Official PS3 FAQ Master Thread - Page 151 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
V.X.Donique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Black Mesa Research Facilities
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Good reply, I was looking at players with dual HDMI outputs in case the splitter didn't work.. Got the top of the line from Monoprice..
Awesome, which one did you pick up?

V.X.Donique
Introducing the Vier Systems Xero.1/Midbasiks Subwoofer builds....
Creator of the AVScience DIY Speakers and Subwoofers Forum
"Don't concentrate on the finger or you will miss all that heavenly glory." -Bruce Lee
V.X.Donique is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Monoprice splitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by V.X.Donique View Post
Awesome, which one did you pick up?
Here is the splitter from Monoprice. It works like a charm and AVR gets the HD sound formats: DTS-HD & Dolby True HD. Don't have to buy a new receiver:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=10249
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dts.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	730490  

taxman48 is offline  
post #4503 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Not trying to beat this horse but are you saying that the PS3 is handshaking as 3D capable when you have your non-3D receiver connected with your 3D TV? You've actually watched a 3D movie that way, receiver powered on for sound?
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Here is the splitter from Monoprice. It works like a charm and AVR gets the HD sound formats: DTS-HD & Dolby True HD. Don't have to buy a new receiver:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=10249
rakstr is offline  
post #4504 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Yes, that's exactly right. I thought I had to by a new receiver that passes the sound and video if the splitter didn't work. . But thanks to the splitter, I enjoy all 3 D movies. With the recommendations of fellow AVS members, I purchased 2 pair of Panasonic glasses that work flawlessly. The JVC glasses are very expensive ($186.).. Panasonic glasses are about $40. a pair. I have watched Avatar and also Prometeus, great 3D movies. I am getting the new audio formats as shown in the picture..

JVC:
http://www.amazon.com/JVC-PKAG3G-RF-...jvc+3d+glasses

Panasonic:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...6XE5WV8FZHG6W6

Hope this helps, thats why PS3 is one of the better players around, 3D ready also..

taxman48 is offline  
post #4505 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
That's awesome it's working for you. I've got PS3s in each of 3 setups and monoprice splitters. With my 2013 M70 and M65 setup, I need to make sure the non-3D device "HDMI legs" are unplugged to watch 3D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Yes, that's exactly right. I thought I had to by a new receiver that passes the sound and video if the splitter didn't work. . But thanks to the splitter, I enjoy all 3 D movies. With the recommendations of fellow AVS members, I purchased 2 pair of Panasonic glasses that work flawlessly. The JVC glasses are very expensive ($186.).. Panasonic glasses are about $40. a pair. I have watched Avatar and also Prometeus, great 3D movies. I am getting the new audio formats as shown in the picture..

JVC:
http://www.amazon.com/JVC-PKAG3G-RF-...jvc+3d+glasses

Panasonic:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...6XE5WV8FZHG6W6

Hope this helps, thats why PS3 is one of the better players around, 3D ready also..
rakstr is offline  
post #4506 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
I have a JVC X 35 and a PS 3. Since my AVR does not pass thru 3D, I use a splitter. HDMI to Receiver and HDMI to PJ.. I have no problems whatsoever.. I get all the DTS-HD and Dolby True-HD lights lit on receiver...
Never thought about this. I have a 3d projector and an onkyo 805. I have been using optical to receiver. Would love to try this so I can get HD audio out of my PS4. You have a link to your splitter? Or will any splitter do?
bori is online now  
post #4507 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
rakstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: dallas
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Do you have any video device connected to your receiver?

Perhaps someone with more knowledge of the handshake protocol is on this thread but I wonder if there is some provision or oversight (it's not a bug it's a feature) that if there is no video device the receiver reports nothing and so the switch is just reporting the video capabilities of the TV?? I'd be curious to know if you plugged a non-3D video device into the receiver if it ceased to function.

Last edited by rakstr; 05-22-2015 at 05:26 PM.
rakstr is offline  
post #4508 of 4524 Old 05-22-2015, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 12,373
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 1405
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Yes, that's exactly right. I thought I had to by a new receiver that passes the sound and video if the splitter didn't work. . But thanks to the splitter, I enjoy all 3 D movies. With the recommendations of fellow AVS members, I purchased 2 pair of Panasonic glasses that work flawlessly. The JVC glasses are very expensive ($186.).. Panasonic glasses are about $40. a pair. I have watched Avatar and also Prometeus, great 3D movies. I am getting the new audio formats as shown in the picture..

