Official PS3 FAQ Master Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 4488 Old 09-20-2008, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
Sitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arendal, Norway
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

Is that incorrect? I can't really test as I do not own a single game.

As already stated, you can download demos of games from the PS Store. Some even has patterns to calibrate the display. The Bourne-game demo has a THX optimizer, but is seems to be way off.

But there are several test-patterns on the net, just save them to a USB Memory-stick and transfer them to the PS3.
Sitron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

I always assumed the HDMI output setting (YCbCr/RGB/Auto) under the BD/DVD settings menu would not effect game output over HDMI. In other words, even if you force YCbCr under BD/DVD settings, the PS3 will still output RGB if necessary for games and follow the RGB limited/full setting under Display settings.

Is that incorrect? I can't really test as I do not own a single game.

This seems corect, because games as far as I know are authored in sRGB. The XMB uses RGB as well.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #243 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
frankmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MONTREAL,QUEBEC
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I want the sound of the PS3 to:
When playing Blu-ray I want the sound go through the AV receiver
When playing games I want it to go through the TV

I have the PS3 connect with HDMI to the tv and AV receiver with toslink.

I have tried but no luck, I have to change it manually.

Is there another way to set it automatically. tia

PRESENTLY:    TCP55VT60               PREVIOUSLY:    TH46PZ80
PS3 80G
IR 2 BT RE-BL
DENON AVR1910
FIBETV MOTOROLA VIP-1232
PARADIGM MONITOR 7 v6 front speakers
KLIPSCH SUBWOOFER KSW10
kLIPSCH SATELITE SS-1
kLIPSCH CENTER SC-1
HARMONY ONE

frankmar is offline  
post #244 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
gluvhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rockland County NY
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmar View Post

I want the sound of the PS3 to:
When playing Blu-ray I want the sound go through the AV receiver
When playing games I want it to go through the TV

I have the PS3 connect with HDMI to the tv and AV receiver with toslink.

I have tried but no luck, I have to change it manually.

Is there another way to set it automatically. tia

Don't think this is possible. You can only output audio thru one connector at a time.
gluvhand is offline  
post #245 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 10:14 AM
mnc
AVS Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 1,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by gluvhand View Post

Don't think this is possible. You can only output audio thru one connector at a time.

Is this a hardware limitation or could this be possible with a future firmware upgrade? I would also like to not have to turn on my receiver for casually playing a game.

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, 65VT50
mnc is online now  
post #246 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 10:43 AM
mnc
AVS Special Member
 
mnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 1,754
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Can the PS3 be used for watching "instant" movies from Netflix?

NHT speakers, Denon 4520, 65VT50
mnc is online now  
post #247 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 10:51 AM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post

Can the PS3 be used for watching "instant" movies from Netflix?

PlayOn from MediaMall is working on it.
mhaider is online now  
post #248 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 11:23 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,894
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by bplewis24 View Post

This seems corect, because games as far as I know are authored in sRGB. The XMB uses RGB as well.

Brandon

There's no technical reason why the PS3 couldn't offer conversion from RGB content to YCbCr output (just like it offers the reverse for Blu-Ray YCbCr content). The math is simple.

It doesn't bother me since my video setup is happy with either RGB or YCbCr. And in any event, I'm not playing games, so it only comes up for the XMB.

But just as there are some video devices out there with bugs that screw up their reproduction of YCbCr, there are undoubtedly others with bugs that screw up their reproduction of RGB. So Sony really ought to offer the option of forcing YCbCr output for everything if that's what you need.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #249 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnc View Post

Is this a hardware limitation or could this be possible with a future firmware upgrade? I would also like to not have to turn on my receiver for casually playing a game.

I don't know if this has ever been definitively answered, but I would recommend assuming it's a hardware limitation if it's a function you really need.

I consider lack of simultaneous dual video and audio output to be one of the PS3's more serious drawbacks, although, like analog multichannel, it's something you either need or you don't. I don't *need* it (which is why I have a PS3) but I'd use it if it were there (to let the movie keep running when I go to the kitchen, where I have a TV slaved to all my other sources) instead of pausing it. Not a big deal, but for some people's installations it is.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #250 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm thinking of getting a PS3. I have a 7 and 8-yo and we are all very happy with the WII. I know the graphics are much better on the PS3, but essentially I want the PS3 for the BluRay player. I don't care about backwards compatibility for PS2 games. Do I need to be concerned about storage when I have 3 PC's and a 160GB hard drive and memory/SD card slots in my TV and regular DVD player?

