Samsung BDP1400 Disussion Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nonametofame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up a new unit at Best Buy, and it appeared to be the only one they had on hand. Just had the chance to fiddle around with the player a bit and here are some quick notes.

HDMI audio bitstream - Sadly, I was not able to get the elusive DTS-MA logo to switch on on my Onkyo 605 receiver. Out of the box, and with the digital output set to bitstream, I only got regular ol DTS. Not sure if a firmware upgrade will ever allow a true pass through on the audio. However, it was interesting when I selected PCM as the digital output. I checked the display on the onkyo and it said PCM 7.1. I don't think it really means anything as the lossless DTS track on X-Men 3 is only 6.1.

Boot up and load times - About 10 + seconds or so from powering on to ejecting. Loading is a different story. Some of my discs got stuck during loading (Final Fantasy: SW) or just took awhile (Weeds S2 Disc 2). I'm comparing this to my PS3 which boots and loads almost instantly. The standalones still can't touch the PS3 in that regard. It was also strange that the main menu wouldn't even show the options on the FF disc. There was the background animation, but no way to select any options. I'm thinking this might be a java issue. Hopefully a FW upgrade will fix this.

Picture and audio quality - This is where the player seems to shine. With the 1080p and 24fps options on, I got a gorgeous picture via HDMI on my Samsung HLT6756 1080p set. From my first impression, it looked a tad smoother than the PS3's PQ, which was already great. I need to test some more discs, but the PQ is quite outstanding on this player. Audio also sounded nice although I haven't had a chance to do any extensive comparisons. Black Hawk Down and FF sounded just fine.
nonametofame is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 03:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonametofame View Post

Just picked up a new unit at Best Buy, and it appeared to be the only one they had on hand. Just had the chance to fiddle around with the player a bit and here are some quick notes.

HDMI audio bitstream - Sadly, I was not able to get the elusive DTS-MA logo to switch on on my Onkyo 605 receiver. Out of the box, and with the digital output set to bitstream, I only got regular ol DTS. Not sure if a firmware upgrade will ever allow a true pass through on the audio. However, it was interesting when I selected PCM as the digital output. I checked the display on the onkyo and it said PCM 7.1. I don't think it really means anything as the lossless DTS track on X-Men 3 is only 6.1.

Boot up and load times - About 10 + seconds or so from powering on to ejecting. Loading is a different story. Some of my discs got stuck during loading (Final Fantasy: SW) or just took awhile (Weeds S2 Disc 2). I'm comparing this to my PS3 which boots and loads almost instantly. The standalones still can't touch the PS3 in that regard. It was also strange that the main menu wouldn't even show the options on the FF disc. There was the background animation, but no way to select any options. I'm thinking this might be a java issue. Hopefully a FW upgrade will fix this.

Picture and audio quality - This is where the player seems to shine. With the 1080p and 24fps options on, I got a gorgeous picture via HDMI on my Samsung HLT6756 1080p set. From my first impression, it looked a tad smoother than the PS3's PQ, which was already great. I need to test some more discs, but the PQ is quite outstanding on this player. Audio also sounded nice although I haven't had a chance to do any extensive comparisons. Black Hawk Down and FF sounded just fine.

I tested this vs the PS3 at 24fps and didn't notice any difference at all on a few setups. It is possible that your HDMI cable is the difference between the two you're testing. I've already had a friend who was getting a light amount of snow which he confused with grain until I switched the cable out for him. Check to see if black level is off as well since that makes a difference.. I still prefer the PS3 over this standalone.
Supermans is offline  
post #3 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 03:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
So no Dolby TrueHD lighting up on the 605 either? I thought they said ALL three units would do it...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #4 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tought only the 2400 would allow passing Bitstream signal, from the press release i mean..

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
post #5 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 04:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Maybe so then. I actually am planning on trying out a 2400 soon so I hope you are right.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #6 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ryoohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Repentigny, Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Maybe so then. I actually am planning on trying out a 2400 soon so I hope you are right.

Well the spec sheet mention Bitstream and Internal decoding of TrueHD, DTS HD HR and MA (FW Update), but i'am not samsung so who knows

89+ Blu-ray Disc ;)
ryoohki is offline  
post #7 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,955
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Would anyone be willing to open one of these up and take a picture of the decoder chip that is used in it? This was done previously with the Samsung BD-P1200 and proved very informative since it tells us exactly which decoder chip is used in the player.
Richard Paul is offline  
post #8 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Many players, including the PS3, will duplicate the mono discrete back channel on 6.1 tracks to create 7.1 PCM. They may think some processors won't know what to do with a 6.1 signal and dual back speakers... maybe there is a compatibility thing with PCM? Who knows.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #9 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone confirmed if this player willl output bitstream? Is it profile 1.1?
phansson is offline  
post #10 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Phila, PA
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansson View Post

Has anyone confirmed if this player willl output bitstream? Is it profile 1.1?

Someone needs to try Ghost Rider..... TrueHD.
whsbuss is offline  
post #11 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nonametofame, are you sure you had the Samsung unit setup as bitstream?? I have a new Integra 9.8 that needs a bitstream source. I looked through the manual and it said nothing about bitstream of advanced codecs but reports on the net said it will pass them.

Also, does this unit pass 7.1? I know that the 1000 and 1200 will not pass anything higher than 5.1, even via hdmi.
phansson is offline  
post #12 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 06:26 PM
 
TheHDMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryoohki View Post

I tought only the 2400 would allow passing Bitstream signal, from the press release i mean..

