Official PS3 FAQ Master Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
luigionlsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you press the pop-up menu button on the remote, you can. If you don't have the remote, press Select on the controller and move to the pop-up menu button. One of the best features of HD DVD and Blu-ray Disc, as far as I'm concerned.

edit: as far as scenes to test, I usually go with the credit sequence, and the free-running segment at the beginning.
luigionlsd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 3,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
TrueHD/DTS-MA/LPCM are lossless. DD and DTS are not. Yes, there will be a difference, but I doubt you'd hear it through your TV's speakers.
42041 is offline  
post #633 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rr330i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
singitloud, how good of a deal can this be?
If its not under $200, I'd walk.
rr330i is offline  
post #634 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
singitloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rr330i View Post

singitloud, how good of a deal can this be?
If its not under $200, I'd walk.

Really? Why would you say that?

I'm not one to second guess my purchase, but this is what I got:
  • 80G b/c PS3
  • Two PlayStation Wireless controllers
  • DVD remote
  • HDMI cable
  • Bluetooth headset & charger
  • A couple of memory cards
  • Call of Duty 4
  • Spiderman 3 (game)
  • National Treasure (movie)
  • 5 online games

I got this for $424 after shipping & insurance.

Okay, so I think I gat a decent deal - not a "steal" but a decent deal.

If the system doesn't work, then my money isn't released through PayPal and I return it to him.

Anyway. Hopefully I will get it tomorrow of Saturday and be able to look into the PSN account situation.

Dwaine

Sing... Worship... Live the Life!
singitloud is offline  
post #635 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by singitloud View Post

Really? Why would you say that?

I'm not one to second guess my purchase, but this is what I got:
  • 80G b/c PS3
  • Two PlayStation Wireless controllers
  • DVD remote
  • HDMI cable
  • Bluetooth headset & charger
  • A couple of memory cards
  • Call of Duty 4
  • Spiderman 3 (game)
  • National Treasure (movie)
  • 5 online games

I got this for $424 after shipping & insurance.

Okay, so I think I gat a decent deal - not a "steal" but a decent deal.

If the system doesn't work, then my money isn't released through PayPal and I return it to him.

Anyway. Hopefully I will get it tomorrow of Saturday and be able to look into the PSN account situation.

Dwaine

Good deal over at the walmart

Sony PlayStation 3 Bundle w/ Bonus $75 Walmart.com Gift Card* includes:


PlayStation 3 80GB Console
Your choice of PS3 game
Your choice of Blu-ray movie
Sony Blu-ray Remote
BONUS $75 Walmart.com Gift Card*

*One (1) per customer, limited time offer while supplies last
$468

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #636 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 07:27 PM
Member
 
pnewcomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, that walmart deal looks pretty good. i like that you can choose the game
pnewcomb is offline  
post #637 of 4480 Old 10-23-2008, 07:49 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Folks,
The AVS Forum moderators here have asked that all pricing and "where to buy" discussions be limited to this particular sticky thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=937817

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #638 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
singitloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Athens, Alabama
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I was responding to the comment that only if I paid under $200 did I get a good deal.

My main point is that I am happy with what I *think* I am getting (since I don't actualy have it yet) and am looking forward to putting away my Toshiba A2 and setting up my PS3 Blu-Ray Player.

Sing... Worship... Live the Life!
singitloud is offline  
post #639 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 12:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
krholmberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question... I didn't bother dowloading any of the 2.4x updates because of issues that may or may not affect Blu-Ray playback. Are there any bugs with 2.5x that would make one not want to dowload it? I've searched this site and others for about an hour and couldn't come up with any useful info. Thanks!

Krister
krholmberg is offline  
post #640 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petrovy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by krholmberg View Post

Quick question... I didn't bother dowloading any of the 2.4x updates because of issues that may or may not affect Blu-Ray playback. Are there any bugs with 2.5x that would make one not want to dowload it? I've searched this site and others for about an hour and couldn't come up with any useful info. Thanks!

So far fw v.2.50 looks pretty good, based on the lack of complaints that we encounter.
Personally, I had no problem installing and no problems (yet) using....however, I believe the new fw has increased the fan noise on my old 80GB PS3.

all is good....LNT4671 1005/1001 SQ01 w/old PS3 80G,Oppo 83 & 2400ES into Mirage OS3FS
petrovy is offline  
post #641 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
krholmberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 977
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Diganosis by exclusion! I was thinking the same thing but though I'd ask in case I missed something.