Seems to me I should just get the cheap 20GB version? Any big drawback if I'm only using it for BluRay and PS3 games?
Consultant is offline  
post #251 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 10:25 PM
Member
 
shaun3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can upgrade the HDD in the PS3 quite easily. Sony even offers instructions on how to do this; it uses a standard 2.5" notebook drive. You can get them up to 500GB!
shaun3000 is offline  
post #252 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 11:04 PM
Member
 
TastyHiHatWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun3000 View Post

You can upgrade the HDD in the PS3 quite easily. Sony even offers instructions on how to do this; it uses a standard 2.5" notebook drive. You can get them up to 500GB!

So why would anyone buy the new, expensive models then?

I was going to go with the 80 GB MGS edition (I want MGS and backwards compatibility), but if I could get an older model and just upgrade the drive for less money, why not?
TastyHiHatWork is offline  
post #253 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 11:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WhatHappend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern MN
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TastyHiHatWork View Post

So why would anyone buy the new, expensive models then?

I was going to go with the 80 GB MGS edition (I want MGS and backwards compatibility), but if I could get an older model and just upgrade the drive for less money, why not?

Your question doesn't make a lot of sense (since you already know the trade off BC). The only older models that have full back-wards compatibility are the 20 and 60gig. The models are not cheap. The cheapest model are the new 40 or 80gig models (not the MGS4 version). These new 40 and 80 have no SACD or PS2 support but run cooler, quieter for Home Theater use (and take less power).

The old 20 and 60 gig models sell for a lot of money and consume a lot of power and run hot (means more fan noise). But for a total gamer they want all the PS2 titles to play.

The MGS4 and Motorstorm 80gig bundles have a 1/2 software/hardware PS2 emulation (not as good as the 100% hardware emulation) and all the ports (unlike the new 40 or 80gig models), SACD support but run a little hotter and consume more power.

So buying and PS3 is full of trade offs.
WhatHappend is offline  
post #254 of 4488 Old 09-21-2008, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bronco70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post

I'm thinking of getting a PS3. I have a 7 and 8-yo and we are all very happy with the WII. I know the graphics are much better on the PS3, but essentially I want the PS3 for the BluRay player. I don't care about backwards compatibility for PS2 games. Do I need to be concerned about storage when I have 3 PC's and a 160GB hard drive and memory/SD card slots in my TV and regular DVD player?

Seems to me I should just get the cheap 20GB version? Any big drawback if I'm only using it for BluRay and PS3 games?

Take the plunge. No worries. As long as you do want to use PS3 games.
Bronco70 is offline  
post #255 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can't find info on this w/ the search option. I am connected to my projector w/ hdmi and i have a small(13") monitor in the video closet that is connected with an analog (yellow) cable. But i get nothing from my monitor. does the ps3 not output hdmi and analog at the same time? is there a work around or am i stuck? I use the monitor so i don't have to turn on the projector for everything.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #256 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
frankmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MONTREAL,QUEBEC
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the ps3 motorstrom bearly used for 350. can, mainly cause my son has a PS2. So I saved 110.00 including taxes.

It run a little hotter, well its a nice heating system for winter. It's in a very ventilated area, near a window, so it will cool of in summer and will add some heat in winter. that's no my main concern.

I can see PC pics or play PC music from the Ps3. I see all the files from my Media player on the PS3.


Now my Question is, why can't I see the contents of the PS3 hard drive in my Vista. does anyone have a way. tia

PRESENTLY:    TCP55VT60               PREVIOUSLY:    TH46PZ80
PS3 80G
IR 2 BT RE-BL
DENON AVR1910
FIBETV MOTOROLA VIP-1232
PARADIGM MONITOR 7 v6 front speakers
KLIPSCH SUBWOOFER KSW10
kLIPSCH SATELITE SS-1
kLIPSCH CENTER SC-1
HARMONY ONE

frankmar is offline  
post #257 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvisneau View Post

Can't find info on this w/ the search option. I am connected to my projector w/ hdmi and i have a small(13") monitor in the video closet that is connected with an analog (yellow) cable. But i get nothing from my monitor. does the ps3 not output hdmi and analog at the same time? is there a work around or am i stuck? I use the monitor so i don't have to turn on the projector for everything.

