Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 429 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12841 of 12884 Old 10-15-2011, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
sptrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gerhard View Post

My recollection is that the BD1400 will bitstream DTS-HD MA but will not decode it.

I had one of the first 1400's off the boat and it was connected via analog to my Denon. The original firmware (v0.X or something like that) did not handle MA, but in a few weeks they released what should have been the first public firmware (v1.0) and it decoded MA.
sptrout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12842 of 12884 Old 10-15-2011, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sptrout View Post

I had one of the first 1400's off the boat and it was connected via analog to my Denon. The original firmware (v0.X or something like that) did not handle MA, but in a few weeks they released what should have been the first public firmware (v1.0) and it decoded MA.

You sure it was not just decoding the core DTS 1.5Mbps stream? I pretty convinced now that it is just like the Sammy BD-UP500 where you can set the track to the DTS-HD, but it just decodes core. It would be very hard to tell.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12843 of 12884 Old 10-15-2011, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
sptrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.kludge View Post

You sure it was not just decoding the core DTS 1.5Mbps stream? I pretty convinced now that it is just like the Sammy BD-UP500 where you can set the track to the DTS-HD, but it just decodes core. It would be very hard to tell.

You may well be correct. I no longer have any of the equipment mentioned previously, and the first thing I replaced was the Denon AVR so I could move up to HDMI and full HD audio capabiliy in the AVR (got sick of the poor bass management in the P1400). I dumped the P1400 a couple years ago.

Based on a very quick scan of some of the many comments in this thread, the only upgrade made to this model was to add MA via bitstreaming back a few weeks after it was released. It has been over 4 years now so my memory is likely fading away.
sptrout is offline  
post #12844 of 12884 Old 10-20-2011, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Cougar360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay so lincoln lawyer and american psycho and stargate anniversary edition and t2 skynet edition will al not play on my player anyone else with this problem?
Cougar360 is offline  
post #12845 of 12884 Old 10-20-2011, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar360 View Post

Okay so lincoln lawyer and american psycho and stargate anniversary edition and t2 skynet edition will al not play on my player anyone else with this problem?

Are you running the latest firmware, 2.5? If you are relying on the Ethernet/Internet upgrade process it won't be detecting the latest. You may need to download the file and burn a disc.

However, those are not discs that I am aware of that need updated to the player. I have had issues with a couple Sammy loaders developing a condition where they will no longer read some Liongate titles, but mostly older releases all you mention except for Am. Psycho are somewhat recent.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12846 of 12884 Old 10-21-2011, 01:56 AM
Member
 
Cougar360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They all played before but now since I upgraded from 2.3 to 2.5 t2 and stargate now will not play and lincoln lawyer I'm not sure if it ever played
Cougar360 is offline  
post #12847 of 12884 Old 10-21-2011, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar360 View Post

They all played before but now since I upgraded from 2.3 to 2.5 t2 and stargate now will not play and lincoln lawyer I'm not sure if it ever played

Hmmm. I don't have access to an operational p1400 at the moment so I can't test for you, but there might be an issue with Lionsgate and the 2.5 firmware. Did you try downgrading to the older firmware to see if that resolves the issues with all the titles? Do you happen to have the 2.4 download? I didn't grab that one, unfortunately.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12848 of 12884 Old 10-21-2011, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Cougar360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't have a way to downgrade on my firmware
Cougar360 is offline  
post #12849 of 12884 Old 10-21-2011, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
All you do is re-load the disc for the older firmware versions. However if you have been dong the online downloads you won't have the images or discs. Perhaps someone on the thread has those and you could try. I always download and burn a disc, that way I can go back if I have to. The Sammy firmware updates (at least for the older players) are all inclusive on the firmware so you can replace it with an older version. Sammy will tell you this is not possible, but I have done it many times without ill effects. It is suspicious that this happened after you updated, but the only issues with Lionsgate that I am aware of is whatever condition happens to the loader to make it not like some Lionsgate titles. Someone else on the thread will need to test one or all of these for you. I will double check Am. Psycho, Stargate and T2 when I get a chance on the BD-P5000 (they share similar BD code). When I rented Lincoln Lawyer I don't recall any issues.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12850 of 12884 Old 01-02-2012, 09:45 AM
Member
 
