Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I just bought a Samsung 1400 and have it set to bitstream out. When I select a DTS HD MA track my Pioneer 94TXH says 'DTS'. Is this correct or should it say something else? I was hoping it would say DTS HD MA or something like it.

I have it plugged into HDMI4 and set to stream direct. I updated the firmware on the 1400 today.

I've tested this with Xmen3 and The Transporter and they both light up as 'DTS' on the 94.
almostinsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

I just bought a Samsung 1400 and have it set to bitstream out. When I select a DTS HD MA track my Pioneer 94TXH says 'DTS'. Is this correct or should it say something else? I was hoping it would say DTS HD MA or something like it.

I have it plugged into HDMI4 and set to stream direct. I updated the firmware on the 1400 today.

I've tested this with Xmen3 and The Transporter and they both light up as 'DTS' on the 94.

Since I donot have the player I cannot say. But if you look at the pics for the 92 on pios website it shows the DTS light on and the screen says DTS-HD MSTR. Might want to call tech support and see how it is done to confirm.
That is the high res images.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
post #543 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 08:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Ya I have to download the FW from the website link posted the page back. Now it says DTS HD MSTR.
almostinsane is offline  
post #544 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

Ya I have to download the FW from the website link posted the page back. Now it says DTS HD MSTR.

Good news. I had not thought of that even though I had read it.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
post #545 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The sound level is lower than DTS core but when you turn it up a few db's it sounds soooo much better!
almostinsane is offline  
post #546 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 09:30 PM
Member
 
bendergender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What happen with the problems reports in the Day after tomorrow and The Fantastic Four 2, BR dics?
Works fine in the 1400?...Need a firmware update?
bendergender is offline  
post #547 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Halfrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Last Frontier
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 1400 has no issues playing the latest fox titles. With the exception of the issues some of us are having with the HDMI bitstream output, which is not title dependent.
Halfrican is offline  
post #548 of 12884 Old 10-04-2007, 09:44 PM
Member
 
bendergender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Capital Federal, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halfrican View Post

The 1400 has no issues playing the latest fox titles. With the exception of the issues some of us are having with the HDMI bitstream output, which is not title dependent.

Thanks

I buy a Samsung 1400, next week arrives with The Fantastic Four 2
bendergender is offline  
post #549 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 02:30 AM
Member
 
darkvisionsinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post

Interesting. I actually have the Zektor but took it out when I got the SR8001. I my have to try hooking this up after the playoffs to see if there are any improvemnts. I was using it to switch component video but I guess there's no reason it can't switch 5.1. Thanks

It even specifically mentions on Zektor's website that it can be used as a 5.1 audio switch. Am interested in knowing how it works if you end up using it like that.

Thanks

Go Red Sox
darkvisionsinc is offline  
post #550 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
bluphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju View Post

Ok, so I got the 1400, Onkyo 805 and a rediculously overpriced Monster HDMI cable and no TrueHD or DTS HD-MA through bitstream. I have tried to do the firmware upgrade through the ethernet and it says that my firmware is up to date. My system says the software is S/W: 070730.02_XAA. Does anyone know if this is in fact the updated firmware or is it old? Is there something I need to besides setting the audio output to bitstream? Anything I need to do to the 805?

Now, 070730.02_XAA can be updated by ethernet.
bluphile is offline  
post #551 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 05:37 AM
Member
 
bsaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I look forward to getting the 1400 and being able to see Blu-Ray. I presently have an A2 but there are so many really good movies not available.

What is the best price for the 1400 now? Has anyone been successful in getting the 5 free dvds. There was some question whether this offer was good for the 1400 at Vann's.

Thanks,

Bill
bsaxon is offline  
post #552 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaxon View Post

I look forward to getting the 1400 and being able to see Blu-Ray. I presently have an A2 but there are so many really good movies not available.

What is the best price for the 1400 now? Has anyone been successful in getting the 5 free dvds. There was some question whether this offer was good for the 1400 at Vann's.

Thanks,

Bill

The new Blu-ray promotion for 5 BDs includes the Sammy 1400. The link is in this thread I believe. The titles are a bit weak but what the hey.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #553 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dutchess County NY
Posts: 1,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaxon View Post

I look forward to getting the 1400 and being able to see Blu-Ray. I presently have an A2 but there are so many really good movies not available.

What is the best price for the 1400 now? Has anyone been successful in getting the 5 free dvds. There was some question whether this offer was good for the 1400 at Vann's.

Thanks,

Bill

I was able to get one for $405
dildatonr is offline  
post #554 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dildatonr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dutchess County NY
Posts: 1,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

The new Blu-ray promotion for 5 BDs includes the Sammy 1400. The link is in this thread I believe. The titles are a bit weak but what the hey.

they're a bit better than the last one at least. same with the HD DVD promo.
dildatonr is offline  
post #555 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
th8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have a recevier that accepts the bitstream format for True-HD and DTS-Master HD and have the 1400 set up as bitstream do I need to change the 1400 back to PCM when watching a movie that has uncompressed PCM and not the other formats?
th8ter is offline  
post #556 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No it automatically switches the output to PCM but defaults back to bitstream when you are done.
rveras is offline  
post #557 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
th8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I though uncompressed PCM was supposed to sound just as good at True-HD and DTS MHD mine does not so I thought I was doing something wrong.
th8ter is offline  
post #558 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dude2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by th8ter View Post

If I have a recevier that accepts the bitstream format for True-HD and DTS-Master HD and have the 1400 set up as bitstream do I need to change the 1400 back to PCM when watching a movie that has uncompressed PCM and not the other formats?

