Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:09 PM
Member
 
harrellnukeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-smith View Post

no, you will still need to use HDMI or analog outs

It is bitstream over HDMI... not over the COAX/TOS
harrellnukeem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:13 PM
Member
 
harrellnukeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Is there an "auto" option in the 1400 audio menu. Or does one have to switch back to bitstream after watching a movie with an uncompressed PCM track?

Why would you want to? The MA is supposed to be bit for bit the same as the uncompressed PCM...
harrellnukeem is offline  
post #183 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by harrellnukeem View Post

Why would you want to? The MA is supposed to be bit for bit the same as the uncompressed PCM...

I guess for the same reason people wanted DTS-HD MA to begin with. I'm convinced that DTS-HD MA will sound no better than uncompressed PCM but I would like the option to not switch back and forth through the menus.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #184 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No all movies are encoded with MA or TrueHD. Some movies only gives you the option of PCM or Dolby Digital. According to the manual if you select the PCM soundtrack the player automatically sets the output mode to PCM.

So lrstevens421 question is, does the 1400 switches back to bitstream mode after you done with the movie or do you have to manually set it back to bitstream?
rveras is offline  
post #185 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad Ley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So after reading the news of this player's abilities yesterday, I immediately ran over to Best Buy to pick one up to link to my not so old Denon 3808CI. I've owned the original Samsung 1000, a Panasonic BD10 (which is sitting in the garage), and a PS3 (which was in use until yesterday). I took out the PS3, hooked the 1400 up in its place and proceeded to go through a stack of Blu-ray discs to test all kinds of aspects of this player (X3, Kingdom of Heaven, Crank, Stargate, TMNT, Ghost Rider, Pirates of the Caribbean 2, Hoosiers, The Sentinel...).

Wow was I completely disappointed in this player! Not the quality of the video or audio upgrades, but the functionality and ease of the use of the player itself. I've been using the PS3 for the past 8 months, but is this the state of the art in terms of stand alone BD players?

First off, this thing makes my XA2 seem quick and responsive. This Samsung is sluggish and kind of frustrating to use. While the load times MIGHT be similar to the XA2, the flashing dots indicating the disc is loading actually made me more aware of how long this thing took. It took me 4 minutes from the insertion of the disc to the menu screen of Pirates 2. That's unacceptable... plain and simple. I also encountered discs where selecting the main menu from the movie would mark the return of the loading dots. Very annoying and, again, unacceptable once the disc has started playing.

Secondly, there is nothing of value to the player's OSD. One of the things I hated about the Panasonic (other than the player's inability to open the tray with the remote), was the lack of any viewable remaining time on the disc. Sometimes (not all the time, but occasionally) when I watch a film, I might hit the display button to see how much of the film (or extras) are left. It annoys me to no end that the Samsung doesn't provide such a simple feature. In fact, I have to pause the movie to see the time status on screen.

And finally, while I might be able to live with the above quirks given enough motivation, the following is a class A, numero uno, no bones about it deal breaker. There is a 4 second lag between when video appears on screen and when my receiver receives a bitstream and sound appears. This is happening regardless of format (DTS-MA, TrueHD, DTS-ES, Dolby 5.1, Dolby 2.0, PCM). It happens on both BD and DVD. Any change and the audio bitstream drops out. This was especially aggravating when jumping from chapter to chapter in a film or when leaving the film to go to the menu. The PS3, the XA2, and my DVR all send out audio bitstreams almost instantaneous, so I know it's not the Denon. While 4 seconds might not seem like a long time, it is where I live. This was also an issue with the Onkyo receivers (I had originally purchased the 805 but returned it because I couldn't stand the bitstream drop outs, delayed audio locks, and speaker pops). I just can't stand listening to silence only to have the audio pop in mid-sentence.

Now, while I'm completely unhappy with the Samsung 1400, I'm sure there are others who are completely thrilled by it. I'm not saying any of this to denigrate their purchase decisions or their opinions. I'm merely laying out my severe disappointment as a warning to others who might be bothered by similar things as myself. Giving people differing opinions, nothing more.
Brad Ley is offline  
post #186 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

No all movies are encoded with MA or TrueHD. Some movies only gives you the option of PCM or Dolby Digital. According to the manual if you select the PCM soundtrack the player automatically sets the output mode to PCM.

So lrstevens421 question is, does the 1400 switches back to bitstream mode after you done with the movie or do you have to manually set it back to bitstream?

Yup, that's the question

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #187 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 03:06 PM
Member
 
QCamera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Ley View Post

So after reading the news of this player's abilities yesterday, I immediately ran over to Best Buy to pick one up to link to my not so old Denon 3808CI. I've owned the original Samsung 1000, a Panasonic BD10 (which is sitting in the garage), and a PS3 (which was in use until yesterday). I took out the PS3, hooked the 1400 up in its place and proceeded to go through a stack of Blu-ray discs to test all kinds of aspects of this player (X3, Kingdom of Heaven, Crank, Stargate, TMNT, Ghost Rider, Pirates of the Caribbean 2, Hoosiers, The Sentinel...).