rich123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jurassic Park BD works fine with latest firmware
rich123 is offline  
post #12851 of 12884 Old 01-02-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
westgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ʇuoɯɹ
Posts: 5,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my sylvania (funai) bdps' hdmi output stopped working so i broke out the 1400 and have been using it again. still loads slow but otherwise seems ok.

have a new panny ordered,should have by next thurs or fri.

10' from 84" screen.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
westgate is offline  
post #12852 of 12884 Old 01-17-2012, 08:53 PM
Newbie
 
hrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by laddieluv View Post


>>Having owned the stellar (I loved it!) 1400 from 7/07 to 2/11, I can tell you that I also made discs and updated firmware that way.

I also went "backwards" twice. Once during the "Avatar" fiasco. And one other time that I don't remember right now. My point is that both times went smoothly. It's just like any other FW update: the machine asks you if you want this number FW or that number FW on the screen. You just click the one you want. It absolutely recognizes it, but WILL NOT refuse the update. It just "thinks" it's a FW update. Doesn't care which direction you go.

My 1400 "died" on 2/5/11 because my DVR malfunctioned and caused my 1400's demise. Purchased two Sammy C5500's. So "cheap" compared to what I paid for my (treasured) 1400. And WOWZER. Do they load quickly.
Although I adored my 1400 (early adopter, ya' know. ), I was able to do a "load of laundry" by the time the movie loaded. With the C5500, it loads so quickly in comparison that I barely have time to grab my snack and sit down. LOVE it.

So good luck.

There are so few 1400 owners left. Sigh. And yes. I still get the updates from this 1400 board. 'Cuz it makes me remember a really "good" time in my life. - Arleen J
**********************************
Samsung UNB7100 55" LED HDTV; Onkyo SR 600 SS; Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player (LR Home Theater)
Samsung LNC530 40" LCD HDTV; Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player (Downstairs Office/no additional sound system)
268 BD titles and counting
Recent Additions: "Crimson Tide" "Unknown" "The Lincoln Lawyer"

Still have mine. Got it in Oct of 2007. Cost 499 new (found receipt and manual). Still runs well. No plans to upgrade anytime soon. My receiver won't support the latest HDMI standard for 3D, and that's what I'd want to upgrade to.

But like everyone else I've had to upgrade firmware from time to time.
hrob is offline  
post #12853 of 12884 Old 03-02-2012, 06:37 PM
Member
 
rich123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.kludge View Post

Hmmm. I don't have access to an operational p1400 at the moment so I can't test for you, but there might be an issue with Lionsgate and the 2.5 firmware. Did you try downgrading to the older firmware to see if that resolves the issues with all the titles? Do you happen to have the 2.4 download? I didn't grab that one, unfortunately.

There's a new firmware ISO_BDP1400_XAA_111202_01_WEBSITE.iso (Version 2.6) on Samsung's web site. Perhaps it will work better?
rich123 is offline  
post #12854 of 12884 Old 03-03-2012, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich123 View Post

There's a new firmware ISO_BDP1400_XAA_111202_01_WEBSITE.iso (Version 2.6) on Samsung's web site. Perhaps it will work better?


Wow, I really didn't think I'd see another update for this unit! thanks for the info.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #12855 of 12884 Old 03-17-2012, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Xerowarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wow, glad to see the thread is still alive, kinda like my trusty 1400. I'm happy there's a new FW however, I haven't needed an update in ages. Everything seems to play great. I do realize I just jinxed my player. Haha...
Xerowarp is offline  
post #12856 of 12884 Old 03-18-2012, 06:49 AM
Member
 
laddieluv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
>>to see this thread going.