JVC:
http://www.amazon.com/JVC-PKAG3G-RF-...jvc+3d+glasses

Panasonic:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...6XE5WV8FZHG6W6

Hope this helps, thats why PS3 is one of the better players around, 3D ready also..
Must be a PS3 slim .. ?? I don't think this is going to work with my 1st gen unit, but I may give it a shot on the slim ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
post #4509 of 4524 Old 05-25-2015, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Well, I think I have fixed my hdmi handshake problem using a combination of suggestions from this thread. I would have to guess that the problem lies with the apparent fact that the PS3 and other BR player devices(I had the same problem with my other players, Sony and Samsung)and the datastream configuration. My configuration is PS3 and Directv DVR as sources. Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver with LG PF1500 LED and JVC RS40 projectors. Here is how I solved it:

1. Used Monoprice 4 in 2 out switcher with remote. Switcher is 3 years old. Read article recently that said older switchers removed hdmi info.
2. Bought Monoprice 1 in 2 out splitter.
3. Wired PS3 and DVR hdmi into switcher.
4. Sent Output A of switcher to splitter with each splitter output going to a projector.
5. Sent Output B to Onkyo for hdmi audio.
6. Set PS3 audio to PCM instead of bitstream.

I tried the above config with bitstream and got no audio from the PS3. I think the problem is a combo of the PS3 using different video output streams for the menu and the movie and my Onkyo not liking going from one to the other. I could start the PS3 by loading a movie and the Onkyo would pick it up. But when I stopped the movie I couldn't get the menu to appear. I had none of these problems with the Directv DVR, only the PS3 and other BR players. My only problem now is getting all of the audio and video synced. Working on that.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #4510 of 4524 Old 05-25-2015, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,952
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Well, I think I have fixed my hdmi handshake problem using a combination of suggestions from this thread.
...
Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
Hi JackB, you may have ran across these two settings in attempt to fix your issue, But if not try turning off "Deep Color/Colour Output (HDMI)" under Display Settings. If still not working also try turning off "BD 1080p 24Hz output (HDMI)" under Video Settings (or turn off both settings).
JChin is offline  
post #4511 of 4524 Old 05-25-2015, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post
Hi JackB, you may have ran across these two settings in attempt to fix your issue, But if not try turning off "Deep Color/Colour Output (HDMI)" under Display Settings. If still not working also try turning off "BD 1080p 24Hz output (HDMI)" under Video Settings (or turn off both settings).
Right now it is all working, I think. The video definitely is working and the sound from the BR seems better. I can't tell for sure what I'm getting because when using PCM instead of bitstream the Onkyo doesn't display the actual symbol for Dolby True HD or DTS - MA. I do know that all 7 channels are delivering sound.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #4512 of 4524 Old 05-25-2015, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Here is the splitter from Monoprice. It works like a charm and AVR gets the HD sound formats: DTS-HD & Dolby True HD. Don't have to buy a new receiver:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=10249
What pioneer elite model are you using?
bori is online now  
post #4513 of 4524 Old 05-27-2015, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto area, Canada
Posts: 1,446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Has anybody heard/read of any technical PQ/video output differences among the various PS3 versions? It is really hard to find such info, people mostly only discussed PS3 PQ for playing BDs when they were a newish item, or when they fixed a few glitches in FW.

Why I ask: I recently got a weak laser on my fat PS3...going to replace the whole mech later today. I took that as a warning, it is one noisy and hot sucker, since new, and it's perfectly clean inside. Call it a gen-2 version, not the original release. In the meantime, I got a super slim PS3, the absolutely latest version that's not even in wiki (only one LED, single lens laser, etc.). Don't have room/need for both in rack/area, need to decide which one will be the backup. Run the fat until it gets YLOD, or let it sleep and burn the super slim at least until its warranty expires...the latter seems more sensible if PQ is equal.

Thanks.

Edit: since nobody knows or is telling , I did some more of my own digging. The Slim and Super Slim models definitely have a measurably "contaminated" HDMI output. The Fat models do not. This means that if you put a data frame grabber on the HDMI output, the "new" HDMI chip (from when they added bitstreaming etc., remember?) is not faithfully outputting what it should be, there are continuous data errors. This is always measurable, not sometimes, so is believed to be a (non-fixed) bug in the chip. Whether you can see it or not depends on you and your gear. So I'll use the Fat for movies and the SS for games, spread the use more evenly. Once I got the (fixed) Fat off my workbench, I could in fact arrange them both on the same rack shelf without any ventilation holes being obscured...my bad for not figuring that out at the beginning.