Wow was I completely disappointed in this player! Not the quality of the video or audio upgrades, but the functionality and ease of the use of the player itself. I've been using the PS3 for the past 8 months, but is this the state of the art in terms of stand alone BD players?

First off, this thing makes my XA2 seem quick and responsive. This Samsung is sluggish and kind of frustrating to use. While the load times MIGHT be similar to the XA2, the flashing dots indicating the disc is loading actually made me more aware of how long this thing took. It took me 4 minutes from the insertion of the disc to the menu screen of Pirates 2. That's unacceptable... plain and simple. I also encountered discs where selecting the main menu from the movie would mark the return of the loading dots. Very annoying and, again, unacceptable once the disc has started playing.

Secondly, there is nothing of value to the player's OSD. One of the things I hated about the Panasonic (other than the player's inability to open the tray with the remote), was the lack of any viewable remaining time on the disc. Sometimes (not all the time, but occasionally) when I watch a film, I might hit the display button to see how much of the film (or extras) are left. It annoys me to no end that the Samsung doesn't provide such a simple feature. In fact, I have to pause the movie to see the time status on screen.

And finally, while I might be able to live with the above quirks given enough motivation, the following is a class A, numero uno, no bones about it deal breaker. There is a 4 second lag between when video appears on screen and when my receiver receives a bitstream and sound appears. This is happening regardless of format (DTS-MA, TrueHD, DTS-ES, Dolby 5.1, Dolby 2.0, PCM). It happens on both BD and DVD. Any change and the audio bitstream drops out. This was especially aggravating when jumping from chapter to chapter in a film or when leaving the film to go to the menu. The PS3, the XA2, and my DVR all send out audio bitstreams almost instantaneous, so I know it's not the Denon. While 4 seconds might not seem like a long time, it is where I live. This was also an issue with the Onkyo receivers (I had originally purchased the 805 but returned it because I couldn't stand the bitstream drop outs, delayed audio locks, and speaker pops). I just can't stand listening to silence only to have the audio pop in mid-sentence.

Now, while I'm completely unhappy with the Samsung 1400, I'm sure there are others who are completely thrilled by it. I'm not saying any of this to denigrate their purchase decisions or their opinions. I'm merely laying out my severe disappointment as a warning to others who might be bothered by similar things as myself. Giving people differing opinions, nothing more.

805 bistream drop out? and speaker pop in the middle of the sentence? I have the 805, and non of these phenomenon happen to me. However, with PS3, my Onkyo 805 do make popping sound when I hit the stop button or skip a scene. It never pop when I watch movie. Other than that, it is a very very nice receiver. I'm no audio expert, but from your description, it might have to do with your setup.

Thanks for your input on the BD-P1400, I was wondering, is the 1400 Image quality equal to/or better than the PS3?
QCamera is offline  
post #188 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Brad Ley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCamera View Post

805 bistream drop out? and speaker pop in the middle of the sentence? I have the 805, and non of these phenomenon happen to me. However, with PS3, my Onkyo 805 do make popping sound when I hit the stop button or skip a scene. It never pop when I watch movie. Other than that, it is a very very nice receiver. I'm no audio expert, but from your description, it might have to do with your setup.

Thanks for your input on the BD-P1400, I was wondering, is the 1400 Image quality equal to/or better than the PS3?

I wasn't saying the 805 popped during playback, but as you have noticed, speakers pop when skipping chapters or stopping. I would also notice when watching television, when an audio stream would switch from 5.1 in the program to 2.0 in the commercials, the 805 would drop the audio as the reciever switched formats and would output silence for a few seconds. I could only stand about 2 days of that. But I agree it was the setup... The 805 just didn't cut it for me. The Denon 3808 was much more to my liking.


As for the 1400's image quality, it seemed as good as the PS3 from memory, but without being able to compare them simultaneously, it would be hard to make an authoritative answer.
Brad Ley is offline  
post #189 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 03:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
millerwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 11,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Does the 1400 have the Reon chip for upconverting sd dvd's like the 1200 does?
millerwill is online now  
post #190 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by millerwill View Post

Does the 1400 have the Reon chip for upconverting sd dvd's like the 1200 does?

Nope. Next month's 2400 does.

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #191 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 04:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Gary I will confirm that tonite. The 2400 will be the complete package ata great price!

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #192 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you select 480i passthrough for SDDVD's? I have the Onkyo 875 and would rather let the Reon do the upscaling.
word302 is offline  
post #193 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 04:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Gary it appears to be 4-4-4.

