Official PS3 FAQ Master Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 02:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bugg77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR9 View Post

My question is two-fold really.

Part 1:

Everyone says the PS3 can't output highend DD/DTS over bitstream due to the following two ideas:

1. They haven't unlocked it via firmware
1a. Why would they NOT release one.

2. PS3 is hardware limited? If so HOW and WHY is this true?

Part 2:

If the PS3 is your only Blu-Ray player, pairing it up with a beast like 5808 for example is a complete waste? Since nothing is being decodeded in the reciever but in the PS3 and spit out LPCM. Feels like all the money you invested in is being unsed and might as well bought a 1909 or whatever.

More logical to buy a standalone Blu-Ray player for your highend receivers if you own one.

Thanks and appericate any help/input on this subject.

Part 1: There are a lot of posts on this and people have supposedly contacted the manufacturer of the HDMI chip in the PS3 to confirm that it did not include the necessary code to pass lossless audio via bitstream.

Part 2: I don't see why it is a waste to buy the 5808 if you have the PS3 as your Blu-Ray player. If you only bought the 5808 (or other high end AVR) for it's ability to decode HD audio, then maybe. However, the 5808 has a lot more features than the 1909 and may/may not do a better job of handling and even post-processing the PS3's LPCM stream. HD Audio decoding is just one feature that may/may not impact why you choose a specific AVR.
Bugg77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 02:45 PM
DR9
Member
 
DR9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugg77 View Post

Part 1: There are a lot of posts on this and people have supposedly contacted the manufacturer of the HDMI chip in the PS3 to confirm that it did not include the necessary code to pass lossless audio via bitstream.

Ah thanks alot, I've combed through alot of posts but never noticed that information, good to know.
DR9 is offline  
post #93 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
DarkAdept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep in mind that the PS3 was the very first mass market HDMI 1.3 device out there. In order to meet their aggressive schedule I suspect they worked closely with their providers to ensure that the features they needed were going to be ready, and were going to be cost effective. There simply wasn't a part on the market that supported all of the HDMI 1.3 features until well after the PS3's launch.

Since Sony knew there was enough horsepower to decode anything locally I suspect it wasn't a high priority and they were happy to ship without it. It would also be extremely difficult to validate a bitstreaming design since there wasn't anything even close to being ready to test it against.
DarkAdept is offline  
post #94 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
On a side note.
The new 80gig PSP without the Metal Gear Solid 4 bundle is just the same o'l 40gig PS3 with a new bigger HD. That's why the price is only $399. Nothing new, just bigger HD.

2014
42Plasmaman is online now  
post #95 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 107
PS3 uses a SiL 9132 HDMI transmitter chip and a SiL 9133 HDMI receiver chip. A couple of months before the PS3 first went on sale a press release from Silicon Image (the chip manufacturer) included the following paragraph:

Sony has indicated that the PlayStation 3 is expected to ship in November of this year with the ability to render the highest-quality video ever seen in a consumer device,” said Dale Zimmerman, vice president of marketing at Silicon Image. “The SiI 9133 receiver matches the capabilities of the PlayStation 3 and makes it possible for HDTV manufacturers to ship products this year that are capable of displaying Deep Color images, for the highest-quality gaming experience and fullest enjoyment of high-definition movies. The SiI 9134 brings these same benefits to next generation DVD players, with additional support for the latest high-quality audio formats, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio.

Note in particular the final sentence where it says that the SiL 9134 chip, that is used in many standalone BD players, supports Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD-MA which is an additional capabilty beyond the chips used in the PS3.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #96 of 4480 Old 09-02-2008, 07:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Not another one of these threads.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #97 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
sbaillar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: S.I., NYC
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

On a side note.
The new 80gig PSP without the Metal Gear Solid 4 bundle is just the same o'l 40gig PS3 with a new bigger HD. That's why the price is only $399. Nothing new, just bigger HD.

Actually this is not true. The new PS3 will have the new 45nm chip as well as 45nm RSX graphics chip. Which means less power and quieter operation. I believe it also removes PS2 compatibility. I am not sure about SACD support.