Last edited by cfraser; 05-29-2015 at 01:36 PM.
cfraser is offline  
post #4514 of 4524 Old 08-10-2015, 08:37 PM
Member
 
dogbertok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PS3 is only playing DVD's via the TV sound system now. I have the PS3 connected to my Denon AVR 1713 and the Denon to the TV of course. It just seemed to start doing this. Blurays are playing fine (at times). Sometimes I have to jump between sources to get the PS3 to show up on my TV. All the other inputs (Radio, Network Pandora, Media Players, and TV seem to do fine with the surround sound. I figure this is some setting on the PS3. Thoughts?
dogbertok is offline  
post #4515 of 4524 Old 08-16-2015, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Bamafan35611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anyone heard of putting PS4 firmware on the PS3. I saw a video and said it can be done??
Bamafan35611 is offline  
post #4516 of 4524 Old 10-01-2015, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Lightbulb What's the BEST Sony PS3 (as a bluray player)>?

Hey Guys,
My PS3 Slim is starting to wear pretty thin in the tooth, and wondering what the best version of the PS3 I should get as a Bluray Player (90% Movies 10% Games)....I've had the PS3, 60GB FAT, and I felt the 120GB Slim I have rendered the video a tad better....ANY INPUT WOULD BE AWESOME!!!

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/92-community-news-polls/1601353-ht-month-duck-cover.html"]My HToTM: Duck and Cover
KBMAN is offline  
post #4517 of 4524 Old 10-03-2015, 03:36 PM
Member
 
Hairsonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Arrrrgh!!!! Avengers Age of Ultron 3D

This dang blu ray won't play in my PS3!!! There is some anomaly with this disc and I am so frustrated!! My PS3 has played all discs flawlessly up until now - so odd and exasperating! Any one have the same experience? It actually did finally start to play it but the image was very strange, it was 3d but the colors were all wrong - stopped it and it wouldn't start again - what the heck? :
Hairsonfire is offline  
post #4518 of 4524 Old 10-06-2015, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Hey Guys,
My PS3 Slim is starting to wear pretty thin in the tooth, and wondering what the best version of the PS3 I should get as a Bluray Player (90% Movies 10% Games)....I've had the PS3, 60GB FAT, and I felt the 120GB Slim I have rendered the video a tad better....ANY INPUT WOULD BE AWESOME!!!
I have the 120 GB Slim and the 12 GB flash storage Super Slim PS3, which I upgraded to 500 GB with an old 2.5" notebook hard drive I had laying around. There are pros and cons regarding the systems, but they both playback Blu-rays and DVDs at the same quality, as far as I can tell.

I use the Super Slim. Why? It runs quieter. I like the front-facing green light on the front when the power is on, which is easier to see than the Slim's white lights that point up, not face front. I like that the Super Slim doesn't have the flashing hard drive indicator light. And actually, I like the top-loading disc drive. Sure, it isn't as elegant as the slot-loading drive, but you can change discs without the device being on. Many times I have had a Netflix movie still in the PS3 and with the Super Slim I can take it out without powering on. Then I can load up another disc and have it ready when I sit down later. And obviously, the PS3 Super Slim is smaller and lighter.

For me, the PS3 is a rock-solid performer. Plus, it remembers where you last left off on several DVDs, which is a plus for me since I am often watching several shows on DVD as well as Blu-rays. On any standard Blu-ray player, as soon as you open the disc drawer, the player forgets your place on the DVD.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #4519 of 4524 Old 10-06-2015, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Thanks ToonMasterTim .....

I ended up ordering a new, open-box PS3 160GB Slim for a very good price...I just couldn't get myself to go with the super slim for some reason...perhaps my long-term relationship with my current 120 slim...Thank You for the info on the last of the PS3's

Terry
ToonMasterTim likes this.

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/92-community-news-polls/1601353-ht-month-duck-cover.html"]My HToTM: Duck and Cover
KBMAN is offline  
post #4520 of 4524 Old 10-10-2015, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Sony BD Player & PS3 HDMI Handshake Issues

Anyone have issues with handshaking and figured out a fix? I have the Sony, either one, hooked up to my Onkyo receiver and then to either a JVC RS40 or a LG PF1500 LED projector. I also have a Directv Genie client hooked to the Onkyo. This gives me no problem. Only the Sonys. Basic logic tells me that if the Directv works then something strange is happening because the Sonys have something different about their signal processing. Both players work fine on my Vizeo LCD flat panel.