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #194 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Gary it appears to be 4-4-4

rveras is offline  
post #195 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
word302's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by word302 View Post

can you select 480i passthrough for SDDVD's? I have the Onkyo 875 and would rather let the Reon do the upscaling.

anyone?
word302 is offline  
post #196 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No passthrough for SD-DVDs.
rveras is offline  
post #197 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Is there an "auto" option in the 1400 audio menu. Or does one have to switch back to bitstream after watching a movie with an uncompressed PCM track?

Anyone?

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #198 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
sbass2513@hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went out and purchased the 1400 today after hearing all the news. I have the Onkyo 605 receiver and I have the 1400 hooked up to it via HDMI connection. Tonight, when playing a movie with DTS Master audio, the receiver only displayed PCM Multichannel and not DTS. I upgraded the firmware tonight so that is not the problem. People have been showing pictures of their display with DTS Hd audio displayed but I can't seem to get it. Do I have something set up wrong? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!
sbass2513@hughes is offline  
post #199 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you set the player to output Bitstream in the audio setup?

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #200 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
sbass2513@hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please disregard previous post. I didn't realize firmware update had reset all previous selections. I set it back to bitstream and It worked fine!
sbass2513@hughes is offline  
post #201 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
sbass2513@hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response madpoet. Hope you are enjoying your experience as good as I am! Take care!
sbass2513@hughes is offline  
post #202 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:29 PM
Member
 
QCamera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbass2513@hughes View Post

Thanks for the response madpoet. Hope you are enjoying your experience as good as I am! Take care!

sbass2513@hughes,

Do you experience long load time on menu and start up as "Brad Ley" described here?
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post11670613

Do you experience any problem? If possible, can you give us your verdict on the 1400? Thanks.
QCamera is offline  
post #203 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
josephmckinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Allen Park, MI
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does any owner of the 1400 have any comments regarding the upconverting capabilities of this player?

Also, does anybody know if the upcoming 2400 will internally decode DTS-HD MA. I'm happy with my processor but it lacks HDMI 1.3.
josephmckinney is offline  
post #204 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally Posted by lrstevens421
Is there an "auto" option in the 1400 audio menu. Or does one have to switch back to bitstream after watching a movie with an uncompressed PCM track?

I have mine connected to the receiver using the digital coax and the audio output set to bitstream. I can switch between the PCM & Dolby Digital tracks with not problems. So to answer you question, YES the 1400 automatically switches back to bitstream when changing from PCM to Dolby/DTS soundtracks.
rveras is offline  
post #205 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rveras View Post

I have mine connected to the receiver using the digital coax and the audio output set to bitstream. I can switch between the PCM & Dolby Digital tracks with not problems. So to answer you question, YES the 1400 automatically switches back to bitstream when changing from PCM to Dolby/DTS soundtracks.

I wonder if it behaves the same for hdmi, I really hope so.

Thanks for the response .

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #206 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 09:54 PM
Senior Member
 
reyalP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCamera View Post

sbass2513@hughes,

Do you experience long load time on menu and start up as "Brad Ley" described here?
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post11670613

Do you experience any problem? If possible, can you give us your verdict on the 1400? Thanks.


I just purchased the 1400 tonight an I can throw in some comments on what Brad Ley described. The load times are a little longer then the PS3 but not as bad as it sounds. I think they are pretty tolerable to be honest. The one thing that does bother me about the player is when you skip chapters or pause the sound does take a couple of seconds to kick back in as Brad Ley had mentioned. Hopefully they can fix this with another update but I'm not crossing my fingers. With the exception of the sound problem just mentioned I think it's a good unit.
I owned the Toshiba XA2 HD player as well and that had some pretty painfull starting a load times. I ended up taking it back because of the Onkyo model was mentioned right after i purchased it. I want the Onkyo because it is supposed to have bit stream as well. I want bit stream so I can get full use out of my 805.
reyalP is offline  
post #207 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Kelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware upgrade worked great. My Onkyo 750 picked up the DTS master audio via the bitstream and no problem with the True HD Dolby track.


Also, my player spins really loud while playing the discs. Much louder than any other player i've had over the years.


Not sure if i'll keep or return.
Bill Kelley is offline  
post #208 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rveras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've played the following movies on my 1400 so far: Apocalypto, Black Hawk Down, Hell Boy & Ghost Rider. So far the loading times has been acceptable to me but I'm curious to see what happens when I play POTC. Since this is my first Blu-ray player I cannot comment on how it compares to others. Compared the Toshiba HD-A2 however, it is slower.
rveras is offline  
post #209 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Nope. Next month's 2400 does.

Not next month -- November!
TrevorS is offline  
post #210 of 12884 Old 09-19-2007, 11:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Gary it appears to be 4-4-4.

thanks Joe, shoot I was hoping for a pure 4:2:2 output, no biggie, the Sony and Pioneers are 4:4:4 in direct mode also and are still amazing

I have one of these on order arriving friday, can't wait

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off