There was some more detailed info around perhaps in the PS3 section.
sbaillar is offline  
post #98 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 10:16 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbaillar View Post

Actually this is not true. The new PS3 will have the new 45nm chip as well as 45nm RSX graphics chip. Which means less power and quieter operation. I believe it also removes PS2 compatibility. I am not sure about SACD support.

There was some more detailed info around perhaps in the PS3 section.

He's talking about the latest 80GB model that is CURRENTLY SHIPPING -- the one with only 2 USB sockets. That model is, in fact, the 40GB electronics with just the drive replaced. It is still at 280 Watts max rated power consumption (the same as the 40GB model it replaces). It does *NOT* have the 45nm parts in it. It is on the shelves now at $399 MSRP. It does not support SACD.

Don't confuse that with the immediately preceding 80GB model that came bundled with the MGS4 game, nor the 80GB model that was discontinued last January (both of which consume 100 Watts more power and have the older, hotter-running parts in them), nor with any future model not yet shipping which may (just speculation at this point) use different parts.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #99 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 12:55 PM
Member
 
acetheog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone know how to get videos to preview in the xmb? on my ps3, there is a static picture that represents video files. I've seen on other ps3, where this picture is replaced with running previews for the video. thanks in advance.

ACEtheOG (update whore)
acetheog is offline  
post #100 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by acetheog View Post

anyone know how to get videos to preview in the xmb? on my ps3, there is a static picture that represents video files. I've seen on other ps3, where this picture is replaced with running previews for the video. thanks in advance.

During playback, press the Triangle button and follow these directions.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #101 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbaillar View Post

Actually this is not true. The new PS3 will have the new 45nm chip as well as 45nm RSX graphics chip. Which means less power and quieter operation. I believe it also removes PS2 compatibility. I am not sure about SACD support.

There was some more detailed info around perhaps in the PS3 section.

Regardless if this new PS3 has smaller scale integration, it's the same o'l pony of tricks as the 40 gig.
Frys and Best Buy have these and Frys clearly state that they are NOT PS1/PS2 backward compatible.
I would of thought that when they came out with the MGS4 bundle 80gig and advertised backward compatibility that they would continue this trend but the MSG4 bundle was used as a bait and switch tactic to trick consumers to believe that this "new" 80gig is backward compatible with the introduction of the MSG4 bundle.

2014
42Plasmaman is online now  
post #102 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Regardless if this new PS3 has smaller scale integration, it's the same o'l pony of tricks as the 40 gig.
Frys and Best Buy have these and Frys clearly state that they are NOT PS1/PS2 backward compatible.
I would of thought that when they came out with the MGS4 bundle 80gig and advertised backward compatibility that they would continue this trend but the MSG4 bundle was used as a bait and switch tactic to trick consumers to believe that this "new" 80gig is backward compatible with the introduction of the MSG4 bundle.

I don't see your bait and switch logic. They offer one model that has the additional hardware and software to provide the backward compatibility to play PS2 games, and they also offer a less expensive version without this capability. Many of us don't own a PS2 nor any PS2 games and the lower cost version is ideal for us.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #103 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

I don't see your bait and switch logic. They offer one model that has the additional hardware and software to provide the backward compatibility to play PS2 games, and they also offer a less expensive version without this capability. Many of us don't own a PS2 nor any PS2 games and the lower cost version is ideal for us.

Let me clarify.
A couple months back, they released the new 80gig PS3 bundled with the MGS4 that is backwards compatible for PS1/2 games.

Now that those are depleated, Sony releases an 80gig PS3 with no backward compatiblity but those who heard about the MSG4 bundle 80gig PS3 being backward compatible may be mislead to believe that their new 80gig PS3(no MGS4 bundle) is backward compatible.

Oh well, I guess those who buy the new 80gig PS3 will find out hopefully sooner than later that it's not backwards compatible.

fyi-
Frys has a big disclaimer at their store about the non-backward compatiblity but other stores do not mention it.