Sadly, I had to "retire" my 1400 on 2/5/11. It "died" when my DVR malfunctioned and "kildit."

However as an early adopter of BD (7/07), I have such a "soft spot" in my heart for the 1400 that I still subscribe to this thread.

Hang in there, 1400 users. You're a "rare" breed. And, IMO, special.

**************************
Samsung UNB7100 55" LED HDTV; Onkyo SR 600 SS; Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player (LR Home Theater)
Samsung LNC530 40" LCD HDTV; Samsung BD-C5500 BD Player (Downstairs Office/no additional sound system)
303 BD titles and counting
Recent Additions: "Drive" "Ides of March" "The Descendents"
laddieluv is offline  
post #12857 of 12884 Old 03-18-2012, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xerowarp View Post

Wow, glad to see the thread is still alive, kinda like my trusty 1400. I'm happy there's a new FW however, I haven't needed an update in ages. Everything seems to play great. I do realize I just jinxed my player. Haha...

And it got a new firmware update in January, which I could say the same for my BD-UP5000, hasn't seen new code since the middle of '10.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12858 of 12884 Old 03-23-2012, 01:08 AM
Member
 
Cougar360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.kludge View Post


And it got a new firmware update in January, which I could say the same for my BD-UP5000, hasn't seen new code since the middle of '10.

Dose anyone know if this update made it so that i can play t2 Lincoln lawyer and American psycho again cuz after i went from 2.3 to 2.5 all that was lost
Cougar360 is offline  
post #12859 of 12884 Old 03-23-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougar360 View Post


Dose anyone know if this update made it so that i can play t2 Lincoln lawyer and American psycho again cuz after i went from 2.3 to 2.5 all that was lost

Give 'er a try and let us know. If you have been downloading the images and burning update discs then you can always go back. If not you will be stuck at the latest release. I forget which but some of the players don't update to the latest through the network port anymore so best to do the disc updates. I never trusted the online and have always done disc or usb updates on all my players and keep the updates backed up on disc or laptop.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12860 of 12884 Old 03-27-2012, 05:34 AM
Member
 
jeff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I heard that samsung released an update for the 1400 on this board. My 1400 has been retired to a comfortable closet for about 2 years and is considered my emergency back up player. So I figured go ahead break that baby out and update her.
When I connect via cat 5 I get a message that its up to date on firmware. I found the new firmware on the sammy website. My question is this: Doesn't Samsung put the updates on the server anymore? I never had to update via cd in the past that I can remember. Have you folks been able to update directly?

Panasonic TC-P55ST50 Plasma 55"
Oppo BDP-83 Blu Ray
Toshiba A30 HD DVD
Onkyo TX-SR608 Reciever
Klipsch Ref RC500 Center (RC52)

Klipsch Ref RB600 Fronts (RB61)

Klipsch Ref RS400 Surrounds (RS42)
Klipsch Synergy SW10 Sub Woofer
SA Explorer 8300HD HD DVR
Harmony 650 Remote

Mac Mini/PS3/Wii

jeff1967 is online now  
post #12861 of 12884 Old 03-27-2012, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr.kludge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post

I heard that samsung released an update for the 1400 on this board. My 1400 has been retired to a comfortable closet for about 2 years and is considered my emergency back up player. So I figured go ahead break that baby out and update her.
When I connect via cat 5 I get a message that its up to date on firmware. I found the new firmware on the sammy website. My question is this: Doesn't Samsung put the updates on the server anymore? I never had to update via cd in the past that I can remember. Have you folks been able to update directly?