You are pretty much stuck. The PS3 can output only one video and one audio signal at a time. You have to switch it in the setup menu, which means the currently-selected output must be on in order to see the menu to make the switch.

There might be a work-around, but not a cheap and practical one that I'm aware of.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #258 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Sitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arendal, Norway
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankmar View Post

Now my Question is, why can't I see the contents of the PS3 hard drive in my Vista. does anyone have a way. tia

You can't. The PS3 HD is for the PS3 only, and everything stored on the PS3 is only readable by the PS3 itself.
Sitron is offline  
post #259 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 09:23 AM
Member
 
TastyHiHatWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatHappend View Post

Your question doesn't make a lot of sense (since you already know the trade off BC). The only older models that have full back-wards compatibility are the 20 and 60gig. The models are not cheap. The cheapest model are the new 40 or 80gig models (not the MGS4 version). These new 40 and 80 have no SACD or PS2 support but run cooler, quieter for Home Theater use (and take less power).

The old 20 and 60 gig models sell for a lot of money and consume a lot of power and run hot (means more fan noise). But for a total gamer they want all the PS2 titles to play.

The MGS4 and Motorstorm 80gig bundles have a 1/2 software/hardware PS2 emulation (not as good as the 100% hardware emulation) and all the ports (unlike the new 40 or 80gig models), SACD support but run a little hotter and consume more power.

So buying and PS3 is full of trade offs.

Thanks...maybe my best bet would be to get one of the new 40 GB models and just keep my PS2 around if I want to break out the old games. I won't be storing a whole lot on the PS3's drive because I will have my PC connected directly to my receiver for music playback.

Edit: Hmm...or maybe not...looks like they have discontinued it.
TastyHiHatWork is offline  
post #260 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
frankmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: MONTREAL,QUEBEC
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitron View Post

You can't. The PS3 HD is for the PS3 only, and everything stored on the PS3 is only readable by the PS3 itself.



Thanks, I am surprised that no soffware has been written to read the PS3 drive in Windows.

PRESENTLY:    TCP55VT60               PREVIOUSLY:    TH46PZ80
PS3 80G
IR 2 BT RE-BL
DENON AVR1910
FIBETV MOTOROLA VIP-1232
PARADIGM MONITOR 7 v6 front speakers
KLIPSCH SUBWOOFER KSW10
kLIPSCH SATELITE SS-1
kLIPSCH CENTER SC-1
HARMONY ONE

frankmar is offline  
post #261 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,960
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 212
FYI - I have updated Post #1 to add a brief description for using Bookmarks with discs that have BD-Java with bookmarks enabled.

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is online now  
post #262 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by TastyHiHatWork View Post

Thanks...maybe my best bet would be to get one of the new 40 GB models and just keep my PS2 around if I want to break out the old games. I won't be storing a whole lot on the PS3's drive because I will have my PC connected directly to my receiver for music playback.

Edit: Hmm...or maybe not...looks like they have discontinued it.

The current $399 80GB model (not the game bundle -- the one with 2 USB ports and no card slots), is identical to the 40GB version (quieter, less power consumption than the old 80GB model) except for HDD size. It's the droid you're looking for.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is offline  
post #263 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 10:09 AM
Member
 
TastyHiHatWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

The current $399 80GB model (not the game bundle -- the one with 2 USB ports and no card slots), is identical to the 40GB version (quieter, less power consumption than the old 80GB model) except for HDD size. It's the droid you're looking for.

Alrighty then.
TastyHiHatWork is offline  
post #264 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 12:01 PM
Senior Member
 
seascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Jones View Post

I have updated Post #1 to change the:

- recommended setting for Dynamic Range Control is OFF

- current Firmware version to 2.43

If you have a TV that supports x.v.color, shouldn't you set D-Range to ON?

"There's no place like home." [Wizard of Oz - 1939]
seascape is offline  
post #265 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 12:04 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,894
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by seascape View Post

If you have a TV that supports x.v.color, shouldn't you set D-Range to ON?

Dynamic Range Control in the PS3 is an *AUDIO* setting. It has nothing to do with video features.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #266 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay_Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Consultant View Post

I'm thinking of getting a PS3. I have a 7 and 8-yo and we are all very happy with the WII. I know the graphics are much better on the PS3, but essentially I want the PS3 for the BluRay player. I don't care about backwards compatibility for PS2 games. Do I need to be concerned about storage when I have 3 PC's and a 160GB hard drive and memory/SD card slots in my TV and regular DVD player?