Krister
krholmberg is offline  
post #642 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 02:56 PM
Member
 
knoxbh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Winter Haven, FL USA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
On one of the recent replies, it stated that when using the PS3 as a straight DVD player, you should go into the PS3 and enter an "upconversion" mode and enter "normal". Can someone tell me where to find the above entries on the PS3 By the way, you are helping an "83" old and most of the time he does need "help"!! Thanks.
knoxbh is offline  
post #643 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 03:11 PM
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxbh View Post

On one of the recent replies, it stated that when using the PS3 as a straight DVD player, you should go into the PS3 and enter an "upconversion" mode and enter "normal". Can someone tell me where to find the above entries on the PS3 By the way, you are helping an "83" old and most of the time he does need "help"!! Thanks.

If you go to the settings tab of the main menu interface, you should find DVD/BD settings. Within that, you will see Upconversion.


A question about Iron Man:
What are the settings I need to enter for sound?
Lkr is offline  
post #644 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoxbh View Post

On one of the recent replies, it stated that when using the PS3 as a straight DVD player, you should go into the PS3 and enter an "upconversion" mode and enter "normal". Can someone tell me where to find the above entries on the PS3 By the way, you are helping an "83" old and most of the time he does need "help"!! Thanks.

Use the the PS3 online manual. Here is a link to the manual page you need.
http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...ings.html#2449

You are starting a the PS3 main menu settings tab. http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...tions/xmb.html
WhatHappend is offline  
post #645 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkr View Post

A question about Iron Man:
What are the settings I need to enter for sound?

Same recommended settings as all other Bluray discs. (Hint read OP topic, Dynamic Range NOT "Automatic")
WhatHappend is offline  
post #646 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 03:23 PM
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

Same recommended settings as all other Bluray discs. (Hint read OP topic, Dynamic Range NOT "Automatic")

Alright, is this recommended even if I'm using basic 2 channel audio?
Lkr is offline  
post #647 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lkr View Post

Alright, is this recommended even if I'm using basic 2 channel audio?

Are you using the TV speakers?

If you are using TV speaker and can hear the audio any setting is fine (they will all sound about the same (crappy).)
WhatHappend is offline  
post #648 of 4480 Old 10-24-2008, 04:12 PM
Lkr
AVS Special Member
 
Lkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a problem. When I play a movie, the picture burns in until another picture replaces it. It is not burn in(I have an LCD, and nothing elseo n the PS3 burns in). It is mainly the play/pause buttons. How can I fix this? it only happens on black screens, and is mainly the control panel and time display buttons in the black bar at the bottom framing
Lkr is offline  
post #649 of 4480 Old 10-26-2008, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
seascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpHeRe31459 View Post

Not going to happen, the PS3 isn't a stand alone video processor.

And most importantly you are a bit misinformed.
The change over is to digital televison, which includes HDTV but is not limited to it. The ATSC standard defines various digital TV resolutions from 480i to 1080i. The stations just have to be digital, not necessarily HD.
You are correct, that the mandate is about broadcast "over-the-air" stations only and has nothing do with cable or satellite.
Cable providers can continue to do whatever mix of analog and digital they please. Now many cable companies are using the 2009 date confusion to move their customers to digital just because they want to (for a variety of reasons), but it is not required.

Is there another way to upconvert SDTV cable to any of the Hi-Def resolutions like the PS3 does for standard DVD's?

"There's no place like home." [Wizard of Oz - 1939]
seascape is offline  
post #650 of 4480 Old 10-26-2008, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by seascape View Post

Is there another way to upconvert SDTV cable to any of the Hi-Def resolutions like the PS3 does for standard DVD's?

Most newer AV receivers can upconvert, some better than others.

All HDTVs upconvert, They have to -- they can only display at their native resolutions, so they must upconvert signals of lower resolution in order to display them full-screen.

Many standalone scalers upconvert video, and of course there are dedicated HT scalers that are designed for this job.

I also suggest that you make sure you're not expecting too much. SD cable generally looks like crap, and upscaled crap is still crap. Upscaling does not change the amount of video data that exists in the original signal, nor does it do anything to defects in the analog signal (snow, noise, ghosting, etc.) except make them easier to see.