I tought I taw a puttie cat!...
TheHDMan is offline  
post #13 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 08:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I will have a 1400 in hand here shortly and I will use it with an Onkyo 905 so I should be able to help shed some light on the situation. No pun intended!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #14 of 12884 Old 09-01-2007, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryoohki View Post

Well the spec sheet mention Bitstream and Internal decoding of TrueHD, DTS HD HR and MA (FW Update), but i'am not samsung so who knows

I looked on Samsung's website and didn't spot DTS-HD MA mentioned anywhere, even as a firmware update. What spec sheet are you referring to?

Thanks
TrevorS is offline  
post #15 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 05:32 AM
VFR
AVS Special Member
 
VFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VFR is offline  
post #16 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 07:17 AM
RUR
Innocent Bystander
 
RUR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California Republic
Posts: 2,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Paul View Post

Would anyone be willing to open one of these up and take a picture of the decoder chip that is used in it? This was done previously with the Samsung BD-P1200 and proved very informative since it tells us exactly which decoder chip is used in the player.

Great idea and verification of the amount of RAM would be nice, too (I didn't photograph it, but the 1200 has 256K). Can an owner verify that 24p lip-synch issues and proper 4:3 aspect ratio display have also been resolved?

Thanks!
RUR is offline  
post #17 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VFR View Post

1400 spec


2400 spec

Thanks!

The 2400 data sheet shows: Dolby® Digital, Dolby®Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, dts-HD, HR, MA (upgradeable by firmware)

The 1400 data sheet shows: Dolby® Digital, Dolby®Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, dts-HD

So it appears the HR and MA capabilities will be restricted to the BD-P2400, the 1400 just gets DTS-HD Core (DTS Surround).
TrevorS is offline  
post #18 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 01:41 PM
 
Slingbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the 1200 in the 5084 plasma package deal last week at CC.Im thinking of returning the 1200 for the 1400.
The Question,
Is the 1400 better then the 1200 or is it a wast of time exchanging?
Slingbox is offline  
post #19 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quetzalcoatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slingbox View Post

I picked up the 1200 in the 5084 plasma package deal last week at CC.Im thinking of returning the 1200 for the 1400.
The Question,
Is the 1400 better then the 1200 or is it a wast of time exchanging?

I would say waste of time. The 1200 has a better chip for upconverts. Now if the 2400 comes out before your exchange time is up I would make that change for the DTS HD MA.

The object of war is not to die for your country, but to make the other bastard die for theirs.
General George Patton
Quetzalcoatl is offline  
post #20 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 03:05 PM
 
Slingbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quetzalcoatl View Post

I would say waste of time. The 1200 has a better chip for upconverts. Now if the 2400 comes out before your exchange time is up I would make that change for the DTS HD MA.

I took the 1200 back and got a gift card for $539.00 so time is now on my side .The rep at CC was pushing me towards the Panasonic but hmm not sure.
Slingbox is offline  
post #21 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 03:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I would say if you plan to use it for mainly for Blu ray the 1400 would be better than the 1200. Dolby TrueHD is where it is at! Upconverting you have a case for the 1200 though. I plan to end up with the 2400 for my theater but will still give the 1400 a good workout...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #22 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 03:17 PM
 
Slingbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I would say if you plan to use it for mainly for Blu ray the 1400 would be better than the 1200. Dolby TrueHD is where it is at! Upconverting you have a case for the 1200 though. I plan to end up with the 2400 for my theater but will still give the 1400 a good workout...

Do you think CC will Carry the 2400 Anytime soon ??
Slingbox is offline  
post #23 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Adz523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Metro NY
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What chip does the 1400 use for upconverting?

Adz
Adz523 is offline  
post #24 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 05:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
In a few weeks the 2400 will most likely be hitting the BBs abd CCs... I do not know what chip the 1400 is using but I am sure it is no slouch... I will test it out soon...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #25 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 05:20 PM
 
Slingbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Joe.I will hold out for the 2400 then


hmm heck
I will pick up the 1400 and then upgrade to the 2400
Slingbox is offline  
post #26 of 12884 Old 09-02-2007, 08:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Sounds like a plan!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #27 of 12884 Old 09-03-2007, 05:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
nonametofame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some good news and bad news.

The Good: Samsung has a new firmware upgrade available to download via the player's Lan input. I was able to download it and install it without any problems. Only thing it seemed to change was the response time from the remote inputs. Other than that, I have no idea what it offers, but I did throw in a Fox title immediately.

The Bad: Sure enough, it still does not allow for bitstream passthrough. Only got the DTS core soundtrack on Flyboys. I guess this might confirm that this will only be available on the 2400 model.

The Ugly: I haven't had time to experiment with any more discs, but I do hope the FW upgrade fixed some issues with disc loading. I put in the BD torture test disc, Pirates of the Caribbean and it took an eternity to load. And it seemed random with other discs, all varying from snappy to almost unbearable. I'll post again later with any other findings.
nonametofame is offline  
post #28 of 12884 Old 09-03-2007, 06:06 AM
Newbie
 
weathertop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nonametofame, does this player remember a paused position in a movie if the disk is ejected?
weathertop is offline  
post #29 of 12884 Old 09-03-2007, 07:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
It would make sense that the 2400 has the HBR passthrough since it is coming out a little bit later. I would hope they would offer a firmware to make the 1400 do the same...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #30 of 12884 Old 09-03-2007, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
rlhjr34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Warrenton, VA
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm like Joe. I'd really like to know if the 1400 will do the bitstream. I already have the XA2 for my standard DVD playback and don't need the upconversion ability of the 2400. If I have to spend the extra money for the 2400 to get bitstream I guess I will.
rlhjr34 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off