A couple years ago the network updates for the older players started doing this. I can only surmise that the servers used for the network/Ethernet updates are different or pointing to a location they are no longer updating. Always best to download and burn a disc anyway so you have it for backup in case you need to roll back. With the bd-up5000 this has been nessisary to play new Disney bds and manny new DVDs as well since Samsung broke the Disney code when they updated for avatar.
mr.kludge is offline  
post #12862 of 12884 Old 07-30-2012, 06:13 AM
Member
 
jeff1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well my 1400 is officially gone (to the yard sale gods in the sky). Had been retired a long time ago but I was holding it as a backup player. Now that decent players are under $100 I no longer felt the need to keep her around (plus, my Oppo has been a rock star champ!). Good luck to whoever shells out the few bucks to give 'er a new home. Who ever is still hanging around this thread please turn off the lights when you leave. smile.gif

Panasonic TC-P55ST50 Plasma 55"
Oppo BDP-83 Blu Ray
Toshiba A30 HD DVD
Onkyo TX-SR608 Reciever
Klipsch Ref RC500 Center (RC52)

Klipsch Ref RB600 Fronts (RB61)

Klipsch Ref RS400 Surrounds (RS42)
Klipsch Synergy SW10 Sub Woofer
SA Explorer 8300HD HD DVR
Harmony 650 Remote

Mac Mini/PS3/Wii

jeff1967 is online now  
post #12863 of 12884 Old 07-30-2012, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Dozer42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Foster City, CA (SF Bay Area)
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Oppo rocks. I got fed up with my 1400 long ago and replaced it with a Panny. Donated the 1400 to someone who can love it. Wish I could afford the Oppo Blu-Ray, but it's not the right time for that. Maybe once I get my sanity back.

Sports? Yes! Racing and Skydiving, because other sports like tennis, football and soccer only need one ball!
Dozer42 is offline  
post #12864 of 12884 Old 07-31-2012, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff1967 View Post

Well my 1400 is officially gone (to the yard sale gods in the sky). Had been retired a long time ago but I was holding it as a backup player. Now that decent players are under $100 I no longer felt the need to keep her around (plus, my Oppo has been a rock star champ!). Good luck to whoever shells out the few bucks to give 'er a new home. Who ever is still hanging around this thread please turn off the lights when you leave. smile.gif

am i the only one who still uses this dinosaur? man i need to save up for an new player

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #12865 of 12884 Old 08-02-2012, 04:44 AM
Newbie
 
jordandk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have mine too, it's working and rock solid in the bedroom. Just moved it in there for a couple of months ago. Using my HTPC in the livingroom now.
jordandk is offline  
post #12866 of 12884 Old 08-02-2012, 02:18 PM
Member
 
innuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Anacortes, Wa
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I fired up mine today in my office & it still is humming along:)
innuss is offline  
post #12867 of 12884 Old 09-22-2012, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Xerowarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My 1400 is connected to my Sansui G-8000! Rocking sound thanks to built in decoding from the 1400. I've yet to have a single problem with a disc. I can't remember what FW i'm currently on. It was the one you had to use to get Avatar to work right. I think it's 1.9 or 2.0?? Still lovin' my 1400!biggrin.gif
Xerowarp is offline  
post #12868 of 12884 Old 09-24-2012, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xerowarp View Post

My 1400 is connected to my Sansui G-8000! Rocking sound thanks to built in decoding from the 1400. I've yet to have a single problem with a disc. I can't remember what FW i'm currently on. It was the one you had to use to get Avatar to work right. I think it's 1.9 or 2.0?? Still lovin' my 1400!biggrin.gif
with avengers coming out id upgrade to the latest 2.6, almost a year old but better to be safe

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/BD-P1400/XAA

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #12869 of 12884 Old 09-24-2012, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Xerowarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarm87 View Post

with avengers coming out id upgrade to the latest 2.6, almost a year old but better to be safe
http://www.samsung.com/us/support/owners/product/BD-P1400/XAA

I'll be at Walfart to pick up my copy at midnight. I'll you know if it plays.
Xerowarp is offline  
post #12870 of 12884 Old 09-24-2012, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Xerowarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Avengers plays great! Pretty fast load for the 1400. All menus work. smile.gif
Xerowarp is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off