2014
42Plasmaman is online now  
post #104 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When Sony announced the new 80GB back in July, they said that it would not be backwards compatible. The box also has a disclaimer stating that it's not backwards compatible. I fail to see how they're intentionally trying to mislead people (or pull a bait and switch, as you put it) by repeatedly stating up front that the new 80GB is not backwards compatible.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #105 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 05:30 PM
Member
 
acetheog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugnax555 View Post

During playback, press the Triangle button and follow these directions.

thanks boss!

ACEtheOG (update whore)
acetheog is offline  
post #106 of 4480 Old 09-03-2008, 08:35 PM
Member
 
seanoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post

Regardless if this new PS3 has smaller scale integration, it's the same o'l pony of tricks as the 40 gig.
Frys and Best Buy have these and Frys clearly state that they are NOT PS1/PS2 backward compatible.
I would of thought that when they came out with the MGS4 bundle 80gig and advertised backward compatibility that they would continue this trend but the MSG4 bundle was used as a bait and switch tactic to trick consumers to believe that this "new" 80gig is backward compatible with the introduction of the MSG4 bundle.

all ps3s are ps1 compatible. that emulation is all software, unlike the ps2 bc which requires the ps2 gs.

frys are obviously incompetent
seanoff is offline  
post #107 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 07:33 AM
Member
 
Gizmo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First post here guys, sorry if this is the wrong section.

I am having some trouble getting 1080P out of my PS3 on my setup. I will give a run down of my equipment:

Sharp Aquos 42" LCD LC-42D64U
PS3
Xbox360
Onkyo tx-sr605
HDMI from PS3 and 360 to Receiver, HDMI from receiver to TV.

I've gone into the PS3 menus and tried to select 1080P output. It goes through it's blank screen test, but will not switch to 1080P. My Xbox360 is playing 1080P just fine through the same equipment. There is a "display" button on the TV remote that will tell you what resolution is being broadcast on the TV so that is what I am basing this on. I have tried switching cables and inputs but no help there.

This is what is puzzling to me. When I first set it up, it would not even switch to 1080i. I believe the highest it would go was 720P. I took the PS3 to my parents house where they have a Sony 1080i LCD. I plugged it in there and it would switch to 1080i no problem. I took the PS3 back to my house, plugged it back into my system, ran the test, and it would then play 1080i but not 1080p.

I recently bought a Samsung 40" LCD 1080p for upstairs. I took the PS3 up there and plugged it in via HDMI, but it would not output 1080p there either.

I have downloaded the lastest updates, and even updated the Sharp TV. I have talked to Sony and Sharp and neither one knows what the problem is.

Gizmo83 is offline  
post #108 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would probably do better to post in the PS3 Blu-ray thread.
slimm is offline  
post #109 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,815
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 200
From what I know PS3 is very sensitive to HDMI cables for 1080p. Make sure your cables are HDMI 1.3a certified.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #110 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

From what I know PS3 is very sensitive to HDMI cables for 1080p. Make sure your cables are HDMI 1.3a certified.

In addition to trying another HDMI cable (i.e., one that specifically is listed as 1.3 certified), you could also try plugging the PS3 directly into your Sharp LCD HDTV (bypassing the Onkyo AVR) and see what happens.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #111 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Gizmo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

In addition to trying another HDMI cable (i.e., one that specifically is listed as 1.3 certified), you could also try plugging the PS3 directly into your Sharp LCD HDTV (bypassing the Onkyo AVR) and see what happens.

I forgot to mention that I did try bypassing the receiver completely and wiring straight to the TV but that did not solve the problem. Is there any way to tell if my cable is 1.3 certified? I don't remember where I bought it, or even what brand it is.
Gizmo83 is offline  
post #112 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bugg77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo83 View Post

I forgot to mention that I did try bypassing the receiver completely and wiring straight to the TV but that did not solve the problem. Is there any way to tell if my cable is 1.3 certified? I don't remember where I bought it, or even what brand it is.

