

Hansang

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #461 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hmm, according to DTS and what I've read, *IF* the BD can decode these codecs, it can send it out via LPCM to the receiver. So does anyone know if this is the case with 1400? Do I set the output to PCM instead of bitstream? I'm confused because it says PCM and not LPCM. Also, I understand the newer firmware can do DTS/MA now. Can it output that via LPCM as well?

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #462 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new firmware does DTS-HD MA via bitstream only. The Samsung does output TrueHD and DTS HD HR via PCM.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #463 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
kevinca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: california
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those having problems try this and see if it works. On the player hit and hold the ff button until it comes up with the language selection, after that turn player off and back on. This may solve your problem. Seems after firmware update you dont do this is may not work properly.
kevinca1 is offline  
post #464 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:06 PM
Member
 
bytown rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyHD View Post

Is there a definitive answer yet as to whether a 1400 purchase will qualify for the 5 free BD movies? The salesperson at BestBuy was unable to print out a 5 free rebate receipt/form when I asked him about the promotion this weekend. He had no problem printing it out for the 1200. Perhaps the offer just doesn't apply to the 1400. Otherwise, I'm seriously considering this player as a great way to go format neutral and have lossless audio playback capability.

Yes. Check out www.BluraySavings.com for the new offer.

Rick
bytown rick is offline  
post #465 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
ixion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyHD View Post

Is there a definitive answer yet as to whether a 1400 purchase will qualify for the 5 free BD movies? The salesperson at BestBuy was unable to print out a 5 free rebate receipt/form when I asked him about the promotion this weekend. He had no problem printing it out for the 1200. Perhaps the offer just doesn't apply to the 1400. Otherwise, I'm seriously considering this player as a great way to go format neutral and have lossless audio playback capability.

Yes. The 1400 is listed. Go here:
http://www.bluraysavings.com/
ixion is offline  
post #466 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixion View Post

Yes. The 1400 is listed. Go here:
http://www.bluraysavings.com/

Thank you! I was JUST about to send in the older coupon with "crappier" movie choices!

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #467 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:43 PM
Member
 
fergraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bytown rick View Post

Yes. Check out www.BluraySavings.com for the new offer.

Rick

Check the printable cupon. It say:
"Recipt from your eligible Blu-ray player purchase imprinted with store name an dated between 10/1/07 through 1/31/08 with purchase price circled."
I bought my last week.
fergraz is offline  
post #468 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pclausen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigma View Post

Did anyone ever confirm what kind of chip (SoC) this player is using; and how much memory? I'm guessing it's either Broadcom 7411 or 7440; of which there apparently are two flavors, 7440a and 7440b. The memory in the 1200 was 256 MB; so I would guess it'd be the same. Anyone know?

Well, I popped the cover off my 1400 and took a few pics. I tried prying the heat sink off the SoC, but that sucker is on there real good.

Whole unit:



Main board:



HDMI chip and some Realtek chip:



One of the 4 RAM chips and another with a paper label on it:



Same as above but with paper lavel removed. It is real hard to make out the label, but I believe it reads:

SPANSION
S29GL512N10TFL01
732FBR22 T



Also, the 4 op-amps for the analog out are all S4560 713J.

The date on the main board is 2007.06.11
pclausen is offline  
post #469 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Halfrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Last Frontier
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReadyHD View Post

Is there a definitive answer yet as to whether a 1400 purchase will qualify for the 5 free BD movies? The salesperson at BestBuy was unable to print out a 5 free rebate receipt/form when I asked him about the promotion this weekend. He had no problem printing it out for the 1200. Perhaps the offer just doesn't apply to the 1400. Otherwise, I'm seriously considering this player as a great way to go format neutral and have lossless audio playback capability.

I talked to buena vista directly, they confirmed that the 1400 does indeed qualify for the 5 free discs, but you will have to send in the old form and hand write the model in. I'm quite sure that you cannot use the new form if you purchased the unit prior to 10/1.