The P1400 isn't sending out the LPCM signal properly to the receiver
dude2006 is offline  
post #559 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


The P1400 isn't sending out the LPCM signal properly to the receiver

Are you talking about it sending 7.1 LPCM when the soundtrack is 5.1 LPCM or something else?
rveras is offline  
post #560 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
Vdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello , New titles fox ( FF4 Rise of silver surfer, Day after tomoroww, 28 weeks later ) works on this player ?

Sam
Vdevil is offline  
post #561 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdevil View Post

Hello , New titles fox ( FF4 Rise of silver surfer, Day after tomoroww, 28 weeks later ) works on this player ?

Sam

I know rise of the Silver Surfer works.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #562 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
th8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude2006 View Post

The P1400 isn't sending out the LPCM signal properly to the receiver

Is this something that is just inherently wrong with the 1400 or something I need to change in my settings? My receiver indicates multi-channel on the display.
th8ter is offline  
post #563 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 01:48 PM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 9,080
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdevil View Post

Hello , New titles fox ( FF4 Rise of silver surfer, Day after tomoroww, 28 weeks later ) works on this player ?

Sam

Greetings,

The Day after Tomorrow works as well....


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is online now  
post #564 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
dude2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by th8ter View Post

Is this something that is just inherently wrong with the 1400 or something I need to change in my settings? My receiver indicates multi-channel on the display.

I don't know if this is limited to Onkyo receivers but myself, Joerod, and lrstevens have noticed that when 5.1 uncompressed LPCM is sent to the Onkyo from the P1400, something with the signal is preventing the Onkyo from applying some post-processing modes, including THX Ultra2 Cinema. Also, I noticed that on the receiver all 7 speaker indicators light up (as if it were 7.1 PCM, like with the PS3 game Resistance: Fall of Man), which is wrong since it's only a 5.1 signal. I think this is a problem with the P1400 and not Onkyo, since 5.1 uncompressed works flawlessly when I use a PS3 to do the job.
dude2006 is offline  
post #565 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering I didn't have this issue with the Sony BD-PS300 I would assume that its the players fault and not the Onkyo's.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #566 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
th8ter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I have the 1400 set to bistream for on uncompressed PCM I can only get either multi-channel or THX Cinema. The two back surround lights are not lit. If I change the 1400 to PCM. I still get either multi-channel or THX Cinema but all lights are lit even though nothing is coming from the back surrounds. Have not tried this but does changing the PCM Down Sampling do anything?
th8ter is offline  
post #567 of 12884 Old 10-05-2007, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkvisionsinc View Post

It even specifically mentions on Zektor's website that it can be used as a 5.1 audio switch. Am interested in knowing how it works if you end up using it like that.

Thanks

Go Red Sox

Well....even if you are a Redsucks fan, I guess I'll have to help!

Since the Zektor has six connections (3 for component, 2 audio, 1 coax/SPiF), the theory is that you use it for audio switching. My players seem to be outputting DTS Master via PCM so I may not have to hook it up. But when I get some time, I'll give it a shot.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #568 of 12884 Old 10-06-2007, 04:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
m1fuller68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in the setup menu for the 1400 and trying to select 24fps, but each time it reverts back to the current setting. I have it set to 1080p...Been playing rise of the SS with the new audio and it works great...Is the player setup up for 24fps? what am I doing wrong? My A35 is set for 24fps and it works great.

Equipment:
Integra 9.8
Sammy 1400
Tosh A35
Emotiva MPS-1
Xbox elite
Sammy 1080P DLP
D*HR20
m1fuller68 is offline  
post #569 of 12884 Old 10-06-2007, 06:12 AM
Member
 
bsaxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dildatonr View Post

I was able to get one for $405

Where? That is the best I have heard of.

Thanks,

Bill
bsaxon is offline  
post #570 of 12884 Old 10-06-2007, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Emissary52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked Amaz** and they're now below $400. Right now, this model seems to be the "must have" BR player, but as more models and manufacturers produce True HD and DTS-MA, I think the price will drop precipitously. I wonder what the price will be on Black Friday! Paramount really pi**ed me off when they made their marketing blunder of the year, as I had learned that all the Star Trek series were actually filmed wide-screen and HD versions will be released. I feel that by going with BR and soon that I will hasten the day that Paramount will have to change their thinking-Like the Borg say,"They will be assimilated". This model has exactly the features I want, and I suspect that it or something with similar specs will be on sale for under $300 by Black Friday!
Emissary52 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off