Have you tried resetting the PS3 and running through the setup again? I think you do this by turning off the PS3 by the rocker switch on the back, then turn it back on and hold the front power button for 10 seconds.

Maybe try that with it hooked up directly to the TV and see if it detects 1080p.
Bugg77 is offline  
post #113 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 184
I have the same TV and an Onkyo TX-SR705, and the PS3 displays 1080p on the Sharp without issues, using the PS3's autodetection. This was true both with a direct connection and passed through the receiver. I suspect the cable, too.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is online now  
post #114 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Member
 
anelson3411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK so I have case #5(pasted below from sticky): i have followed the instructions and trouble-shot to death and need some expert help.

basically have older AVR Onkyo HT-R510(B) (i know the optical jack and cable both work by testing on my HD Tuner), but cannot get the ps3 to output digitally, infact, cant get any sound at all to come out (when directly outputting from optical). when I use HDMI setting it works fine and i can optical out from the TV to the receiver and even then it is fine, but is not digital.

I switched audio output for both HDMI and Optical to bitstream (and did it leaving HDMI sound alone too), and changed sound settings to optical and selected all 3 options, dolby, dts and AAV.

someone please help, it is extremely frustrating. I noticed most of these problems are back in 2007 so im hoping someone has the magic answer....



Case 5: PS3 connected to a recent vintage HDTV with HDMI and connected to an older AVR via optical digital audio cable (i.e., Toslink).

In this case you should use an HDMI cable to connect from the HDMI output on your PS3 directly an available HDMI input on your HDTV. Then use an optical digital cable (i.e., Toslink) to connected the PS3 digital audio output to an available optical digital input on your AVR. Your AVR will receive the digital audio data (with the PS3 set to provide bitstream output via it optical digital audio output) from the PS3 via the optical cable. The AVR will decode/process it then output the audio to the connected speakers. The HD video will be sent directly to your HDTV via the HDMI connection. Note that optical digital is limited to only carrying the basic Dolby Digital and DTS surround sound formats (essentially as provided with DVD players but in some cases with BD's you will get somewhat higher bit rates) and cannot carry the highest fidelity surround sound formats supported on some Blu-ray Discs. This is a limitation of having an AVR that does not support HDMI inputs, but in this case the PS3 can be configured to still be compatible with your existing equipment.

Suggested PS3 Audio and Video additional Settings for Case 5 (starting from XMB and Settings drop down menu):
XMB >>> Settings >>> Display Settings >>> Video Output Settings = HDMI >>> Setting Method=AUTOMATIC
XMB >>> Settings >>> BD/DVD Settings >>> BD/DVD Auto Output Format (Optical Digital)=BITSTREAM
XMB >>> Settings >>> Sound Settings >>> Audio Output Settings >>> Select the connector..= DIGITAL OUTPUT (OPTICAL)
anelson3411 is offline  
post #115 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,709
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by anelson3411 View Post

OK so I have case #5(pasted below from sticky): i have followed the instructions and trouble-shot to death and need some expert help.

basically have older AVR Onkyo HT-R510(B) (i know the optical jack and cable both work by testing on my HD Tuner), but cannot get the ps3 to output digitally, infact, cant get any sound at all to come out (when directly outputting from optical). when I use HDMI setting it works fine and i can optical out from the TV to the receiver and even then it is fine, but is not digital.

I switched audio output for both HDMI and Optical to bitstream (and did it leaving HDMI sound alone too), and changed sound settings to optical and selected all 3 options, dolby, dts and AAV.

someone please help, it is extremely frustrating. I noticed most of these problems are back in 2007 so im hoping someone has the magic answer....

Are you absolutely certain you switched the PS3's digital audio output from the default HDMI setting to Optical:

XMB >>> Settings >>> Sound Settings >>> Audio Output Settings >>> Select the connector..= DIGITAL OUTPUT (OPTICAL)



Also have you used your Onkyo receiver's setup (I'm not familar with that specific Onkyo model) to configure it to associate the specific optical audio input to the correct source name (e.g., if you connect the PS3 as the DVD input to the Onkyo and are using optical input #1 have you configured the Onkyo to assign optical input #1 the the DVD input).