Edit: I was able to get the BD plaer to play the disk by loading and hitting play. But when I hit stop the blue steak Sony uses as the menu background appears momentarily but then disappears and the menu system would not appear. Is there something different about how the video of the menu is different than the video of the movie?

Jack

Last edited by JackB; 10-10-2015 at 11:41 AM.
JackB is offline  
post #4521 of 4524 Old 10-11-2015, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
Anyone have issues with handshaking and figured out a fix? I have the Sony, either one, hooked up to my Onkyo receiver and then to either a JVC RS40 or a LG PF1500 LED projector. I also have a Directv Genie client hooked to the Onkyo. This gives me no problem. Only the Sonys. Basic logic tells me that if the Directv works then something strange is happening because the Sonys have something different about their signal processing. Both players work fine on my Vizeo LCD flat panel.

Edit: I was able to get the BD plaer to play the disk by loading and hitting play. But when I hit stop the blue steak Sony uses as the menu background appears momentarily but then disappears and the menu system would not appear. Is there something different about how the video of the menu is different than the video of the movie?
Yes, the menu generally is different than a movie, both video/audio wise....For example, when a movie switches to 1080P/24 and DTS MASTER AUDIO....
Question...Do you have your Onkyo set to 'passthrough'? I have a very similar setup (JVC RS20, Integra DHC-40.1, PS3) and I always let the projector do the video processing...Seems to work very well with no hand-shake issues either....FWIW, I am using a active HDMI cable (monoprice redmere) from my preamp to the projector...PS...I heard in the past about people having these issues with the RS40.....You might want to repost in the projector forum as well (if you can find the thread!)
Terry

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/92-community-news-polls/1601353-ht-month-duck-cover.html"]My HToTM: Duck and Cover
KBMAN is offline  
post #4522 of 4524 Old 10-11-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 2,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBMAN View Post
Yes, the menu generally is different than a movie, both video/audio wise....For example, when a movie switches to 1080P/24 and DTS MASTER AUDIO....
Question...Do you have your Onkyo set to 'passthrough'? I have a very similar setup (JVC RS20, Integra DHC-40.1, PS3) and I always let the projector do the video processing...Seems to work very well with no hand-shake issues either....FWIW, I am using a active HDMI cable (monoprice redmere) from my preamp to the projector...PS...I heard in the past about people having these issues with the RS40.....You might want to repost in the projector forum as well (if you can find the thread!)
Terry
Yes, the Onkyo is set to passthru. I am going to try a friends BD player that is not a Sony. See if that makes a difference.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #4523 of 4524 Old 11-13-2015, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 198
what are the audio settings for using optical for sound? Using HDMi to PJ for video and optical for sound to AVR..I get a 3D picture but sometime no sound..Very frustrated, cant wait till Christmas to get a dual HDMI player to solve this problem.

taxman48 is offline  
post #4524 of 4524 Old 12-30-2015, 05:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I think my PS3 is circling?

Hello all. I a PS3 "fat" 80Gb circa 2009 that seems to be circling. I use the PS3 primarily for watching movies but occasionally for light gaming. I've been having problems playing DVD's for awhile--especially a DVD with any scratches. Blu-ray discs play fine. (For the record, the scratched discs typically play with no skipping in a stand-alone DVD player). Recently the PS3 has been "blacking out" intermittently while watching movies or playing games. The movie or game continues to run but the picture and sound cut out. This lasts for about 5 seconds then the picture and audio come back with no residual effects. The black out seems to be caused by lights or appliances coming on or going off. I have a fluorescent light that is particularly good at triggering these black outs. This problem started about 4-5 months ago but was very intermittent. Recently it is occurring more and more, sometimes several times during a movie. Originally I thought it was my receiver, but the problem does not persist when I switch inputs to appleTV. I have also eliminated the HDMI cable by switching the appleTV and PS3 HDMI cables. I have also switched electrical outlets but the problem remained. I took the PS3 apart to clean the lasers several months ago and the problem started after (but not immediately after). Any other advice or things to try? Is this PS3 worth saving? I have a potential buy on a PS3 slim (model CECH-3001b) that is about a year old for $100. Is this a good buy or would it be better to invest in a new PS3/fix my old PS3? Thanks for the help.
Hatleyjm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony Blu Ray Disk Remote For Sony Playstation 3
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off