Look around for test reports on your TV, and see how it did in the tests for scaling SD sources. If it did well, you may already have the best you're going to get. Remember that an anamorphic SD DVD has more video data and less artifacting than an SD TV signal, so an upscaled DVD will look considerably better than upscaled TV generally will.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #651 of 4480 Old 10-26-2008, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Now many cable companies are using the 2009 date confusion to move their customers to digital just because they want to (for a variety of reasons), but it is not required.

could you be referring to digital cable box remtal fees?

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #652 of 4480 Old 10-27-2008, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpHeRe31459's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

could you be referring to digital cable box remtal fees?

LOL, indeed, and the movement of everything but the most basic/required of channels away from an analog tier.
SpHeRe31459 is offline  
post #653 of 4480 Old 10-27-2008, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
clarkjohnsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They look really great, BUT each and every one that's a regular 4x3 is rendered somewhat, but noticeably, more narrowly than that. (Yes I've measured.) But anamorphic SDs turn out fine.

The projector is a JVC-RS1 set to "automatic" in the aspect ratio. And I'm using HDMI.

Anyone? Sony has no idea.

clarkjohnsen
clarkjohnsen is offline  
post #654 of 4480 Old 10-28-2008, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
seascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any other 'channel' that can be set on the Playstation Life internet? You know.. the one that has the Earth and spins while playing music (which it really good by the way). In the options screen it says CHANNEL which implies you can "change channels" but I can't find any channels to change it too.

The only thing I was able to do was add more music tracks to it [via the MP3/WMA music library on the PS3 hard drive].

"There's no place like home." [Wizard of Oz - 1939]
seascape is offline  
post #655 of 4480 Old 10-29-2008, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 55
my r1 and L1 are different from yours.. For me to advance chapters I use R1.. Just finished watching Die hard and was hitting L1 to advance chapters. But it went backwards for the chapter.. So I used R1 to advance chapters..

taxman48 is offline  
post #656 of 4480 Old 10-29-2008, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

my r1 and L1 are different from yours.. For me to advance chapters I use R1.. Just finished watching Die hard and was hitting L1 to advance chapters. But it went backwards for the chapter.. So I used R1 to advance chapters..

Time and time again people - fast forward, rewind, chapter skip etc are NOT universal - they vary from title/distributor.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #657 of 4480 Old 10-30-2008, 05:24 PM
EVT
AVS Special Member
 
EVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Hi guys,

I have my PS3 connected via HDMI to by AVR; by deselecting PCM 2.0 172 Khz I am able to playback CD's as PCM 2.0 and apply processing such as DPLII Music, etc.; however, I cannot seem to achieve the same result for music that is stored on the PS3; has anyone been able to do so in such a setup (i.e. over HDMI)? If so any help would be greatly appreciated.
EVT is offline  
post #658 of 4480 Old 10-30-2008, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOREPOWER View Post

Just purchased a PS3 at Sony style, and they wont sell an extended warranty. The guy said the do not offer it on the PS3. I wonder if I can get one at Sam's club without buying the ps3 there.

go to Squaretrade and get one there for a better deal.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #659 of 4480 Old 10-30-2008, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOREPOWER View Post

Just purchased a PS3 at Sony style, and they wont sell an extended warranty. The guy said the do not offer it on the PS3. I wonder if I can get one at Sam's club without buying the ps3 there.

If you bought it by credit card, it may extend the warranty for free.
Kage is offline  
post #660 of 4480 Old 10-30-2008, 10:50 PM
Member
 
dth122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a new PS3 owner, using it as my Blu Ray player. It's connected via HDMI through a Marantz AV8003 to a JVC RS2. The picture of Blu Ray discs is fantastic, however, I'm having a problem with what I would characterize as mosquito noise in all other video. It's so bad that it looks almost like an analog TV channel that isn't quite tuned in.

I have the noise problem on the menu screen, on all of the black screens coming into and out of the menu to different playback options. SD DVD playback seems to have it intermittently as well. One interesting thing I noticed is that if I go to video setting and switch 1080p/24 from Auto to On, the confirmation screen to keep the setting looks clean and clear, however after I accept the setting and go back to the menu screen, the noise returns.

Has anyone seen this before or do you have any ideas on how to address?

FWIW, I'm running the latest 2.50 software.
- Dave
dth122 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony Blu Ray Disk Remote For Sony Playstation 3
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off