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #116 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
And don't forget to forward the screen to the right (right on the d-pad) and to press "x" after making the last change.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #117 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 05:37 PM
Member
 
anelson3411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

Are you absolutely certain you switched the PS3's digital audio output from the default HDMI setting to Optical:

XMB >>> Settings >>> Sound Settings >>> Audio Output Settings >>> Select the connector..= DIGITAL OUTPUT (OPTICAL)



Also have you used your Onkyo receiver's setup (I'm not familar with that specific Onkyo model) to configure it to associate the specific optical audio input to the correct source name (e.g., if you connect the PS3 as the DVD input to the Onkyo and are using optical input #1 have you configured the Onkyo to assign optical input #1 the the DVD input).

Yes I did both of those things, including going to the right and pressing X. I tested the DVR box in both audio slots and it worked in both of them so i know its not the cable and also not the onkyo.....
anelson3411 is offline  
post #118 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Healey3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by anelson3411 View Post

Note that optical digital is limited to only carrying the basic Dolby Digital and DTS surround sound formats (essentially as provided with DVD players but in some cases with BD's you will get somewhat higher bit rates) and cannot carry the highest fidelity surround sound formats supported on some Blu-ray Discs. This is a limitation of having an AVR that does not support HDMI inputs, but in this case the PS3 can be configured to still be compatible with your existing equipment.

Hi,

I'm a very new PS3 user and may not have soaked in the subtleties regarding the audio issues. On page 1 the table for audio suggests that Toslink can carry the advanced formats in LPCM. Does that not mean that an AVR that can decode the advanced formats can and should accurately decode the optical signal?

Unless, these end up being converted to two-channel signals only. As I said, I'm new to this and may have completely oversimplified the situation.

Thanks,
Adnan
Healey3000 is offline  
post #119 of 4480 Old 09-04-2008, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bugg77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Healey3000 View Post

Hi,

I'm a very new PS3 user and may not have soaked in the subtleties regarding the audio issues. On page 1 the table for audio suggests that Toslink can carry the advanced formats in LPCM. Does that not mean that an AVR that can decode the advanced formats can and should accurately decode the optical signal?

Unless, these end up being converted to two-channel signals only. As I said, I'm new to this and may have completely oversimplified the situation.

Thanks,
Adnan

The toslink will either bitstream the lossy core/companion track of the HD tracks or it will decode the HD track to some kind of 2 channel PCM... in other words, no you couldn't let the AVR do the decoding at that point.
Bugg77 is offline  
post #120 of 4480 Old 09-05-2008, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
darkleafar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbaillar View Post

Actually this is not true. The new PS3 will have the new 45nm chip as well as 45nm RSX graphics chip. Which means less power and quieter operation. I believe it also removes PS2 compatibility. I am not sure about SACD support.

There was some more detailed info around perhaps in the PS3 section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

He's talking about the latest 80GB model that is CURRENTLY SHIPPING -- the one with only 2 USB sockets. That model is, in fact, the 40GB electronics with just the drive replaced. It is still at 280 Watts max rated power consumption (the same as the 40GB model it replaces). It does *NOT* have the 45nm parts in it. It is on the shelves now at $399 MSRP. It does not support SACD.

Don't confuse that with the immediately preceding 80GB model that came bundled with the MGS4 game, nor the 80GB model that was discontinued last January (both of which consume 100 Watts more power and have the older, hotter-running parts in them), nor with any future model not yet shipping which may (just speculation at this point) use different parts.
--Bob

For the sake of being certain:

Remember the PS3, the 40 GB model, that shipped bundled with Spider man 3 bluray? Which kind of PS3 is that? I mean as far as I know it is not backwards compatible, but I wanna what kinda parts it has. I got worried when Bob said "older, hotter running parts" Does my PS3 have this? what is the 45nm? is that good or bad? is my PS3 worse or better than the new ones?
darkleafar is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony Blu Ray Disk Remote For Sony Playstation 3
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off