Half
Halfrican is offline  
post #470 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

The new firmware does DTS-HD MA via bitstream only. The Samsung does output TrueHD and DTS HD HR via PCM.


Crap. So I won't be able to listen to MA since it only goes out bitstream - meaning my AVR has to know about MA.

But I can listen to TrueHD and DTS/HR. Well, that's something I suppose. makes me want to buy the SR8002

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #471 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Also that implies that 1400 cannot output MA via analog outs... is that correct?

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #472 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 08:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Halfrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Last Frontier
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are correct, the 1400 has no internal decoder for DTS HD MA and as such can only output it via the HDMI bitstream output for decoding in the processor.

Half
Halfrican is offline  
post #473 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halfrican View Post

You are correct, the 1400 has no internal decoder for DTS HD MA and as such can only output it via the HDMI bitstream output for decoding in the processor.

Half

Shoot...kinda figured that. Thanks for your help though.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #474 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Enigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

Well, I popped the cover off my 1400 and took a few pics. I tried prying the heat sink off the SoC, but that sucker is on there real good.

Thanks for the pics. Too bad the SoC model is not visible, though. Also, could you find what looked to be memory chips to determine how much memory onboard? I tried to figure it out from the pics, but can't tell.

Hal
Enigma is offline  
post #475 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Halfrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Last Frontier
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tried the fast forward power cycle trick mentioned earlier, but unfortunately my 1400 is still exhibiting the lockup lost audio issue. This time it was with Flyboys at about one hour twenty six minutes. Complete feeze of audio and video and couldn't regain audio until unit was power cycled.
Also note, after power cycle I was but able to recreate the issue in the same spot in the movie.

Half
Halfrican is offline  
post #476 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 10:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now having audio lost with every disc using the Bitstream output. I then switched to PCM and watched two movies with no issues. The bug seems with the firmware upgrade using the bitstream outputting DTS HD MA and Dolby True HD. I have until Oct. 19 to return or wait for Samsung to release a newer firmware.
Bill Kelley is offline  
post #477 of 12884 Old 10-01-2007, 11:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cilent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's too bad Bill. I was hoping the bitstream would work without a hitch. Did the bitstream start out working OK and suddenly start to glitch? What about bitstreaming the lossy codecs, does that cause problems also?

What about trying another HDMI cable? Isn't bitstreaming bandwith intensive? Maybe your cable is not up to snuff (grabbing at straws here I know ).

"...I'm ready for dream-time Mr. B."
Cilent1 is offline  
post #478 of 12884 Old 10-02-2007, 12:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milpitas, CA, USA
Posts: 2,458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pclausen View Post

Well, I popped the cover off my 1400 and took a few pics. ...some Realtek chip:

Ethernet PHY chip.

Quote:


Same as above but with paper lavel removed. It is real hard to make out the label, but I believe it reads:

SPANSION
S29GL512N10TFL01
732FBR22 T

512Mb of flash memory

Keith Jack
Sigma Designs
BD, IPTV, HDTV decoder supplier
Blog: http://www.keithjack.net
kjack is offline  
post #479 of 12884 Old 10-02-2007, 01:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Richter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, everyone

Many of you were interested enough to read my thread on Samsung 1400 random video errors. I returned my defective united to Best Buy yester. Exchange was painless for exact duplicate.
The new 1400 unit seems to be in perfect working order with out even the slightest hint of eratic behavior.
Richter is offline  
post #480 of 12884 Old 10-02-2007, 01:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Halfrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Last Frontier
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Kelley View Post

I'm now having audio lost with every disc using the Bitstream output. I then switched to PCM and watched two movies with no issues. The bug seems with the firmware upgrade using the bitstream outputting DTS HD MA and Dolby True HD. I have until Oct. 19 to return or wait for Samsung to release a newer firmware.

I can confirm the above statement holds true in my case also. I tried watching Condemned using bitstream output, audio/video freeze about 45mins into the movie. Switched the output to pcm, watched the entire movie without a glitch.

Half
Halfrican is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off