Seems to me I should just get the cheap 20GB version? Any big drawback if I'm only using it for BluRay and PS3 games?

Because the 20 gig model isn't made anymore and it costs more because it has full PS2 compatibility. It may also be noisier for movie playback because it has the original hardware it in that uses more power.

So get one of the new 80 gig models ($399 list). It's the current "low end" unit.
Jay_Davis is offline  
post #267 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
seascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any way to download a PURCHASED movie from the Sony/Playstation store from the PS3 and send it to your PC to burn to DVD or Blu-Ray?

I like that you can buy them, but if I can't play the movie on my other DVD/BR players in the house (i.e. portable media), then I'll just keep buying them in the store, because that way we can play them on any player in the house [every room in the house has a player in it (we're big movie buffs) . I dont want to have to move the PS3 around in order to play a movie I purchased.

I also want this burning ability to make back-ups too in-case the hard drive in the PS3 crashes. I'd hate to spend a lot of money on buying movies then end up loosing the collection if the drive crashes.

I can't be the only one that's had this issue, am I overlooking something and you can burn the movies you download with it from the PS store via a network connected PC or something? I have a portable DVD-Recorder that uses USB, will that work (its made by Sony too)?

Also would suck to run out of hard drive space (especially with a few HD downloads) and have to delete a purchased movie to make room for a new movie. no way in hell would I do that when I get buy at the store and avoid the issue completely.

They say HD is moving to downloadables, but unless they let you burn/archive to a disc, it is too much of a risk on hard drive failure to use teh download method.

"There's no place like home." [Wizard of Oz - 1939]
seascape is offline  
post #268 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nosferax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Beauharnois, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seascape View Post

Is there any way to download a PURCHASED movie from the Sony/Playstation store from the PS3 and send it to your PC to burn to DVD or Blu-Ray?

I like that you can buy them, but if I can't play the movie on my other DVD/BR players in the house (i.e. portable media), then I'll just keep buying them in the store, because that way we can play them on any player in the house [every room in the house has a player in it (we're big movie buffs) . I dont want to have to move the PS3 around in order to play a movie I purchased.

I also want this burning ability to make back-ups too in-case the hard drive in the PS3 crashes. I'd hate to spend a lot of money on buying movies then end up loosing the collection if the drive crashes.

I can't be the only one that's had this issue, am I overlooking something and you can burn the movies you download with it from the PS store via a network connected PC or something? I have a portable DVD-Recorder that uses USB, will that work (its made by Sony too)?

Also would suck to run out of hard drive space (especially with a few HD downloads) and have to delete a purchased movie to make room for a new movie. no way in hell would I do that when I get buy at the store and avoid the issue completely.

They say HD is moving to downloadables, but unless they let you burn/archive to a disc, it is too much of a risk on hard drive failure to use teh download method.

Nope. And I don't know any DL service that permit this.
Nosferax is offline  
post #269 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
seascape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferax View Post

Nope. And I don't know any DL service that permit this.

So, if you're stupid enough to download a movie [which you paid $15 or more for to own], you're stuck with only being able to play it on the PS3? That TOTALLY sucks, not to mention no way to back up what you purchased in-case the drive crashes?

Its an SATA drive, I suppose you could rip out the hard drive and run norton ghost on it every once in a while and store the drive image on a backup drive, but that would suck to have to go to all the trouble.

"There's no place like home." [Wizard of Oz - 1939]
seascape is offline  
post #270 of 4488 Old 09-22-2008, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seascape View Post

So, if you're stupid enough to download a movie [which you paid $15 or more for to own], you're stuck with only being able to play it on the PS3? That TOTALLY sucks, not to mention no way to back up what you purchased in-case the drive crashes?

Its an SATA drive, I suppose you could rip out the hard drive and run norton ghost on it every once in a while and store the drive image on a backup drive, but that would suck to have to go to all the trouble.

If they are encrypting it locally you won't be able to pull it out without some extra hacking expertise. Just buy the BD and rip the 1080p version for back-up. Downloadable content is going to take some time since just like RIAA the movie studios are very protective of their content. Until something better gets worked out, we'll be stuck with mediocre downloadable movies. Non-DRM based content would be ideal, but I doubt that will happen.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony Blu Ray Disk Remote For Sony Playstation 3
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off